Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Kurt Jensen

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat October 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Mussel appetizer
      Cons: Potato wrapped fish

       
      Last year we loved this place. This year was a disappointment. As soon as we ordered the wine flights the waiter could care less about us. Service was OK at best, but another waiter at the next station filled our empty water glasses. The signature potato wrapped fish was a big letdown. The leeks were tough, and the potato wrapping around the fish was both tough and soggy. Sauces were good though. I thought the entre resembled something you would get on a buffet. The mussel appetizer was great. My wife's scallops were "OK", last year they were great. Don't know what has happened to this once beloved restaurant, but both Artist Point and even Kouzinna are much better.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      AndyE

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Sat September 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, Quality of food
      Cons: Service

       
      Dined here on Friday 27th September. Our server was in our opinion a little bit to quick for our liking, we were seated and our server asked if we were ready to order (we didn't even have a chance to order our drinks). I felt that I had to slow the server down by asking for drinks while we looked over the menu. Al in all the food was amazing, but, slightly ruined by a server who wanted to rush us through. Not sure if we would go back for this very reason.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ebersole2

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun August 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): the portions were incredibly generous
      Cons: none

       
      The Flying Fish


      For a romantic, delicious meal, please try The Flying Fish. The beef and red snapper were divine and the portions were incredibly generous. Our waitress noted we were honeymooning and brought us a decadent, blueberry crème Brule on the house! That is what Disney does well, the unexpected little items to make one feel extra special.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cappy7651

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri May 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): FOOS IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      Cons: NONE

       
      WOW!!!! WHAT CAN I SAY THE FOOD HERE IS AMAZING. THE MUSSELS IN THE GREEN SAUCE IS A (MUST)! YOU WILL LICK THE BOWL AT THE END I KNOW I DO. MY FAMILY AND I GO HERE EVERY YEAR. WE ALWAYS MAKE IT A POINT TO BOOK A RESERVATION WHEN WE COME HERE. IF YOU LIKE SEAFOOD, YOU WILL LOVE IT. ALSO FOR THE MAIN COURSE, YOU MUST HAVE THE SNAPPER WRAPPED IN A THIN POTATO SHELL. THEY WRAP IT IN THIS SLICES OF POTATO.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      grandflo89

      Registered: January 2006
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed April 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fresh,great tasting food
      Cons: Children's table allowed

       
      I was at the Flying Fish during February vacation with my wife. It was our second time here. The food was great, the waitstaff was great, however the management allowed a family to have a children's table located about 8 feet from the adult table. I am sure that it was a tase of freedom for the adults who paid little attention to them. But to the adjacent diners, it meant being subject to flying food, children bumping into them, and loud screaming. Does this happen anyway, absolutley. But by allowing the children to have there own table it was intensified quite a bit. I blame the management number one for allowing this.If it hadn't been for the children's table, I would have rated the experience a ten.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      masonmj84

      Registered: March 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Thu March 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food and service
      Cons: none

       
      We've eaten here twice in the past year or so and have had excellent food and service both times.


      The first time, I had the snapper, which was out of this world (even the leek fondue served with it was delicious).


      The second time, I had the steak and snapper combo, which was equally as excellent (had a hard time deciding between this and just the snapper).


      Sevice was spot on both times.


      We've eaten at most of the signature restuarants on the dining plan and believe this is one of the 3 or 4 best.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mgilmore

      Registered: January 2013
      Location: Pittsburgh, PA
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Thu March 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Watching & Conversing with Chefs in the open kitchen.
      Cons: None that I experienced.

       
      I dined here during my recent 7 day trip on March 6th. I was really looking forward to trying FF for the first time and it did NOT disappoint.


      Since I was a single diner, I requested to sit at the long table in front of the open stage kitchen. My request was honored.


      Service was impeccable here. My server was a very experienced gentleman. From start to finish, I was treated very well. I was presented with a personalized menu (I was celebrating my birthday).


      He took the time to go through the entire menu, and make recommendations. My server was very good at his job. I was very pleased. A bread service was presented while I waited for my appetizer.


      I chose the signature appetizer of Jonah crabcake and Ceasar salad. Delicious. For my entree I chose the Duo Filet & Potato wrapped Snapper. Everything was cooked to perfection, and the flavors were fantastic. I ordered a pear Martini to go with my entree. It was good albeit a bit strong for my tastes.


