Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • manatee2420

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Mon July 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): visiting Polynesian
      Cons: food not cooked, rushed, could not see coconut rolling

       
      This is my second time at O'hana. The first trip was much better than this one. We were not seated in the main dining room, so we could not see the kids rolling coconuts. Most of the meat was undercooked. I like my beef well done and had to ask for it specifically as the beef on the "medium" skewers they bring by default was barely medium rare in my opinion. The pork was also not cooked, which is even more of a safety concern. We just pushed that aside and didn't bother our waiter. He seemed rather frazzled as it was. The only part of the meal I truly enjoyed were the noodles. I ate lots of those.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Tinkertina

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sat July 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly staff, amazing food, and atmosphere
      Cons: Miss the skewered chicken

       
      Our party of 10 had an amazing dinner! We were seated quickly and had a very attentive waiter. The entire meal from the bread, salad, wings,and noodles were excellent. Our favorites were the steak, shrimp, and dessert. This was our second time eating here, and is by far our favorite place to eat. This dining experience is a disney must do! Only negative is that they no longer serve chicken on the skewers which were my kids favorite.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      monkback2

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: camden,arkansas
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed June 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great food, service atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      We love ohana. We allow our son and daughter to each pick 1 of the places we eat. 13 year old son always picks ohana. In the past we have had ressies on more than one night. My favorite is the shrimp dipped in the peanut sauce. You have to get ressies well in advance but its worth the trouble. If you can only eat at one place at WDW make it Ohana.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mpk

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue June 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pros: Most everything
      Cons: Cons: the lettuce waps

       
      We were looking forward to Ohana's after eating there on our last visit. As before, we really enjoyed this meal and the whole Hawaiian Experience/ Atmosphere/ Entertainment. We were a little saddened that we did not get a lei as in the past upon arrival. We were looking forward to that extremely delicious salad from last time but were very disappointed that they had changed the dressing (it was just OK). All the meats were fantastic and our server was great about bringing us more!! The pace of the meal was perfect and we did not feel rushed. LOVED the dessert. Overall it is still a wonderful place to eat but a little disappointed by some of the changes. If we had not visited before, we wouldn't have anything to compare it to and would still be quite happy.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      imondline

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun June 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere
      Cons: Price and new menu

       
      We were stunned to find that chicken skewers were removed from the menu! Shell on shrimp, beef and pork remain. Beef was really tough and not appetizing. Not worth the money any more. Will not return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dfan79

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Sun June 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Location

       
      Ohana 7 out of 10


      Me and my family recently ate at Ohana, which is of course at the Polynesian Resort. There was some great parts about the whole experience and some not so great. For instance the Appetizer part of the meal was a mixed bag, I thought the Salad with mandarin oranges and spaghetti-like Teriyaki Noodles were really good. The part I didn’t care for was the Chicken Wings, they were too wet and tasted of cinnamon. I’m used to Chicken Wings being fried and tasting like Chicken Wings. For the Entrée part of the meal a waitress brought over long skewers with different meats. My favorite meats were the Chickens and Steaks. Next time I go to Ohana I’ll definitely stay away from the Pork though. My mouth was on fire until dessert came.


      Speaking of dessert we had the Bread Pudding, it was ok. It was much harder on the outside though then I thought it would be and it wasn‘t very flavorful. Thankfully the warm dessert came with a scoop of Vanilla Ice Cream on top of it. My nephew a picky eater so he didn’t care for the Bread Pudding, but he really loved the Ice Cream. He had a whole bowl of just that. Luckily for the rest of us the waitress brought over a gravy boat filled with Caramel and Bananas. This provided a much need sugar kick to the dessert and also softened its hard exterior.


      Ohana has a great atmosphere, its so authentic that it makes you feel like you’re actually in Hawaii. The main room which you first pass through has long tables that sit under an arched wicker roof. Our table was in a different more secluded section of the restaurant located at the back of the place. It was by a set of windows that look out at the numerous plants that inhabit the Polynesian Resort. I was amazed at how private it felt in this part of the restaurant despite the large crowd. There’s many fine decorative touches throughout the restaurant, like the harpoons with the ivory fish at the end of them.


      There is also plenty of entertainment during dinner time at Ohana‘s. Some strange Hawaiian lady was singing on the intercom system and handing out lays. She sounded like a person that really enjoyed her job. Even though her songs weren’t particularly good and I would never in a million years listen to them in my own time, I still enjoyed them. She was hilarious (intentionally or not) and made the meal even more enjoyable. The joyous singer kept calling people cousin as she walked around singing and playing her guitar. She seemed to especially like my father she rubbed up against him in a playful manner as she passed by.


