Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Environmentalist

      Registered: February 2009
      Location: Fort Wayne, IN
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Wed July 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful grounds, great pool, theme, transportation
      Cons: construction, refrigerator issues & automatic door maintenance/repair

       
      Our family spent 11 nights at the Poly in June 2014. We had three rooms, with a total of 11 people. We had requested ground floor rooms at Niue, but ended up at Tuvalu, which was initially disappointing, but ultimately a fine choice for us.


      Our view from our ground room was nothing special. It was standard view, which meant that we saw part of the marina, a lot of flora, and Fiji. Yet being on the luau side of the resort also meant we had little to no construction noise or issues. We also didn't hear the luau in the evening, probably due to being in the marina side of the building.


      Our room was clean and spacious. We had special medical requests, which were followed throughout the course of our stay. The pool, GCH, and transportation options were all a quick walk away. The walkway to the TTC changed several times while we were there, but was not a big problem.


      Obviously, the plus for being at the Poly is the proximity to the MK and monorail to Epcot, the theming of the grounds, and the excellent cast members. All of those were plusses for us. Location-wise, we were easily able to pop out of our door to watch the fireworks or the electrical water pageant on numerous occasions, which was a lot of fun.


      The pool area was a lot of fun - it will be interesting to see what they do with it after it reopens. One piece of advice. Try to get to the pool when it opens at 9:00, if you're not going to a park that day. We had the pool and the slide to ourselves for over an hour, with the first people outside of our family arriving an hour later.


      There were a few negatives: Construction in the GCH meant that we couldn't enjoy the full beauty of that building, as well as the ground surrounding it. The refrigerator in our room overheated on several occasions and was actually hotter inside than the room. The biggest annoyance was the automatic door at the end of Tuvalu. You could go out of the building, but not re-enter, even with a magic band or key. We reported this problem on the first day of our stay and continued to report it every other day after. It still wasn't fixed when we left eleven days later.


      Still, all in all, the Polynesian is a great place to stay. I would definitely go there again. The price is steep, but with a 30% discount, it was more manageable.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dbfromcincy

      Registered: August 2008
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Fri February 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location and theming
      Cons: construction work impacts some of the view

       
      Sorry to hear the last poster had significant issues. Looks like they may have worked out most of the bugs.


      Received my second choice on location (Fiji) which was very good. Room, mousekeeping all very good with no issues at all.


      Magicband worked no problem at room or paying for anything at Kona cafe or captain cooks.


      Concierge was extremely helpful for my issues.


      Biggest drawback was the walkway to the TTC is right along the contruction for the Vacation Club so there is a 6+ foot covered fence next to it. There are a few stretches which end up being fairly dark (one of the tiki lights is not working either). You may want to turn on your smart phone flashlight, at least my kids did. Heard no noise at all from the construction.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mane62656

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun December 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location
      Cons: everything else

       
      We occupied 2 rooms at the Polynesian from Dec.1 to Dec. 7, 2013. First let me say the location is amazing. I am so very disappointed in this resort. From arrival to departure everything was so messed up. We were told we had connecting rooms which we did not. I can live with that although I made the reservation in July. We spent an hour everyday at the Concierge getting fast passes since we could not do them ourselves. They could not get our rooms synced together so we got reservations for only one room not both. We had 2 adults and 1 child in both rooms so that did not work well for us. We could not have breakfast in the hotel during our entire stay. We went to the Grand Floridian and the Animal Kingdom Lodge for breakfast. We could not have dinner in the main dining room the entire stay. We had the dining plan. After breakfast the first morning at the Grand Floridian I found I did not have charging privileges to my room. So that was another hour at the Concierge. They had to reset my pin and after that the other adult in my room lost her charging privileges, yep, another trip to the Concierge.
      Every employee told us how incompetent the last employee was that helped us and said they were so much better at doing the job. Problem is, not one of them got it correctly. We spent and hour or longer everyday at the Concierge desk. Our room was not cleaned properly. I mopped under our sink and took pictures of black dirt on the washcloth I mopped with. There were visible cobwebs when you walked in. Our building entry was not cleaned the entire time we were there. I never once saw or heard a vacuum cleaner.The elevator had mud all over the floor and the walls were filthy. I am amazed to find this is a deluxe resort. There was no signage to the building we occupied. A tiny sign was right in front of the building but no other signs were there. I still don't know how we found the building. I have stayed at Port Orleans and Dixie Landing and I must say these resorts are 10 times better than the Ploynesian. Now that I am home I would like these issues addressed but I am having a problem finding who to contact. If anyone knows I would appreciate your letting me know so I can address these to the correct people so something can be done. All in all we had a nice trip but most likely won't be going back to Disney. Will stay at Universal next time...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jim61vik

