Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • allears2014

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sun April 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Located at our resort
      Cons: Food and service

       
      Had dinner ADR 4-01-14. We were staying at the Caribbean, so I thought we could have one early night during our week stay at Disney.


      We were able to walk to this restaurant from our room and were seated almost exactly at our ADR time of 6pm, which was good. Everything after that was horrible.


      Our waitress here was by far the worst server at any other Disney location. She took a very long time to get drinks, messed things up several times and then confessed that she "very new and still learning". I asked how long she had been there and she responded "since last September". That is 7 months on the job and still telling guests "your in training"??


      The restaurant was not very busy and there were several empty tables. The menu was not complicated and we ordered straight from the menu with no modifications.


      Our drinks ran completely out, to the point where we had even eaten the ice in the glasses- - they were totally empty!


      We both ordered steak, cooked medium and it came with green beans and a plantain gratin. The steak was served rare and was cold. The green beans were a cool room temp as was the gratin. The server finally came by and asked how our dinner was and I said it was "ok" since the wait between ordering, the salad and the steak was extraordinary and we just wanted out of there. She did ask "why is it not great" so I told her it was served rare, not medium and everything on the plate was cold.


      She had the chef come to the table, which I really did not want her to do since we were already upset about the service and the food, I just wanted to leave knowing I will never go back.


      I explained to him that our food was served too cool and the steak was totally rare. His response was indifference though he did say he would check the other patron's food to be sure theirs was warm. No suggestion to buy us a drink or discount the meal and no apology for the horrible meal we served.


      We checked in at 6 pm and it was after 8pm when we were leaving. I will never eat here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      beck9497

      Registered: April 2007
      Location: Calhoun, GA
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Mon June 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): No reservations needed
      Cons: Food just okay

       
      Didn't have an ADR on one night of our trip and we were staying here so we decided to give it try. Just okay I had the steak and it was cooked as I had requested, no Heniz 57 only A1 which I don't care for. The sauce on the steak I didn't like but the sweet potatoes were good. Had the chocolate cake which I though was stale but overall it was decent.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcmouse

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 74
      Review Date: Tue April 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We have eaten here before a couple of times. This was a last minute decision on our last evening of our trip. We had to wait about 15 min. for a table, but as a walk up I don't think that's too bad. Both Hubby and I had the NY Strip Steak. Both were cooked just as we asked and delicious. Neither of us could fit dessert we were so full. This was a nice end to our stay at Caribbean Beach. We will certainly return here to eat on our next trip. Service was wonderful. Our server was very attentive and friendly.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nessz79

      Registered: November 2007
      Location: Naples, FL
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Thu March 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service, no reservations needed
      Cons: nothing

       
      We stopped by here so that we wouldn't have to leave the resort to eat dinner. We walked up at 7 PM with 6 people and didn't even have to wait. One might think that means a mediocre (at best) restaurant, but we found this to be a hidden gem.


      In the past, Shutters has not had the best reputation or reviews and it may have deserved it...at one point. But not anymore. Shutters now brags a chef from one of the Disney cruise ships and it shows. My husband and I ordered the fish of the day, which was prepared with a lemon cream sauce, yuca cakes, and peas. Normally I am not a fan of peas, but even they were tasty. My father-in-law had the chicken dish which he also said was excellent. The kids got standard kid dishes and they were standard quality- cheese pizza and pork ribs.


      Prices were reasonable for Disney. About $18-29 per entree.


      The best part of the visit was the service. Our waitress was very friendly, funny, and attentive without being overbearing.


      It was quiet with maybe a dozen filled tables and room for more. Maybe as more people hear about Shutters, they will be interested in eating here at least once on their trip. I think Shutters could do even better if they offered some sort of sit-down breakfast so families wouldn't have to fight the crowds at the food court.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kingboy

      Registered: January 2013
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Fri January 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food Quality and Choices / Convenience
      Cons: service

       
      We had dining reservations at Saana but were really dragging and thought we could save time by just going back and eating at our resort. GOOD CHOICE. Food quality was great as well as selection. Food was overpriced but that is the case for all Disney restaurants. We were on free DDP so cost was not an issue. When we first sat down, we were in part of restaurant that was freezing. We asked to move to another table and they gladly accommodated. Our waiter didn't seemed to be all that interested in us. Other then that, we're glad we chose to save the extra 45 minutes and just ate at our resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lelandra

      Registered: November 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat November 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): service
      Cons: price

       
      Caveat - ALL Disney food is ridiculously overpriced. You have to go in expecting that. Don't expect $100 at Disney to get you what $100 outside the World would get you. $100 in the World gets you 4 $10-12 cocktails, 2 entrees, and 1 appetizer. The quality level to expect is Applebees/Chilis/Olive Garden/Denny's. (For quick service you should expect high school cafeteria.) If that's your expectation, you'll come out happy.


      I was at Disney World for a girl's weekend, doing the Wine & Dine Half Marathon. My friend and I ate here both nights. Neither time did we have or need an ADR. The first night we had just gotten in from the airport, and after the two hour drive to the airport, the flight, the magical express bus from the airport and then the internal shuttle bus, at 9pm, we just couldn't bring ourselves to take more buses to get to Downtown Disney where I had an ADR at Raglan Road. So we cancelled that and ate here.


