Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • ginny3

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: Central Illinois
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Mon February 5, 2018 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fireworks viewing a plus
      Cons: None

       
      For 3 months I attempted to snag an ADR at Ohana with no luck.
      When we checked in to our resort I asked Concierge to check for me for any day of our stay and he was able to get one for us albeit a bit late in the evening. Early in the morning of our ADR I had them check again and we were able to move the time to a reasonable hour.
      Awesome food and atmosphere. We were very lucky to be seated at a window table that had a fantastic view of MK fireworks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jeconk

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Mon January 8, 2018 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food served family style so each person can pick and choose and eat as much or as little as they want. Dessert is out of this world!
      Cons: Must make reservations far in advance.

       
      After hearing many others rave about this restaurant, we decided to give it a try for dinner. We choose dinner because we are not really into character meals and don't have any young children.


      Not being a big fan of Polynesian food, I was somewhat nervous about eating here but boy was I wrong! The food is wonderful and very good even for a picky eater like me.


      We were fortunate to get a table by the window facing the pool and Magic Kingdom just as the sun was going down so we got to see the lights coming on at the park. After we were seated, our waitress, Houda, came over. She explained how dinner works at Ohana and took our drink orders. She was very personable and we enjoyed her service.


      Everything (except the meat) is served family style with serving plates placed on the table so each person could take as much or as little of each item as they liked. Houda told us that if we wanted more of any one item to let her know. The first course was a tossed salad with "Lilikoi" dressing. The dressing tasted pretty much like italian. Typical salad....don't fill up on this course because the best is yet to come...


      Next we were brought a plate that had chicken wings, terriyaki noodles, pork dumplings and stir fry vegetables. There was more than enough of each item on this plate for the four of us!! (in fact, we couldn't eat it all.). Then came the main course(s). Houda came first with two skewers of chicken and put some on each persons plate....right off the skewer! The chicken was very moist, had a good flavor and was tender. Next, our waitresses came with two skewers of steak and did the same thing. The steak had an ok flavor (chicken was more flavorful) but was tender. Finally, she arrived with two skewers of grilled shrimp. Since I don't like shrimp, I skipped this course (everyone else just gave me some of their steak or chicken....although the waitress said she could bring more of any meat we wanted.) Those who ate the shrimp said it too was flavorful and tasty. There was more than enough meat for the four of us (and of course we were asked if we wanted more...)


      Finally came the dessert....make sure you save room for this....Ohana Bread Pudding. I am not a fan of bread pudding but this is possibly the best bread pudding that I have ever had. Houda poured the warm sauce over it right at our table when she served it. (it was served family style like everything else). This was a wonderful ending to the meal (and the part we almost asked for more of....lol.).


      While this is not a character breakfast, there was entertainment during the meal. A Hawaiian gentleman sang traditional songs and even taught a class in the hula for anyone brave enough to go up. Entertainment was a nice addition and not over the top.


      The cost of this meal can be high for a large family but after all it is Disney World! This restaurant is definately one of the must do meals for those visiting Disney and is worth the cost.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Luvtheparks

      Registered: March 2006
      Location: MA
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon November 13, 2017 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Trying to think of any
      Cons: Wait time, food, waitstaff

       
      Was looking forward to a much hyped dinner here. Started with Cousin somebody (so loud in restaurantt didn't catch her name) telling us to take our time, she's there all night - that is, as long as you don't mind being rushed through dinner. Salad arrived then family style apps (pretty good) then they brought the chicken (thighs on a skewer) slimy and my least favorite type of chicken. Then came the peel and eat rubber shrimp followed by the VERY rare chewy skewered beef. Honestly, the dessert was the best part of the meal (which we ate with no coffee or addition beverages offered) Not sure why this place has such a great reputation and a loyal following. Perhaps just an off night? Definitely not worth the price - this was a one and done.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MichelleR

      Registered: October 2017
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sat October 7, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious tasting food, friendly staff, portion size
      Cons: Slower service