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Fri November 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location
      Cons: Trouble with the monorails

       
      Just finished our first stay at the Polynesian resort. We stayed 5 nights from 11/13 to 11/18/2013. After some research (thanks to Tikiman) we chose the Niue building because it's close to the central meeting house with all it's amenities and the monorail. This was an awesome choice for us. Very short walks to CMH, pool, monorail, bus stop and even a moderate walk to the TTC.


      The ground level room was spacious and clean, housekeeping staff was great. My daughters (10,17) and wife were very happy with our ground level room.


      Bus waits to other Hollywood Studios and Animal Kingdom were the standard wait up to 20-30 minutes. Buses were definitely not as crowded as when I've visited during the summer. I don't think I ever had to stand during a bus ride.


      Food at the Poly was good, tried Ohana breakfast, Kona and Capt Cooks for those late nite snacks. The new refillable cups were a bit of a challenge to get the hang of but once we realized you have to have the base on the stand to fill the cup it was no worries.


      The monorail broke down while we were there and my wife had some trouble getting to a brunch at the GF. Eventually someone explained how to use the boat to get over there and that worked fine. Seemed to have a couple issues with the monorail which was a shame as that was one of the main reasons we chose the polynesian for it's ease of transportation options.


      The construction going on was no issue, in fact a couple of the contractors were friendly enough to point us down the right path one day when we were walking to the TTC to catch the epcot monorail.


      I enjoyed the Poly and would stay again, although I will try another resort next time, wife wants the GF I want the Wilderness Lodge we'll see....
      Click here to see this users profile  
      melody

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed November 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great location, beautiful grounds & nice rooms
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed from Oct. 31-Nov. 9 and had a fabulous time! Grounds are gorgeous, cast members are so friendly & willing to help and remodeled rooms were nice. Would definitely recommend to everyone!! Can't wait for the Villas to be built.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyJunkie

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Salisbury, NC
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Thu October 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great views. Fantastic theming. Monorail.
      Cons: Expensive

       
      Despite the hefty price tag, my wife and I have always loved staying at the Poly. Between the rooms overlooking Seven Seas Lagoon with a view of nearby Cinderella Castle and the monorail station right there at the resort, it really has so much of what we personally look for. The rooms are spacious and comfortable; the restaurants are among the best on property, and the overall South Pacific tropical paradise theme is terrific.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyhardin

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Fri October 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location
      Cons:

       
      We stayed at the Polynesian the first week of October and it was fantastic.


      The resort is just beautiful. Especially at night when the tiki torches were lit all along the pathways.


      We had a ground floor, King room in Rarotonga and the location couldn't be beat. The quiet pool was right outside our patio doors and the main building was just across the walkway. The room was clean and housekeeping did a great job while we were there.


      The Volcano pool got a little crowded in the afternoons, but the quiet pool was practically empty. We did go down to the pool area two evenings to watch the fireworks and that was really fun. The pool bar is open and you can get a drink, pull up a chair and watch the Magic Kingdom fireworks.


