Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • marg3131

      Registered: April 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri April 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): service
      Cons: food

       
      Have been coming to Disney Orlando for over twenty years and dining at Ohanas every time, sometimes twice per visit. Always enjoyed the service and the food, until our last visit in April 2015. The service was excellent as usual but the food suffered in quality. They now serve the dark meat of the chicken on the skewer rather than the thick white meat, which was the best. Also, noticed the shrimp on the skewer as being a bit smaller. We asked the manager, as the skewered chicken was stringy and chewy, and were told that Disney changed the chicken to dark meat as it was better "quality". We almost fell out of our chairs laughing as having been in the restaurant business for several decades, we know that the white meat is the better quality and more expensive but the manager stuck by that story. We were very disappointed in the quality of the food and unfortunately scratch Ohanas from our must do dining experience in the future. It seems that Disney is cutting back on its food quality as on our recent visits over the past two years, we have noticed a slip in the quality of food during our dining experiences. I would rather Disney raise the prices than drop the food quality.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Chall312

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Southeastern Mass
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sat April 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, view, service
      Cons: wait, hula instructer

       
      Finally got an ADR at Ohana after trying for 3 consecutive trips. man this place books up fast. Had to take a 9:30pm reservation so my group was STARVED. We checked in at 9:25 and were not seated until 10:20! almost an hour long wait and 50 minutes after ADR. My poor mother was falling asleep in the lounge while we waited. We were finally seated and we got a corner spot at the window. Full view of the castle. Spectacular! The food was served quickly and our server was very sweet. He knew we'd been waiting and made sure we didn't wait any longer than necessary for food. I loved the noodles and wings, while the grilled stuff was also good, it all had the same seasoning so it was a little one note. The dessert though, I was so stuffed from dinner, I still forced myself to eat 2 servings of the dessert, it was sooo good. Will go everytime, regardless of wait.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mlw17mi

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Thu March 19, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Brought food for 2 yr old, View of MVMCP Fireworks
      Cons: Wait and Service

       
      So in 2012 my mom and I finally ate here and could do nothing but Rave about it and the food. In Dec 2014 we did a 1st time trip with my 2 yr old Nephew, Sister-in-law and Grandpa. It was not nearly as great as before. We had ADR's which unfortunately were already a little late at 8pm with a 2 yr old anyway. Nearly 30 minutes later we were seated. Our server was nearly nonexistent and often we wondered if she forgot us. There was a couple servers around our table that was always coming and going, very prompt with food delivery. Our server was kind enough to take an order for my 2 yr old nephew for which we weren't charged. The food was still fairly good but the lettuce wraps were nothing to write home about and even though there were 4 adults the plate brought out only had 2 lettuce wraps. Odd but no one wanted seconds and being family we cut in half and shared. The meats were flavorful but again the service was so slow. Often 20 minutes would go by before a course or family platter came. We were lucky enough to have a table near the window facing Magic Kingdom and did get to enjoy the Water Parade and Fireworks from a Christmas Party night. However, even when we finished our meal. Some of which was later brought by other servers walking by noticing clean empty plates we waited nearly another 30 minutes for our bill. We had the dining plan to it didn't seem it should be that hard. By the time we left it was just after 11. Really from arrival to departure 3 hours? It took me less time to fly from Michigan to Florida. Needless to say the 2 year old had reached his limit and not the most magical way to start a vacation. If you've never been I would say still give it a try as I loved our first visit and it's possible had we had a different server it would've been better. But if I'll go again on our next visit. I'm just not sure.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      robinmy

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Mon February 16, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food, great service
      Cons: None

       
      My family and I visited Ohana for supper on 2/3/15. Our reservations were for 5:30 and they seated us promptly. Our server explained that it was a family style restaurant and he would keep bringing out food until we were stuffed. He wasn't kidding.


      The first course was wings in a sticky sweet sauce and potstickers. Both were tasty. We also tried the lettuce wraps which were a nice addition to the meal. Next our server brought out Asian noodles and grilled vegetables. The vegetables were excellent. Chunks of pork on skewers were brought to the table. I'm not a big fan of pork, but I have to say it was delicious. Next came skewers of steak, then shrimp. Our server kept returning to refill our drinks and check to see if we needed more food. Then he told us to save room for dessert. I was going to decline dessert until I saw one carried past my table. It was bread pudding with vanilla ice cream and a caramel/banana sauce. WOW!! Had to try it and it did not disappoint.


