Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Momof4

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Sat February 14, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety of food
      Cons: chaos at the buffet

       
      We first ate here about 8 years ago and had not returned until this year. I thought my kids would enjoy it more now that they are older. There is a large variety of food and we enjoyed trying different things. The soups and stews are really good especially the curried chicken stew. However, the buffet/ pod system is total chaos and it is really difficult to figure out where things are located. I would never eat here with little kids because it is packed and difficult to maneuver through the buffet and we were there 1/14/15 (off season).
      Four of the five of us enjoyed our meals but it was definitely not worth $40 pp. We basically had soups and side dishes and my 12 year old barely ate anything. Plus we had to fight your way to the food. My biggest pet peeve was watching unsupervised kids playing in the food. Obviously not the fault of the restaurant but nonetheless annoying.
      Unfortunately, we will not be back. Sanaa is a much better option.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CinCin

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 64
      Review Date: Tue January 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ethnic food, large variety of dishes on the buffet, great atmosphere, all you can eat
      Cons: a little pricey, all the way out to Animal Kingdom Lodge

       
      This is a must do for me every trip. I first dined here in 2010, again in 2012, and my most recent visit was November 2014. It remains a favorite and holds a special place in my heart too. On my first visit to Boma, this was where my husband and I celebrated our 10th anniversary dinner and it was his first trip to WDW. So the place itself holds a fondness in my heart. The foodie in me loves the food. I loved the different flavors and dishes that were unfamiliar to me. I enjoyed the experience of trying new dishes such as watermelon rind salad and bobotie. This is a wonderful buffet and they have the stations set up with bread service at one, another is salads, soups, fruits, side dishes such as pap and fufu, and the carved meats station, and of course desserts. I did fill up on my favorites which are the black olive hummus, red pepper hummus, salad with mango vinagrette, avocado grapefruit and papaya salad, butternut squash soup, chicken corn chowder, coconut chicken curry soup, bobotie, durban spiced chicken, and pork loin. I love the sauces that accompany the meats and the variety of flavors. There is a lot of cinnamon and chile so be prepared. There is a large variety of food and so many different choices and I was sooo stuffed I only had a coffee tart and skipped the zebra domes and other desserts. The food is really good here and it's worth the trip over for just getting some new flavors and something different and then the hotel is a living museum and savannah complete with wild animals. The hotel is filled with authentic African art and furniture and decor. The place is a true museum and worth the visit. The animals are easy to view and there are numerous outlooks and viewing areas available. The Boma restaurant has a story to tell too and all the decor has meaning like the little wooden fences and the individual food stations and the way it is designed. This remains on my list of must dos and although it does take some time to get to and it isn't on the monorail making a quick hop over and back impossible, it is worth the visit out for the food and the rest is icing. Do take time to visit the resort and tour while you are there. Take time to sit by the firepit and relax after dinner. This is an experience more than just the food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jdetrick

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Mechanicsburg PA
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Sat December 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food variety and taste
      Cons:

       
      One of my favorite restaurants on property. The food is great, there's a wonderful selection and the service is impeccable. Can I rate it an 11?
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jluck

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat October 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): some interesting foods
      Cons: incredibly crowded, not worth the price

       
      Visited end of September 2014.
      I really wanted to like this place. We came after a full day at Animal Kingdom and had been told by the dining reservation lady that we could use the time until our 7pm res. to explore the resort. We walked out, saw the pool, found an "overlook" and saw giraffes in the very far distance, looked at flamingos, found a little playground that we used (not sure if we were allowed or not) then went back to the lobby to wait. And wait.
      Finally time for our res. so we went down. The restuarant was PACKED. The buffet lines are so poorly planned. You get in line for meats and when you reach the end of those stations, you can't just merge over to side dishes because that is a completly separate line and if you do merge, you will be cutting in line. So this means Multiple trips to the buffet just to get to all the stations.
      The choices were not great. I know we were going to experience international cuisine, but I expected plenty of American style choices as well. There really wasn't much except a large roast beef. The ribs were coated in an extremely spicy paste, the chicken was marinated in spices that while good, were not for anyone looking for American flavors. About the only foods for picky/non-adventurous eaters was pasta and sauce. So, if you have a child over the age of 9 who just wants plain food, you get to pay $40 for them to eat a plate of pasta.


      Even for those of the party who wanted to explore the different foods and flavors, it was difficult. The signs marking the food were not up to date. You go up and get something and it was yummy so you want more, and when you return, the sign is still there but the dish is totally different.


      I was very disappointed in the whole experience and to pay well over $200 for a meal that was not enjoyable is really unfortunate.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      5busyrussells

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Thu September 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious
      Cons: Not as plentiful as past visit

       
      This was our favorite restaurant on a previous trip, so we had to try it again this visit. For dinner, I did not think the options were quite as plentiful as our previous visit, but did manage to try a little bit of everything. My husband said this was his favorite meal. One daughter is still craving the curry pasta salad! It was an enjoyable, relaxing meal. The pomegranate lemonade was the best!! We all enjoyed zebra domes for dessert and my husband and I enjoyed a delicious cup of coffee. I inquired of the waitress why the coffee tasted so good - she said they grind their own beans at Boma.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LISAE

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Sun August 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food choices for both adventurous and picky eaters
      Cons: Transport to and from resort

       
      ok the negative is the slow transport if using the WDW transport system - been going for many years and it just doesn't improve. Is definitely the worst resort to get to and from.
      On the positive the food is amazing. Dinner is awesome, the soups, salads, hummus, meat and veg take some beating and yet the dessert area possibly does.
      We are four very different eaters - I love trying something new, daughter is a very picky carnivore who also loves fruit, husband loves seafood and salad, son will try most things and we all adore it here. Can't imagine a trip to WDW without going here.
      However, we did have a second dinner booked and cancelled it as we just felt that our holiday couldn't take another three hour return trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 241
      Review Date: Sat August 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Not rushed, friendly server, great variety and delicious food
      Cons:

       
      I have been to Boma twice for breakfast but was never quite brave enough to try dinner. Feeling a bit adventurous, I made a 9pm ADR for 8/15. Checked in about 10 minutes early and my pager went off shortly after. Initially I was concerned about two things. 1)That I would feel rushed due to the late seating time and 2)that as a picky eater I wouldn't find enough that I would like. I am happy to say that both of these fears were unfounded.


