Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • DisneyGrandma68

      Registered: February 2008
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Sun May 3, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Really good old fashioned yummy food
      Cons: none really, great if you are staying @ Wilderness Lodge

       
      It's such an out of the way wonderful spot for a good old fashioned breakfast and the ride on the boat is so fast. The waitstaff is fun and very friendly. I ate here with my best friend on 4/20/15 because my son and daughter in law and I had eaten at Christmas time and I wanted to show her what a wonderful restaurant this is. We are A/P holders so we can come a little more often. The food is so fresh and hot and some of the items are not found on other buffets we have tried, and of course that wonderful juice is served also......
      We are coming in the fall again and will of course eat here. If you drive, you do have to get on a bus at the campground, but that was fun the first time also. We have eaten here 3 times and will be back.
      The price is definitely worth it and is not overpriced as some spots can be at Disney. We haven't tried dinner, but we may this fall when we come after Thanksgiving for a week.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 153
      Review Date: Sat April 25, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We really enjoyed this buffet. The service was excellent and the food was all really good. I would definitely return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcmouse

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 84
      Review Date: Wed April 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price
      Cons: food quality

       
      We were really looking forward to dining here as my hubby enjoys walking around at the resort and enjoying the many things to do here. We had heard mixed reviews but decided to try it anyway. The buffet price was reasonable, but the food quality wasn't very good. The carved meats were tasty, but the food on the buffet line was awful. The hot food was luke warm and dried out. Neither of us are picky eaters but we both agreed that this was not a very good meal. We don't often encounter meals at Disney that we are unhappy with, but this one was a waste of time and money. The dessert was alright. We had a nice choice of baked goods and ice cream with toppings to choose from. I can't comment on the baked goods. We figured we'd better stick with the ice cream. Can't mess that up. Our server refilled our drinks almost at the end of our meal, and spent most of his time chatting with the people working behind the bar. Glad we tried it, but won't be back. Hopefully they'll improve the quality of food before they lose more customers.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Quinniebear

      Registered: February 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sat February 28, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Convenient location
      Cons: Poor service, poor quality food

       
      Stopped by for lunch on February 28, 2015. We ordered fried green tomatoes and cornbread for appetizers, which were great. My husband ordered catfish and was satisfied. I ordered chicken and waffles. I had this dish last August and it was great. This time the waffles were overdone. When I told the waiter, he took them back and brought new. These were just as bad. He said the chef claimed that was the only way they could be made with their skillet. Then he took away both the waffles and chicken without asking if I was done. He never asked if I wanted anything else. He never refilled my tea or our water. The dish was removed from the receipt so we did not have to pay for it. Very bad experience at a usually reliable restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Wifeofbill

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sat October 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Price, Location
      Cons: Lack of Veggies in to go

       
      We love to get the to go meal consisting of 10 piece of fried chicken, 2 sides, and corn bread. The chicken is delicious, and while the sides are good, the only choices are mashed potatoes, fries, and macaroni and cheese. I really wish they offered green beans, okra, or some other veggie. Our family of 5 can easily fill up on the meal, and for that price it's the best deal to be had at Disney! We are locals, so we just bring paper plates and water bottles, then head over to the campfire to enjoy smores with Chip and Dale.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mlbaloo

      Registered: July 2007
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue October 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): the baked potato
      Cons: all of it, lousy food

       
      Typical Disney. Way overpriced food and it was awful. You wait in line for a thin slice of brisket and ham. Both were a chunk of fat and inedible. I would have gone back but the line was too long and it's not worth the wait. So I tried the shrimp and it smelled like it had been steamed in ammonia. There was no smoked sausage or fish. The only thing good was the ice cream. We had a party of 6 and all this for $160.00 ? Never again.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 89
      Review Date: Thu September 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): All you can eat
      Cons: Crowds

       
      We had diner ADRs at Trails End for September 20, 2014 at 6:40pm. Due to weather and boating delays we were about ten minutes late for our ADR. We had to wait about 20 minutes before we were seated at a table on the first floor- near the stairs and front door. The buffet is on the second floor.


      To get to Trails End is a pain. You either have to take a boat ride, or a bus ride. Only residents and guest of the Campground can easily get to the restaurant. We had to take a boat ride from the Wilderness Lodge, that first went to the Contemporary Resort, before heading to the Campground.


      The restaurant was very crowded and the line at the buffet was very long. It took about 15 minutes to reach the food. The starches and vegetables were good (not great, but OK). The meats included fried chicken (both white and dark pieces), pork ribs, sugar cured ham, smoked brisket and pulled pork BBQ. The fried chicken was good, the pulled pork was OK, but the ribs were covered in a rub that was way too heavy on the cumin spice. The brisket was excellent, as was the ham.


      Our server was not very good. He seemed to disappear for long stretches of time as all of our drinks would get empty between his visits. Not sure we’d return as the food was not worth the hassle of getting to the restaurant and the wait.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      PrincessDaisyDuck

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Fri August 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Service, Atmosphere
      Cons: None

       
      The restaurant was themed and decorated beautifully, it was cozy, rustic and super clean. Our reservation was at 4:45 and only 1/4 of the tables were filled. Our server was great and they had a really nice activity book and crayons for our DS.


