Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • DisneyTheVs

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon May 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): French Toast
      Cons:

       
      We had an ADR for 9:40 AM and arrived at 9 am and was able to be seated after 5 minutes. My wife and I split the Big Kahuna. We especially enjoyed the French toast. Not sure how they make it, but it was delicious. I usually have the Tonga Toast, but will have it next time unless I decide to get the regular French Toast. I would highly recommend the Big Kahuna as everything was excellent and we were able to easily share the meal. No DVC discount!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lindseymortus

      Registered: March 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon March 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
      Cons:

       
      I may have a favorite breakfast place now! Everyone raves about the Tonga Toast (which was good with the strawberry Compote) but the real suprise for me was the macadamian nut pineapple pancakes! AMAZING!!! I didn't think I would really like it, boy was I wrong! Everything was great! (service was a tad slow, but the food more than made up for it!)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fishfamily

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sun February 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, food
      Cons: Can't think of one

       
      We try to visit WDW in January for lower crowds and prices. We had no plans on Sunday so I wanted to see The Polynesian resort. Going to the Kona was a good way to do that.


      We loved it! The food was good and the service was good as well. I had the Tonga toast, My kids had eggs wife enjoyed the coffee. Its hard to screw up breakfast and it was really good.


      Afterwards we walked all over the resort including spending time by the lagoon. I think this will be a yearly thing now, the Poly is fabulous and breakfast at the Kona is a nearly perfect way to start the day.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      emmhorton

      Registered: July 2007
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Fri December 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
      Cons:

       
      Finally we ate here!!!! Breakfast is my favorite meal so I was very excited to eat here. My hubby and I both had the Tonga Toast. I was concerned that it would be too sweet, but it was very good. Even my hubby who is not a huge breakfast fan, said "Mmmm! You have to try this berry sauce!" And of course, the Kona coffee was a big hit! Our service was slow. Slower than other tables. That would be the only negative.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyhardin

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Tue October 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Horrible Food

       
      I had read such good things about Kona, so I booked a breakfast ADR. It was very convienent since we were staying at the Polynesian. We were paying for this out of pocket since we had dinners schedules for our dining plan credits. It was an absolute waste of $30. The food was HORRIBLE. The eggs were so runny they were likes soup, the potatoes were burned beyond recongnition. Our server pretty much ignored because there was a "regular" in her section so she spent her entire time chatting with him. When she realized that we hadn't eaten much she offered to get us something else, but I just wanted to leave. She didn't offer to take anything off the bill even when I showed her how runny the eggs were, so we just paid and got out of there.


      I will not be back to Kona Café.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      missy

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 98
      Review Date: Tue July 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): nothing
      Cons: food, service, and very loud

       
      Waited for table even though there were empty tables, was told that I had to move my own chair to table so there were 5 seats. Table set for 5. Pancakes dry and burned on bottom. No refills at our table, but waitress asked table next to us if they wanted refills and they got them. Never again will I go there. Used to be a favorite!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Sun July 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This was a delicious breakfast. Tonga toast, grits, everything, was just delicious. The best though was the pressed Kona coffee. I highly recommend that you splurge...It was just awesome. We have scheduled breakfast here several times in the past and had to cancel...that will never happen again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lenette830

      Registered: December 2008
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun June 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food!
      Cons: Tables are a little too close together

       
      We had breakfast here on May 31st and though it was very good. I had the big Kahuna which I split with my daughter and it was plenty of food for two people. Everything was really good especially the macadamia nut pancakes! My husband had the Samoan which was also really good and a very good portion of food. We shared the pressed pot of Kona coffee and while it was good and I don't know if its worth the price, it wasn't the best coffee I've ever had.


      I felt a bit cramped because the tables are so close together but the food and servers make up for it. I want to go back and have the tonga toast!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bmdisney

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Mon April 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): it's at the Poly!
      Cons: you can't stay all day

       
      We don't ever stay at the Poly - it's beyond our price range - but we do like to visit to eat when we go to DW. We love 'Ohana and this time around my daughter and I tried Kona for breakfast (and dinner).


      I think it's worth a drive over just to get a look at the hotel. Breakfast was reasonably priced. I ordered the Big Kahuna and loved it.


      Price is reasonable, location is loud but right in the middle of everything at the Poly, service was good. I would definitely return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      shell65

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun March 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): waitress Jinny, Tonga Toast, Coffee,
      Cons:

       
      We had a perfect breakfast. The food and atmosphere was wonderful. Jinny was a great waitress.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      daphnee08

      Registered: June 2008
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Sun March 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): TONGA Toast, Macadamia pancakes, atmosphere, location
      Cons:

       
      Yes, it's that good. The DW was so excited to try the Tonga Toast and is still talking about it. It's banana stuffed sourdough bread, rolled in cinnamon sugar and served with Strawberry Compote, and it's HUGE!!! My Macadamia pineapple pancakes were almost as good, and very filling also. The coffee is a really good way to start the day. The atmosphere is really cool since you're still almost in the atrium of the resort. The seating is really cool too. You can hop off the monorail so it's easy to get to. Will definitely go back many times next time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mgilmore

      Registered: January 2013
      Location: Pittsburgh, PA
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Thu March 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Service!
      Cons: pacing of the meal was fast.

       
      I had the opportunity to eat at Kona for the first time during my March 2013 trip. I had a late breakfast at 10am. The restaurant was not crowded. Since it was my first time here, I had to have the Tonga Toast with bacon & Press Pot coffee.


      My server Eric was so nice! He took my order and went to prepare my Press pot of coffee. I was a little disappointed when my breakfast was delivered only 2 mins later by another server, and I hadn't even gotten my coffee yet. It was as if they had the food already made & ready to deliver to a customer...it was that fast.


      My server was a bit upset about it when he delivered my Press pot of coffee. He apologized even though it wasn't his fault.


      Nevertheless, the food was very good as was the coffee. If you are a coffee lover, definitely get the Press Pot of Kona coffee. You won't be disappointed.


      The tonga toast came with a strawberry compote (tasted exactly like the 1900 park fare strawberry soup) and regular syrup. It was a big portion and I couldn't finish it all, but it was really good.


      My server Eric was a great server, and made my breakfast enjoyable.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      gnssoukup

      Registered: January 2012
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon March 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food and service
      Cons: None

       
      We had a wonderful breakfast on our last day at the Polynesian! We had the wasabi mary's, french press coffee, Samoan and steak and eggs. The Samoan was outstanding, my husband said his steak was a little tough, we ended up sharing my Samoan! Would definitely eat here again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alyssavm

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Stone Ridge, VA
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Tue February 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food! And real coffee!
      Cons: Dining room lacking in ambiance somewhat

       
      I'm not a fan of sweet breakfast food, but my dining companions were and loved the tonga toast. I had the pulled pork hash with poached eggs and hollandaise sauce, and it was my favorite dish of our trip!
      Service was fine--you can tell they crank people through, but we appreciated being able to get a last minute reservation.
      We'll be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Nurserachet

      Registered: January 2013
      Location: Oklahoma
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed January 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service, decor
      Cons: No negatives

       
      Daughter had the Tonga Toast and I had the macadamia nut pancakes. I could eat this every day. Food was hot and fresh and loaded with flavor. Best breakfast in Disney World!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.