Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • cue_chik

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu May 14, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: Nothing

       
      Fodd was fabulous! We shared three appetizers... the Potstickers, The Lump Crab Cakes and The Steamed Pork Sliders.. all mwere fantastic.


      I ordered Island Chicken Sandwich and it was amazing. Per slaw was delicious.. the sweet potato fries were ok.


      DS & DH ordered the Surf and Turf Burger... both are still talking about how wonderful it was. I agree.. it is.


      For dessert. I had the Banana-Chocolate Creme Brulee - absolutely amazing. Wish I could have had more though I would't have had any room for it. DS ordered the Warm Apple tart with Bacon-Macadamia Nut Brittle.. he loved it. DH ordered the Jasmine Tea-infused Cheesecake. he also enjoyed it.


      Overall, one of the best lunches we've had at WDW!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      girldrgn8

      Registered: April 2011
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Sat March 28, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Drinks; Bread; Service
      Cons: Food Choices

       
      My husband and I ate here on March 21 using our TIW. After a long day, it was great to sit down and order drinks. My husband ordered the Lapu Lapu and I had the Tropical Macaw. Both were great! The bread that they bring out is wonderful and the butter is wonderful too. Then it came to ordering dinner. My husband ordered the Spicy Tuna which he really did not like at all. He ate it because he was hungry. I ordered the pot stickers and soup for my dinner. I thought both were fine but nothing special. Neither of us ordered dessert even though they looked great. We decided we will try breakfast next time and skip the dinner menu here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 250
      Review Date: Tue January 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Best food of the trip, accommodating
      Cons: Poor service, very rushed

       
      This was a new restaurant for us and one we were looking forward to very much. Our ADR was for 1:35pm on 12/18. We arrived on time and our party of two was seated right away at a table for four. This turned out to be lucky because a friend decided he wanted to join us and was in the Poly lobby when we were being seated. Our server told us it wouldn't be a problem to add him to the table.


      My mom and I came in pretty sure of what we wanted, so we ordered almost immediately. We asked to split the Crab Cakes for an appetizer and the Polynesian Plate Lunch of Pan-Fried Chicken for our entree.


      Our friend ordered right after he sat down, maybe two minutes after we had ordered. My appetizer came within 10 minutes of ordering, which was great...but the server brought the entree at the same time! Not a good thing, because then we felt rushed to eat the app before the chicken got cold.
      Our friend had the same issue when his food was delivered just a few minutes after ours.


      The food was delicious, at least. We had requested the Jalapeno-Lime sauce on the side for our crab cakes, and the cakes were so flavorful they didn't need the sauce anyway. The pan-fried chicken was amazing and so tender. It was served with coconut and mango sauces on top, plus sides of white rice (boring) and pasta salad (boring, but really good). Our friend had the Steamed Pork Buns and the BBQ Pork Tacos and had no complaints at all.


      Mom and I looked at all the dessert options but decided to stick with our original intention: the Chocolate Fondue. It did not disappoint! So good we almost licked the dish.


      We had explained to our server that my mom and I would be one check and our friend would be separate. We were told that was not a problem but he brought us two copies of only our check. Then it took forever for him to come by again so we could let him know. He had just kind of disappeared throughout the meal, and we never got drink refills.


      Overall, amazing food but poor service. Yes, I'd return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      saraht

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Boston, MA
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue January 13, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): amazing food, great service, quiet
      Cons:

       
      This was our favorite meal of the entire trip. I had the coffee crusted pork chop and it was amazing. This will be a stop on my next trip and I will order it again. The atmposhere was lovely- very quiet and peaceful. Our server was great as well. We had no complaints at all here!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disney_Dreamz

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Thu January 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): NOTHING
      Cons: EVERYTHING: Food, Waiter, Service... ICK

       
      We have eaten dinner at the Kona Cafe twice between 2005-2014 so we decided to try lunch here on the 17th of November. Oh My Gosh, we really regretted it. We will NOT be returning to the Kona Cafe EVER again.


      For lunch they don't serve the bread with hazelnut butter...at least we didn't get one. Then when our lunch (eventually) came they brought the wrong item. I ordered the hamburger w/ bacon instead of shrimp, but they brought the hamburger w/ shrimp which did taste good.


      Then, there was dessert... :shudders:. We both had the apple tart. It looked soo good and had my mom order it too. It tasted like it was 2-3 months old. It was hard as a rock...okay we were able to break it but it was so horrible. Even the ice cream tasted bad. ICE CREAM!!!


      So we just paid and left. The waiter took forever w/ our food. So we are NEVER EVER EVER returning there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tcohen24

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Sun December 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, friendly service
      Cons: None

       
      We ate here on 12/16/14 for dinner. The staff and our server were excellent. So friendly and helpful.
      We had crab cakes as an appetizer which was very good. My daughter had the swordfish , excellent. I had the tofu asian noodles, excellent . For dessert the banana cream was very good and chocolate fondue was good too.
      The best was the bread with almond butter...excellent.
      I would highly recommend eating here. I feel like it's a hidden gem for a great meal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disney_Dreamz

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Wed November 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Food... Service

       
      I really regret going to Kona Cafe for lunch. We only went because nothing was open for Dinner. Lunch pretty much was bad.


