Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • FoodieBearz

      Registered: August 2011
      Location: U.S.
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Thu August 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): One of best resort values so much to do, cabins!
      Cons: Wish cabin had more than 1 bathroom.

       
      This is one of Disney's best resort values. You get all the amenities of a resort but you get your own cabin so no shared walls or people above or below you. If you have a large party, the cabins are the best value as well instead of getting multiple rooms elsewhere. Our cabin slept 6 people (3 adults/3 kids) comfortably. It had a full or queen bed in the bedroom along with 2 bunk beds plus a full or queen fold down bed and a sofa in the living room. We took a fishing excursion one day which we caught at the back of the resort. The young kids did pony rides, older kid and one adult did horseback riding, we did the Backyard BBQ as well. Did the pool as well. They also have the Hoop De Doo dinner show, hay rides, campfire movies, just lots to do in one location. A great escape from the crowded noisy value/moderate resorts. We liked taking the boat to Magic Kingdom and from there monorail to Epcot. Buses go to other parks and DTD. I would say this is nicer than the Disney value or moderate resorts but not as nice as the deluxe resorts. For the money this was a great deal as all fit into one cabin. The only thing that would have been nice is a 2nd bathroom. A full 2nd bathroom isn't needed but like an extra half bathroom with just a toliet/sink/mirror would have been perfect. Perhaps Disney can modify/enlarge some of the cabins to include and extra half bath? Hint hint. Overall very relaxing and we would recommend and stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pixiesteno

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Wellsville, NY
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue July 26, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): cleanliness, cast members
      Cons:

       
      We spent six days over the Memorial Day holiday and, again, so pleased with the campground. We were initially assigned a spot in the 100 loop and it quickly became evident that due to the lengeth of our trailer & tow vehicle coupled with the angle of approach that there was no way we were going to get the RV into the spot. There was a CM watching and noted the problems. He immediately contacted the front desk and we were reassigned a site in the 200 loop within 15 minutes! Additionally, the CM drove around and made sure that we were all set with the new site assignment. The campground was busy with the holiday weekend, as to be expected, but there were no instances of unruliness. The only thing that we did miss was the fact the the quiet pool was closed for refurbishment during our stay but we are looking forward to another trip to check out the changes.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneydees

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: NC
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Thu May 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, Peaceful, Spacious
      Cons: Confusing Transportation

       
      My family stayed in a Wilderness Cabin in December 2009 and 2010. We loved it! We have stayed at several Disney resorts but this is our favorite. The cabins allow you to stay right in the middle of everything without feeling like you're right in the middle of everything. It is nice to escape the busyness of the world without having to go far from it all.


      The cabins offer plenty of room for a family. There is ample seating and beds for up to 6. Our children loved the bunk beds. There are also 2 separate TVs. There is a full kitchen and we were shocked to find that Mousekeeping actually did the cleaned our dishes and put them in the washer! You can save a lot of money by preparing your own meals. Another great feature of the cabins is that your room is not right next to someone else's room so you don't have to worry about noise. We have a very active 4 year old son and there is plenty of room for him in and around the cabin. My children loved the Meadow Swimming Pool and my wife and i enjoyed peaceful walks in the evenings together.


      There are a few potential drawbacks to be aware of. This resort has an especially confusing transportation system. You take a direct ferry to the Magic Kingdom (or to Wilderness Lodge and the Contemporary). For Epcot, AK, HS and DD you take a bus. The ferries and buses are at opposite ends of the resort. They also have an internal bus system within the resort. I don't think they do a very good job explaining how the tranportation works at check-in. Several times there were people waiting for a bus to the Magic Kingdom - and that is a long wait since they don't have one. Of course, you also have the option to drive your own vehicle to the parks (a parking pass is included with reservation) and being able to park right beside your own cabin is a big plus! Golf carts are also available but we found the price to be prohibitive.


      One other thing - there is a great atmosphere at FW during the holidays. Campers pull out all the stops decorating their own campsites.


      We've stayed twice and are eager to stay at Fort Wilderness again. I think it's a great place for families looking for a little peace and quiet during their Disney stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kmdebree

      Registered: February 2007
      Location: PA
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sat February 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful, peaceful, clean, lots to do, affordable.
      Cons: Bus service

       
      This is the third time we have camped at Fort Wilderness. The bathhouse is very clean. The Trails End is delicious, we ate there twice 2/15/11 and 2/17/11. Staff is friendly and very helpful. The best part is watching the Magic Kingdom fireworks from the beach. The most awesome relaxing view is from this point. Watched it on 2/17 and 2/18 from this point. Bring beverages of choice and enjoy. Better than being in the Magic Kingdom with all of the crowds and the view is awesome as well as audio to go along with it. Taking the boat was very relaxing. Rented a golf cart which was fun and entertaining. Went to the sing a long. Saw Chip and Dale up close as well as roasted marshmallows and dogs. Tip: bring your own.


      I love Fort Wilderness, there is so much to do here, oh, almost forgot the pool, hot tub and Hoop Dee Doo. I definitely recommend except for slow buses, awesome experience!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Tinkster08

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon January 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, private, fun, all great
      Cons: Not really anything negative except long waits of buses

       
      We love camping at Fort Wilderness. We have done it twice now. The campground offers lots of activites, shopping, swimming, campfire sing-a-longs, outdoor movies, biking.... The food is also good at the restaurant Trails End. The comfort stations are always clean. The only thing is you do ride a lot of buses getting around and you have to change buses. It would be nice to be able to catch the bus to the parks at the top and bottom of the campground instead of waiting for a campground bus (waited up to 20-25 minutes for it), riding it to the entrance and then having to wait another 20-25 minutes to get on a bus to the parks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.