Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • jluck

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat October 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): some interesting foods
      Cons: incredibly crowded, not worth the price

       
      Visited end of September 2014.
      I really wanted to like this place. We came after a full day at Animal Kingdom and had been told by the dining reservation lady that we could use the time until our 7pm res. to explore the resort. We walked out, saw the pool, found an "overlook" and saw giraffes in the very far distance, looked at flamingos, found a little playground that we used (not sure if we were allowed or not) then went back to the lobby to wait. And wait.
      Finally time for our res. so we went down. The restuarant was PACKED. The buffet lines are so poorly planned. You get in line for meats and when you reach the end of those stations, you can't just merge over to side dishes because that is a completly separate line and if you do merge, you will be cutting in line. So this means Multiple trips to the buffet just to get to all the stations.
      The choices were not great. I know we were going to experience international cuisine, but I expected plenty of American style choices as well. There really wasn't much except a large roast beef. The ribs were coated in an extremely spicy paste, the chicken was marinated in spices that while good, were not for anyone looking for American flavors. About the only foods for picky/non-adventurous eaters was pasta and sauce. So, if you have a child over the age of 9 who just wants plain food, you get to pay $40 for them to eat a plate of pasta.


      Even for those of the party who wanted to explore the different foods and flavors, it was difficult. The signs marking the food were not up to date. You go up and get something and it was yummy so you want more, and when you return, the sign is still there but the dish is totally different.


      I was very disappointed in the whole experience and to pay well over $200 for a meal that was not enjoyable is really unfortunate.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      5busyrussells

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Thu September 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious
      Cons: Not as plentiful as past visit

       
      This was our favorite restaurant on a previous trip, so we had to try it again this visit. For dinner, I did not think the options were quite as plentiful as our previous visit, but did manage to try a little bit of everything. My husband said this was his favorite meal. One daughter is still craving the curry pasta salad! It was an enjoyable, relaxing meal. The pomegranate lemonade was the best!! We all enjoyed zebra domes for dessert and my husband and I enjoyed a delicious cup of coffee. I inquired of the waitress why the coffee tasted so good - she said they grind their own beans at Boma.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LISAE

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Sun August 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food choices for both adventurous and picky eaters
      Cons: Transport to and from resort

       
      ok the negative is the slow transport if using the WDW transport system - been going for many years and it just doesn't improve. Is definitely the worst resort to get to and from.
      On the positive the food is amazing. Dinner is awesome, the soups, salads, hummus, meat and veg take some beating and yet the dessert area possibly does.
      We are four very different eaters - I love trying something new, daughter is a very picky carnivore who also loves fruit, husband loves seafood and salad, son will try most things and we all adore it here. Can't imagine a trip to WDW without going here.
      However, we did have a second dinner booked and cancelled it as we just felt that our holiday couldn't take another three hour return trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 220
      Review Date: Sat August 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Not rushed, friendly server, great variety and delicious food
      Cons:

       
      I have been to Boma twice for breakfast but was never quite brave enough to try dinner. Feeling a bit adventurous, I made a 9pm ADR for 8/15. Checked in about 10 minutes early and my pager went off shortly after. Initially I was concerned about two things. 1)That I would feel rushed due to the late seating time and 2)that as a picky eater I wouldn't find enough that I would like. I am happy to say that both of these fears were unfounded.


      Christina was my server and she was very friendly. I was seated right near the buffet. Stand out items were the hummus and pita bread, curried pasta salad, butternut squash soup, Fufu, and the african spiced beef striploin. I didn't enjoy the watermelon rind salad, couscous, or beef bobotie. African Fruit Fool was pretty good.


      As for desserts, the best items were the Zebra Domes. Strawberry Mint panna cotta was just bizarre, I don't know what the cassava cake consisted of, and the pineapple cheesecake had no flavor at all.


      I would return for sure.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      manatee2420

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Mon July 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great selection
      Cons:

       
      This is one of my family's favorite places to eat. I love trying the different African flavors. My husband had plenty to eat on the gluten-free diet and they brought out special versions of whatever desserts he wanted. No other restaurant went to such great lengths for him (most brought pre-packaged baked goods).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kiwitess

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon June 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): scrumptious dining
      Cons: too much to choose from

       
      One of our favorite dining experiences. We walked around the grounds of the lodge before dinner and were able to see many different African animals - what a treat! The dinner was superb. The different kinds of food were fabulous and the spices and tastes of the different foods were excellent!! My sister has a food allergy and one of the chefs came out and walked her through the buffet so she knew what she could eat and what she couldn't. The service could not have been better. Our server must have had eyes in the back of his head. He took our plates and filled our glasses before we even knew we needed it. Excellent buffet for all ages. We loved it!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jacwin1

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: St. Pete, Fl
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed June 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, Desserts very good
      Cons: Cost, very limited childrens menu, if you can't eat spicy food-avoid this restaurant

