Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • slpayne

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Mon March 31, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food
      Cons: Atmosphere is a little lacking.

       
      We waited about 10 minutes for our table. My only complaint is that I'm not a huge fan of the atmosphere. It just seems a little diner-y. Food however was very good. I had the potstickers and DH had the teriyaki steak. We'll probably come here on a future trip, but it's not one of our "must dos".
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SheenaXena21

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Mon December 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and service
      Cons: wait

       
      This place is usually the best of the trip, and this trip it did not disappoint.


      The steak and desserts are great!


      I ordered one of the Kona beers, and it was too bitter for me. That was the only negative, but that was because of personal dislike.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nursenita

      Registered: February 2008
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri November 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food,good desserts
      Cons: service

       
      Overall, the food was good, dessert excellent but the service was the worst. We often had to flag someone down to get service, everyone seemed to be so busy doing nothing.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      2SweetFlowers

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue November 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bread and Dessert
      Cons: Disappointing Menu Change

       
      The Kona Cafe has long been a last-night-of-vacation dinner tradition for us, but after dropping our favorite almond coconut chicken with salad from the menu, we may need to find another restaurant and start a new tradition. We were extremely disappointed in the revised menu and really had a hard time finding anything we even wanted to order. The chicken dish now offered on the menu was rather nondescript despite the curry sauce. The kona coffee rubbed pork chop was delicious, but we didn't care for the mushroom bread pudding served alongside.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      HOBBES

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: UK
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Thu October 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): a really different set of items on the menu
      Cons: quite noisy and open

       
      I had never seen this restaurant before so had originally planned on using it for an anniversary meal until people on discussion boards warned me it was not quiet and romantic. I am very pleased we decided to still try it though. We came on a Saturday lunch and although quite noisy-it is open no walls between the restaurant and the hotel lobby-and to begin with there was hideous high pitched whistling coming from somewhere that was driving staff and guests alike crazy, it was a most enjoyable meal. We skipped a starter and went straight for the main event. DH had the Teriyaki steak dish and I had the turkey sandwich. It was huge-it would have fed us both. The waitress very kindly let me sub the pear slaw for sweet potato fries which I split with DH, who gave me his pasta salad in return. Both fries and salad were delicious. DH loved his steak-it had never occurred to him to try a steak with a sweetish sauce before but he enjoyed it. Although not the greatest cut of steak you will ever see, he said it was tender and there was nothing left on his plate at the end. I had the crème brulee for dessert and DH had the kilauea torte. The crème brulee was delicious-even DH liked it and he is not keen on banana taste. His torte was very nice too although I didn't get to share much...We enjoyed our meal and will certainly pencil it in for an escape from theme park dining next time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneymom77

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Missouri
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed August 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to get to
      Cons: Used to be our favorite....Never again!

       
      The food was terrible & the waitress was totally unconcerned. The salad was floating in dressing. The steaks were raw & mostly fat & gristle. The beans were mushy. The broccolini could not be cut with a steak knife. Where did the good chef & servers goi?
      Click here to see this users profile  
      EleanorofAquitaine

      Registered: June 2007
      Location: Georgia
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Sat July 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): not overcrowded, great selection, Tonga Toast!
      Cons: wait staff not always attentive

       
      We love the food at Kona and always eat at least one breakfast there when we stay at the Poly. This trip, we also ate lunch there twice. We love being able to walk up and get a table without a reservation. My DH is madly in love with the tuna sandwich at lunch and had talked about it from the time he had one during our trip in March until we went back in June. He ordered it both times we ate there this trip and raved about it again. I had the teriyaki steak lunch the first day and it was okay, but the sides were fabulous (sticky rice and pasta salad) and my only complaint about the divine pineapple salsa is that there wasn't enough of it. The second day, I ordered the pulled pork taco and it was fabulous. The pasta salad was underseasoned both days and I requested salt. Yes, I know chefs want us to believe their food should never be tampered with because they have seasoned it properly to begin with, but this was not Victoria and Albert's or Jiko's. I needed salt. The first time, the waiter never got it to me until he brought the check-- my pasta salad was long gone. The second day, having learned my lesson, I asked for salt when I ordered, but still got it midmeal. We also had difficulty getting drink refills, even for water. Still, the food is very good, especially at breakfast. I always get Tonga Toast and DH often gets the fruit in the pineapple. We share both and its a great way to start a Disney day.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mrodgers962

      Registered: June 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon June 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
      Cons: none

