Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • purpleriz

      Registered: August 2008
      Location: Palm Coast, FL
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Thu August 6, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Not too crowded, nice choices of food
      Cons: None!

       
      We were staying at Bay Lake Tower and made a special trip over to the Kona Café for lunch on 7/31. A quick monorail ride and then over to Magic Kingdom makes for a nice break from the park during the hot part of the day. Thoroughly enjoyed the fish tacos! The shell was more like a fried chalupa shell and was crunchy and delicious. Pasta salad and slaw sides were ok, and enjoyed the chocolate torte dessert. Would definitely recommend and will return again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tcg

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 102
      Review Date: Sat July 18, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Terrific food
      Cons: Service can be slow

       
      The menu options here are great, very different from usual hotel offerings. The Tuna Poke is beautifully presented and delicious, with just a hint of heat. I preferred over the one I had last week at Monsieur Paul which was very heavy on mustard. The sushi is always very good and the appetizer menu cannot be beaten anywhere. The Pot Stickers and Sticky Wings are a must have, but all of the choices are delicious. Service is very relaxed, some may find it slow.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mattingly5

      Registered: July 2015
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue July 7, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great location do watching fireworks afterwards
      Cons: Nothing really

       
      We were pleasantly surprised by Kona. I knew nothing about it and we ended up having the best steak of our trip. This meal was a fraction of the cost of our other meals. The great view of the fireworks out by the pool was wonderful. Definitely a bit of Disney Magic!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Tracy2kids

      Registered: April 2009
      Location: Milton, Georgia
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Tue July 7, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great out of the park retreat, delicious food
      Cons: Disney prices (but we knew that going in)

       
      Husband and teen son went for 2nd visit for lunch on July 3rd as a break from our marathon Magic Kingdom day in the park. I highly recommend taking the monorail and going here to take a break for lunch, especially on a hot summer day! They both got the surf and turf burgers and loved them (again)! Think this place is great! P.S. If you have room after, go to the Dole Whip stand outside the downstairs. Refreshing!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cue_chik

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu May 14, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: Nothing

       
      Fodd was fabulous! We shared three appetizers... the Potstickers, The Lump Crab Cakes and The Steamed Pork Sliders.. all mwere fantastic.


      I ordered Island Chicken Sandwich and it was amazing. Per slaw was delicious.. the sweet potato fries were ok.


      DS & DH ordered the Surf and Turf Burger... both are still talking about how wonderful it was. I agree.. it is.


      For dessert. I had the Banana-Chocolate Creme Brulee - absolutely amazing. Wish I could have had more though I would't have had any room for it. DS ordered the Warm Apple tart with Bacon-Macadamia Nut Brittle.. he loved it. DH ordered the Jasmine Tea-infused Cheesecake. he also enjoyed it.


      Overall, one of the best lunches we've had at WDW!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      girldrgn8

      Registered: April 2011
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Sat March 28, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Drinks; Bread; Service
      Cons: Food Choices

       
      My husband and I ate here on March 21 using our TIW. After a long day, it was great to sit down and order drinks. My husband ordered the Lapu Lapu and I had the Tropical Macaw. Both were great! The bread that they bring out is wonderful and the butter is wonderful too. Then it came to ordering dinner. My husband ordered the Spicy Tuna which he really did not like at all. He ate it because he was hungry. I ordered the pot stickers and soup for my dinner. I thought both were fine but nothing special. Neither of us ordered dessert even though they looked great. We decided we will try breakfast next time and skip the dinner menu here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 250
      Review Date: Tue January 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Best food of the trip, accommodating
      Cons: Poor service, very rushed

       
      This was a new restaurant for us and one we were looking forward to very much. Our ADR was for 1:35pm on 12/18. We arrived on time and our party of two was seated right away at a table for four. This turned out to be lucky because a friend decided he wanted to join us and was in the Poly lobby when we were being seated. Our server told us it wouldn't be a problem to add him to the table.


      My mom and I came in pretty sure of what we wanted, so we ordered almost immediately. We asked to split the Crab Cakes for an appetizer and the Polynesian Plate Lunch of Pan-Fried Chicken for our entree.


      Our friend ordered right after he sat down, maybe two minutes after we had ordered. My appetizer came within 10 minutes of ordering, which was great...but the server brought the entree at the same time! Not a good thing, because then we felt rushed to eat the app before the chicken got cold.
      Our friend had the same issue when his food was delivered just a few minutes after ours.


      The food was delicious, at least. We had requested the Jalapeno-Lime sauce on the side for our crab cakes, and the cakes were so flavorful they didn't need the sauce anyway. The pan-fried chicken was amazing and so tender. It was served with coconut and mango sauces on top, plus sides of white rice (boring) and pasta salad (boring, but really good). Our friend had the Steamed Pork Buns and the BBQ Pork Tacos and had no complaints at all.


      Mom and I looked at all the dessert options but decided to stick with our original intention: the Chocolate Fondue. It did not disappoint! So good we almost licked the dish.


      We had explained to our server that my mom and I would be one check and our friend would be separate. We were told that was not a problem but he brought us two copies of only our check. Then it took forever for him to come by again so we could let him know. He had just kind of disappeared throughout the meal, and we never got drink refills.