      Christina was my server and she was very friendly. I was seated right near the buffet. Stand out items were the hummus and pita bread, curried pasta salad, butternut squash soup, Fufu, and the african spiced beef striploin. I didn't enjoy the watermelon rind salad, couscous, or beef bobotie. African Fruit Fool was pretty good.


      As for desserts, the best items were the Zebra Domes. Strawberry Mint panna cotta was just bizarre, I don't know what the cassava cake consisted of, and the pineapple cheesecake had no flavor at all.


      I would return for sure.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      manatee2420

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Mon July 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great selection
      Cons:

       
      This is one of my family's favorite places to eat. I love trying the different African flavors. My husband had plenty to eat on the gluten-free diet and they brought out special versions of whatever desserts he wanted. No other restaurant went to such great lengths for him (most brought pre-packaged baked goods).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kiwitess

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon June 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): scrumptious dining
      Cons: too much to choose from

       
      One of our favorite dining experiences. We walked around the grounds of the lodge before dinner and were able to see many different African animals - what a treat! The dinner was superb. The different kinds of food were fabulous and the spices and tastes of the different foods were excellent!! My sister has a food allergy and one of the chefs came out and walked her through the buffet so she knew what she could eat and what she couldn't. The service could not have been better. Our server must have had eyes in the back of his head. He took our plates and filled our glasses before we even knew we needed it. Excellent buffet for all ages. We loved it!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jacwin1

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: St. Pete, Fl
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed June 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, Desserts very good
      Cons: Cost, very limited childrens menu, if you can't eat spicy food-avoid this restaurant

       
      Very limited childrens menu, if you have issues with spices in your food, you have to eat off the kids choices. Desserts were very good although not a huge selection, some have alcohol so read carefully. We had 3 adults, 1 three year old with tip total came to 160.00. The meal was not worth 160.00. I will not do again as I feel there are better buffets for much less.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lb1160

      Registered: October 2009
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu May 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing food and great atmosphere and staff
      Cons: none

       
      This was our 3rd time to Boma and it is simply the best buffet offered hands down. Food is amazing, extremely friendly staff and only 1 dining credit!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      steeltowngirl

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed April 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): variety of food, friendliness of staff
      Cons:

       
      Boma was one of our favorite Disney dining experiences. We were on our honeymoon and received a plate of truffles saying Vier! on the plate after our meal, which was a lovely touch. Of course, we had already stuffed ourselves silly on the variety of amazing foods available - as a slightly picky eater, I was afraid I wouldn't find anything I'd like but they did have more "neutral" dishes (like mac and cheese and chicken breast). I really loved the variety of soups and salads available. We also ordered South African wines that were available.


      And oh, Zebra Domes. They're absolutely otherworldly and I'm fairly sure my husband and I consumed a dozen between us. I'm not sure exactly what they're made of but don't even bother with the rest of the dessert offerings - go directly to the best!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jeconk

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue March 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great way to try foods of another area
      Cons: Need explanations of what some foods are - perhaps cards next to them on the lines

       
      This was another "anticipated" restaurant of our large group and one that, while we were satisfied, we were not "overwhelmed." Obviously the choices on the buffet offer many traditional African dishes but they also have several standard American Faire dishes for those who may not be as adventurous. It was a great way to sample foods (and find some that you like and want more of!). While they had the names of the dishes listed above them, that didn't always tell you what the dishes were and what was in them. (my brother in law is allergic to mushrooms for example.) We found that we had to ask the chefs what was in many of the dishes and they were not always standing right by the foods so you had to guess or skip it.


      The bread and salad selections were varied and the dessert portions were small (so you could try several) but were not that varied and didn't "wow" you.


      It was a nice restaurant to try, but not sure I would go back there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kathie859

      Registered: November 2012
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu January 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great soups
      Cons: Long line for entree service

       
      I go for the great soups and unusual salads but others in my party (there were 7 of us) go for the full experience including the meat station. On our recent visit the line for the carving station was never less than 20 people deep and service was slow. 2 adults ended grabbing chicken legs off the kids station. Several people also felt the side offerings had decreased from our previous visits.


      Since we payed out of pocket and used the Tables in Wonderland card, the tip for the meal was over $40. There's no way the server earned that amount during the 75 minutes we were there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Sun January 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful options
      Cons: none

       
      I had breakfast at Boma once before and was eager to try dinner.


      The dinner buffet was full of more African options then the breakfast buffet was. I'm an adventurious eater while vacationing so I was all over all the wonderful options on the lines. Everything was wonderful including the sirloin and corned beef at the carving station.


      There was a very variety of soups and I enjoyed them all except the sausage one.


      The part of the meal that really blew me away were the legendary Zebra Domes. They are tiny cakes with a chocolate drizzle that looks like Zebra stripes hince the name. Inside of the cakes was a filling made from kahlua. They were heavenly and well worth coming back for.


      Boma is a great place to try food outside your comfort zone. I will be returning
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.