Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • KarissaB1

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Sun December 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was excellent
      Cons: None

       
      We dined here 11/17/14. We mostly all ate the Tonga Toast and the Macadamia Nut pancakes. All of the food was wonderful. You got plenty to eat and the prices were reasonable. Our waiter was excellent. We definitely plan to return. This is now a must-do on our WDW trip list.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CinCin

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 56
      Review Date: Fri November 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tonga Toast, crispy bacon, Kona coffee, fast service
      Cons: none

       
      I dined here a couple of weeks ago with a friend for breakfast. We both wanted to try the Tonga Toast and the Macadamia Nut Pancakes, so we each ordered something different and then split the dishes at the table. The waitress brought us extra plates for doing so. These dishes were each large and we could have shared a single dish between us. Both items were delicious and I would order them again with the Tonga Toast being my first choice. The strawberry syrup reminded me a lot of chilled strawberry soup with chunks of strawberry in it. It was a wonderful compliment to the crunchy toast. The bacon that came with this was regular thickness not the usual super thin bacon that is served at most places on WDW property. It was crisp and had a nice smoked flavor and was really good. I had the house blend of kona coffee and it was smooth and brewed well. Not too strong and not too weak. I didn't get the special pot of expensive Kona though it was a breakfast or house "blend". Our food came out within a few minutes of ordering and was fresh and hot. It did not appear to have been sitting ready and waiting before we ordered. I loved everything about our dining experience at Kona Cafe and definitely plan to return. This is now a must-do on my WDW trip list. People were right, this place is wonderful and that Tonga Toast - Mmmmmm. Yes, the pancakes were great too. But I'm a french toast girl at heart anyway so it won me over from the first bite.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyjill

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue November 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything!
      Cons: none

       
      We ate here on 11/7 and it was PACKED. Busiest I have ever seen. We arrived about 10 minutes late for res because of the bus from Riverside being late, and they sat us within 5 minutes. Service was good even though the table next to us was running our poor server ragged. I got my favorite macadamia pineapple pancakes which were delicious as usual. DH got tonga toast and enjoyed it as always. I got a French press which is totally worth the $8. Best coffee you'll ever have. We love Kona Cafe and make it a point to eat here every trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Thu September 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Coffee, service
      Cons: Crowds

       
      We had a late breakfast at the Kona café on Sunday, September 21, 2014. Our ADRs were for 10:15am, but we were not seated until 10:40am – they were really busy. The wait paid off as we were seated at a nice table in the back corner of the restaurant. My wife got the steak and eggs, while I got the two eggs any way meal. Our food was good, but the Kona Coffee was very, very good. We’d go back for the coffee, not the food. My wife asked for her steak to be cooked medium rare, and it came out nearly well done. Service was very good throughout our meal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      GinaDD

      Registered: September 2007
      Location: Clarksboro, NJ
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Tue August 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Yummy!
      Cons:

       
      Excellent breakfast . The macadamia nut pancakes were phenomenal. Didn't even need syrup. Family also enjoyed their meals. Coffee was good and service good and not hovering . Would definitely return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyTheVs

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon May 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): French Toast
      Cons:

       
      We had an ADR for 9:40 AM and arrived at 9 am and was able to be seated after 5 minutes. My wife and I split the Big Kahuna. We especially enjoyed the French toast. Not sure how they make it, but it was delicious. I usually have the Tonga Toast, but will have it next time unless I decide to get the regular French Toast. I would highly recommend the Big Kahuna as everything was excellent and we were able to easily share the meal. No DVC discount!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lindseymortus

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon March 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
      Cons:

       
      I may have a favorite breakfast place now! Everyone raves about the Tonga Toast (which was good with the strawberry Compote) but the real suprise for me was the macadamian nut pineapple pancakes! AMAZING!!! I didn't think I would really like it, boy was I wrong! Everything was great! (service was a tad slow, but the food more than made up for it!)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fishfamily

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sun February 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, food
      Cons: Can't think of one

       
      We try to visit WDW in January for lower crowds and prices. We had no plans on Sunday so I wanted to see The Polynesian resort. Going to the Kona was a good way to do that.


      We loved it! The food was good and the service was good as well. I had the Tonga toast, My kids had eggs wife enjoyed the coffee. Its hard to screw up breakfast and it was really good.


      Afterwards we walked all over the resort including spending time by the lagoon. I think this will be a yearly thing now, the Poly is fabulous and breakfast at the Kona is a nearly perfect way to start the day.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      emmhorton

      Registered: July 2007
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Fri December 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
      Cons:

       
      Finally we ate here!!!! Breakfast is my favorite meal so I was very excited to eat here. My hubby and I both had the Tonga Toast. I was concerned that it would be too sweet, but it was very good. Even my hubby who is not a huge breakfast fan, said "Mmmm! You have to try this berry sauce!" And of course, the Kona coffee was a big hit! Our service was slow. Slower than other tables. That would be the only negative.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyhardin

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 52
      Review Date: Tue October 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Horrible Food

       
      I had read such good things about Kona, so I booked a breakfast ADR. It was very convienent since we were staying at the Polynesian. We were paying for this out of pocket since we had dinners schedules for our dining plan credits. It was an absolute waste of $30. The food was HORRIBLE. The eggs were so runny they were likes soup, the potatoes were burned beyond recongnition. Our server pretty much ignored because there was a "regular" in her section so she spent her entire time chatting with him. When she realized that we hadn't eaten much she offered to get us something else, but I just wanted to leave. She didn't offer to take anything off the bill even when I showed her how runny the eggs were, so we just paid and got out of there.


      I will not be back to Kona Café.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      missy

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 98
      Review Date: Tue July 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): nothing
      Cons: food, service, and very loud

       
      Waited for table even though there were empty tables, was told that I had to move my own chair to table so there were 5 seats. Table set for 5. Pancakes dry and burned on bottom. No refills at our table, but waitress asked table next to us if they wanted refills and they got them. Never again will I go there. Used to be a favorite!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Sun July 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This was a delicious breakfast. Tonga toast, grits, everything, was just delicious. The best though was the pressed Kona coffee. I highly recommend that you splurge...It was just awesome. We have scheduled breakfast here several times in the past and had to cancel...that will never happen again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lenette830

      Registered: December 2008
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun June 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food!
      Cons: Tables are a little too close together

       
      We had breakfast here on May 31st and though it was very good. I had the big Kahuna which I split with my daughter and it was plenty of food for two people. Everything was really good especially the macadamia nut pancakes! My husband had the Samoan which was also really good and a very good portion of food. We shared the pressed pot of Kona coffee and while it was good and I don't know if its worth the price, it wasn't the best coffee I've ever had.


      I felt a bit cramped because the tables are so close together but the food and servers make up for it. I want to go back and have the tonga toast!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bmdisney

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Mon April 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): it's at the Poly!
      Cons: you can't stay all day

       
      We don't ever stay at the Poly - it's beyond our price range - but we do like to visit to eat when we go to DW. We love 'Ohana and this time around my daughter and I tried Kona for breakfast (and dinner).


      I think it's worth a drive over just to get a look at the hotel. Breakfast was reasonably priced. I ordered the Big Kahuna and loved it.


      Price is reasonable, location is loud but right in the middle of everything at the Poly, service was good. I would definitely return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      shell65

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sun March 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): waitress Jinny, Tonga Toast, Coffee,
      Cons:

       
      We had a perfect breakfast. The food and atmosphere was wonderful. Jinny was a great waitress.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.