       
      Very limited childrens menu, if you have issues with spices in your food, you have to eat off the kids choices. Desserts were very good although not a huge selection, some have alcohol so read carefully. We had 3 adults, 1 three year old with tip total came to 160.00. The meal was not worth 160.00. I will not do again as I feel there are better buffets for much less.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lb1160

      Registered: October 2009
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu May 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing food and great atmosphere and staff
      Cons: none

       
      This was our 3rd time to Boma and it is simply the best buffet offered hands down. Food is amazing, extremely friendly staff and only 1 dining credit!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      steeltowngirl

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed April 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): variety of food, friendliness of staff
      Cons:

       
      Boma was one of our favorite Disney dining experiences. We were on our honeymoon and received a plate of truffles saying Vier! on the plate after our meal, which was a lovely touch. Of course, we had already stuffed ourselves silly on the variety of amazing foods available - as a slightly picky eater, I was afraid I wouldn't find anything I'd like but they did have more "neutral" dishes (like mac and cheese and chicken breast). I really loved the variety of soups and salads available. We also ordered South African wines that were available.


      And oh, Zebra Domes. They're absolutely otherworldly and I'm fairly sure my husband and I consumed a dozen between us. I'm not sure exactly what they're made of but don't even bother with the rest of the dessert offerings - go directly to the best!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jeconk

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue March 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great way to try foods of another area
      Cons: Need explanations of what some foods are - perhaps cards next to them on the lines

       
      This was another "anticipated" restaurant of our large group and one that, while we were satisfied, we were not "overwhelmed." Obviously the choices on the buffet offer many traditional African dishes but they also have several standard American Faire dishes for those who may not be as adventurous. It was a great way to sample foods (and find some that you like and want more of!). While they had the names of the dishes listed above them, that didn't always tell you what the dishes were and what was in them. (my brother in law is allergic to mushrooms for example.) We found that we had to ask the chefs what was in many of the dishes and they were not always standing right by the foods so you had to guess or skip it.


      The bread and salad selections were varied and the dessert portions were small (so you could try several) but were not that varied and didn't "wow" you.


      It was a nice restaurant to try, but not sure I would go back there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kathie859

      Registered: November 2012
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu January 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great soups
      Cons: Long line for entree service

       
      I go for the great soups and unusual salads but others in my party (there were 7 of us) go for the full experience including the meat station. On our recent visit the line for the carving station was never less than 20 people deep and service was slow. 2 adults ended grabbing chicken legs off the kids station. Several people also felt the side offerings had decreased from our previous visits.


      Since we payed out of pocket and used the Tables in Wonderland card, the tip for the meal was over $40. There's no way the server earned that amount during the 75 minutes we were there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Sun January 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful options
      Cons: none

       
      I had breakfast at Boma once before and was eager to try dinner.


      The dinner buffet was full of more African options then the breakfast buffet was. I'm an adventurious eater while vacationing so I was all over all the wonderful options on the lines. Everything was wonderful including the sirloin and corned beef at the carving station.


      There was a very variety of soups and I enjoyed them all except the sausage one.


      The part of the meal that really blew me away were the legendary Zebra Domes. They are tiny cakes with a chocolate drizzle that looks like Zebra stripes hince the name. Inside of the cakes was a filling made from kahlua. They were heavenly and well worth coming back for.


      Boma is a great place to try food outside your comfort zone. I will be returning
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 53
      Review Date: Sat December 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): waiter
      Cons:

       
      We love Boma. We had the same waiter as two years ago. It was alright this time. DS9 loves the sirloin and the watermelon tomato blue cheese salad. The soups are yummy. We had the coconut chicken curry. I have the recipe and make it here. I guess I have changed it up here and there and enjoy mine better. The sirloin was good. The ribs my dad loved me not so much. The fufu is something my husband enjoys- sweet potato and mashed potato together. the bobotie my dad had. It's an egg ground beef type dish. The ginger carrot soup was also good but make it at home too. The Durban chicken again I make at home and was the same. Desserts are bite size. Not a zebra dome fan but they're there if you like them. It was very nice the waiter brought my son a dessert out with a candle. Very few even acknowledged my son's bday. Will probably go back. Would like to try breakfast.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dandnmom

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Cincinnati OH
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu December 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lots to try - good variety no matter your taste
      Cons: price

       
      Yum Yum Yum. Second time eating here and it didn't disappoint. Great way to try new things - plenty of the basics if you're not that adventurous. (But why go if you're not.... you can get mashed potatoes elsewhere for a lot less....) Wish they'd put out a Boma-specific cookbook - I'd buy it in a heartbeat. Servers were very pleasant and quick, everyone eager to help - many were from Africa and eager to share their culture. How long 'til I can go back....?!?!?
      Click here to see this users profile  
      emmhorton

      Registered: July 2007
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Fri December 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food selection
      Cons: Tables close together

       
      Third time eating here and still enjoyed it. We always love trying different salads, soups and entrees. If you are not adventurous, they do have some of the standard fair- roast beef, mashed potatoes, mac and cheese. But honestly- it's a great way to try something new!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.