       
      This was probably our favorite restaurant of the entire trip. We enjoyed the relaxed environment of this restaurant. Nobody rushed us. My husband enjoyed the strip steak and I enjoyed the mahi mahi. This is one of few restaurants that offered more than chicken nuggets and hotdogs on the child menu. My child had the grilled fish with rice and veggies. She also had fruit for dessert since she ate our desserts the entire trip. I would definitely return to this restaurant!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Daniellep93

      Registered: August 2011
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Fri June 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Chocolate fondue dessert
      Cons: rude waitress, small portions

       
      My party of 4 ate here and were disappointed. When the server was told we were on the dining plan, she really lacked on the service. We were left to wait as we watched other tables get their food and she spoke to us as if we were beneath the other guests not on the meal plan. The food was good but with the portion size, we all left hungry. However, everyone LOVED their desserts including my sister who is not a huge sweets fan. The chocolate fondue dessert was to die for. I loved the homemade cookies and the fresh fruit.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      peytonshea02

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 110
      Review Date: Wed June 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): desserts
      Cons:

       
      I am so sad to write this review. Sad
      We have enjoyed many meals here and have always loved them. I was very excited to see a new menu for KONA! - I was so looking forward to our dinner here...but....read on if you dare.
      DD11 had the Teriyaki Style New York Strip - it was the best dish of the night and it was not that good. Very tough piece of meat and the broccolini was one step from raw. DH had the Togarashi Spiced Ahi Tuna. The Tuna was fine - cooked well, but had very little flavor/seasoning. The deep fried veggie roll was nasty. VERY greasy and odd. A veggie roll with sushi rice and seaweed isn't something that should be deep fried. Absolutely nothing appealing about this. The winner for worst dish - was mine - Sesame Seared Sea Scallops - with rice, wakami salad and tarragon-champagne beurre blanc. Translation: 3 scallops, over cooked with no taste other than a bit of large black peppercorns cooked into them. The wakami salad was inedible. I am not sure what sort of flavor profile they were going for here..but it was a fail.
      The one saving grace of this meal was the desserts. The Banana-Chocolate Creme Brulee and the Chocolate Fondue were excellent...thankfully. Had it not been for the yummy bread and desserts, I would have left hungry. It will be a very long time before we find the strength to try Kona again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      1283alex

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Tue May 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): very good food
      Cons: somewhat crowded noisy dining area

       
      Was impressed by the food here. Restaurant is open smack in the middle of the hotel, can be loud. Tables are crammed in there too close together. Would go back again, but try to time it for mid-afternoon when a little less crowded.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      TwoCandMs

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: Franklin, MA
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Thu May 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, bread
      Cons: too expensive, menu change, quality has diminished

       
      This was our go-to place for years. It was our special meal and one that we looked forward to. But not anymore!!
      We ate here Sunday night (Mother's Day). The menu has changed and there is no longer a boneless chicken dish suitable for a pre-teen or picky adult.
      My husband and son both ordered the steak which they have gotten for years. They were fatty and a very small cut without any flavor. The number of wings on the sticky wing appetizer is about half the size that it was in August.
      Server never brought more bread even when asked.


      The meal for 3 adults and 1 child was almost $150 dollars without dessert including tip. No tables in wonderland was taken because it was a blackout day.


      I hate to say this but we won't be coming here for dinner on our next trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tangerinezoe

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sat May 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good service, great food
      Cons:

       
      After lamenting the fact that we couldn't get a dinner reservation at 'Ohana, I was definitely OK with the outcome after eating at Kona. We had an ADR, but showed up way early and got seated fairly quickly. Our server was attentive, and the food was delish! I had the seared ahi, which I'm always hesitant to order because it always comes out overcooked, but our server assured me that would not be the case and he was completely right.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      I_Heart_WDW

      Registered: May 2013
      Location: Central IL
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu May 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fabulous Food and atmosphere
      Cons: Can't think of any

       
      We dined at Kona on April 11, and it was wonderful! Four of us shared sticky wings potstickers - Yum! As entrees, we had the almond chicken, tuna, lamb, and duck. They were all very, very good and we enjoyed sharing bites. We couldn't not have dessert, so we ordered the chocolate fondue, creme brulee, and they let me order bread pudding from O'Hana! Awesome! I was over the moon and enjoyed every spoonfull.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Tracy2kids

      Registered: April 2009
      Location: Milton, Georgia
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Mon April 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious!
      Cons:

       
      We had an ADR and ate lunch here on 4/5/13. First time and won't be the last! 15 year old son had surf and turf burger and said it was the best burger he ever had! Daughter loved kids ravioli and especially the make your own sundae that came at the end!! Overall great place to take the monorail and take a break from the park. Can't give it a 10 because I just wish Disney wouldn't keep increasing their prices so much for those not on the dining plan and the price for a soda is ridiculous! Great option, would go again!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.