Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Neffie Z

      Registered: September 2010
      Location: Midcoast Maine
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun November 15, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service, food, atmosphere
      Cons: none

      Like many folks here, I too was hesitant to visit Shutters. But after a storm front canceled our plans to go to the Boardwalk, we ended up at Shutters. And I'm glad we did! Our server that evening was Donna, who upon seeing our "Happy Birthday" pins, brought out two glasses of champagne as she took our order. She was quick and friendly, chatty and knowledgeable; a real joy to visit with. We had the crab cake appetizer and it was perfectly cooked and seasoned. Donna had suggested the New York Strip, so we couldn't resist. It too was perfectly seasoned. The asparagus spears that were served alongside were wonderfully tender/crisp. The herb dressing served with the steak was the perfect blend- and the steak? Best I've ever had- so flavorful and tender. My friend and I raved to Donna, who then told the kitchen crew. The chef came out to speak with us and we told him that he'd done a great job. On our way out, we stopped by the kitchen to offer our compliments, only to have the entire crew come out to say hello and wish us happy birthdays. It was a perfect evening- so perfect that we repeated it on our last evening at WDW. And it was just as fantastic. Don't be shy about going to Shutters- I will certainly be making a special trip to have dinner here on our next Disney trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun August 30, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly, Fast Service, Great Food
      Cons: None

      After reading the other reviews, I felt I must take time to post a more recent review. We were hesitant to eat here because of other reviews. But, we were staying at CBR & it was our last night. We were all tired & didn't feel like going anywhere else. Made a reservation & were glad we did! We were seated exactly at our reservation time. Waiter took our drink order and returned pretty fast. Placed our food order & food came out fairly quick. I had the Banana Crusted Mahi Mahi & it was delicious! My daughter had the steak & enjoyed her's as well. The waiter came back often & if we stay at CBR again, we will eat here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun April 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Located at our resort
      Cons: Food and service

      Had dinner ADR 4-01-14. We were staying at the Caribbean, so I thought we could have one early night during our week stay at Disney.

      We were able to walk to this restaurant from our room and were seated almost exactly at our ADR time of 6pm, which was good. Everything after that was horrible.

      Our waitress here was by far the worst server at any other Disney location. She took a very long time to get drinks, messed things up several times and then confessed that she "very new and still learning". I asked how long she had been there and she responded "since last September". That is 7 months on the job and still telling guests "your in training"??

      The restaurant was not very busy and there were several empty tables. The menu was not complicated and we ordered straight from the menu with no modifications.

      Our drinks ran completely out, to the point where we had even eaten the ice in the glasses- - they were totally empty!

      We both ordered steak, cooked medium and it came with green beans and a plantain gratin. The steak was served rare and was cold. The green beans were a cool room temp as was the gratin. The server finally came by and asked how our dinner was and I said it was "ok" since the wait between ordering, the salad and the steak was extraordinary and we just wanted out of there. She did ask "why is it not great" so I told her it was served rare, not medium and everything on the plate was cold.

      She had the chef come to the table, which I really did not want her to do since we were already upset about the service and the food, I just wanted to leave knowing I will never go back.

      I explained to him that our food was served too cool and the steak was totally rare. His response was indifference though he did say he would check the other patron's food to be sure theirs was warm. No suggestion to buy us a drink or discount the meal and no apology for the horrible meal we served.

      We checked in at 6 pm and it was after 8pm when we were leaving. I will never eat here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2007
      Location: Calhoun, GA
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Mon June 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): No reservations needed
      Cons: Food just okay

      Didn't have an ADR on one night of our trip and we were staying here so we decided to give it try. Just okay I had the steak and it was cooked as I had requested, no Heniz 57 only A1 which I don't care for. The sauce on the steak I didn't like but the sweet potatoes were good. Had the chocolate cake which I though was stale but overall it was decent.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 87
      Review Date: Tue April 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros):

      We have eaten here before a couple of times. This was a last minute decision on our last evening of our trip. We had to wait about 15 min. for a table, but as a walk up I don't think that's too bad. Both Hubby and I had the NY Strip Steak. Both were cooked just as we asked and delicious. Neither of us could fit dessert we were so full. This was a nice end to our stay at Caribbean Beach. We will certainly return here to eat on our next trip. Service was wonderful. Our server was very attentive and friendly.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2007
      Location: Naples, FL
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Thu March 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service, no reservations needed
      Cons: nothing

      We stopped by here so that we wouldn't have to leave the resort to eat dinner. We walked up at 7 PM with 6 people and didn't even have to wait. One might think that means a mediocre (at best) restaurant, but we found this to be a hidden gem.

      In the past, Shutters has not had the best reputation or reviews and it may have deserved it...at one point. But not anymore. Shutters now brags a chef from one of the Disney cruise ships and it shows. My husband and I ordered the fish of the day, which was prepared with a lemon cream sauce, yuca cakes, and peas. Normally I am not a fan of peas, but even they were tasty. My father-in-law had the chicken dish which he also said was excellent. The kids got standard kid dishes and they were standard quality- cheese pizza and pork ribs.

      Prices were reasonable for Disney. About $18-29 per entree.

      The best part of the visit was the service. Our waitress was very friendly, funny, and attentive without being overbearing.

      It was quiet with maybe a dozen filled tables and room for more. Maybe as more people hear about Shutters, they will be interested in eating here at least once on their trip. I think Shutters could do even better if they offered some sort of sit-down breakfast so families wouldn't have to fight the crowds at the food court.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2013
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Fri January 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food Quality and Choices / Convenience
      Cons: service

      We had dining reservations at Saana but were really dragging and thought we could save time by just going back and eating at our resort. GOOD CHOICE. Food quality was great as well as selection. Food was overpriced but that is the case for all Disney restaurants. We were on free DDP so cost was not an issue. When we first sat down, we were in part of restaurant that was freezing. We asked to move to another table and they gladly accommodated. Our waiter didn't seemed to be all that interested in us. Other then that, we're glad we chose to save the extra 45 minutes and just ate at our resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.