Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 132
      Review Date: Wed January 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I can't say enough nice things about this place. We arrived almost 45 minutes past our reservation, and past the time they were seating people. Long story short, it took us almost 90 minutes to get from Wilderness Lodge to the Grand Floridian. I had been emailing the manager at the restaurant to let them know we were coming, but her last note said that they could not take us it was too late. However, when we arrived, the hostess was very gracious and told us to relax and come right in and relax.


      This was a special thing we were doing for my step mom and kind of a surprise, so I was so happy that they let us in.


      The tea was very nice and the food as well. A really nice thing to do with the ladies, although my son enjoyed his Mrs. Potts tea (chocolate milk). I can't wait to go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jjcscanlon

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Sat August 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, welcomed respite
      Cons: none

       
      My husband and I, along with our teenage daughter enjoyed our Grand Floridian Tea experience. We had reserved a table for 3, but then my picky son decided to join us after he went and picked up some food for himself at Gasparilla Grill. I thought he'd stay at the food court, but he brought it to us - not sure they were happy with that, but didn't say anything to us about it (I wasn't happy he tainted the tea experience LOL).


      We all had the Buckingham Palace which was $25 per person, but included a pot of your individual tea choice (kept warm in it's own "blanket" cozy, traditional tea sandwiches (which you could pick and choose from 5 different varieties), a scone and jam tart with fresh strawberry jam, clotted cream and lemon curd and choice of pastries or English Trifle.


      The "courses" were spaced nicely and we did not feel rushed, but the amount of goodies you get certainly ensures that this outing can serve as a meal replacement - and looking at it that way, the price of the outing doesn't seem as bad.


      the Tea Room was at about 60% capacity, but they do encourage reservations as the room is on the smaller, (yet bright and airy) side overlooking the pool area.


      We really enjoyed all the menu offerings we chose and my daughter is still talking about wishing she had gotten the tea we had both had to bring home (a custom blend for the tea room called : Princess Breakfast Tea - A sweet custom blend of South African organic rooibos flavored with vanilla bean and a hint of strawberries. Rich in antioxidants and vitamins, and naturally decaffeinated.)


      Since we've been married 19 years ago, we've probably been to Disney over 40 times and we always try to do new things. The Tea was a first time for us and we will most likely do it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wendybarrie

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Wed May 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Different and a nice midday pace
      Cons:

       
      This was my second time at tea, and I still love it, and find great value in it. I did not give it an excellent because I still think there is some confusion that comes along with the tea if your server doesn't work to sort and make things clear. We opted for three different tea menus, and we did not understand that one had two courses, one three and the other four, so when my friend received her second course we sat and sat until the server asked why she wasn't eating then explained she was the only one with that course, which was fine I wish he would have better explained. Also, make sure to ask about the sandwich selections and substitute where you find necessary.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ADJ

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Denver, CO
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sat December 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great service, they accommodated my special diet!
      Cons: Wish I could go here every day.

       
      Mom and I got the Buckingham Palace tea, Dad got the a la carte Stilton and scones. The food was great; Dad said it was the best Stilton he’d ever had, the portion was generous for $8. Chef TJ (who is the chef at 1900 Park Fare, and apparently also the Garden View Lounge) accommodated my dietary restrictions in fine style – I simply told him vegetarian and no dairy products, and I trusted his judgment. He brought out a gorgeous plate with a little of everything: spicy pasta salad, sublime edamame salad, vegetable sushi rolls, a couple of egg salad sandwiches. Instead of scones, I had sliced pumpkin bread from BabyCakes. The pastry course was a tower of dairy free cookies and soy ice cream with fruit and chocolate syrup. We had the Gardenview Blend (like a very mild Earl Grey), the Imperial English Breakfast and the Eros; all three were wonderful. The service was personal and warm. We were all very happy with our experience here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dvcnut

      Registered: July 2010
      Posts: 50
      Review Date: Tue November 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): relaxing
      Cons: none

       
      This was my first visit to the Garden View Tea Room and I was pleased with my experience. I ordered the Grand Tea and was constantly told by my waitress to relax and take my time. I did, and left about 1.5 hours later full, rested, and happy I had given GVTR a try.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      delana29

      Registered: August 2011
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Fri October 12, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): relaxing and peaceful, beautiful setting
      Cons: none

       
      My sister and I had afternoon tea here on 9/22/12. It was our second time having tea, it is a nice way to take time to relax on a very tiring vacation. We had ADR and were late due to a horrible bus ride from AK (90+ MINUTES).


      We had a nice table by the windows. I had Russian Earl Grey and my sister had gingerbread tea, which was very good. It's great how they serve it in your own china pot with a tea cozy (just like our Scottish grandma).


      We ordered the scones with the Devonshire cream (to die for!!), strawberries and cream (beautifully served with a big GF in red sugar on top of the cream!!) and some pastries. Everything was delicious and fresh.


      The service was great as usual. Tables could be a little bigger to fit everything but we loved it and we plan to do it on every Disney trip. Great way to take a break from the hustle and bustle of the parks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CinCin

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Wed February 1, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): relaxing, great food, great service, quiet
      Cons:

       
      Mom and I had lunch here Jan 28. It was so quiet as compared to the parks and the other restaurants and we really enjoyed that. We were seated at window and had a beautiful view of the gardens and the pool. Even in January the gardens are full of color and flowering plants and it was a gorgeous view. I had the Buckingham palace and Mom had the Prince Edward's tea. It was hard choosing a tea because they all sounded so delicious. I finally settled on a gingerbread tea. I didn't care for the egg salad sandwich as there was onion in it and gave mom the shrimp one. The entire meal took a little over an hour and a half. We had a great time and enjoyed everything we ordered. It was fancy without being pretentious. The resort is beautiful and we enjoyed our visit as well. There were all ages in the tea room and although it was mostly just ladies, but it isn't just a girly place. My husband would have enjoyed dining here and on my next visit to WDW I will make sure to include this in our plans.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      foxress

