Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • KBates

      Registered: May 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun May 15, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): price, atmosphere, characters
      Cons: need to make reservation well in advance!

      My family of 4 ate here many years ago and we remembered it being fantastic, but we hadn't been there since, even though we visit Disney every year! We decided to go again last year, 2015, (My parents and my Fiance' and I). We had booked the day our dining options were available and it was already hard to get in! We went in August (it was very hot out) but we were ready for a great buffet dinner. We got there and they take your family picture which was nice because I don't remember them doing this many years ago. When we were called in and directed to our table everyone was so nice and explained what the different foods were. My fiance' was excited to see all the different dessert choices they had. I have a beef allergy and there was plenty of food to choose from. And then the characters came around and we got pictures with every one of them. Also, the waitress noticed it was my parents 25th year anniversary and they gave them a celebration mickey cupcake with a candle on it! The food was absolutely delicious I would definitely recommend it!!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Sat May 14, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros):

      Ate here with my Hubby on April 21, 2016. Our reservation was at 6:15pm. We checked in a little early and waited about 15 minutes for our table. As always this meal was a blast. It's on our must do list every trip. Food was amazing. Love the atmosphere. Our waiter, Tim or Tom, was outstanding!!! And the characters were, well a bunch of characters. Fun as always.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Sun May 8, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, characters, cast
      Cons: Price, price, price

      Food was great and plentiful. Short rib and polenta was terrific. Desserts are lovely tastes of everything. Chocolate Oreo bombs are intense. Characters came three times each and fun with our granddaughter. Did not wait long for table. We had a great server named Tim. Would have given it a 10 but 50 per person is way to much.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2016
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon April 11, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters
      Cons: Food quality

      We ate at Chef Mickeys on March 30th...this was our second time eating at Chef Mickeys. We arrived 10 minutes prior to our reservation time and did not have to wait at all. My 3 year old dd was enamored with the characters. They were wonderful and we did not feel rushed.

      The food was another story...not what I would consider high quality...even for Buffet food I was expecting better...I think the meatballs were from the frozen food section at a store...the bread was good...desserts were ok...the next time we visit WDW we will branch out and try something else.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 60
      Review Date: Wed March 16, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters, food
      Cons: Long wait for character rotation

      The food was good, the gluten free dessert was really dry. the gluten free options were plentiful. We waited 80 minutes to see the fab 5.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2010
      Location: Dansville, NY
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Thu February 18, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, characters
      Cons: Service

      Our group are here on 1/27/16. It was our first time having dinner here. To start with our group was having a hectic afternoon, so by the time we arrived for dinner we were all tired and cranky. After checking in and getting our pictures we were seated right away. Our server came right over and took our drink order and we were off to the buffet. Loved the variety of salads and fruits. I personally loved the eggplant parmasean and mango ribs with cornbread. My 4 year old ate 3 plates of food, it was by far her favorite (lots of fruit and yogurt). We only had a few desserts but there were so many to choose from. We agreed that the cream puffs whew apocrypha favorite. We were all very happy with our meal and would go again.

      The characters were great and my daughter just loved them. We did miss Goofy as the little needed a bathroom. We were able to tell our server and he came back to see us.

      Our server was a bit slow with the drinks and the bill, but nothing too horrible. Other than that we really enjoyed ourselves. Our group definitely left much happier than we arrived.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2013
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun December 6, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters, food
      Cons: Service

      Had dinner here on 12/3. Little to no wait time between check-in, photo with Pluto, and being seated.

      Our server quickly came out to take our drink orders and told us to help ourselves to the buffet...then disappeared. We had to flag her down to get our drinks and then she only came back once to clear plates. Thankfully we had a large table.

      The food was surprisingly good! I was expecting Golden Corral-style buffet, but it was definitely a few notches above that. The desserts were especially great!!

      Almost all of the characters came around to see us twice; it was especially nice the second time as we just got to interact with them as opposed to worrying about photos/autographs. My daughter loved the singing and waving her napkin around. Definitely a must-do!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Fri August 28, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Staff was great, Kids enjoyed Characters
      Cons: Food Terrible!

      This was our 2nd trip to Chef Mickey's & sadly, our last! The food was absolutely terrible! If you want a Character experience, try Akershus Princess meals at Epcot or Cinderella's Royal Table. Be Our Guest at Magic Kingdom is not a character meal, but Beast is there to have pictures taken with & it is the best food in all of Disney! The characters were great here, but the food is not worth the price!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: October 2011
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Tue January 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was better than last visit, Characters
      Cons: Service

      We usually go see the characters for dinner at Chef Mickey's the day we arrive. The food was much better than our last visit, you can tell they are trying to elevate the selections somewhat. My youngest has a peanut/tree nut allergy and this was our first visit and first Disney restaurant experience dealing with this issue. I notified the three restaurants we were dining at during the week of this issue well in advance and that information was communicated successfully. We waited a long time for a chef to come out and when he did, the characters converged at the same time. The chef did not do a great job at explaining the buffet (esp. in hindsight after dining at Crystal Palace and Garden Grill) and he didn't seem super interested in discussing the food with me. At the Crystal Palace, they walked me through the line so I knew exactly what my son could enjoy. I think it comes down to a chef who didn't have a lot of experience with this type of situation and it showed. It was our least successful meal of the trip. Our waiter was also MIA for a large part of the meal, which made it difficult to even get refills. The food quality saved this meal for sure as the customer service was not up to Disney standard.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Fri November 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters and dessert variety
      Cons: Price