      Overall, amazing food but poor service. Yes, I'd return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      saraht

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Boston, MA
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue January 13, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): amazing food, great service, quiet
      Cons:

       
      This was our favorite meal of the entire trip. I had the coffee crusted pork chop and it was amazing. This will be a stop on my next trip and I will order it again. The atmposhere was lovely- very quiet and peaceful. Our server was great as well. We had no complaints at all here!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disney_Dreamz

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Thu January 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): NOTHING
      Cons: EVERYTHING: Food, Waiter, Service... ICK

       
      We have eaten dinner at the Kona Cafe twice between 2005-2014 so we decided to try lunch here on the 17th of November. Oh My Gosh, we really regretted it. We will NOT be returning to the Kona Cafe EVER again.


      For lunch they don't serve the bread with hazelnut butter...at least we didn't get one. Then when our lunch (eventually) came they brought the wrong item. I ordered the hamburger w/ bacon instead of shrimp, but they brought the hamburger w/ shrimp which did taste good.


      Then, there was dessert... :shudders:. We both had the apple tart. It looked soo good and had my mom order it too. It tasted like it was 2-3 months old. It was hard as a rock...okay we were able to break it but it was so horrible. Even the ice cream tasted bad. ICE CREAM!!!


      So we just paid and left. The waiter took forever w/ our food. So we are NEVER EVER EVER returning there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tcohen24

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Sun December 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, friendly service
      Cons: None

       
      We ate here on 12/16/14 for dinner. The staff and our server were excellent. So friendly and helpful.
      We had crab cakes as an appetizer which was very good. My daughter had the swordfish , excellent. I had the tofu asian noodles, excellent . For dessert the banana cream was very good and chocolate fondue was good too.
      The best was the bread with almond butter...excellent.
      I would highly recommend eating here. I feel like it's a hidden gem for a great meal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disney_Dreamz

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Wed November 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Food... Service

       
      I really regret going to Kona Cafe for lunch. We only went because nothing was open for Dinner. Lunch pretty much was bad.


      My mom had the steak which was good but my hamburger was bad. I ordered the bacon hamburger instead of the shrimp but they messed up my order and brought the shrimp, which was 'ok.'


      We were surprised there was no bread served. Not sure if they just forgot about it for us. But the service was bad.


      The dessert was HORRIBLE. We both had the apple cobbler which was hard as a rock. We will not be returning to Kona for lunch OR dinner.


      I would rate this a 0 or none at all if there was a choice so I gave it a one.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Villeguy

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Fri October 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Atmosphere, and Great Food
      Cons:

       
      We ate at Kona on Sunday, September 28th before heading over to Mickey's Not So Scary Halloween Party. This is one of our favorite places to eat in Disney World. Truth be told we have at least 10 places we call our favorites. The food and staff at Kona is stellar. We started off with the Cucumber Roll. They were perfection on a plate. You can't go wrong with some of the freshest ingredients. Entrees consisted of the Grilled New York Strip Steak each. The meat was so tender it melted in your mouth along with the accompanying molasses-bacon butter. The fingerling potatoes were roasted to such a delectable crisp. Kona is a truly hidden gem and we are so happy that we have shared this place together for so many years and we pray for many years to come.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Rosebud

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Wed October 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, dessert, waitstaff
      Cons: None

       
      Visited Disney in August and arrived around 11:00. Check-in was quick since we had club level.
      We were all pretty hungry (5 adults, 4 kids) and took a chance that we could get in to Kona, which we did. Of course for the rest of our 10 days, it was impossible, so I would caution everyone - reservations are a must for both Kona and Ohana. With only two table restaurants, the Poly is touch and go. I wish they would reopen Tangaroa Terrace.
      Anyway, food was very good, drinks same. The desserts were incredible. I highly recommend this restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Environmentalist

      Registered: February 2009
      Location: Fort Wayne, IN
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Wed July 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great variety and flavors, amazing dessert
      Cons: Open air environment to GCH can be noisy

       
      This is the second time I've eaten at Kona Cafe. The food is amazing here. There is a great variety of menu options and the flavors are top notch. Truly a Disney hidden gem, as many people don't seem to know about it. There were empty tables while we were there at the dinner rush, which surprised me.


      The only con is the noise factor - not within the restaurant, but from people walking through the GCH from the monorail and from people waiting for dinner at Ohana. It did get a bit loud at times and made it harder to hear, even though we were near the back wall of the restaurant.


      Even with the noise, be sure to try Kona Cafe while it is still there. Rumors are flying that Disney will close it during the construction at the Poly and replace it with something else.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      EpcotMom

      Registered: July 2006
      Location: Taunton, Massachusetts
      Posts: 42
      Review Date: Tue July 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Service

       
      It saddens me to write this review of a favorite restaurant. We went on July 20 for dinner. There were ten in our party. We chose this restaurant from past experience, having always enjoyed it. The server, a young man, was inattentive and actually acted like he thought he was something special. Had to ask for the bread and macadamia butter! My sister's tuna was over cooked and the scallops were tasteless. The chocolate fondue was good, but the macaroon cookies were so hard that I couldn't get a spoon into them. This restaurant will no longer be a "must do" or even anywhere near the top of the list.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.