       
      We love this restaurant! We had stumbled upon this one trip and couldn’t wait to go back and take our family. We were thrilled when we went back for our vacation with our extended family and children and everyone loved it. It is a new restaurant to add to our list of favorites. Food delicious, great quality, friendly staff and atmosphere. Drinks were all on point. The only thing that we had a slight issue with is we asked for some additional noodles and dumplings and this took a very very long time. Service this night was a little slow (our kids wanted to get back into the park and were getting antsy) but other than that we loved it and can’t wait to go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 198
      Review Date: Thu August 31, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Dinner was great! Lots and lots of good food. I would say that they should change out the shrimp with something else. It was not that great and very hard to eat. My son loves shrimp and the server gave him lots, which was nice, but he ate one...I did as well. Other than that, we really enjoyed the dinner and would definitely come back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Am_hawthorne

      Registered: June 2017
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu June 22, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great atmosphere tasty food
      Cons: slow service - cold food

       
      We were here Sunday June 4, 2017.
      I am not new to Ohana. I have been here a couple of times. I have loved it in the past. This time however, we experienced poor service. It took forever to bring us the salad and when the appetizers came out there were far too few chicken wings, pot stickers, and noodles for the amount of people at our table. We asked for another plater to be brought to us and it took so long to deliver - we were already filling up on the skewers of meat because we were still so hungry. Not a very balanced meal i'm afraid.
      I don't get it. nothing was special ordered, every table in the place had the same thing. Just go in the kitchen and bring it out. I'm still mad at myself for tipping 18% for poor (and lac of) service.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Jchuges7

      Registered: February 2015
      Location: Cincinnati
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri May 19, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food, music and entertainment, dessert
      Cons: Hard to get reservations

       
      Ate at Ohana for dinner on 4/26. Went to Magic Kingdom during the day and took the monorail over to get out of the craziness for dinner. Got seated quickly. Started with the pineapple coconut bread and salad. Moved on to the appetizer and sides tray of chicken wings, teriyaki noodles, dumplings and stir fry vegetables. After that the servers started bringing out the main course on large skewers, which on our night was steak, chicken and shrimp. They brought peanut sauce and sweet and sour sauces to the table which were very nice accompaniments. My wife particularly liked the shrimp and the waiters loaded her up! The meal finished with a wonderful dessert. They take the pineapple coconut bread and turn it into a rich bread pudding, top it with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream and serve it with a side of banana caramel sauce. It was so good we asked for seconds.


      There was also some live entertainment which was very nice. Some Hawaiian music and plenty of interaction with the kids. We can't wait to head back to Ohana for another great meal!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      dlc1972

      Registered: May 2017
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Fri May 19, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food and experience!
      Cons: None

       
      Our group of 7 including one 4 year old ate dinner at Ohana in early May. It was the first visit for all of us and we all loved it! Well, my very fussy 4 year old didn't love the food but she enjoyed the experience anyway. She enjoyed the gentleman playing the ukelele and really loved the brief hula lesson. The food was fantastic and plentiful. I wasn't sure how the group would like the food but it turned out to be one of our favorite meals of the whole trip and we had a lot of really great meals! Will definitely go back for dinner and would like to try the breakfast too!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      feenie20

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: New Hampshire
      Posts: 45
      Review Date: Wed April 5, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun atmosphere
      Cons: loud

       
      We have eaten at O'hana many times over the years.
      When we went last month, there was something missing from the experience. We had to wait almost 45 minutes after our reservation time for our table, which is not the end of the world, but we were so hungry!
      I miss the days when the server team would come together and introduce themselves to you together. This time we felt like people were just dropping food off at our table on their way to somewhere else, and only saw one person more than once. (I'm guessing she was our main server?)
      The food was good, although the beef was really bland. I love the pot stickers, and they did give me a little container to take some back to the room with me. They were very tasty for breakfast the next day!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      formerprincess

      Registered: March 2017
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri March 31, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious food and lots of it!
      Cons: Loud, not necessarily a con