      This was my favorite meal of my vacation. I will definitely be returning on my next trip to Disney World.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Momof4

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Sat February 14, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tons of food
      Cons: No more turkey or salad

       
      This was a must-do for us for a long time but not anymore. The service was great but the food quality has significantly declined. First disappointment was the removal of the salad and turkey. The salad was replaced with lettuce wraps which are okay but nothing great. The lo mein and veggies were really good but the wings tasted old and dry. The beef and shrimp were poor quality. They were both really rubbery and lacked flavor. The pork loin was good and the dessert was outstanding. Unfortunately, that's not enough to bring us back. Really bummed to see one of our favorites go downhill!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      captsmee

      Registered: May 2008
      Location: Neverland
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Wed February 4, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): incredible!
      Cons: nothing!

       
      This is by far my favorite place on property. While it doesn't beat places like Texas de Brazil, it is as close as it gets. Once seated the food starts to come fast & furious & Plentiful. Don't hold back, it is all you can eat. First comes the bread, then hot towels to cleanse yourself with. After that the dumplings & chicken wings hit the table followed by lettuse wraps. Once the lo mein & veggies hit it's go time for the meats. Steak, pork loin & shrimp all brought from the wood grilled fire to your table on skewers. Then once your starting to feel uncomfortable from gorging the most amazing dessert is laid out in front of you to devour. Banana bread pudding a la mode with Carmel sauce. You can't resist & leave feeling like it's thanksgiving with a big 'ol food baby joining you
      Click here to see this users profile  
      short2cake

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri January 30, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food is fabulous
      Cons: nothing!

       
      We dined here on 1/19/15. I made a 9:15pm adr so we would be there in time for the Magic Kingdom Fireworks at 10pm. The food was fantastic. I really thought I would like the steak best but I LOVED the pork. It was so moist and flavorful! The bread pudding they served for dessert was fantastic too. Honestly, there wasn't a bad item on the menu. The pot-stickers were delicious and they have an appetizer dish where you can make your own lettuce wraps. Everything was so good and the service was great too. They pipe the music in when the fireworks start and we had a window seat which made it perfect. I don't' have a single bad thing to say about this place and it's definitely going to be on our list for future visits!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CinCin

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 64
      Review Date: Fri January 16, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of food, good variety, great flavor
      Cons: no chicken skewers, the previous salad and dressing is off the menu

       
      I first visited 'Ohana in 2012 and had such a wonderful visit that when I returned Nov 2014, I made sure to book 'Ohana for another meal. I had heard that they had made many changes and had taken several of my favorites off the menu so I was a bit apprehensive as a picky eater that I might go away hungry and disappointed but I really wanted to judge for myself and not rely on other's reviews entirely and potentially miss a great experience. I really loved 'Ohana so much last time so I gave it another try. I am delighted to report that I did not walk away hungry and I had another wonderful meal. There were a few changes from my last visit, but the staff there were all very accommodating and they tried to fix everything I wanted. The salad has been replaced with vegetable lettuce wraps but I asked for a salad instead which they fixed. They did not have chicken skewers any longer but they did offer to prepare me some flame grilled chicken except it wouldn't have any seasoning other than salt and pepper so I declined the offer. I asked for all my meat to be well done and the chef was happy to prepare it just so for me. I ended up with so much food to eat that I was too full for dessert. I did eat a couple of bites just to say I did, but truly I was already stuffed from a great meal. I enjoyed the beef very much and the seasoning they used was quite tasty. I don't eat shrimp but they were shell on and looked to be quite a chore to get to. The lomein noodles didn't have much flavor and I was a bit disappointed in that but a good spoonful of the peanut sauce fixed them right up. I loved the potstickers and the chicken wings were good too but a mess to eat as they were pre-sauced and you need plenty of napkins. The bread pudding was good too, but honestly I only had two or maybe three bites and was too full to really enjoy it. They do tend to bring the fast fast and furious, and I had to tell them several times I wasn't ready for the skewers yet. I didn't let them rush me. But when I say several times, I really mean about 4 or 5. Granted it was different servers coming 'round asking, but still I almost got annoyed by their persistence but then I decided that I was going to dine at my pace and not let them rush me. So they brought the bread, salad, potstickers, lo mein, stir fry vegetables and chicken wings pretty much all one after the other non stop and I couldn't stop them. I tried. The only real complaint I had was a personal space issue but I didn't say anything to staff about it. I was seated at the table where all the kids line up for the coconuts for the races and they were all up against my table, seriously touching my table, and it quite bothered me that were all over my food and in my personal space. I had already finished my meal and was waiting for dessert, but still... Overall, I had a wonderful experience once again and 'Ohana will remain on my list of "Must Do's".
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyhardin

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Fri January 2, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Food
      Cons:

       
      We have eaten here several times and usually have had to wait quite a while past our ADR time to be seated. I was so surprised, we checked in a little early and were seated immediately. Our server was good and brought our drinks quickly.


