Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • disneymom35

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: NJ
      Posts: 68
      Review Date: Tue November 17, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
      Cons: None

       
      I wish this was just a walk up kind of place, but luckily, we did have reservations for a Saturday morning. My husband had the Tonga toast with the strawberry sauce (that's not what it's called but close), and I had the egg white omelet with feta and spinach, and standard Kona coffee. It was all hot, delicious. They do serve Tonga toast at Captain Cook's but this was hot, fresh, crispy and much better than that. If you're looking for a breakfast WITHOUT CHARACTERS, this is the place for you.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      angela923

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: United States
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Thu November 12, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: always booked, hard to get reservations

       
      Had breakfast at Kona Café on 11/5 & 11/7. Had Macadamia/Pineapple pancakes. Both time with pressed pot of coffee. Wife had Pineapple pancakes and Tonga Toast. When at Disney Kona Café is a must. Love to see the monorail going by as I eat. Love that they have cut back the brush so you can see the monorail again. Miss the atrium, but can live with new lobby. As always Kona is a 10.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Leejamier

      Registered: October 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu October 8, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Price
      Cons: Slow service

       
      Loved this place! Honestly, the reason I even wanted to go was because they serve Tonga Toast and I had never had. Let me tell you, it did not disappoint! Soooooooo yummy. My husband the breakfast platter and he loved it and walked away full (hard to do!).


      My only complaint was just about the wait staff. Our server was quite slow and breakfast would have been a lot quicker with another one. But maybe she was having an off day.


      Overall, I would definitely go again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mhw

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Niantic, Conecticut
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Fri August 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful setting and Yummy food and Kona Coffee
      Cons: None

       
      My family had breakfast here in August. My DH had the Tonga Toast and my daughters and I all had the Big Kahuna (eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, french toast and pancakes). In addition, my daughters raved about the Lilikoi'i juice and my DH and I had the French press Kona Coffee. Everything was beyond wonderful. This was one of the meals we had during our stay. We will definitely be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Junebug21981

      Registered: August 2009
      Location: St. Joseph, IL
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Sun August 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons:

       
      My DH had the Pineapple pancakes and I had the Tonga toast. Both entrees were great and we will get them again. The only thing I wasn't thrilled about was that the banana's between the toast when grilled get really mushy, but the berry compote sauce is great that goes on top. I will order it again!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jbald

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Sun June 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food
      Cons: none

       
      Love eating here. One of our must dos every trip. We had the macadamia pancakes and the ham and cheese omelet. DELICIOUS!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cue_chik

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu May 14, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything
      Cons: nothing

       
      Loved our breakfast here!!! I had the Tonga Toast.. I am still dreaming about it 5 days later. DS &DH had the Big Kahuna.. they loved it as well.. I have to say that the sausage is the best I've had.


      The Lilikoi'i juice is to die for... if i could figure out the recipe, I'd make it at home!


      We also ordered the French press - amazing... I could get used to that every morning!


      Overall, one of the best breakfasts we've had. Will definitely do this one again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KarissaB1

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Sun December 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was excellent
      Cons: None

       
      We dined here 11/17/14. We mostly all ate the Tonga Toast and the Macadamia Nut pancakes. All of the food was wonderful. You got plenty to eat and the prices were reasonable. Our waiter was excellent. We definitely plan to return. This is now a must-do on our WDW trip list.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CinCin

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 64
      Review Date: Fri November 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tonga Toast, crispy bacon, Kona coffee, fast service
      Cons: none

       
      I dined here a couple of weeks ago with a friend for breakfast. We both wanted to try the Tonga Toast and the Macadamia Nut Pancakes, so we each ordered something different and then split the dishes at the table. The waitress brought us extra plates for doing so. These dishes were each large and we could have shared a single dish between us. Both items were delicious and I would order them again with the Tonga Toast being my first choice. The strawberry syrup reminded me a lot of chilled strawberry soup with chunks of strawberry in it. It was a wonderful compliment to the crunchy toast. The bacon that came with this was regular thickness not the usual super thin bacon that is served at most places on WDW property. It was crisp and had a nice smoked flavor and was really good. I had the house blend of kona coffee and it was smooth and brewed well. Not too strong and not too weak. I didn't get the special pot of expensive Kona though it was a breakfast or house "blend". Our food came out within a few minutes of ordering and was fresh and hot. It did not appear to have been sitting ready and waiting before we ordered. I loved everything about our dining experience at Kona Cafe and definitely plan to return. This is now a must-do on my WDW trip list. People were right, this place is wonderful and that Tonga Toast - Mmmmmm. Yes, the pancakes were great too. But I'm a french toast girl at heart anyway so it won me over from the first bite.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyjill

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Tue November 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything!
      Cons: none

       
      We ate here on 11/7 and it was PACKED. Busiest I have ever seen. We arrived about 10 minutes late for res because of the bus from Riverside being late, and they sat us within 5 minutes. Service was good even though the table next to us was running our poor server ragged. I got my favorite macadamia pineapple pancakes which were delicious as usual. DH got tonga toast and enjoyed it as always. I got a French press which is totally worth the $8. Best coffee you'll ever have. We love Kona Cafe and make it a point to eat here every trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 91
      Review Date: Thu September 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Coffee, service
      Cons: Crowds

       
      We had a late breakfast at the Kona café on Sunday, September 21, 2014. Our ADRs were for 10:15am, but we were not seated until 10:40am – they were really busy. The wait paid off as we were seated at a nice table in the back corner of the restaurant. My wife got the steak and eggs, while I got the two eggs any way meal. Our food was good, but the Kona Coffee was very, very good. We’d go back for the coffee, not the food. My wife asked for her steak to be cooked medium rare, and it came out nearly well done. Service was very good throughout our meal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      GinaDD

      Registered: September 2007
      Location: Clarksboro, NJ
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Tue August 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy!
      Cons:

       
      Excellent breakfast . The macadamia nut pancakes were phenomenal. Didn't even need syrup. Family also enjoyed their meals. Coffee was good and service good and not hovering . Would definitely return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyTheVs

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon May 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): French Toast
      Cons:

       
      We had an ADR for 9:40 AM and arrived at 9 am and was able to be seated after 5 minutes. My wife and I split the Big Kahuna. We especially enjoyed the French toast. Not sure how they make it, but it was delicious. I usually have the Tonga Toast, but will have it next time unless I decide to get the regular French Toast. I would highly recommend the Big Kahuna as everything was excellent and we were able to easily share the meal. No DVC discount!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lindseymortus

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon March 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
      Cons:

       
      I may have a favorite breakfast place now! Everyone raves about the Tonga Toast (which was good with the strawberry Compote) but the real suprise for me was the macadamian nut pineapple pancakes! AMAZING!!! I didn't think I would really like it, boy was I wrong! Everything was great! (service was a tad slow, but the food more than made up for it!)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fishfamily

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun February 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, food
      Cons: Can't think of one

       
      We try to visit WDW in January for lower crowds and prices. We had no plans on Sunday so I wanted to see The Polynesian resort. Going to the Kona was a good way to do that.


      We loved it! The food was good and the service was good as well. I had the Tonga toast, My kids had eggs wife enjoyed the coffee. Its hard to screw up breakfast and it was really good.


      Afterwards we walked all over the resort including spending time by the lagoon. I think this will be a yearly thing now, the Poly is fabulous and breakfast at the Kona is a nearly perfect way to start the day.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.