Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • NOSaintsfan1970

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: NO Louisiana
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Mon November 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety of food
      Cons: Diappointed that they downsized it a little

       
      I have only eatin the breakfast buffet here before my wife and I met so I wanted to bring her so she can enjoy it. Well everything was great except I notice something was missing and I notice that they had a smaller selection.So I asked the server what had happened and why it seemed smaller. She said that they used to have a bakery and that they done away with the bakery. Really Disney was that expensive to keep that going well it is just disappoiting. Anyway its still a place I like to eat at when I am there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      miked

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Wed May 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Easy to Get Reservation
      Cons: Poor ala carte menu choices

       
      Made reservations on Mother's Day for the Trail's End Restaurant. Easy to get reservations, but overall, the menu selections are a huge disappointment. They should go back to having a buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also, the change to "venison chili" is not at all kid-friendly. Plus, the "stuff" tastes like a greasy, gamey glop of sloppy joe meat with beans. Try explaining to your kids that it's OK to eat Bambi, and wait for the panic to set in!! Huge mistake - Go back to all beef items, including chili. Disney does not need to "cut corners" so severely, and I hate to break it to them, but venison isn't "trendy"..it's "just got back from huntin' country".
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      Britmick

      Registered: April 2006
      Location: England
      Posts: 36
      Review Date: Thu May 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly service
      Cons: None

       
      Had a walk up reservation lunch in May 2012. Ed was our server and he was great. My wife had the burger which was huge, she loved the sweet potato fries. I had the Cheese grits with shrimp and Italian sausage. It was delicious. Only small complaint was I could have done with some chips or a biscuit to go with it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jacwin1

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: St. Pete, Fl
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun April 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ribs, Chicken
      Cons: none

       
      My husband, adult daughter, 15 month old granddaughter and I ate here on April 13th. The restaurants rustic atmosphere is wonderful. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The BBQ ribs are excellent, as is the chicken. The brisket was a little fatty, but tasty. There is enough variety to satisfy almost any appetite. Our granddaughter especially liked the round pasta with Alfredo. I personally do not like the metal plates, but no one else in my family seem to care.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Alwaysonmytoes

      Registered: February 2012
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat March 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great value, great food
      Cons: None

       
      We ate breakfast here two days while on Spring Break, we did not have reservations, however both days we got a good table right away. The buffet has a large selection of fresh & delicious food. The county eggs Benedict is amazing. Great value for the price, both days we stayed full and did not require a big lunch. Not to be missed!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      aloha8867

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sat March 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Best dinner buffet at WDW by far, good service too
      Cons: Getting there can is the hard part, bring bug spray since you have to wait outside to be seated

       
      I don't know why but the two best buffet's at Disney World are the hardest to get to (Boma and Trail's End). As for Trail's End, I can't complain at all about the food or service. The food was all good at the dinner buffet. I wish the people running Chef Mickey's, Crystal Palace, and Hollywood and Vine would eat there so they can see how a buffet restaurant should be run. Everything was good there and Trail's End was a big surprise!


      Getting there however was another story. I highly recommend taking the ferry as that would be the easiest if you are at MK or Wilderness Lodge. If you take the bus then you also have to get on a resort bus to get to the area where the restaurant is. It doesn't take long to wait for the bus but just remember that if you have reservations for a certain time. You will need to get to the resort at least 30 minutes before your reservation time to wait for the bus just to get there. If you drive you will have to park your car and then take a bus to the restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 180
      Review Date: Fri March 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Made last minute reservations here last night (3/15) for myself and a friend. Despite the extensive amount of transfers it took to get here, we thought it was worth it, and arrived right on time for our 7:20pm ADR.


      All of the staff we encountered were very friendly. Upon being seated at our table in the center of the restaurant, we made our first trip up to the buffet. I started with a salad complete with cornbread croutons. The salad was delicious, and the croutons were fine on their own, but I didn't like them with the salad-too sweet.


      For my entree plate, I had some fried chicken (good), mashed potatoes (heavenly), honey glazed carrots (very good), and chili with cheese and sour cream (too spicy).


      For dessert, I got some twist soft serve from the ice cream bar, with chocolate sauce, cookie crumbles, and M&Ms.


      I got another plate of desserts with apple cobbler (very good), red velvet cake (delicious), sugar cookie (hard and bland) and a pecan bar (too overcooked).


      Overall, we really liked the dinner and would go again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sworths

      Registered: March 2012
      Location: Rockport, Maine
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Thu March 1, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food, inexpensive (by Disney standards), quiet
      Cons: Can take a while to get there if not staying at FW

       
      We've been visiting Disney yearly and sometimes twice yearly for about 12 years and every year we make it a point have the breakfast buffet at Fort Wilderness. The food is always of excellent quality, fresh, hot, and the country eggs benedict are wonderful! We have never had a sub-par meal there, whether it be breakfast or dinner. The atmosphere is laid back with no rush, in fact, our waiter sat down with us for a while to shoot the breeze. We have had the pleasure of experiencing every breakfast buffet on Disney property, and for us, Trails End is far and away our favorite.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      traci26

      Registered: June 2006
      Location: Ft. Lauderdale,FL
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Thu February 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Our group of 9 dined here on Sat. Jan 28th. We did not have reservations and we were seated within 10 minutes. It is a buffet so not too much table service needed. We were a large group so 18% was automatically added but not sure service justified that amount.


