Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • powlen21

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Mon September 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): nice atmosphere, bread at start of meal
      Cons: server rushed us

       
      The restaurant was not crowded yet our server seemed to rush us the entire meal. This is not a place where I would return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Wed November 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great service and food
      Cons: Can get Loud

       
      We had dinner at the Grand Floridian Café on Monday, November 4, 2013. We did not have reservations, but arrived at 5pm when they opened. We were seated within five minutes of checking in with the hostess. Our server quickly came by and took our drink orders. We asked her what was good, and she said the $30 Char-crusted New York Strip Steak with Red Bliss Mashed Potatoes and Brandy-Green Peppercorn Sauce with Seasonal Vegetables.


      My wife and I both got the steak – and if was really good, well worth the price. The sides were also excellent. Service was very good as our servicer never let our sodas get empty. The only bad thing I have to say is that two screaming babies made our meal much more stressful than it should have been, but that’s the price of eating at Disney. Would definitely return and recommend to anyone.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      HOBBES

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: UK
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Thu October 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lovely meal and the affordable side of GF dining
      Cons: we were sat in the doorway!

       
      We had around a ten minute wait before our table was available, but it was a lovely evening so we sat outside and waited for our table. When they took us in , we had the only disappointing moment of the night, as our table was the first one in the restaurant, just past the podium so we had a constant stream of people walking past. We had told them on our reservation that it was our anniversary and I had repeated it to the greeter and the waitress so I was disappointed not to get somewhere a little more romantic inside the restaurant. We had a cocktail each but can't tell you what. I think mine was something about the Keys (yes it was so potent it has wiped my memory!!) DH ordered the soup and I ordered the chick pea fritters. His soup was parsnip-very tasty as I dunked a bit of my bread in! My chick pea fritters were delicious-even DH who would normally turn his nose up at anything like that said he would happily eat them. Main course I had the pasta which was very nice but very very filling-especially as I had eaten quite a bit of bread to begin with-curse Disney and their delicious breads! Dh had the pork chop-the smoked sweet potato mash was wonderful-now I have to try to recreate it at home. He even enjoyed his asparagus and he normally has to be force-fed green veggies. To finish we had the sharing platter of desserts which was just right-just about 2 mouthfuls each of each dessert -and we snapped Mickey's body clean off his feet and devoured him between us! A really nice meal, perfect for our anniversary. We will definitely come again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jmsz2006

      Registered: July 2006
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Wed July 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere,wait staff, food
      Cons: none

       
      We ended up having dinner one night at the Grand Floridian Cafe after canceling dinner reservations at 1900 Park Fare. We just got tired of paying $40.00 per person for a meal.


      What a "happy accident"! We have never eaten here before and upon walking in was greeted immediately by a hostess. We were seated within minutes of our reservation. The atmosphere is great and we sat by the window and the view was beautiful! The wait staff was very attentive and the food was GREAT! I got the pork chop and my husband got the coffee encrusted steak. Both were delicious! My DD got a pasta dish which she loved and my DS got the lobster burger which he couldn't stop raving about.
      Bottom line - LOVED this place , the prices were reasonable and the food was FANTASTIC. From now on this is one of our must due places to dine!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 114
      Review Date: Tue July 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere and Food
      Cons: Service

       
      I have dined here once before, so I was excited to try it again. Unfortunately, I have to say I was a little disappointed this time.
      My family of 6 dined here on the 4th of July, before the fireworks. We had a 6:30 reservation and probably waited about 10 minutes to be seated, which was no, big deal.
      The food was ok this time, nothing exceptional. We had pasta, New York strips, burgers and the salmon. My husband and I shared the cheese plate as our appetizer. The crackers were stale, and the portion size was extremely small.
      The service was lacking. Our waitress forgot to take my order and we had to call her back. She was also slow with refilling our drinks.
      I would probably give the Grand Floridian Cafe another chance in the future, but I won't be rushing back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ayehartewe

      Registered: May 2013
      Location: Orlando, FL
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat May 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Atmosphere
      Cons: None

       
      We made an 8:40 pm reservation for May the 1st of 2013. Although we were half an hour early, we were seated in less than a minute. The restaurant is beautifully decorated. Our server seemed as though she was flagging a bit in energy, but that wasn't a big surprise as it was near the restaurant's closing and probably near the end of her shift. She was still very sweet and courteous. My significant other and I had the chicken and steak entrees and split them both. The potatoes that come with the steak are heavenly. I found the Boston Creme Pie dessert to be perfectly sized for its richness and a delightful accompaniment to my cappuccino. I will definitely be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Libby

      Registered: May 2008
      Location: Indiana
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed December 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, wait staff
      Cons: none

       
      Really wanted to eat at Narcoossees, but nothing was available, so we ended up here on Sat Dec 1st 2012. Even though it was crowded with families it was not that loud. Our waitress was funny and accommodating. Hubby had food allergy and had the chicken and a baked potato, both he said were great. I had the crab cake which was the sweetest crab meat I had ever eaten! I had the steak which was good, but the mashed potatoes were just okay. Friends of ours had the grouper and pasta which were both great. We had the dessert sample which was both cute and delicious! Left dinner and walked down to the dock to watch wishes. All in all, a good experience. We would go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      FrescasMom

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Wed November 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): In our hotel, pretty room
      Cons: Food

       
      We had spent the day at the MK and wanted to go back to catch the electrical parade and fireworks. We were staying at the GF and thought this would be the best place to eat. We ate here on our last trip (2010) and it was one of our best meals - wish I could say that this time around. This turned out to be our worst meal of the trip.


