Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Alexandra1986

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed September 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service, atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      We ate at Jiko's on August 29, 2014. We try to always eat at Jiko because it's off the beaten path and tends to be quieter and very romantic. The food here is always amazing, this trip we started off with sharing the Crispy Duck rolls which are very good. The main course I had the filet with mac and cheese (can still specially request the mac and cheese it's not on the menu), and my fiancé had the lamb two ways. Both were cooked exactly how we wanted and were very tender. As for dessert we had the ice cream a variety are served in neat little cones, and the chocolate dessert which was rich and delicious. I highly recommend this restaurant the service here is always top notch and we are treated really well.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LordInfidel

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sat December 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Personal attentiveness
      Cons:

       
      You cant get more recent then sitting at the table writing this.


      Jiko has moved into first place on our list of favorite reataurants; yes its pricey, but get on tbe disney dining plan and it wont be an issue.


      Now onto the review; after years of eating at California grille and narcoosees, we tried Jiko last year and fell in love. It was hands down the best filet around (rivaling le cellier). So this year, we booked it for 3 nights.


      Our first night we were upset at the removal of the bibodi rolls; which i was craving. So Lucius, our waiter, talked to the chef to see what he could do. We figured that would be the end of it but wow were we surprised.


      The head chef, John, came out and talked to us for about 30 mins about his vision of the menu (very exciting things coming). He then had some special items brought out to us to try. And it did not stop there. Upon learning that we were coming back tonight and tomorrow, John had his chefs special prepare us the new version of the bibiodi rolls for us to try (they are milder then last time and made with duck, but still very good).


      They brought us out a new appetizer called vetahook which has 3 types of rolls on it. Egg curry, squab and a vegetable roll. the purpose of the dish as we learned was to try 3 different flavors in order of heat. Without giving too much away, I personally loved the vegetable (if you like spice, you will love it)


      Now you might be asking, did they remember the bibodi rolls; well i made sure i asked for lucius tonight (and got him). within 5 mins of sitting down, out comes john to talk to me about the bibodi (he remembered and he remembered that i loved the vegetable vetahook so he had a plate made with all veg)


      On xmas when we were here, i had the boar as an app and it was very flavorful. The filet was not as spicy as i remembered it but still it was very good. So tonight, i asked Lucius about the spice they used on the boar; and in proper fashion they are putting the seasoning on my filet (i love my filet, its one of the reasons why we eat in disney table service).


      And now, here we wait for our next course to come out which will be wonderful again. Then onto desert, the creme brulee is wonderful (although i think they share the same recipe as le cellier).


      If you are in the fence about trying something new, i strongly urge you to give jiko a try. It will be very hard to be disappointed.


      Thanks Lucius and John.


      Got to go, my filet just arrived!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Nicklissa

      Registered: September 2008
      Location: North Carolina
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Fri December 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Vegetarian Menu
      Cons: Can be slow; prices

       
      Our family of 4 (including my husband and his parents) ate here on Christmas night 2013. We checked in 20 minutes earlier than our reservation and were seated within five minutes. Staff were very friendly and genuine. The restaurant is beautifully themed, and the quiet, muted, dark tones are appreciated by people such as myself who suffer terribly from migraines.


      Our waiter was friendly and the number one reason we chose Jiko for Christmas dinner is this is one of the few restaurants on Disney World property that has a full, separate vegetarian menu. My husband and I are vegetarian, though my husband still eats fish. Having full options from appetizers and soups to entrees was a welcome change. We usually have to ask how everything is made and then try to negotiate changes to adhere to our dietary restrictions. Having the menu, a regular part of Jiko, on hand was lovely.


      After drink orders were taken by our waiter, another staff member brought us an amuse bouche of plum pudding. Very tasty, and I usually hate plums.


      We ordered the Taste of Africa and the cheese plate as our appetizers. The Taste of Africa is a selection of breads/flatbreads/crackers with four unique African-inspired/spiced dipping sauces. All was very good, and experiencing new spices was fun. The cheese selections were paired with sweet chutneys/brittle/jam, etc. and were wonderful. The only part of the appetizers we didn't like was when the plates were empty.