      The restaurant was never full, but we did eat later in the evening both nights, so maybe closer to 6pm it might have more occupied tables.
      Our server the first night was Gilberto. He was amazing and really made the experience for us. We were very disappointed the second night not to get him - our service the second night was terrible.

      I have to eat gluten free - Gilberto brought me gluten free rolls before the meal without me even asking (that is very unusual to get bread with the ordinary folks, so it always makes a big impression). Our cocktails were excellent. (Captain Banana, Caribbean Smuggler, Truffle Martini, Chocolate Martini)


      Basically, the food was fine. I would be happy to receive what we did from Applebees, and it was absolutely up to that standard. Up to the standard of a $30 plate at a fine dining restaurant? Of course not. This is Disney.


      Over the course of the two nights we tried the Caesar Salad ($5.49), Shutters Salad ($5.99), Char-crusted 10 ounce New York Strip Steak ($29.99), and Pasta Piquant ($18.99, with gluten free pasta). I was told that the Caribbean Braised Boneless Beef Short Ribs could not be made gluten free, but they would have been able to adapt the Carved Bone-in Pork or the Strip Steak if I had chosen those. All were fine. My friend had the Chocolate Rum Blackberry Cake ($7.99) and enjoyed it... they didn't have anything they could do as a gluten free dessert.


      The portion sizes were huge, so the second night we just went with cocktails, appetizer salads, and dessert, and it was just the right amount of food... and a much more reasonable bill. Given how crazy-expensive entrees are and how massive portion sizes are at Disney, if you eat moderately, I recommend this strategy for dining at Disney if you don't have the dining plan.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kpalmiotto

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue October 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food, friendly staff
      Cons:

       
      We ate all 4 nights at this hotel during our current stay at resort. We were pleasantly surprised since this hotel has gotten such bad reviews. Apparently a new chef took over 4-6 mo ago and has changed things for the better. I would definitely go back again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      zona1953

      Registered: June 2012
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sun June 3, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good service
      Cons: overpriced for quality

       
      After traveling all day from Arizona we opted for the on location dining at Carribean Beach rather than going to our favorite spot, House of Blues. It was a waste of $67.00. My pork ribs were full of gristle, every bite I had to spit out something. I should have sent it back. The server recommended not to get the chicken breast. Limited choices, cozy restaurant, good service but horribly overpriced for the quality of food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alohawinnie

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Mon January 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly service
      Cons: Food choices

       
      Our waitress was very good, polite and attentive. The restaurant was pretty big and much bigger than what you thought looking from the food court. The theming was okay, nothing really fun. We ate there one night during our 1/21-1/28/12 stay and it was pretty crowded at about 7:30 PM but we were a party of two and didn't wait long to get a table.


      The selection of food was Caribbean themed so if you are not fond of Caribbean food, this is not the restaurant for you. My husband was not thrilled with the selection but enjoyed his steak but did not like the choices of sides available. I had the short rib and it was very good, hardly any curry flavor.


      I had the tres lesche and it was good, a coconut cake surrounded with some light ccoconut cream.


      I had a pina colada non-alcoholic drink that was very good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Taran

      Registered: April 2011
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sun April 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Relaxing
      Cons:

       
      Our group of 7 stayed at CBR March 1-8th and we decided to try Shutter's one night. Our waitress was the friendliest person we had at any Disney restaurant. Even though she suggested the strip steak, I had the pasta with the chicken and enjoyed it. Another member of our party couldn't finish his steak, so I got to try that too and I found out the waitress knew what she was talking about -- it was great. We were on the Dining plan and I think this was worth one of the meals.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcmouse

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 74
      Review Date: Mon April 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): convenient
      Cons: none

       
      We had dinner here one of the evenings that we needed to use up a sit down credit on our meal plan. We were seated immediately without an ADR. Husband had the chicken...small serving, but who needs a ton of food when dessert is included with the meal plan. I had the Caribbean Pasta with chicken. It was very tasty. My portion was more than enough. This is a nice, convenient place to eat for us staying at Caribbean Beach. Sometimes, after a long day at the parks, you just don't want to hop on a bus or in a car to drive to get another meal. The atmosphere is nice, and staff more than accommodating and the meal tastes great! We'll be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sdeitzle

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed January 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Suprisingly very good food
      Cons: can take alot of time to get to the resort

       
      We decided to try a new place this time when we were visiting in December 2010. After checking the reviews here and the menu (we are rather picky eaters) we chose this. Our ADR was for 5:00, the first ones of the evening. We got to Caribbean Beach early and took some time just looking around the resort. When we checked in the computer system was down so we had to wait for about 10 minutes to be seated but once we were seated our waitress was great. She offered some suggestions and they were very good. The food was very good especially the Tres Leches dessert. Our kids (6 and 9) also found a good selection of food on the kids menu. The only thing that we didn't really like is that it can be rather time consuming getting here. We were at Hollywood studios which is close to the resort and it still took close to 45 minutes to get to the right 'stop' because there are so many bus stops at this resort. But as long as you don't mind taking some downtime from the parks this is a great place to eat.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.