Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 215
      Review Date: Thu August 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Decent food, easy to find seating at off times
      Cons:

       
      I dined here for breakfast on 3 out of 5 mornings, as well as once each for lunch and dinner.


      For breakfast I had the kid's mickey waffles, the kid's french toast, and a cheese danish with a side of pineapple. I was at OPR either very early (7:30am) or very late (10:45am), so it was never terribly crowded and I was always able to get one of two tables that were meant for two people.


      For lunch, I ate around 11:45am, and ordered the Royale Sandwich, after Jack Spence recommended it in his blog recently. It came with a side of house made chips. The sandwich was great but so big I could barely eat half! Also loved the soft-serve ice cream option for dessert.


      My friend and I ate dinner here once as well, around 6:45pm. I had the roast chicken with mashed potatoes, cornbread, and green beans, with a pineapple upside down cake for dessert. My friend had the turkey meal with the same sides. We both loved our meals.


      I am also happy to say that I did not have nearly the same amount of trouble with my refillable mug that I did at All Star Movies several months ago. The RFID readers here were cooperative and I was able to get my soda with no frustration.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      peytonshea02

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 127
      Review Date: Tue June 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Having never stepped foot on CBR property in all our trips, and it being a place we always thought we might want to stay someday..we took a breakfast trip over to check it out.


      The food court has a neat layout to it. Really has the outdoor marketplace feel.
      The family got Mickey Waffles and a Bounty Platter. Nothing new or surprising to report. I decided to try the Breakfast Cuban Sandwich. The station from which I ordered it from was also the spot for pancakes....which is clearly their specialty because 8 people got their pancakes before I got my 1 sandwich. :/ The sandwich was not hot (bet everyone's pancakes were!) The swiss cheese was really strong and overpowering , and the fact that it was not really melted ..it was not a good thing. The potatoes were tasty and seasoned well.


      ps ~ After staying at and visiting many properties we were truly surprised at how huge this resort it! WOW!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mmc55

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: North Reston VA
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Mon March 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Selection
      Cons: Price

       
      Many great choices. Lots of pastries. Seating adequate but naturally gets real crowded at peak meal times. Some tables are available outside.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SCOTTMOP

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: WESTMISNTER,MARYLAND
      Posts: 76
      Review Date: Sun November 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great selection and delicious food
      Cons: can get crowded

       
      The choices here are excellent and the food was really good. The Caribbean catch fish sandwich I had several times was good. The pizza was good too. The grab and go had lots of selections too. Breakfast was good as well.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ang2575

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat September 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great themeing
      Cons: Food quality not equal to the cost

       
      The food court here falls way behind the food courts at other moderate resorts. And sadly, the costs are nowhere near worth the quality. It reminded me of school cafeteria food. Service was friendly but always slow. We gave it three tries over our 8 day stay and then agreed, it just wasn't worth it. Too bad because the food courts can be so convenient for breakfast.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcmouse

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Tue April 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We ate here several times for quick service meals and breakfast during our 9 day stay. The dining area was always clean and the drink station and condiment area were always well stocked. We did notice right at the end of our stay that the resort was filling up with Spring Breakers and athletic teams and the seating was a little harder to find for breakfast. That was to be expected. Eating early before 8 AM was the answer to that. The food selection was fine for us. We like that you can pick a drink or dessert from any of the stations. We were on the free dining plan, and used the new "tap cards". They worked just fine for us. The cashiers were very helpful in telling us what we were entitled to with the plan. This is a nice food court.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      orreed

      Registered: January 2010
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Sun February 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming, Variety
      Cons: Burnt Baked Viti

       
      I enjoyed the food court. We eat here almost every morning, lunch on arrival day, and two dinners. There was a lot to choose from and we never had to wait very long. The only downfall is one night I had order the baked ziti and it was awful. It was burnt and in a little paper container like you'd buy from the grocery store. The breadstick on the side was gross also.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dsnygrl

      Registered: September 2006
      Location: Aiken, SC
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Sun February 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety of menu items
      Cons: service hours, cold food, not as clean as it could be