      For entrees my father-in-law ordered Spicy Botswana-style "Seswaa" Beef Short Rib served with Cassava-potato puree, sambal, mushrooms and fava beans. He was leary of the short ribs being off-the-bone, but said it was delicious. My mother-in-law ordered the Lamb Two Ways which was served with autumn vegetables, pumpkin seed duqqa, grilled olive ciabatta and pomegranate demi glace. She is hard to please, especially with lamb, and she literally wanted to suck the bones (disgusting for us vegetarians), but she said it was the best she's ever had.


      My husband ordered the West African Jerked Scallops that came with basmati rice, red quinoa, baby rainbow carrots, and coconut curry sauce. He enjoyed it very much and said the scallops were cooked well, not rubbery, and spiced nicely.


      I ordered the Braai Pie that I can best describe as a type of quiche with a crust, filled with squash, carrots, potatoes, garbanzo beans, wilted greens and "tamatie bredie - a type of tomato sauce I think. It also came with some pickled veggies such as radish, etc. and that was terrible - too salty and weird textures. I did not eat that. The pie was delicious - but very small.


      The reason I can not give Jiko a score of 10 for this visit is the time we waited for entrees. It took a while, which was fine. However, when the food arrived, everyone got what they ordered except for my husband. Since we told the waiter we were vegetarians, but that my husband still ate fish, the waiter noted the table as two of us being vegetarians. This was fine, but when the waiter put in the order for jerked scallops, the kitchen made the vegetarian version of this - which is jerked tofu. They took the dish back and my husband watched as we all ate. We tried to wait, but the food was getting cold. A floor manager checked in on us and when she found out about the mix up she promised to check in with the kitchen. She was very nice and very apologetic. However, the three of us finished our entire meal before my husband was even served.


      It took some time after entrees to get our dessert ordered and served. Mother-in-law and I had the Chocolate and Tea Safari which included Vanilla rooibos-Tanzanian chocolate cake, free form "kit kat" and green tea ice cream. The ice cream was gross to me, but mother-in-law enjoyed it. Everything else, however, was divine - truly truly divine.


      My husband ordered the banana bread pudding. It was served with ice cream in a separate dish. He enjoyed it but found it dry.


      Father-in-law ordered the milk tart which included fig jam, whole figs with gold leaf sprinkles, and goat's milk balsamic ice cream. He said it was very good, but very small.


      Getting the bill took a while as well, but we had a great time overall. We were on the dining plan, so 2 credits per person were used. The meal, had we not used dining credits, was almost $400 (including appetizers, entrees, 3 alcoholic beverages, 4 non-alcoholic beverages, desserts, taxes, and tip).


      We will be back and I highly recommend you try it here. They do have a dress code, so you may want to check with the restaurant or Disney Dining when you make your reservation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      gthurber

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Sun November 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful food. Good pacing of the meal.
      Cons: None.

       
      The filet and the lamb were the hits at our table. The Jiko salad was also very good. The pacing was good because we did not have to wait too long for our food (which was nice with children!) Very nice and attentive server.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hstuck

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: boston
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed October 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing food and wine!
      Cons:

       
      Another excellent dinner at Jiko. Was able to sit at the kitchen and chef Ryan and all the chefs took great care of me! Had the amazing Jiko salad, the taste of Africa (don't miss that), the flatbread (all are great), oysters (can miss this one), and the chocolate dessert which was INCREDIBLE. I do wish I had listened to Chef Ryan and ordered the pork loin but I was just too full! Next time! I can not imagine visiting Disney and not eating here....it is the BEST restaurant on Disney property....hands down. Thank you Jiko for another amazing dinner. I didn't even mention the wine...which is the BEST wine list ever.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ebersole2

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun August 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 0 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): It was quiet and romantic.
      Cons: The lodge is remotely located. Make sure one knows in what lodge one’s restaurant is located. Not all dining places are IN the same place.

       
      Jiko is by far the best restaurant on Walt Disney World property. As honeymooners, it was the perfect restaurant to choose to start our stay. It was quiet and romantic. The waitress gifted us with a complimentary crème Brule and a signed, congratulatory message from the wait-staff. Both gifts made us feel special. We had a beautiful evening.


