Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Donald_13
      Chef Matt

      Registered: November 2009
      Location: Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Sun February 4, 2018 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great staff, Decent food
      Cons: Long wait time, not much for desersts

       
      We came here expecting a good culinary experience.


      Found out it was the local favorite buffet and I was trying to figure out why?


      The wait time in the buffet line was around 5 minutes and the selection was good from nut encrusted salmon, mash potatoes, sautéed vegetables, carved meats etc.


      The locals bragged about trying the Fufu but to me ( A Chef of 19 years) it was a sweet potato purée that taste like baby food.


      The Deserts weren't impressive at all, small selections of cup cakes, zebra domes, coffee tarts and cherry cobbler.


      The only thing that was delicious was my drink, the African Rum Runner.


      It was impressive to see that everything on the buffet was healthy and nothing deep fried, but it wasn't impressive enough to come back.

      ------------------------------
      our greatest natural resource is in the minds of our children - Walt Disney
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jeconk

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sun January 7, 2018 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Can sample different foods, plenty on children's buffet to keep them happy; Get to see Animal Kingdom Lodge.
      Cons: Lines can be long for some stations. Very expensive

       
      Boma is an experience restaurant. A place to go to experience different foods. I am no the overly adventurous type when it comes to trying new foods and don't like spicy foods but I had no problem finding plenty to eat at Boma. Since it is a buffet, I was able to take small samples of various foods on my plate to try. If I didn't like it, not much is wasted, but if I did, I could go back for more.


      The children's buffet is very traditional American which takes care of satisfying picky child eaters (and some adults...lol) and the main buffet has plenty of traditional dishes (with African flare) to satisfy adults. There are so many choices in all different areas that you can't go wrong.


      The line for main entrees was long most of the time that we were there but most of the other action stations (soups, salads, desserts, children's buffet, sides) were not usually crowded and you could just walk up to those if you wanted to skip the main entrees. Our waiter was ok and cleared our plates quickly and kept our drinks full.


      It is a quite expensive buffet ($50 a person), but after all, it is Disney and their buffets tend to be expensive.


      Another benefit of visiting Boma is that you get to see Animal Kingdom Lodge, a very pretty lodge with decks you can walk out on and possibly see animals roaming.


      Please note that if you are riding the Disney Shuttle to Animal Kingdom Lodge, you want to get off at "Jambo House" and not "Kidani Village." We were talking to a couple after dinner who had gotten off at the wrong stop....lol.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      annat856

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 137
      Review Date: Mon November 20, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Animal kingdom lodge is such a beautiful resort and we love Boma
      Cons: expensive

       
      We ate dinner here the first week of september. It was crowded and we waited a while before our party of 6 was seated. They no longer have the chef come out for dietary restricted guests but have a chart they give you that shows what you can have. My DD missed the personal touch of speaking to the chef but enjoyed bringing her chart up to the buffet to see what she can get. This was our first dinner
      we usually get breakfast. I tried most of the soups. My fav was the Chicken curry soup! Hubby loved the gumbo. The carved meat was great and same with the ribs. The roasted salmon was also good. The zebra domes were ok to me but kids loved them. The guava panna cotta great and the coffee tart was incredible! This is more expensive than breakfast but we're glad that we splurged we had a great meal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maddox4

      Registered: September 2009
      Location: Springfield, IL
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Wed November 15, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Soups were delicious
      Cons: pricey and crowded

       
      I have wanted to eat here for at least the last 5 years and I finally made it in September. We usually try to book at least one sit down reservation meal every trip. Very busy of course but were seated within about 5 minutes of our reservation. It was just my husband and I so they seated us at a table for two---a very tiny table for two! Waitress was friendly and very good at her job. Stood in line for the food but it moved quickly. My husband is not particularly adventurous but he found plenty to eat that he liked. I, on the other hand, will try anything once! Everything I had was good but the soups (at least 6) were the winners for me, especially the seafood one. I know everyone raves about the zebra domes but being one of those crazy people that can’t even stand the smell of coffee, I passed, but the bread pudding was delicious. Expensive meal…$100 for us both with tip and drink AND using our Disney Visa for 10% off. Did we eat $100 bucks worth???…probably not, but I can check this one off my list. Good enough to come here again, but there are a lot of other Disney eats I want to try too.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      allec999

      Registered: October 2007
      Posts: 61
      Review Date: Fri July 7, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was amazing
      Cons: lines sometimes got to be long

       
      Perhaps the best buffet I've ever experienced. Food was wonderful, the soups alone could have made a nice meal. Choices were diverse. I had read a ton about the zebra domes for dessert, but wasn't really impressed with them. Thankfully, there were plenty of other choices that were delicious. Highly recommend.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      coachq

      Registered: November 2010
      Location: Lake Village IN
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Thu March 30, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety food for everyone
      Cons: NONE

