Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • DisneyDana

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Myrtle Beach SC
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Thu June 30, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere is great, beautiful hotel worth visiting
      Cons: bizarre foods

       
      I have given this restaurant several chances just because I love the atmosphere, but in all honesty I have never had a good meal here and definitely not worth the price. I'm pretty adventurous, in fact Indian is one of my favorites, and love a good buffet where you can find your favorites and go back for more of the things you love. but for me, this just doesn't happen here. I never can find anything that I want to try more than once. Nothing on the buffet is THAT good except for maybe some of the soups. However, I just can't justify $60 worth of soup. Even the much touted zebra domes are nowhere near worth the hype that they get. I mean they are good, but I can't figure out why people go on and on about them as if they are the best thing on the planet. They're good. I would leave it at that. At Boma I always have that scary, "I'm not sure what I'm eating" feeling that you never want to have. I try to remind myself that this is Disney and nothing is going to be too far out there, but the descriptions on the foods are very vague. I'm adventurous as far as food combinations but I'm not one to stray too far from chicken, beef or pork. I don't do gamey stuff or lamb etc. and the combinations just don't sound appealing at all. Nothing about watermelon rind salad sounds fabulous IMO. Just a little too out there for me and I don't want to pay a fortune for a carving station like you'd find at Golden Corral. If they had just one or two dishes that were to die for I might have a different opinion, but as it stands, unless you want to try bizarre foods and things you're not likely to run into ever again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Snemma

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed June 29, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety
      Cons: Not Enough Variety

       
      This location had quite a bit of build up on the forums, but i don't believe it met them in my mind. Nothing I tried was poorly prepared, but I was expecting more exotic options. I guess when I looked at the list of what 'might' be on the buffet, I just see things that I would have preferred. My favorites were the black olive humus and the zebra dome.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tink1970

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Mon May 23, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service
      Cons: cost, noise, waiting area

       
      This is DD favorite restaurant on property and she has been able to try new and different things as she has become more of an adventurous eater.


      Our last stay did not disappoint---food to satisfy a picky 15 year old, as well as a fussy 4 year old. Mac&cheese, pasta, nuggets (the staples) plus 6 adults with diverse palates. The carved meats plus salmon as well as varieties of soups, salads and desserts were delicious and plentiful as always.


      Our favorite server, Bob, came around to say hi (he does this if we're not in our section) and everyone waddled out happy.


      I took of 1 point for the waiting area which is small and difficult to navigate (especially after eating!) and the cost, which in keeping with everything else on property, is slightly inflated for the product provided.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      monorailmom

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 31
      Review Date: Tue May 3, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lots of choices
      Cons: tough for picky eaters, noisy

       
      We like to eat at Boma when we stay at AKL. We had an excellent dinner, though the picky eaters in my group struggle here a little. The tables are close and it is a little loud, but overall this is a nice experience that we will do again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pselias

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Spearfish, SD
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Mon February 15, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service, decor
      Cons: so loud

       
      this would be a 10 if it weren't so darn loud! Seriously, it is like cafeteria loud. It is not somewhere to go for a relaxing evening.


      However, the food is delicious. We were amazed, and had so much fun trying all of the new flavors. My niece declared the salmon dish the best salmon she had ever had. The zebra domes live up to they hype, and they can mix a stiff cocktail. It is also beautiful. We were a party of 10, and they sat us at one very large table. It was a stunning cross section of a tree. Incredible. The service was also great. Plates were cleared quickly and discreetly, which is very important at a good buffet.
      We will be back despite the volume.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BeautyBeast2

      Registered: March 2013
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun December 6, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Service
      Cons: Small waiting area

       
      After hearing about how wonderful this place was, we gave it a try. We had early reservations, at 4:30. We were seated quickly, and our waitress was excellent! She gave great recommendations, even bringing a few of her must-have dishes to us at the table.


      The food was really good, especially the soups, meats, and hummus. Other than the zebra domes, nothing really stood out on the dessert line.


      Overall our meal was great! Our family really enjoyed being able to sample a different style of food, and enjoyed almost everything we ate.


      One thing I noticed as we were leaving around 6:00 was that we couldn't hardly exit the restaurant because the waiting area was so crowded! Strollers and scooters had all but blocked off the restrooms. It seemed to be more of a result of a smaller waiting area as opposed to the restaurant being backed up, but that's something to consider, especially if you will need to park a stroller or scooter on your visit.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Jchuges7

      Registered: February 2015
      Location: Cincinnati
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Mon November 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety of choices, kokonut rice, desserts
      Cons: Ribs

       
      The experience here blew my expectations out of the water, in a good way! I'm a picky eater and I found plenty of choices to keep me satisfied. The kokonut rice was an amazing side and the chicken wings were crispy and delicious even without any sauce. My only complaint was the ribs which were a bit tough and the sauce they were cooked in was not a traditional barbecue sauce. It was not what I was expecting and something about the sauce threw me off.


      The breads and desserts were all wonderful. Get the Zebra Domes and thank me later! My fiance said she enjoyed the soups and salads which were plentiful. Great service and I was able to get the Jungle Juice for my drink! We will definitely be back next trip!


      Took Uber from Port Orleans Riverside to and from dinner which was extremely convenient. Had some free credits to use for Uber but the drivers we had said that Disney welcomes their presence. Consider using it if you are in a hurry or need to get from one resort to another quickly.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      Cstauffer1

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Sun November 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food and service
      Cons: crowds

       
      Really enjoyed our dinner at Boma. Husband has shellfish allergies so chef showed him which foods to avoid. Good selection. I loved the seasoned beef,seafood soup, and the bread. Kids loved the mac and cheese and the roasted chicken. Zebra domes were as good as I had read about as were the coffee tarts. The biggest disappointment was how crowded the restaurant was. There was only one line to get to the entrees and there was always a line. Also when you got to the carving station the chef only gave you one small piece of meat so you had to go back if you wanted more which was a bit of a deterrent. Service was good although the waitress was a bit distressed from all the hustle and bustle.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rspyburn

      Registered: September 2015
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue September 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety, buffet line
      Cons: Zebra domes were not the same....