      The buffet food was decent, not spectacular. The dessert variety can't be beaten. I think we ate more desserts than dinner. The characters were great, and our server was happy to take pictures of our whole party with them. Our reservation timing happened to work out so that we could watch the Magic Kingdom fireworks from the balcony of the Contemporary after eating. That was great!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Tue October 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food, the characters
      Cons: The elevators

      Chef Mickey is always a must-do for our family. We have eaten here on our last 3 trips, and we never leave disappointed. The food is consistently above average, a good selection of salads, and entrees. The best courses on this trip were the short ribs, and the halibut over a quinoa salad; both were served in individual metal bowls, and they were both excellent, especially the halibut! The characters are fun, and my daughter really loved the "Frozen" cake for dessert. The only issue here is that the elevator and stroller situation in this hotel is out of control. We had to wait longer for an elevator going down from the 4th floor than we had to wait for some rides during our week of vacation!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue September 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Mickey and friends
      Cons: Food

      I feel bad about giving Mickey's restaurant a low rating, and not recommending it. However, unless you have no other way to see these characters, it is not worth either dining plan credits or cash. There really was no salad to speak of, the fish was okay but I have gotten the seafood salad they put out at my local Chinese restaurant at home. Half my beef I couldn't eat because it was fat, and the pasta was very bland. Unfortunately, as much as I'd like to, I can't in good conscience rate Chef Mickey's dinner any higher. Maybe next time I'll try the breakfast. The chefs are doing a disservice to Mickey and the other characters.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  

      Registered: September 2011
      Location: Oklahoma City
      Posts: 45
      Review Date: Sat September 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The Fab Five
      Cons: Food

      Our party of five had dinner here our first night. I thought it was a great way to kick off the trip. You could visit all the characters without standing in line. All of the characters came by , most twice. Janice our waitress was fantasic! When half the part missed Mickey she made sure he came back by before we left. The kids loved eating here & even my shy son & repressed DH joined in the napkin dance.
      The food is mediocre. There wasn't a lot of selection and nothing was great. Though I was pleasantly surprised by the short ribs. The desserts were very good. DH felt it was over priced for the food but you're not going here for food. It's for characters & fun!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 258
      Review Date: Mon September 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food overall, great service, seated early
      Cons: Some characters seemed rushed, ice cream machines not working correctly

      I dined here with a friend on 8/18. This was the one reservation my friend requested, but when I had to switch the dates of my trip, the only time available was 9pm. Since we were staying at the Grand Floridian, we hopped on the monorail around 8:30, just in case there were breakdowns or resets. Thankfully there were no problems at all and we were checking in to the restaurant by 8:45. There was only one other family ahead of us in line for photos, and ours turned out very cute. They were linked automatically, but somehow we also ended up with the photos of the five families ahead of us!

      It was just a few more minutes before we were seated. Jessica was our server, one of the three that I actually remember from this trip, because she was excellent. Goofy came around almost immediately and was happy to pose for photos and sign autographs.

      I started out with caesar salad, fruit salad, focaccia bread, and corn bread. All good but nothing special. My friend was brave and tried the halibut, which we think was served on a bed of red quinoa. He said it was very good.

      Pluto and Minnie came around next, within 20 minutes of us being seated.

      The next plate I had consisted of grilled kielbasa and pierogies, corn dog nuggets, Mickeyroni and cheese, and two types of dinner rolls. The Mickeyroni looked good, but lacked any flavor. I understand that they're trying to make it a healthy kid's option, but it definitely could have used some salt. I also prefer my kielbasa boiled, not grilled, but that's personal preference. Everything else was good.

      Donald skipped us somehow, we had some fun waving our napkins, and then Mickey took photos with us, about 40 minutes after arrival.

      My last plate was mashed potatoes, roast beef, and another roll. It was all great, though the beef was a bit more fatty than I'm used to.

      We were on to desserts before Donald came by. Normally I love sweet treats, but these left a lot to be desired. The mini cheesecake was fine, the mini blue "Frozen" themed cupcake had no taste at all, the key lime tart was too tart for me, the Mickey Mousse dome was okay but the Oreo on the bottom was soggy, and the best of the lot was the Banana Cream Tart. They also offer soft serve ice cream at two dispensers, but they were both running out. One had the entire vanilla handle broken off, so it was only giving out chocolate. The other was just out of the chocolate, so you could only get vanilla. There were caramel and chocolate sauces, as well as candy toppings like gummy bears, Reese's pieces, and M&Ms. The problem was that there's no way to fit the bowl under the dispensers, so our solution was to put the candies on a plate and then pour them onto the ice cream.

      Donald didn't make his way back to us until 9:50pm. And then, he took a picture with just my friend and hurried off to the next table. We had to call him back to take a photo with me and sign my book!

      As we were waiting for the checks to be processed, about 15 minutes later, Donald came back again and took a selfie with my friend.

      A bit of a lengthy meal, and definitely not a gourmet one, but if you come in with reasonable expectations, you'll have fun and won't leave hungry. I was also pleased that they had no problem giving us separate checks, since I was on the DDP and my friend was not.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sat May 31, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros):

      we ate here because we were told it was a must do activity for our first Disney trip. the food was decent and the characters were fun, but i'm not sure we'll be going back. it just wasn't as good as some of the other places we ate.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.