      The food was good enough, my husband really enjoyed the chili. I found the brisket was fatty no matter what end you cut from. The cod was a bit tasteless too. So from a culinary standpoint, not the greatest, but it is the cheapest buffet you will find on property.


      Right after dinner, we walked down to beach to enjoy fireworks. Because we like to stay at Fort Wilderness, we will probably eat here again but not because its the best food, just convenient. We do like the breakfast buffet here though.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mplus1

      Registered: January 2012
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed January 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent Buffet Breakfast and Service
      Cons: Absolutely NONE

       
      Donnell was our server, ask for him, he made us feel special, and valued as guests. All food was hot on the buffet, we especially liked the breakfast pizza, and country eggs benedict. Biscuits and gravy were enjoyed by all, give it a try. Again, ask for Donnell, he definitely goes above and beyond to serve you.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wdwamanda

      Registered: August 2009
      Location: MA
      Posts: 65
      Review Date: Mon January 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lunch menu & pricing, delicious food, sweet tea
      Cons:

       
      Trail's End has always been one of our favorite spots in Disney. We love the quiet atmosphere in Fort Wilderness and always enjoyed the breakfast and lunch buffets. Admittedly, I was not happy when they got rid of the lunch buffet. I had enjoyed quite a lot of the choices there and wasn't sure how I felt about paying the a la carte menu.


      We finally tried the new lunch menu on December 7, and it was to die for. My mom ordered the fried chicken and waffles which she really enjoyed - it was a very generous portion. I ordered the pulled pork and substituted sweet potato fries for my side. It was served on a huge bun and was soo good! The sweet potato fries were great, too. And, of course, I enjoyed a few glasses of their fresh brewed southern sweet tea.


      Trail's End (lunch) is first on my "to do" list of places to visit the next time I'm in WDW...over Le Cellier and other (much) more expensive options.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nikalseyn

      Registered: July 2011
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue December 6, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): nice location
      Cons: food quality; service; organization

       
      Simply the very worst dining experience in our 20+ years at WDW!!!! We ate(or tried to eat)at Trails End on 12-2-2011. Long lines for the food. I waited almost 15 minutes just to get to the salad bar. Took two plates(they are metal and heavy)in order to not go thru the line again. No place to really set them down while you get your food. We were seated as far from the buffet tables as could be---on another level of the place, and by the time I got back to my table, the coffee the waitress had poured was only warm and the food on my two plates was only warm. The mashed potatoes were like a thick chowder, no consistency and runny. The sliced beef had a terrible taste. The fried chicken was good, and I don't mind cool fried chicken. That was the only good thing about the meal!!! The waitress had poured my coffee when we were seated and that's the last I saw of her until she showed up with the bill and made a point of telling us the "gratuity" was not included in the dining plan. She received nothing, of course, and we cannot recommend this place at all---lack of service, quality of the food, and the organization of the buffet were all substandard. I think Disney needs to re-evaluate this restaurant and make some changes. I remember it as being much better many years ago.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dvcgirl

      Registered: March 2010
      Location: Birmingham, Alabama
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Mon November 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): service
      Cons: food

       
      After keeping this place in the back of our minds for several years, we had dinner on Thanksgiving at Trail's End. We simply always thought the menu sounded good. However, there may have been some 'Thanksgiving' changes to the menu that night? There was a tomato-basil soup that was actually really good, then a lobster soup without any lobster. There was fried chicken and salmon that were okay and a couple of side vegetables. There was 1 dessert offering of pumpkin pie (there were cookies when were first arrived but they were taken away while the trays were still half-full and never returned).


      We were disappointed overall in the food, as well as that we were looking forward to carved meats, shrimp, ribs, etc. Based on reviews, I was also excited about the baked potato bar and cornbread croutons, neither of which were there. It seemed like very limited options for a buffet - especially with 1 dessert.


      On the positive side, we did have excellent service.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sierrabeara

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat October 29, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lower priced
      Cons: Cleanliness

       
      We went to Trails End for dinner last night and it was a mess. Seriously a disgusting mess. I would not have ever expected this from a Disney restaurant. The buffet area had food all over the floor. The signs for the food choices were on the floor. There was food spilled all over the serving area. And the ice cream topping bar was horrifying. Toppings were mixed up in each other and chocolate syrup was in layers of a dripped mess all over the table. we had to wait about 10 minutes in line to get to the buffet area.
      The food was just ok. We asked our server about the condition of the restaurant and he said this wasn't normal. I hope others have had better experiences here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cheripra

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Tue October 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick decent breakfast
      Cons: slow servers

       
      Just returned from a trip to the Wilderness Lodge Oct 18-23rd. We rode the boat over to the campgrounds and had breakfast with our inlaws twice. The food is of pretty good quality. I really enjoyed the biscuits and gravy! The only down side is the wait staff.


      After we were seated, we were told that our server would be right with us to take our drink orders. We knew from past experience here that it's best to go ahead and get your food first so you can at least eat while you're waiting. Our servers were very nice and and great with our needs, but it takes forever after your meal to get your bill and get out.


      So, if you aren't in any big hurry and don't mind hanging around for a while, I would definitely recommend Trail's End for a good hearty breakfast at a very reasonable price!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.