       
      Years ago, we would say Boma was our favorite restaurant. However, compared to others, now I'd say it's about average. The variety of foods is interesting. I'm a picky eater, but I found enough to fill my plate. For a big restaurant, I'm surprised the lines on the buffet are not that long, maybe two or three people in front of me at the most. Our biggest disappointment was the zebra domes this year. They used to be "melt in your mouth drops of heaven". This time, they tasted like they were defrosted and dropped on the buffet line. If you are not staying in the AKL, the bus ride and cost is not really worth it. Plenty of better options in Epcot.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      matt6816

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Tue September 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food choice
      Cons: no ribs this visit

       
      High quality food and well worth the $$
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Brygida

      Registered: May 2009
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Thu July 2, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fresh Quality food
      Cons: Too spicy

       
      This time at Boma dinner, I found that there were almost NO non-spicy dishes. The baked chicken was gone. All soups were spicy. Other than some salads and fruit, all the entree dishes were spicy. It was hard going this trip. I had to talk with Chef and he offered some special items. Downgraded from a 10 to an 8.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 79
      Review Date: Sat June 27, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): variety
      Cons:

       
      We went on June 3. We had the DP. We always eat here on a Wed. since their menu rotates with the day of the week and we like what they offer on Wed. We enjoyed all of our favorites from the roast to the chicken curry soup to the new lobster curry this visit. We'll be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MargieVE

      Registered: May 2009
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Thu May 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Selection of food, service
      Cons: None

       
      Our family (two seniors, two 30-somethings, a 3 year old & a 1 year old) ate here on a Tuesday evening in May. Because we were traveling with children & using the dining plan, most of our table service meals were buffets; this was by far the best buffet. (Despite my general aversion to buffets, I rate this a 10. The combination of interesting food and good service put this a cut above other buffets I experienced at WDW.)
      The food was very good. It was regularly refreshed, so it did not suffer from being on a buffet. There was a nice mix of "regular" food for the picky eaters and "interesting" food for the adventurous eaters.
      The crowds were quite manageable - no long lines at the buffet, and the tables were not as jammed together as at some other buffets.
      Our server was fabulous! He never rushed us and was available whenever we needed something. Also, he provided commentary on some of the dishes, pointing out favorites and explaining when they were eaten (e.g. at the end of a fasting period).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Momof4

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 38
      Review Date: Sat February 14, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety of food
      Cons: chaos at the buffet

       
      We first ate here about 8 years ago and had not returned until this year. I thought my kids would enjoy it more now that they are older. There is a large variety of food and we enjoyed trying different things. The soups and stews are really good especially the curried chicken stew. However, the buffet/ pod system is total chaos and it is really difficult to figure out where things are located. I would never eat here with little kids because it is packed and difficult to maneuver through the buffet and we were there 1/14/15 (off season).
      Four of the five of us enjoyed our meals but it was definitely not worth $40 pp. We basically had soups and side dishes and my 12 year old barely ate anything. Plus we had to fight your way to the food. My biggest pet peeve was watching unsupervised kids playing in the food. Obviously not the fault of the restaurant but nonetheless annoying.
      Unfortunately, we will not be back. Sanaa is a much better option.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CinCin

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 64
      Review Date: Tue January 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ethnic food, large variety of dishes on the buffet, great atmosphere, all you can eat
      Cons: a little pricey, all the way out to Animal Kingdom Lodge

       
      This is a must do for me every trip. I first dined here in 2010, again in 2012, and my most recent visit was November 2014. It remains a favorite and holds a special place in my heart too. On my first visit to Boma, this was where my husband and I celebrated our 10th anniversary dinner and it was his first trip to WDW. So the place itself holds a fondness in my heart. The foodie in me loves the food. I loved the different flavors and dishes that were unfamiliar to me. I enjoyed the experience of trying new dishes such as watermelon rind salad and bobotie. This is a wonderful buffet and they have the stations set up with bread service at one, another is salads, soups, fruits, side dishes such as pap and fufu, and the carved meats station, and of course desserts. I did fill up on my favorites which are the black olive hummus, red pepper hummus, salad with mango vinagrette, avocado grapefruit and papaya salad, butternut squash soup, chicken corn chowder, coconut chicken curry soup, bobotie, durban spiced chicken, and pork loin. I love the sauces that accompany the meats and the variety of flavors. There is a lot of cinnamon and chile so be prepared. There is a large variety of food and so many different choices and I was sooo stuffed I only had a coffee tart and skipped the zebra domes and other desserts. The food is really good here and it's worth the trip over for just getting some new flavors and something different and then the hotel is a living museum and savannah complete with wild animals. The hotel is filled with authentic African art and furniture and decor. The place is a true museum and worth the visit. The animals are easy to view and there are numerous outlooks and viewing areas available. The Boma restaurant has a story to tell too and all the decor has meaning like the little wooden fences and the individual food stations and the way it is designed. This remains on my list of must dos and although it does take some time to get to and it isn't on the monorail making a quick hop over and back impossible, it is worth the visit out for the food and the rest is icing. Do take time to visit the resort and tour while you are there. Take time to sit by the firepit and relax after dinner. This is an experience more than just the food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.