Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Tue February 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service
      Cons: Quality and Quantity of Seafood

       
      We ate at Cape May Café on Tuesday, February 11, 2014. Our ADR were at 6:50pm; we arrived at 6:54pm and had to wait about four minutes before we were seated. All three of us got the buffet (me, wife and 14yo daughter). On the buffett were peel and eat shrimp, steamed mussels, steamed clams, herb crusted salmon, and roast beef. There were also several sides such as mac & cheese, mashed potatoes and various breads.


      The shrimp were just OK, no real flavor, but they were tender. The clams and mussels were good. They had some flavor and were very tender – not overly cooked. The roast beef was not tender at all and had no flavor – but this is a sea food buffet, not a steak house. The salmon was the best thing on the buffet. It was very good with lots of flavor and was moist and tender. I went back for seconds it was so good.


      Our bill, for three adult buffets, and three sodas with tip came to $141!! What we had was not worth half that amount. My wife and I have decided that we’ll never come back to Cape May Café as the food quality does not justify the price.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JennaDeeDooDah

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Mon February 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was good
      Cons: I expect more from Disney

       
      I struggled on whether to choose yes or no as to whether or not I would recommend Cape May. On the one hand, there wasn't really anything WRONG with it. The food was perfectly adequate. I especially enjoyed the clams and the chowder. The kid's section was also good. Unfortunately, the atmosphere is practically non-existent. It was a basic restaurant not dissimilar to Golden Corral or any other family-style buffet you can eat at in your hometown. Because of that, I was disappointed. I am used to more from Disney. I wouldn't dine here again just because there are so many other options that offer more.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Brbrhark

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat February 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of seafood
      Cons: Lots of seafood

       
      I would rate this restaurant as Excellent for seafood; not so good for anything else. I am glad I went but probably would not bother again. I enjoyed the salmon and the salads but I am not really a seafood buff. My daughter and her husband love it but if we travel together again, I will definitely eat at another location while they go here. However, for seafood lovers it is a really good value.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JerseyShoregirl13

      Registered: November 2012
      Location: NJ
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Fri January 10, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Prime Rib
      Cons: Everything else

       
      Food was disappointing.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mamalydia

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: miami, florida
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed December 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): excellent food, excellent service
      Cons: none

       
      SEAFOOD, seafood, seafood! The shrimp, mussels, clams, crab legs all steamed to perfection! You are never rushed while you are having dinner, the servers are constantly cleaning up after you...especially your buckets full of clam/mussel shells..the dessert are delicious!! you have a variety of meats, side dishes, salads, soups and breads....so worth the price!!! We come for dinner every visit!! You will not be disappointed!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Motherhen

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Canada
      Posts: 73
      Review Date: Thu December 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pretty
      Cons: Terrible food quality

       
      We ate here on 12/1. We've eaten here many times before and enjoyed it up until the past two years. The food quality continues to go downhill. The shellfish was especially poor. Many people were complaining that there was little to no meat in the crab legs. The mussels were full of broken shell fragments. The clams tasted off too. The selection of non-seafood was very limited.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WDWAndy

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon November 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fresh Seafood, variety
      Cons: Slow Service

       
      If you like fresh seafood, this is the place for you at WDW. Crab legs and mussels were fantastic and the buffet options were wonderful for all ages. Service the night was slow with bringing out drinks. We were finished with our first plates before our drinks came out. Come hungry!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mishawnam

      Registered: September 2010
      Location: Dansville, NY
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Mon November 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Crablegs and Desserts
      Cons: Slower service

       
      We visited here on Sept. 28, 2013 which was our third visit. If you like crablegs then this is a must. Although this is a smaller buffet there is enought variety. If you are not a seafood lover then I would recommend skipping this buffet. The crablegs were great, love the salad selections and LOVED the baked salmon. Our last visit, in Sept. 2010, we were less than thrilled with the desserts. However this visit they were among our favorites of our entire visit. Everyone in our group loved the custard with the berries. I personally loved the boston cream cake. All of the desserts were delicious. We also loved eating here because we love visiting the Beach Club Resort, so beautiful. We enjoyed a walk afterwards on the beach across from the Boardwalk. Our 2 year old daughter loved the boat rides to and from the resort. All in all Cape May is delicious and a must for our family for a Disney visit.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rjeast1

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri October 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Less options

       
      We ate here on Oct 10 and overall enjoyed the meal. We were put in the room to the right as you enter the restaurant. At first I was not happy with the location but then once we went up to get our food I thought better of it. We were out of the crowd and the hustle and bustle and it was quieter eating. Next time I will ask for that room.