      The chefs cooking, often struck up conversations, and were happy to answer questions. I was surprised when the Chef de Cuisine stopped over to wish me a Happy Birthday.


      For dessert I had the Carmelized Banana Napoleon.
      I was happy with my choice, it was delicious.
      The pacing of my meal was good, it was not rushed at all.


      I was overall very happy with my meal and service.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      waltercox

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat February 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location
      Cons: service

       
      We dined here 2 times this trip. The first time we considered the experience was a 2. A week later we dined there again giving a 2nd chance. Still a 2. Service was poor and food quality was only acceptable. Not to our expectations of a Signature restaurant. Our party of 4 is dry. It seemed to us that after ordering water (both times) it was the kiss of death. Our waiter came to the table and asked if we were ready to order yet. No suggestions or recommendations. The table next to us all ordered alcohol and his helpfulness to them appeared exceptional. The tuna was brought out cold. Fish quality was good, but seared tuna should be served at the right time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      musthavedisney

      Registered: April 2011
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Mon January 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Takes Dining Plan (Deluxe)
      Cons: Food just ok, not worrth going out the way

       
      Husband & I dined here in early November 2012. The food here was good, no real complaints about that. With a name like "Flying Fish" you'd expect a very large seafood selection and that was not the case. The menu mirrored California Grill so we were a tad bit disappointed we had gone out of our way (from the Polynesian that's a monorail and bus ride) to get here. What we had hoped for was a nice spread of seafood selections. We both had the scallops over risotto, and it was good.. but we had a similar dish the night prior at California Grill.. as I stated the menus were pretty much the same.. save for no sushi offerings.


      If you just happen to be staying in the area of Hollywood Studios then this place is a great option to save travel time or can't get a table at California Grill. However if you want seafood, stick with Fulton's in Downtown Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memymoe

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Wed December 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location
      Cons: Mediocre food, sub par staff

       
      The food was ok. The fish we had was over cooked and under seasoned. If the manager or waitress had actually stopped and waited for our response when they asked "How was your dinner?", we could have brought it to their attention. Instead they asked and just kept walking. Certainly not the signature experience we were looking for.


      Was it inedible? No. If I had to compare it to something I would say it was on par with the Bonefish restaurant chain.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      deaks

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri December 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Loved Loved Loved
      Cons:

       
      Ate hear on 12/2/12. We absolutely loved it. It was our favorite meal on our trip. The calamari was the best I've ever had. Every course was great. We were celebrating a Birthday so they brought out the PBJ creme brulee for desert. It was divine. We will definitely go there again
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CitrusSwirlLVR

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Thu December 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice Atmosphere
      Cons: Over Priced

       
      Finally got to eat here 12/2/12. On the dining plan so thought why not. The bread was good. I got the steak & snapper. Loved the snapper and would get that again but the steak, although had nice flavor and a nice crust, was fatty. I can not stand fat or gristle and usually do not order steak but had to try it. The dessert was not great either. I got the Choc. Tri and I love Choc. A small salted sq. piece of choc., a hollow ball and very dark mousse. My mom got the pumpkin bread pudding and it was pretty dry. Would go back for the Snapper and to try something else. Nice place.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tommygunn

      Registered: November 2009
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Mon December 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was very tasty but not as good as last time
      Cons: Food was a little on the cold side

       
      My first trip here in 2011 was superb. But wasn't as good this last trip in 2012. Meal was tasty but cold. Also food selection seemed more limited.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mizlou

      Registered: July 2009
      Location: Mesquite, TX
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sun November 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food great waitstaff
      Cons: None

       
      Ate here on 10/12/2012. The food is sooo good here. Nothing else needs to be said!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      josephburns300

      Registered: November 2012
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sat November 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, location, atmosphere.
      Cons: Service

       
      November 2nd was our third visit this year and sadly our last for a while. The food is easily among the best at WDW and elsewhere. We really enjoyed the pork and snapper entrees; in fact, so much so we've ordered them each time. The butternut squash soup, the crab cake, and the deserts were also delicious. However we were burned by the service on this visit and our April visit. The combination of the 40 minute wait past our ADR time and the 2 hours it took to complete the meal ruined our experience and exhausted our entire evening. In fact, we received an amuse, two appetizers, a bottle of water and one beer gratis because of the service issues.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.