      I had a real good time and I’ll probably do it again someday. At least now I know what to have and what to avoid. One negative about Ohana is the location though, it’s a bit of a hike to get to from other resorts. Plus it isn’t as great as people make it out to be. I won’t be selling my first born for a reservation to it, but it’s still pretty good. If you are starving and want to fill up on lots of delicious meats, check out Ohana.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clyde0523

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sat May 31, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This was one of our favorite meals on our trip. We were late for our reservation (we got lost), but were still seated quickly. The staff was wonderful and took really good care of us!


      The food was outstanding! There was absolutely nothing wrong with this meal! We left full and sleepy and ready for bed which was perfect.


      We will definitely eat here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Fri May 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We really enjoyed this meal. We thought all the food was delicious and the price was good for an all you can eat meal. The kids were not crazy about the food, so we may return for an adults only meal Smile. The service, however was very slow.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Breeze1979

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun May 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Food quality, service

       
      This has been one of our favorite restaurants over the years....we were sadly disappointed in the service and food quality when we went on May 12th. First they no longer have chicken as they used to bring on skewers. Second, we waited a long time to be seated after our reservation time of 8:15. Once seated we had to continually ask for food to be brought to us.....at one point our server asked if we wanted seconds on some of the meats and we said we'd be happy if we could be given first. The food quality has gone down from past years and didn't excite us at all. It was the absolute worst meal our entire stay and we will not return again unless something changes for the better.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      aknlw2003

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: NC
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu May 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great gluten free offerings
      Cons: Herded like cattle

       
      I searched and searched for the coveted O'Hana reservation and was so excited to take my family last week. This experience was a let down compared to previous visits. For starters, we were hoping for the Hawaiin entertainment from years past. This year we got one birthday song and a line to get a lei. I missed the excitement that this element usually brings to the experience. The food, however, was very good...but quickly served. I know this was in an attempt to turn the table, but the pace was really too fast for my taste. The Gluten free offerings for my husband were excellent and included lettuce wraps, chicken wings, and all of the grilled meats and a special dessert. They did require my 10 year old to be charged as an adult- which made the price tag high in my opinion. The food was great, just the experience was a bit of a let down.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      seymourmomof3

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Seymour, TN
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun May 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: None

       
      There are no words to explain how great this meal was. We ate here on April 19, we were seated right away with reservations. We got a table by the window perfect view. We had an amazing server, never waited for anything. The food was outstanding and kept coming all night. We were seated away from the activities a little but that was okay we didn't have to worry about the crowding. Finished off the dinner with wishes down on the beach. If you have never ate here, plan it your next visit.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kg25

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun March 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice setup
      Cons: Poor service, food below average

       
      We were seated rather quickly...very slow service.They say it's all you can eat, but we waited up to 20 minutes for more vegetables. It was not busy at all. The meat we were told is marinated for three days, but it's really tough...they didnt ask of we wanted more they just put it in your plate rather you want it or not. Seemed like they catered to people who were not in the dinning plan. Something that didn't happen at other places. Overall poor quality food and substandard service..
      Click here to see this users profile  
      debsil4

      Registered: August 2008
      Location: New Orleans
      Posts: 52
      Review Date: Wed February 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food and service
      Cons:

       
      I ate here last week as part of my daughter's high school cheerleading team dinner. All total, we had a party of around 80 people. This had been arranged well in advance. We were seated in a section of 10 round tables and had great food and service. There had even been an arrangement for a birthday cake for one of the coaches. Everything flowed effortlessly. Since the menu is family-style, this is a great restaurant for large groups.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JennaDeeDooDah

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Mon February 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): service, food
      Cons: Lack of activity

       
      I hate to say it, but I was disappointed in this dining experience. The food was absolutely fantastic and our server was as kind as could be, but that's really all I can say about it. I hate how crowded it is while we wait for a table. We were seated at a table where we were unable to see the hula lessons and there were no other activities that I had heard so much about. There was no ukulele player, coconut races, or hula hoop contests. That was a little disappointing. But, as I said, the food was excellent. I especially loved the chicken and the shrimp. The lo mein, wings, and pot stickers were also worth mentioning. My husband and I might dine here again if it was just the two of us, but for a trip with our daughter and my parents, we would want a little more activity. We would likely stick to the breakfast which we loved.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bosslady79

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Fri January 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: none

       
      Ate here for the first time on 11-18, food was excellent, the portions were just right. Pork, chicken and shrimp were great along with the dipping sauces. Steak was tough, but no problem, got extra pork. Bread pudding with sauce was amazing. Our server Eddie was great! Kept the food coming and drinks filled!


      Make reservations ASAP of the 180 day booking, it fills fast!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.