      My husband always liked their spareribs that they did not have this time. He felt that they did not have as much to choose from. I was content with the food...all the seafood makes me happy. The cod I sort of tripped over since they had it in small pieces in the kid' meal section. I'm sure many people missed it.


      Their salads are always good and were again this time. Their soup was delicious but I passed on the carrot soup.


      Our waitress was not very friendly. I know they are very busy in here but that is not the fault of the customers. Usually the staff is friendly, at least from our experience. She also was very slow to come to our table.


      We will however go back on one of our next trips to the World.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pop2

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat October 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): all you can eat crab legs, seafood, chowder
      Cons: expensive

       
      Just got back on Sept 28th. This was our second time at Cape May. We go there for the crab legs. If you don't like seafood, this is not the buffet for you. I do feel like it wasn't as good as the first time, but it was still ok. I would go back because of the crab legs. I will say we got our moneys worth. Even the waitress commented and laughed with us about it. She had to keep emptying my husbands crab bucket. If you want to pig out on seafood, this is the place. I do have to say the chowder was to die for.!!!! I had almost 3 bowls. It is expensive, but ok if on dining plan. Rest of food ok.....typical for buffet food. Service was pretty good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneyhardin

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Fri October 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
      Cons:

       
      We ate here Oct 3 and had a delicious dinner. The food was hot, fresh, and plentiful. My husband ate his weight in steamed clams. The thing that left a bad taste in my mouth was that a family near us had a child that screamed for 45 minutes and management didn't ask them to take the child out. It was so bad a family near us had a little girl that kept her hands over her ears because the screeching was hurting them.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nurseholly

      Registered: December 2010
      Posts: 49
      Review Date: Wed October 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food
      Cons: lack of variety in some areas

       
      I will preface this by saying that I don't care for seafood and that we came here at the request of my son. Having said that, everything that I tried was very good. There wasn't a ton to choose from, but if you like seafood, my family says that it was really good! The desserts have a definite lack of variety for a buffet, but made up for it in quality. I would return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      buntingd

      Registered: July 2010
      Location: FL
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Sun September 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food selection, very friendly, helpful CM
      Cons: parents not monitoring their children at the buffet

       
      Check-in about 20 minutes before our ADR and within five minutes our beeper was going off. This was our fist visit and we WILL BE BACK!!! The service was great, drinks were refilled often, and plates were cleared. The only upsetting thing I saw and it was not Disney's fault was a parent allowing their child to come up to the buffet and get their dessert using their hands and carrying their brownies back to their table in their hands. The hostess gave us some recommendations of this to try.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Harrimans

      Registered: October 2009
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sat July 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Seafood Selection, Carving Station, Desserts
      Cons: Crowded buffet line / awkward layout

       
      I am allergic to Shell Fish and do not eat any kind of seafood really. DW, DS14, DD10 are seafood lovers and DD7 loves chicken, mashed potatoes and dessert Wink


      DW, DS14 and DD10 loved the seafood selection. Crab Legs, Clams, Mussels and Fried Shrimp were their favorites. I thought the salad selections, carving station, potatoes and corn were very good. DD7 loved the kids area and ate plenty of chicken legs, potatoes, corn, mac-n-cheese and pizza. We all enjoyed dessert.


      This place has become a must-eat for us especially if we are staying at Beach Club but really is worth it even if staying at another resort. We may try the breakfast next time but would eat dinner here again for sure.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      amw264

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun July 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Seafood Lovers Will Love It
      Cons: Does not really satisfy the non-seafood eaters

       
      We ate dinner on June 10th. We were a party of 8. Half of the group were seafood lovers and loved the offerings. Crab Legs were great, clams, mussels, shrimp. Food was hot, fresh and yummy. However, the non-seafood lovers not so much. All of ours were miserable. No Ribs, No real chicken offerings other than legs and thighs either in marinara sauce or fried. This was a definite bust for our group. The chef told us they took Ribs off the buffet about a year ago and apologized. As anything with Disney they tried there best to accommodate the non-seafood lovers, just not much of a selection.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.