      This was our first stay at the Poly, but won't be our last. We are already planning a return trip next fall.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ebersole2

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun August 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything about the place was incredibly clean and the continuation of the island theme in every nook and cranny is absolutely incredible
      Cons: It is a pricey resort

       
      Throughout my childhood, my grandparents, parents and I stayed at the Polynesian Resort. When my now husband and I decided to pick our honeymoon hotel, we picked the Polynesian because it had played such a special role in my family history. As our trip approached, I was a bit concerned that the Polynesian would not live up to the magical memories I had from yesteryear, that my husband would “get” why it was so special to us. I worried for nothing. The Polynesian was exactly the way I remembered it – which, in this case, is a very good thing! The resort still has that magical, “neverland” feel – the feelings that you have truly escaped off the mainland to this lush, romantic jungle. Everything about the place was incredibly clean and the continuation of the island theme in every nook and cranny is absolutely incredible. We stayed in Tahiti which was the perfect remote longhouse for honeymooners (away from the kid-centered activities and the pool), but a perfect, less than 5 minute walk, to the monorail station. We had romantic dinners in Epcot every night, and we were on-time every evening. Through it will probably take us till our 5 year anniversary to save up for the Polynesian again – it IS a pricey resort, I don’t think we would stay anywhere else.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      plt964

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun August 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location, size of rooms, fire works, restaurants
      Cons: price

       
      My husband, son(8) and I just completed an 8 day stay at the Polynesian. We have visited Disney almost every year for the past 12 years. The first few years we stayed at Pop Century and for the last several years at Wilderness Lodge. This year we were able to afford the Polynesian due to a 30% discount that Disney was offering. We loved our stay!
      The room was much larger than those at the Wilderness Lodge (can sleep 5 with the pull out sofa). Being on the monorail was great. We preferred the eating choices (Kona and Cap'n Cooks) over the choices at Wilderness lodge. It was a treat watching the night parade and the fireworks from the pool beach area.
      The only reason that we give the Polynesian a 9 instead of the 10 is the cost. The price difference can pay for our food (and maybe more) over the course of the trip. Although the extra space was nice, it was not needed for a family of 3. If we needed sleeping for 5, the Polynesian would be at the top of our list.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jacksonian

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue July 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere location to mk and transportation center
      Cons: outdated rooms and waitng for transportation

       
      I have to say I was not too impressed with Poly. We went for my daughter's 16th birthday as this is where she wanted to stay. this trip cost more than any other trip in the last 5 years because of the resort. In those trips we stayed at AK and Wilderness Lodge. There may have been too much to take in at Poly but I didn't feel relaxed there. The worse thing was waiting for the transportation buses. Every time it was at least 30-40min. We ended up walking to the transportation center or taking the buses back to the Grand Floridian and walking back. When we go back, I think it will be at the Wilderness Lodge again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      megeveland

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue July 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): On the Monorail, service
      Cons: bulidings spread out

       
      We have a child with dietary issues and can only eat certain foods which we brought with us. During the night the in room refigerator quit and spoiled her food. We went to the desk to see what could be done and they brought us a new refrigerator and sent someone to an EarthFare to replace the food while we went to the park. Even called us to let us know they had found the food to put our mind at ease. MAGICAL SERVICE for sure!


      The resort itself is well-maintained but still dated due to the low ceilings (I think). If you get a room in the back of the resort, you will have a long walk to the main house which is mainly an issue if it rains. plenty of good dining choices at the resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mr_speed77

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Fri April 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Tropical atmosphere, location, pool, beach
      Cons: Price

