Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 83
      Review Date: Thu September 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): All you can eat
      Cons: Crowds

       
      We had diner ADRs at Trails End for September 20, 2014 at 6:40pm. Due to weather and boating delays we were about ten minutes late for our ADR. We had to wait about 20 minutes before we were seated at a table on the first floor- near the stairs and front door. The buffet is on the second floor.


      To get to Trails End is a pain. You either have to take a boat ride, or a bus ride. Only residents and guest of the Campground can easily get to the restaurant. We had to take a boat ride from the Wilderness Lodge, that first went to the Contemporary Resort, before heading to the Campground.


      The restaurant was very crowded and the line at the buffet was very long. It took about 15 minutes to reach the food. The starches and vegetables were good (not great, but OK). The meats included fried chicken (both white and dark pieces), pork ribs, sugar cured ham, smoked brisket and pulled pork BBQ. The fried chicken was good, the pulled pork was OK, but the ribs were covered in a rub that was way too heavy on the cumin spice. The brisket was excellent, as was the ham.


      Our server was not very good. He seemed to disappear for long stretches of time as all of our drinks would get empty between his visits. Not sure we’d return as the food was not worth the hassle of getting to the restaurant and the wait.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      PrincessDaisyDuck

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Fri August 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Service, Atmosphere
      Cons: None

       
      The restaurant was themed and decorated beautifully, it was cozy, rustic and super clean. Our reservation was at 4:45 and only 1/4 of the tables were filled. Our server was great and they had a really nice activity book and crayons for our DS.


      The food was AMAZING. It was fresh, delicious and had a great variety. The desserts were great too, I really appreciated that they had fruit out as well.


      We traveled with a baby so when she got fussy I was able to take her and my DS to the playground right by the restaurant while the other members if our party finished their dinners and paid.


      Wonderful experience, we are hoping to do this one again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mzznlink

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Central Virginia
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Sun July 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Selection & Price
      Cons: Out of the way.

       
      If it were not for the location (we usually stay at OKW) this would be a must do in the future. Since we were doing 1-night at BLT before the rest of the family joined us at OKW, we decided to take the boat over and try it out.


      With Marty singing all the way over on the boat from The Contemporary to Fort Wilderness, the night was off to a good start.


      BBQ, ribs, beans, chicken, chili, brisket, potatoes, etc. Everything we tried was delicious. Probably one of the cheapest buffets on property.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tpetty

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Fishers, IN
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Fri July 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice selection of food; value price compared to other buffets
      Cons: Seats arrangement at tables

       
      We ate here on 6/5/14 since we were staying two nights at the Fort. The food was good and they replenished the buffet throughout our time there. It would be nice if their food stations could be separated somehow since it seemed like the middle section created a bottleneck at times. The food wasn't overly hot but that is typical for buffets.


      My only complaint is the way they had the chairs seated around the table. On almost all the tables we were seated by they had 2 chairs on the same side but left the two other sides chair free. I am guessing they did this for space and traffic flow but putting 2 people on one side when it really is only made for 1 creates a tight fit especially if both individuals are on the larger side like DH and I are. There were 4 of us so it would have been nice had all four of us had our own side of the table. However, our table was also up against a pole so we really only had 3 sides. There wasn't even enough room on the sides that the chairs were on for the chairs themselves not to touch so throw in knees and elbow into the mix we would have been uncomfortable and bumping into each other the entire meal. We ended up putting one chair around to the one free side and used the 3 sides that we could and my DMIL sat diagonal at the corner of the other side to give her and my DS enough elbow room. We would have asked for another table but all the tables around us were like that. On the 2nd level with the buffet 4 top tables up there seemed to be unitizing all four sides.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ROCCOFIRE

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: ROCHESTER, NY
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Fri July 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, staff, service
      Cons:

       
      We had breakfast and dinner here and staff, service, selection and food all excellent. I never had any problems here, and always leave full and happy after eating here. A relaxing place to eat.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      seahawk7

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat June 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great service, homey atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      We went to Trails End for both lunch and the dinner buffet. Both were very good. I'm vegeterian and I the hummus, tofu flatbread. It was one of the best vegetarian options I had. My DS thought there chicken and waffles was the best one he had on Disney property and my daughter loves her catfish and grits. The dinner buffet is equally as good. My kids cut through their beef with a fork it was so tender. Great salads, fried chicken, and sides. Two of our favorite meals this trip and very, very reasonably priced.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kiwitess

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon June 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): delicious food and great service
      Cons: table and chairs were a bit sticky

       
      The food was delicious and the service was great. I absolutely loved the pecan tarts and my two sons were given huge strawberry shortcakes for dessert for their birthdays - scrumptious!!! My husband thinks they were the best he's ever had! The salmon was cooked to perfection and I have never had better oven-baked potatoes. Soft-serve ice cream was delicious and I kept going back for more green beans. Definitely worth the table service on the dining plan. The ambiance of the campground is amazing. It is truly the most serene and beautiful place in Disney World!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jacwin1