      The food was AMAZING. It was fresh, delicious and had a great variety. The desserts were great too, I really appreciated that they had fruit out as well.


      We traveled with a baby so when she got fussy I was able to take her and my DS to the playground right by the restaurant while the other members if our party finished their dinners and paid.


      Wonderful experience, we are hoping to do this one again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mzznlink

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Central Virginia
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Sun July 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Selection & Price
      Cons: Out of the way.

       
      If it were not for the location (we usually stay at OKW) this would be a must do in the future. Since we were doing 1-night at BLT before the rest of the family joined us at OKW, we decided to take the boat over and try it out.


      With Marty singing all the way over on the boat from The Contemporary to Fort Wilderness, the night was off to a good start.


      BBQ, ribs, beans, chicken, chili, brisket, potatoes, etc. Everything we tried was delicious. Probably one of the cheapest buffets on property.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tpetty

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Fishers, IN
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Fri July 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice selection of food; value price compared to other buffets
      Cons: Seats arrangement at tables

       
      We ate here on 6/5/14 since we were staying two nights at the Fort. The food was good and they replenished the buffet throughout our time there. It would be nice if their food stations could be separated somehow since it seemed like the middle section created a bottleneck at times. The food wasn't overly hot but that is typical for buffets.


      My only complaint is the way they had the chairs seated around the table. On almost all the tables we were seated by they had 2 chairs on the same side but left the two other sides chair free. I am guessing they did this for space and traffic flow but putting 2 people on one side when it really is only made for 1 creates a tight fit especially if both individuals are on the larger side like DH and I are. There were 4 of us so it would have been nice had all four of us had our own side of the table. However, our table was also up against a pole so we really only had 3 sides. There wasn't even enough room on the sides that the chairs were on for the chairs themselves not to touch so throw in knees and elbow into the mix we would have been uncomfortable and bumping into each other the entire meal. We ended up putting one chair around to the one free side and used the 3 sides that we could and my DMIL sat diagonal at the corner of the other side to give her and my DS enough elbow room. We would have asked for another table but all the tables around us were like that. On the 2nd level with the buffet 4 top tables up there seemed to be unitizing all four sides.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ROCCOFIRE

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: ROCHESTER, NY
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Fri July 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, staff, service
      Cons:

       
      We had breakfast and dinner here and staff, service, selection and food all excellent. I never had any problems here, and always leave full and happy after eating here. A relaxing place to eat.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      seahawk7

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat June 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great service, homey atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      We went to Trails End for both lunch and the dinner buffet. Both were very good. I'm vegeterian and I the hummus, tofu flatbread. It was one of the best vegetarian options I had. My DS thought there chicken and waffles was the best one he had on Disney property and my daughter loves her catfish and grits. The dinner buffet is equally as good. My kids cut through their beef with a fork it was so tender. Great salads, fried chicken, and sides. Two of our favorite meals this trip and very, very reasonably priced.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kiwitess

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon June 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): delicious food and great service
      Cons: table and chairs were a bit sticky

       
      The food was delicious and the service was great. I absolutely loved the pecan tarts and my two sons were given huge strawberry shortcakes for dessert for their birthdays - scrumptious!!! My husband thinks they were the best he's ever had! The salmon was cooked to perfection and I have never had better oven-baked potatoes. Soft-serve ice cream was delicious and I kept going back for more green beans. Definitely worth the table service on the dining plan. The ambiance of the campground is amazing. It is truly the most serene and beautiful place in Disney World!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jacwin1

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: St. Pete, Fl
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed June 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Cost, atmosphere
      Cons: They have changed the salad selections, so there is no make your own salad now

       
      Ribs are excellent, fried chicken, baked chicken, strip beef loin, all were top notch. Kids could find many different items to choose from. Husband loved the chilled shrimp, granddaughter loved the fruits, predominately the watermelon. Same food as Mickeys backyard barbeque without the show and higher price.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      expulsus

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Pensacola, Florida
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri May 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Relaxed ambiance, comfort food, service
      Cons: none

       
      I ate here with my parents last week when we came down to celebrate mother's day and dad's birthday. We usually stay at the cabins but decided to try Pop Century this time around. We ended up missing Fort Wilderness, so we decided to take the boat from MK to "our other home" and have dinner at Trail's End (which I must add that in spite of having stayed at the Fort 5+ times, I'd never tried. We always utilize that kitchen!)
      We walked up and the hostess (who was very sweet and funny!) told us it would be about a 20 minute wait, so we figured we would grab some beers and sit at one of the tables to wait for the buzzer to go off -- it ended up going off after only 5 minutes while we were in line at the bar!
      All of us were starving and there were no words to describe how good a "home cooked meal" was at the end of a long day. Salads were fresh, meats were tender and juicy, the baked potato was cooked to perfection...we were all in heaven. Our server was very sweet as well and we had a good conversation with her.
      My only complaint would be in regard to the "corn bread" which turned out to be what we Southerners call "yankee corn bread"; it's very sweet and much more like a corn muffin than the corn bread we make at home.
      All in all, we had a wonderful experience and will certainly be back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.