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Sparks, Nevada
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Sun January 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The View, The Food, The Experience
      Cons: None

       
      My little girl and I really enjoyed our afternoon tea. She had the Buckingham. I had the Prince Edward. They were both very good, as was the tea. The service was wonderful, and we were seated next to the windows, so had a lovely view. It was a calming respite from the parks, and made for a lovely afternoon.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bamagrl72

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun October 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Relaxing and Tasty
      Cons: None

       
      We've dined here twice. Previous visit ordered a tea service with the multiple courses and this time ordered ala carte. We ordered the sandwiches, scones and trifle + 2 pots of tea for the cost of 1 formal tea from the menu. Try and schedule your reservation after 3 to hear the pianist in the lobby.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Cherry Blossom Girl 2

      Registered: August 2011
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue August 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tasty vegetarian options
      Cons: servers can be a bit snooty

       
      I had been looking forward to this tea since I booked it 180 days out. I finished my master's degree in June and this was a part of a graduation present from my husband. Just for some background, I am married to a man from England, and I lived in England for a few years, so I understand tea room etiquette.


      We came over from MK for the 2 PM seating. We had been in the rain, so we were all a bit damp. We tried to clean up as best as we could. I went to the podium to check in and I was greeted with "Ma'am?" and a look of askance. No smiles, just the feeling that I was somehow bothering her. It was very anomalous to the service we had been receiving all week at other WDW restuarants.


      The service during the tea was marginally better, she seemed a bit reserved, it seemed like we were bothering her at times. I ordered the Grand Tea and was able to sub in vegetarian options for my sandwiches, the server seemed a bit put out by that, too. It was all very delicious--I highly recommend the grilled pear and gorgonzola and the egg salad. I also loved the onion tarts. I was very full, almost uncomfortably so at the end and I struggled to finsih the final course. We had ADRs for Via Napoli later that evening, and I was still very full at that meal and didn't really eat.


      I would still try it one more time. I really didn't appreciate being treated like we were hoi polloi, but I will chalk it up to a bad day. If received this same attitude the second time, I would not return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mikat

      Registered: July 2009
      Location: ontario
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Sat August 6, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): buckingham tea
      Cons: looong wait for service, price increase

       
      We came here because we had a spectacular experience last year, but this year we had no luck with GF servers. We were seated immediately, but then we waited for about 25 min before the sever even acknowledged that we were there- our DD 10 actually fell asleep on her sister (she'd been so excited and had been done up at the BBB) and we were getting ready to leave when he finally came by and said hello... and then left again for another 5 min. When he finally came and we ordered our tea selections it was lovely, but the service still wasn't nearly as good as the prev. year. We made the most of it and just enjoyed each others company and still had a nice relaxing afternoon- just hope for a better server next time. Also- Buckingham tea which I believe was 19.50 last year was 24.50 each this time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 114
      Review Date: Wed July 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tea Choices and Pasteries
      Cons: None

       
      My husband and I visited the Garden View Lounge on July 6th. This is the second time we have had afternoon tea here, and I'm so glad we came back. It's such a calm, quiet way to spend an afternoon in Disney.
      We scaled down this year and each ordered a pot of tea, and shared the Buckingham Palace (2 years ago we totally gorged). I had the Mad Hatter tea, and even bought a box to bring home. My husband had the Eros.
      The Buckingham Palace came with 6 lovely tea sandwiches, jam tarts, scones, and 2 fresh pasteries. My husband had a berry cheesecake and I had a chocolate covered strawberry. Both were yummy!
      If you want a nice relaxing break from the parks, then I highly recommend tea at the Grand Floridian. It was simply lovely...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      allywdw

      Registered: July 2011
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue July 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): something different
      Cons:

       
      I made a reservation for my mom and daughter to have tea as a nice afternoon break during our day at Magic Kingdom. They had a wonderful time! My 10 year old daughter thought it was great to have a fancy tea and my mom indulged in a glass of champagne. Based on their reactions I have decided that next time we go back to WDW I'm going to go have tea : )
      Click here to see this users profile  
      furgy234

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon June 6, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere
      Cons: reduced offerings- limited a la carte

       
      DH and I dined here on Memorial Day weekend. We were looking forward to this because we haven't been in two years and have always enjoyed the tea but were disappointed this time. They have reduced their offerings and are pushing combos with alcoholic drinks. They no longer offer the Sally Lunn tea or the pound cake. We will probably not return - knowing how good it was.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tph849

      Registered: November 2008
      Location: Brier, WA
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Thu May 26, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very relaxing & Very Enjoyable
      Cons:

       
      I was so excited that my DH said he would go to Tea with me! We got the Grand Tea with Champagne and it was wonderful. We were so stuffed when we left. We got 5 finger sandwiches, I don't eat seafood so I traded the shrimp salad sandwich for my DH's cucumber one. I don't eat pate/liver so DH ate mine, but the onion tart was very good! Sweet and tart! The scones with clotted cream and strawberry jam were to die for! I wanted more so maybe next time I'll just order that! For dessert we ordered English Trifle (scrumptious)and the pastries (you get to pick two from the tray). I don;'t know if we picked the wrong ones or what, but the pastries weren't that great - not much of a taste. We got the pastry swan filled with cherry mousse, it was just OK. Then we got the caramel eclair, it was better than the swan but not by much. The Trifle was definitely the best bet! AND you got a lot of it. Our server was nice, the champagne good (huge strawberry!) and our teas were really nice. We will definitely be back, but won't get pastries and I'll see if they can omit the shrimp sandwich for me!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.