      We got our first couple courses quickly and spaced well, but then we had a fairly long wait before anyone came around with meat. Once it came thought, it was plentiful and delicious.


      The absolute highlight of the meal was that we finished up just as Wishes was starting. Our server told us to not hurry out and enjoy the show. The big plate glass windows across the back provided a fantastic view and they dimmed the lights and piped in the music. It was just a magical way to end our day.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bmdisney

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Wed December 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Plenty of food, great location
      Cons: Price glitch

       
      We ate here for our second time on Friday Dec 12. We had a 9:40 ADR and were seated a little after 10. The closing time is 10 but we did not feel rushed to leave. I really enjoy the food here. Service was good, especially Cliff. Small matter came at the end when bill arrived. Our party was 4 adults and 1 child. We were charged for 5 adults. We brought to server's attention and she said her table seating said 5 adults on the reservation. If I forgot to specify online one of our party was a child, would they charge me for 5 children if online I said the party was made up of all children? Didn't think so. Lesson: always check the bill carefully. Even so, we will be back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      allears

      Registered: September 2005
      Posts: 553
      Review Date: Fri December 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): View
      Cons: Bad food ,Bad food

       
      Review by echambers; moved to correct location.


      We have been there Many times so we looking forward to it. WELL the food was REAL bad the Beef was Way over cooked and all fat , The Shrimp was soggy, The pork was all fat and it tasted like it was soaked in BBQ sauce. The waiter called us cuz like 100 times. What a bummer we went back to our room and got Pizza because we were still hungry.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Loueloui

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue October 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming was nice.
      Cons: Poor service, bad food, poor value.

       
      I dined at O'hana with my wife and friends of ours for dinner one evening. After months of waiting, we were finally here. After being herded into the main dining area, they took our drink orders, and brought us out our appetizers and salads. Let me say that the resort was very crowded at this point, and this part seemed very rushed. After that we were essentially abandoned. It didn't help that we were one of the end tables. Our dinner was essentially something like this: 3 mushy shrimp, followed 10 minutes later by 3 more mushy shrimp then maybe some veggies and again 3 mushy shrimp. As a native Floridian, I know my shrimp, and these were not the best quality and ill prepared to boot.


      We never received any beef or pork at all. We were then unceremoniously shooed away to make room for the next batch of diners. This was without a doubt the worst dining experience I have had at any WDW restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Villeguy

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Fri October 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Atmosphere, Food and Fun
      Cons:

       
      We ate at 'Ohana on Monday, September 29th. This place is unbelievable, the food is so delicious that you have to force yourself to stop eating. As were being escorted to our table the host said we had the best table in the place. We were seated at a window table for two. To my surprise the view was a direct head on view of Cinderella's Castle. The wait staff was on point. We waited for nothing from start to finish. Excellent staff, best view and food that makes your toes curl. 'Ohana never lets us down, it just gets better and better each year.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Lanmon

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 35
      Review Date: Thu October 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bread Pudding
      Cons: Dry and grizzly beef and watered down drinks

       
      It has been a 10+ year tradition to go to Ohana's during our visit. The food has always been plentiful from the appetizers to the bread pudding with fantastic mai tais. This past week's visit was quite disappointing. Early dining reservations were made 6 months ago and the request to sit near a window was not done. The hostess was not happy to satisfy our request, but did it. The mai tais were poor in flavor and no taste any liquor. The dumpling and chicken wings appetizers were cold; the chicken wings were sticky and good.
      The beef was tough and grizzly; the pork was hot and delicious and the shrimp was great with the dipping sauces. The hostess was correct...to save room for the bread pudding. It was extremely flavorful and delicious.
      It is doubtful about returning to Ohana's during any future visits.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      btwmgw

      Registered: February 2008
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Mon October 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food!
      Cons: None

       
      The food is the real star here! If you are looking for a splurge this is a great place for it. Everything is so yummy. And the food is plentiful. My husband asked for his steak more rare and they cheerfully obliged. This is a great place for a break from the Magic Kingdom.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.