      My mom had the steak which was good but my hamburger was bad. I ordered the bacon hamburger instead of the shrimp but they messed up my order and brought the shrimp, which was 'ok.'


      We were surprised there was no bread served. Not sure if they just forgot about it for us. But the service was bad.


      The dessert was HORRIBLE. We both had the apple cobbler which was hard as a rock. We will not be returning to Kona for lunch OR dinner.


      I would rate this a 0 or none at all if there was a choice so I gave it a one.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Villeguy

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Fri October 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Atmosphere, and Great Food
      Cons:

       
      We ate at Kona on Sunday, September 28th before heading over to Mickey's Not So Scary Halloween Party. This is one of our favorite places to eat in Disney World. Truth be told we have at least 10 places we call our favorites. The food and staff at Kona is stellar. We started off with the Cucumber Roll. They were perfection on a plate. You can't go wrong with some of the freshest ingredients. Entrees consisted of the Grilled New York Strip Steak each. The meat was so tender it melted in your mouth along with the accompanying molasses-bacon butter. The fingerling potatoes were roasted to such a delectable crisp. Kona is a truly hidden gem and we are so happy that we have shared this place together for so many years and we pray for many years to come.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Rosebud

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Wed October 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, dessert, waitstaff
      Cons: None

       
      Visited Disney in August and arrived around 11:00. Check-in was quick since we had club level.
      We were all pretty hungry (5 adults, 4 kids) and took a chance that we could get in to Kona, which we did. Of course for the rest of our 10 days, it was impossible, so I would caution everyone - reservations are a must for both Kona and Ohana. With only two table restaurants, the Poly is touch and go. I wish they would reopen Tangaroa Terrace.
      Anyway, food was very good, drinks same. The desserts were incredible. I highly recommend this restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Environmentalist

      Registered: February 2009
      Location: Fort Wayne, IN
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Wed July 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great variety and flavors, amazing dessert
      Cons: Open air environment to GCH can be noisy

       
      This is the second time I've eaten at Kona Cafe. The food is amazing here. There is a great variety of menu options and the flavors are top notch. Truly a Disney hidden gem, as many people don't seem to know about it. There were empty tables while we were there at the dinner rush, which surprised me.


      The only con is the noise factor - not within the restaurant, but from people walking through the GCH from the monorail and from people waiting for dinner at Ohana. It did get a bit loud at times and made it harder to hear, even though we were near the back wall of the restaurant.


      Even with the noise, be sure to try Kona Cafe while it is still there. Rumors are flying that Disney will close it during the construction at the Poly and replace it with something else.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      EpcotMom

      Registered: July 2006
      Location: Taunton, Massachusetts
      Posts: 42
      Review Date: Tue July 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Service

       
      It saddens me to write this review of a favorite restaurant. We went on July 20 for dinner. There were ten in our party. We chose this restaurant from past experience, having always enjoyed it. The server, a young man, was inattentive and actually acted like he thought he was something special. Had to ask for the bread and macadamia butter! My sister's tuna was over cooked and the scallops were tasteless. The chocolate fondue was good, but the macaroon cookies were so hard that I couldn't get a spoon into them. This restaurant will no longer be a "must do" or even anywhere near the top of the list.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      slpayne

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Mon March 31, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food
      Cons: Atmosphere is a little lacking.

       
      We waited about 10 minutes for our table. My only complaint is that I'm not a huge fan of the atmosphere. It just seems a little diner-y. Food however was very good. I had the potstickers and DH had the teriyaki steak. We'll probably come here on a future trip, but it's not one of our "must dos".
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SheenaXena21

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Mon December 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and service
      Cons: wait

       
      This place is usually the best of the trip, and this trip it did not disappoint.


      The steak and desserts are great!


      I ordered one of the Kona beers, and it was too bitter for me. That was the only negative, but that was because of personal dislike.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nursenita

      Registered: February 2008
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri November 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food,good desserts
      Cons: service

       
      Overall, the food was good, dessert excellent but the service was the worst. We often had to flag someone down to get service, everyone seemed to be so busy doing nothing.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      2SweetFlowers

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue November 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bread and Dessert
      Cons: Disappointing Menu Change

       
      The Kona Cafe has long been a last-night-of-vacation dinner tradition for us, but after dropping our favorite almond coconut chicken with salad from the menu, we may need to find another restaurant and start a new tradition. We were extremely disappointed in the revised menu and really had a hard time finding anything we even wanted to order. The chicken dish now offered on the menu was rather nondescript despite the curry sauce. The kona coffee rubbed pork chop was delicious, but we didn't care for the mushroom bread pudding served alongside.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.