       
      My family and I stayed at the Poly from March 22-29. I can't say enough good things about this resort! Prior to this trip, we stayed at Pop Century and Port Orleans Riverside. Even though the price was rather expensive, this was by far our favorite place to stay! The monorail makes it nice to travel to MK, and the TTC is a short walk to take another monorail to Epcot. The beach is awesome with excellent views of MK, Grand Floridian, and Contemporary resort. The beach hammocks and swings truly make for a tranquil and relaxing time. Every night around 9pm you get to enjoy the Electrical Parade with a great view of the MK fireworks later on. We also loved the outdoor movie on the beach with the giant big screen. We saw Toy Story, Tangled, and Wreck it Ralph on different nights. They also have s'mores for people to cook on the beach around dusk. The volcano pool is right next to the beach and it's awesome! There's a cool water slide too. We enjoyed the smaller pool too, which was right outside of the building we stayed in... Tokelau. It was only a 2 min walk to the Great Ceremonial House where we enjoyed O'Hana, Kona Cafe, and Captain Cooks food court. By the way, Captain Cooks is the only place where you can get Dole Whips other than at MK. At Cap. Cooks, you get to control the Dole Whip machine and make them as big as you want. Makes for an awesome snack credit! You also have to try Tonga Toast... It's great! Our room was nice, but nothing too special. It really wasn't anything too different from our previous rooms at other resorts other than the sliding glass with a little patio with table and chairs. We also had a little sofa that folded out to an extra bed. Also, I must say that the walkways, torches, plant life, and overall feel of this resort really make for an authentic experience. The rental boats were a blast too. Finally, I love the smell of the Great Ceremonial House....it's almost like a combination of the ocean and flowers. I highly recommend the Polynesian, but if you don't spend alot of time at your resort, it may not be worth it to you. We spent more time at the resort this trip and didn't overdo the parks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nats1966

      Registered: April 2013
      Location: Chicago
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun April 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): grounds, atmosphere and dining
      Cons: rooms, outdoor walkway

       
      I am wishy washy about the poly. On one hand I do love the atmosphere, but the other the rooms really need refurbishment for the price you pay. But, having said that they are being refurbished right now.
      Pros:
      transportation; monorail and ferry
      theming
      dining
      grounds are beautiful


      Cons:
      rooms
      outdoor walkway; rooms are not connected to main lobby
      Click here to see this users profile  
      gnssoukup

      Registered: January 2012
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon March 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Big rooms, beautiful grounds
      Cons: Slow bus service

       
      We had a very nice first stay at the Polynesian March 2-8. Their computers were down when we checked in, thank goodness I printed out my reservation because that's what they used to check us in. Our room was ready at noon and it was very clean and very spacious. We had to get 3 refrigerators before we got a working one but that was a minor inconvenience. We were offered a microwave and were very happy about that. The maintenance guy had to fix our air conditioner and our water was cut off one morning but thank goodness both things were fixed very quickly. We had to wait 35 minutes two days in a row for buses to Animal Kingdom and Hollywood Studios. There was a cast member at the bus stop though and he was very helpful. Didn't care for Captain Cook's but Kona was wonderful. Overall, I loved the resort but looking forward to trying someplace new next time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      VAMouselover

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Concord, VA
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat March 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pretty much everything
      Cons: Captain Cook's

       
      We (3 adults 1 child)stayed at the Polynesian Feb 26th-March 4th. We loved it! We stayed in the Aotearoa long house. The room was very spacious and the beds were comfortable. We had specifically requested a monorail view as we had a 2 year old that loves trains. Even though we could see the monorail it was still a peaceful and tranquil setting looking out our patio. The resort itself is absolutely beautiful and everyone was so eager to help with anything we needed. Mousekeeping was also very friendly and always talked to and said Aloha to us. The Great Ceremonial House is one of my favorite parts of the resort and we just sat in there and just listened to the waterfall. The pools were also very nice especially the little kiddie pool for our traveling 2 year old. It was not as packed full of kids like the volcano pool and it was very quiet and peaceful. At night the resort was very beautiful and beautifully lit with tiki torches. We even would walk to the TTC just to enjoy the scenery. This was our first time staying at a resort on the monorail line and I can honestly say we will probably never stay at another resort again. It was so easy and convenient and we never had to wait more than a few minutes for a monorail. The Kona Cafe in the Poly is also a great restaurant. We had breakfast there and the food was delicious! We didn't have reservations but that wasn't a big problem as they accept walk-ins and we only had to wait maybe 20 min but we didn't mind because there was plenty to look at and the furniture is so comfortable in the great ceremonial house that we didn't mind waiting. The only thing we didn't really prefer was Captain Cook's. There wasn't a wide variety of quick service choices and there was never enough seating during "rush" times. Other than that I would highly recommend anyone stay here if given the chance. We are actually coming back the week before Thanksgiving this year and have requested the same long house. It will definitely be hard to stay anywhere else from now on.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.