       
      First time on a recent trip and will definitely be back.
      Service - excellent in all respects and you encounter many servers with this style of service.
      Food - quantity and quality were great. Couldn't even touch dessert!
      Atmosphere - it was loud. IT was not an issue. We were super tired though and didn't appreciate the atmosphere as much as we usually would. I think this is a fun place for bigger kids and larger groups too
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fantabulously Cherry

      Registered: February 2017
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri February 10, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious!! Great staff
      Cons:

       
      The meal we had in December 2016 was the foodie highlight of our trip! I could just eat the plate they bring out to start with. The honey coriander chicken wings, noodles and pot stickers are addictive. The skewered meats they brought were perfection. As full as we were after those, we could not stop eating the bread pudding. The touches with the Hawaiian singer and hula lessons made for a very memorable meal. Good view of Wishes as well.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      CanadianHolly68

      Registered: December 2016
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Tue December 6, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lovely resort and boat trip over
      Cons: food

       
      We have been waiting to try this forever but this was a big disappointment. We did have a nice view of the pool area and the fire lighter and his little show outside - but the food was a huge letdown. The bread was dry, food came out in a strange order and they never gave us salad , we had to ask for sauces etc for meats - large platter had decent pot stickers and wings -meats that came out on the skewers were peppery and dry and some were burnt black and inedible - dessert was good but too much for us to finish - we really felt rushed to eat and go so they could fill our spots - maybe it isn't what it used to be but anyhow we will not return - KONA is a much better option for food and service
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BarbD

      Registered: September 2016
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue September 20, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: none

       
      This food was amazing, first they give you Appetizers/Starters
      'Ohana Pineapple Coconut Bread
      Mixed Greens Salad - with a Lilikoi dressing
      Honey Coriander Chicken Wings
      Pork Dumplings - tossed in a garlic ginger sauce
      Spicy Grilled Peel-n-Eat ShrimpGrilled Chicken
      Szechuan Sirloin Steak - Prepared over an oak fire, served on skewers
      Noodles - Tossed in a Teriyaki Sauce
      Stir Fried Vegetables
      Desserts
      'Ohana Bread Pudding - served a la mode with Bananas, vanilla ice cream and Caramel Sauce.


      Everything was outstanding....amazing value for the money
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Snemma

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Wed June 29, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Perfect First Night
      Cons: None

       
      This has become a traditional first night meal of our vacation. We are able to arrange flights, parks, transportation, whatever is needed to get here. It is not our usual habit to consume this much food, but for Ohana we make an exception. The pot stickers and wings always get us off to a great start. This trip, when my son asked for some additional pot stickers, hoping for two, our server brought a plate of 10. We finished them. The meats and dessert were perfectly done and appreciated.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rsfan

      Registered: August 2007
      Posts: 38
      Review Date: Sun June 26, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, setting, service
      Cons: None

       
      We had a party of four adults for our big night out during our recent visit. You check in and are given a pager; the waiting area seems crowded but turns over quickly. We were called near to out reservation time. You are greeted and led to your table, stopping along the way to pick up a freshly baked loaf of bread. We had a nice table that overlooked the lagoon and bordered the aisle. Our waiter served us promptly; he was friendly and efficient. The food starts flowing almost immediately: chicken wings and pot stickers (with dipping sauce), followed by salad, noodles, and veggies. The meat skewers come by one kind at a time. The cooks at the firepit know what they are doing; when you're cooking 100 skewers at a time, a little too long or short on the fire can be a disaster. All three meats were done perfectly. The sirloin in particular was of very high quality and cooked expertly. You want to keep eating but you know dessert awaits. The bread pudding and sauce was fantastic. We were also given a celebration cupcake for our anniversary; a nice gesture but a very dried out cupcake. At $40 a person I felt this was a high value meal. A steak alone at Le Cellier would run more than $50. We never felt rushed though the staff turned over those tables like pros. We wont miss this dinner on future trips.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.