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: St. Pete, Fl
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed June 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Cost, atmosphere
      Cons: They have changed the salad selections, so there is no make your own salad now

       
      Ribs are excellent, fried chicken, baked chicken, strip beef loin, all were top notch. Kids could find many different items to choose from. Husband loved the chilled shrimp, granddaughter loved the fruits, predominately the watermelon. Same food as Mickeys backyard barbeque without the show and higher price.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      expulsus

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Pensacola, Florida
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri May 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Relaxed ambiance, comfort food, service
      Cons: none

       
      I ate here with my parents last week when we came down to celebrate mother's day and dad's birthday. We usually stay at the cabins but decided to try Pop Century this time around. We ended up missing Fort Wilderness, so we decided to take the boat from MK to "our other home" and have dinner at Trail's End (which I must add that in spite of having stayed at the Fort 5+ times, I'd never tried. We always utilize that kitchen!)
      We walked up and the hostess (who was very sweet and funny!) told us it would be about a 20 minute wait, so we figured we would grab some beers and sit at one of the tables to wait for the buzzer to go off -- it ended up going off after only 5 minutes while we were in line at the bar!
      All of us were starving and there were no words to describe how good a "home cooked meal" was at the end of a long day. Salads were fresh, meats were tender and juicy, the baked potato was cooked to perfection...we were all in heaven. Our server was very sweet as well and we had a good conversation with her.
      My only complaint would be in regard to the "corn bread" which turned out to be what we Southerners call "yankee corn bread"; it's very sweet and much more like a corn muffin than the corn bread we make at home.
      All in all, we had a wonderful experience and will certainly be back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Marilea

      Registered: March 2009
      Posts: 35
      Review Date: Wed May 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Down home comfort food at a reasonable price
      Cons: Leave plenty of time to get there

       
      Had dinner here May 8. Nice selection of familiar food with something for everyone. Our server was attentive and friendly without being annoying, and his recommendations were spot on.
      Very casual, laid-back atmosphere is relaxing after the craziness of the parks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bmg061877

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri April 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything!!!!
      Cons:

       
      My daughter and I had breakfast here on 4/24/14 before a scheduled Segway tour. We arrived 20 minutes late and were escorted cheerfully to our table with no problem. We loved everything! We appreciated that this was a smaller buffet, as we were not overwhelmed with too many choices, and still had enough choices to be satisfied. My daughter loved the pulled pork eggs benedict, and I the Mickey Waffles with praline topping. We thought the make your own yogurt parfaits in jelly jars were fun! The staff, food, and atmosphere were all so wonderful, we didn't want to leave for our scheduled tour! We are anxious to return with the rest of our family!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bosslady79

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Fri January 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service, moonshine (juice), cost
      Cons: none

       
      Dined here 11-19 for breakfast, the food was excellent, the pulled pork eggs benedict was awesome. Server was attentive filling drinks and clearing plates. Pecan syrup was tasty.
      You get a 10% discount with the Disney Chase card!


      Be sure to plan ahead it does take a while to travel here. Best way is to take the boat from MK!


      Noticed they take walk ups and the place was not very full. But everything was great Two adults ate a buffet for around $36, which is super cheap for the world!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      1283alex

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Tue December 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food
      Cons: transportation to campground can take a little long

       
      Not the camping type, but ate here and was very pleasantly surprised. The food and service was very good. Took a little longer to get her on buses, which can sometimes be confusing (easiest to take boat to and from Magic Kingdom - them get on bus back to resort @ Magic Kingdom) Would recommend this buffet~
      Click here to see this users profile  
      D1sneyg1rl

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon September 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good price, great food, casual atmosphere for kids
      Cons: A little out of the way

       
      Our family of 4 (husband, son 5, son 2) ate here on 8/26. The staff was incredibly friendly and so nice to the kids! The atmosphere is very casual -- you need not dress up. We loved the price of this buffet (as compared to some of the others) since we were not on the DDP this time. The food was piping hot, plentiful (buffet style), and the selection is typical American fare. My kids ate the best at this meal (green beans, corn, mashed and baked potatoes, mac and cheese, watermelon, chicken, etc.). I loved the baked potato bar and the carved beef with the different sauces (chutney, homemade honey mustard). Everyone's favorite was the warm cornbread with the honey butter. My son has allergies and the chef came out prior to the meal to discuss everything (as they usually do), but also prepared a special gummy bear sundae just for him! After dinner, we took the internal resort shuttle to Chip and Dale's Campfire Sing a long. P.S. It takes a little while to get to Trail's End, and to get around this resort, so leave enough time!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sclemenson

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Wed July 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and Staff
      Cons: A little off the beaten path

       
      My favorite breakfast place on property. Food is very good and fresh. Staff is friendly and fun. We went by boat from Wilderness Lodge. The best way to get there is either by boat from Wilderness Lodge or Contemporary. If you are coming from another resort transfer to a boat via the Magic Kingdom. No matter how you are able to get there, Trails End is worth a visit!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.