      The kids menu has minimal choices and the waitress wasn't willing to let me make substitutions. I ordered the pizza for my DD(5). My parents both ordered the chicken and I had the NY Strip. It took forever for the drinks to come, let alone the food.
      My daughters pizza was dry and overcooked, my steak was veiny and too salty and my parents chicken tasted and looked like it had been boiled. None of us ate our meals and pretty much everything went back to the kitchen. The family at the table next to us had a young child and a different waitress who apparently was willing to bring him whatever he wanted to eat. I complained to the Manager, who was very accommodating and they ended up bringing chicken fingers for my daughter and 3 cheeseburgers for myself and my parents. While this round of food was actually quite good, the damage was already done - it was too little, too late.


      At this point, it was so late that we had missed the MK electrical parade, so we took it all to go, went down to the pier and watched the fireworks and the water parade from there while we ate.


      Since the hotel is completely under construction, and even the quick service restaurant is closed, there is no plausible reason why the food and service was subpar.


      We will definitely NOT be eating here again, even we do stay at the GF on future visits.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dakotarose

      Registered: September 2012
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Wed September 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, atmosphere
      Cons:

       
      After some of the very loud, crowded Disney eateries, this was a relaxing change. The cafe is bright and is quiet (has carpet and lots of draperies) despite being busy with families. The food was very good, and the menu offers a nice variety.


      The Chef's Special was grouper. It was perfectly prepared with a wonderful mustard sauce and vegetables. I'm normally not a fan of fish, but decided to risk it, and the meal was really delicious!


      This was a lovely place to take a break from a hectic day at the Magic Kingdom. Will definitely be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      RKaspro877

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: Buffalo, NY
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Mon May 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Decor, location
      Cons: menu selections

       
      Stopped here for dinner one night after the parks and ended up going elsewhere. We thought this was more of a cafe, but the entree selection were limited (5 or 6) and they were all big meals. We were looking for something simple like a club sandwich or an open face turkey or roast beef sandwich, but they did not have anything like this on the dinner menu - they had pork chops, steak and fish dishes - we didn't want anything that heavy.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ladies4Disney

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Sat May 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly Staff, Good Food
      Cons: None

       
      We ate two lunches here during our stay the week of 5/13/12. The food was good. We had good service and recommend you try the pasta dishes. Both the grilled chicken and vegetarian meals were tasty. All of us liked the key lime dessert. The dessert sampler was delicious, also.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BeakerDave

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu April 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great new dishes
      Cons: none

       
      We had dinner at GF April 16. We had 2 of the new dishes on the menu. Shrimp and grits. Jumbo shrimp and cheesy grits with mascopone cheese and cherizo sausage. Great. Wife had the lamb chops. She loved them, cooked perfectly. Daughter had the chicken with mushroom risotto. She had eaten this before, and it was a hit again. We shared the dessert sampler and was a great ending to a great meal. beautiful restaurant and a great meal. Better than ever.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tcg

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 98
      Review Date: Wed April 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lovely surroundings, good food and great service
      Cons:

       
      My family and I enjoyed a lovely lunch here today, we were seated early for our ressie and everything was wonderful. We enjoyed the Nicoise Salad, Reuben and Steak. This location is very consistent and we look forward to returning!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      shell65

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Tue March 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food was excellent
      Cons: The waitress was a bit overwhelmed

       
      We had reservations, but wanted to eat about an hour earlier. They took us right away. Our waitress was nice but very busy. She did not tell us the specials and it seemed the other waiters were doing things with more ease. She took a while to bring drinks and forgot to bring a steak knife. I had some wonderful fish and my daughter had the steak. She especially like the chocolate Mickey. The atmosphere was lovely. We would go there again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jkkd

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Birmingham
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Tue January 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This was our second visit to the Grand Floridian Cafe. We wanted to eat somewhere near the Magic Kingdom on our last day and this worked out great.
      We both ordered pork chops and we both even made requests for substitutions on our side items, which were honored with ease. The food came out promptly and was really delicious. I have no complaints on our meal here. Pork chops were great, as were the cheese grits we ordered for our side item. Our server was attentive and nice and the food was excellent.
      For dessert, we opted for the sampler to share - and we were able to try several of the desserts that way. They were all great! The key lime dessert, I think we both decided on as our favorite. As a nice little add on - they put a cute solid chocolate Mickey Mouse on the dessert sampler, which we weren't expecting as it wasn't listed on the menu. But it was really cute and we took it home.
      I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. The service was good. We were seated quickly. It wasn't crowded. Just a pleasant experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.