      The only snag was that it is not entirely clear that Jiko is located in the Jambo house. When headed to the Animal Kingdom lodge one may have to take a shuttle between buildings. Make sure one knows in what lodge one’s restaurant is located. Not all dining places are IN the same place. This made us a bit late for our reservation, but at the same time, it taught us that a restaurant will hold the reservation for at least 15-20 minutes.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      John

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 63
      Review Date: Wed June 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food and service, atmosphere
      Cons: None

       
      My wife and I ate at Jiko recently and found the food to be great. The atmosphere was wonderful for a nice quiet dinner. Much better than Le Cellier and California Grill.


      For an entree my wife had the Pan-seared Yello Tail Snapper and I had the Seared Barbarie Duck Breast. Both were fabulous! For appetizers I had the Grilled Wild boar tenderloin and my wife had the Jiko salad.


      The service was also very good and the cast members were very attentive to our needs.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cappy7651

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri May 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EXCELLENT FOOD AND SERVICE
      Cons: NONE

       
      MY FAMILY AND I EAT THERE EVERY YEAR. IT IS A MUST!!!! WE ACTUALLY EAT THERE ONCE IN THE BEGINNING OF THE WEEK AND AT THE END OF OUR VACATION.WE HAVE BEEN GOING THERE FOR THE LAST SIX YEARS NOW. THE FOOD IS AMAZING AND THE DIFFERENT FLAVORS THAT YOU TASTE IN THE FOOD IS PHENOMENAL.CANT WAIT TO GO THIS YEAR AGAIN.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dgurgens

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Sun April 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Perfectly cooked fillet
      Cons: Service and some favors that a picky eater may not like.

       
      My husband and I ate here on 4/7 and we ordered a bottle of African Wine and both got the fillets. The meat itself was perfectly cooked and well seasoned, though it was a bit overly salty for my taste. The steaks were served with some sort of grain, which neither my hubby or I were keen on trying. There were also some Brussels Sprouts, which I was looking forward to. I found the Brussells Sprouts in edible.
      The bread we got before dinner wasn't quite my style either. (since when does a fat girl pass up bread?!)
      Dessert was delicious, but service was very slow. I'm glad we went, because now I never have to go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CB3THATSME

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat March 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Atmosphere, Location, Host's, Wine List
      Cons: Service

       
      This really is a Fantastic Restaurant I think it is the most formal restaurant on property (besides V&A's) Food is outstanding and different than anywhere else on property really enjoyable and would recommend to anyone! The Wild Boar App and the Filet are both great! If you like tea I recommend the Tea Safari for Dessert...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Arden

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Tue March 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: Service, average food

       
      Food was acceptable but average. Was expecting more based on reading previous reviews. Service was slow and waitress did not seem that interested in our table, we had to keep trying to get her attention. We were on the dining plan with a large group, perhaps the mandatory tip amount impacted her motivation.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alyssavm

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Stone Ridge, VA
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Tue February 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): wine list, tea list, service, interesting food
      Cons: mostly hits, but a few misses

       
      This is still one of the best restaurants at Disney. Love the hot towels that come out before the meal. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the wines and steered us in the right direction. The "taste of Africa" starter is great! You can still get the filet with the mac & cheese as it was served a few years ago. The short rib was great but needed a different side. Desserts were pretty good, but the tea and coffee are the real stars. We LOVED our meal here!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memymoe

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Wed December 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: Location

       
      The food was good and the menu theme was a nice change from the other WDW restaurants. The menu items we chose were on the heavier side so I would be curious how their lighter entrees taste.


      The flat bread wasn't all that impressive though so I think I would opt for a different appetizer next time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pollardc

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: Burlington, Ontario Canada
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Tue October 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at Jiko in September with my DH. Seated on time with our ADRs, restaurant was busy but not too crowded. One of the best meals of our vacation, wait staff very attentive. Cheese tray and flatbread for appetizers, both great and good to share between two people. DH ordered the filet (excellent) and I had the chicken (great flavours). Desserts were excellent as well and we received a free "extra" dessert with an anniversay card from the restaurant. We dined on the deluxe dining plan, this is a meal worth 2 dining credits. We will be back!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      nrymut

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 100
      Review Date: Sat September 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and service
      Cons: None

       
      Excellent service, excellent food. Such a refreshing dining experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.