       
      We ate at Old port Royale twice during our most recent trip (January 4 - 12, 2013). We also went back every day for "free drinks" using our refill mugs. Our 1st dinner was on January 4th when we ordered a cheese and a peperoni pizza for dinner (and left overs for breakfast for the next several days!). This is by far the bets value at Old Port Royale. The pizza quality is comparable to a Little Caesars or Papa Johns in quality and is served made to order if you want (although only the cheese and peperoni are on the menu board. A pizza is large enough to feed 3 - 4 people. No complaints at all about the quality or taste. We went back on January 10th and my husband ordered the Cuban sandwich and my son the typical Bacon Cheeseburger (his 4th of the week. I was not hungry so I just had my drink. The Cuban sandwich was large and came with a choice of Cuban Seasoned chips (He thinks they were some kind of french fries) or other side. He chose the pasta salad which came in a very small portion cup. He said the food was good, but not the best he's had. He would chose it again though. My son as usual enjoyed his burger and fries. Both days that we ate a meal here, seating was available both inside at at a few tables outside. The lines were not too bad to order, but I don't like that you have to stand in a separate line to pay for your food so that by the time you get to your table it is cold (expect for the pizza. I think it would be a better idea if they had ordering stations like they do in the parks where you choose and pay and then pick your food up at the stations. Another thing is is the hours of service are limited. While we were there, they did not open for breakfast until 6:30 AM and closed at 10:00 PM. Not good if you stay late in the parks and want a bite to eat when you get back, or if you are early starter who likes to be at the parks well before opening. Also, they start shutting down the soda fountains well before the food court closes. When we got back from the parks on several nights before 9:00 they had already cleaned 3 of the 4 soda dispensing stations and wrapped them up. This resulted in lines to get sodas and several times the diet soda ran out. Lastly, the cleanliness of the tables was good, but the staff did not keep up with cleaning the condiment stations very well. I do like that they offer packages of tea and chocolate. I filled my mug each night with hot water and then added a tea bag when I got to my room. For convenience, Old Port Royale is a good choice, but I certainly would not make a special effort to eat here if staying at another resort or choosing between it and dining quick service in the parks. We will most likely eat here whenever we stay on property.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      weluvwdw

      Registered: May 2009
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Mon January 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): nice sized portions
      Cons: no plantains

       
      Ate at the food court on the night we arrived. My husband and I both had the Mojo Pork and my son had the Pan-Seared Salmon. Both meals came with 2 sides and cornbread. I had green beans and black beans and rice. They didn't have plantains. They said that their sides rotate. All of the food was very good and it was a nice portion as well. My son and I split the Vanilla Monkey cupcake for dessert. Yummy!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      chlobug26

      Registered: September 2006
      Location: St. Louis, MO
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Mon September 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Vanilla Monkey Cupcake
      Cons: Yucky pizza.

       
      Decent food, expected from any quick service food court. The sandwiches were actually pretty good, especially the Cuban. The Vanilla Monkey cupcake was drool worthy. Only complaint: stay away from the pizza place. It was mainly crust and pretty gross. Also, staff didn't tell me a side salad was included, which is pretty frustrating. The kids pizza was seriously the size of a glazed donut.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DVC Mom

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Boston, MA
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Wed August 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food choices and portion sizes
      Cons: Poorly organized staff

       
      Had a great meal here on 7/30. I had the Caribbean burger (yummy fish) that everyone else kept wanting me to share. Hubby got the Philly Cheese steak and had a hard time finishing it. Our boys got the kids hamburger and turkey sandwich. The fries Disney has switched to recently are tasty and much more consistent restaurant to restaurant.


      My complaint was how staffing was organized at each of the stations. At mine (burger's) the kitchen was very slow and looked to need more help. For my hubby at the deli, the counter staff disappeared and his food sat in the window for 5 minutes until the kitchen staff came around and brought it to him (she was a bit peaved by this too) .
      Click here to see this users profile  
      matt_new_york

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sat July 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pretty good for a food court
      Cons: took best things off menu, quality diminishing slightly

       
      I admit a negative bias when they toke 2 of my favorite things off the menu - the Tuna Sandwich and the Greek Salad. I loved the Tuna sandwich. It was healthy, tasty with lots of fresh veggies, and great bread. The Greek salad was also outstanding with at least 10 ingredients.


      Now, I guess they hired some new VP of cheapness to get rid of those items. So the rest of my stay I had to settle for entrees that were far below the quality of my 2 favorites. I tried the Turkey BLT and it was passable, but quality below that of any Subway I have been to. The Caribbean salad was OK also, though again, not as good as the Greek salad.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cutter

      Registered: July 2008
      Location: Missouri
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri June 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): large portions Competive pricing
      Cons:

       
      Ate here several times on our stay 6/9-6/16. I had the Royale Sandwich from the Deli which was HUGE. Easily could of fed 2 of us and it was around $10 and included a large portion of chips.


      The family split a large pizza which they all 3 enjoyed, and I believe this was around $16.


      I also had the turkey dinner one night which was a large portion of sliced turkey, broccoli, and mashed potatoes. Generous portions and around $9.


      All in all, we did enjoy the food court and its numerous choices for reasonable pricing.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Marilea

      Registered: March 2009
      Posts: 35
      Review Date: Sun May 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The Deli
      Cons: Everything else

       
      This is just another mediocre food court, with the exception of the Deli area, which has very good, freshly made sandwiches. Everything else we tried was just the usual fare, although I was pleased to see more fruit choices as dessert options. I much prefer the food at POFQ food court; in fact, we went over there for supper one evening and it was great.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 215
      Review Date: Sat May 12, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      I dined here for lunch on 4/23. I chose the reuben sandwich with a side of jerk spiced chips, a pineapple cup, and self-serve ice cream with butterscotch and chocolate sauce toppings.


      The sandwich was made fresh, so it did take a while for it to come out. I enjoyed it, but the bread wasn't toasted quite enough and it was a little soggy. The chips were different, and a bit too spicy for me. The pineapple and ice cream were delicious.


      It was easy to find a table-the place was really very empty. I probably wouldn't make another special trip over here, but it is fine if you're staying at the resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.