       
      Best buffet on Disney Property. There is food for everyone to enjoy. I am a vegan and the chef took me around and showed me every thing that I can eat. He asked me if the food on the buffet suffices, otherwise he would cook me something up. There was tons of food for me and for the others in my party. We were celebrating our 21st wedding anniversary and since I was vegan they gave us a little bottle of Champagne. We always eat here when we visit Disney. BEST FOOD ON PROPERTY.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fantabulously Cherry

      Registered: February 2017
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri February 10, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The best buffet on property!
      Cons: None

       
      This has always been one of my favorite restaurants and definitely my favorite buffet on Disney property (and I'm not a buffet person). Our trip in December did not disappoint! They have a great selection and there is not a bad tasting dish in the line.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      ChallengerHK1

      Registered: January 2013
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sun January 22, 2017 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): OK to good food
      Cons: Not at all what I was expecting

       
      The food was good. That being said, it wasn't great. Furthermore, I detected very little by way of exotic flavors. It was basically a nice Disney buffet. My opinion, Jiko is no more expensive and much better food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      AJ Potts

      Registered: December 2016
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu December 22, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): attentive and friendly server and delicious food
      Cons: very busy with occasional long lines for buffet

       
      We went to Boma on 12/15/16 for dinner. Before dinner we toured the Animal Kingdom Lodge and took some photos from the Savanna viewing areas. The Christmas tree and decorations were stunning and we took plenty of photos in the lobby. This was my favorite Christmas tree the entire week. We had about an hour until our ADR so we went to Victoria Falls Lounge. I had the Cape Collection Wine Flight and my husband tried the two African beers. Our teenager had a lemonade and was welcome to join us. There were no small children in the lounge, just my son and couple of sleeping babies. The Lounge was very relaxing and we could see Boma below. It was a great way to unwind after a day on our feet in Animal Kingdom. We were seated at Boma immediately and our server arrived quickly. She was friendly and attentive even though we could see she had a plenty of tables. The food was delicious. My favorites were the black olive hummus, the salmon and of course the Zebra Domes. We liked that there was a good mix of more exotic dishes with some familiar flavors. Our only complaint and it was minor was that there was occasionally a line for the hot foods on the buffet. I would go to Boma again and I would recommend it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      featheredbuddy

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Thu September 29, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food Cast members are really nice and helpful.
      Cons: none

       
      The choices here were wonderful. This is an food experience that never disappoints.Boma always ranks right up there with the signature restaurants for food quality. The staff is always very helpful and attentive.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KarissaB1

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 31
      Review Date: Fri September 16, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ribs and the service
      Cons: Front Check In could have been friendlier

       
      We had dinner on 9/10 at Boma. This was our first time trying this establishment. We have nothing but wonderful things to say. This will be a must do on our next trip. The ribs and couscous with dried fruits and nuts were my all time favorites. I do not know how I am going to wait until next trip to eat them. Soups were also wonderful. We highly recommend this place. Great food and great service!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyDana

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Myrtle Beach SC
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Thu June 30, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere is great, beautiful hotel worth visiting
      Cons: bizarre foods

       
      I have given this restaurant several chances just because I love the atmosphere, but in all honesty I have never had a good meal here and definitely not worth the price. I'm pretty adventurous, in fact Indian is one of my favorites, and love a good buffet where you can find your favorites and go back for more of the things you love. but for me, this just doesn't happen here. I never can find anything that I want to try more than once. Nothing on the buffet is THAT good except for maybe some of the soups. However, I just can't justify $60 worth of soup. Even the much touted zebra domes are nowhere near worth the hype that they get. I mean they are good, but I can't figure out why people go on and on about them as if they are the best thing on the planet. They're good. I would leave it at that. At Boma I always have that scary, "I'm not sure what I'm eating" feeling that you never want to have. I try to remind myself that this is Disney and nothing is going to be too far out there, but the descriptions on the foods are very vague. I'm adventurous as far as food combinations but I'm not one to stray too far from chicken, beef or pork. I don't do gamey stuff or lamb etc. and the combinations just don't sound appealing at all. Nothing about watermelon rind salad sounds fabulous IMO. Just a little too out there for me and I don't want to pay a fortune for a carving station like you'd find at Golden Corral. If they had just one or two dishes that were to die for I might have a different opinion, but as it stands, unless you want to try bizarre foods and things you're not likely to run into ever again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Snemma

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Wed June 29, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety
      Cons: Not Enough Variety

       
      This location had quite a bit of build up on the forums, but i don't believe it met them in my mind. Nothing I tried was poorly prepared, but I was expecting more exotic options. I guess when I looked at the list of what 'might' be on the buffet, I just see things that I would have preferred. My favorites were the black olive humus and the zebra dome.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tink1970

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Mon May 23, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service
      Cons: cost, noise, waiting area

       
      This is DD favorite restaurant on property and she has been able to try new and different things as she has become more of an adventurous eater.


      Our last stay did not disappoint---food to satisfy a picky 15 year old, as well as a fussy 4 year old. Mac&cheese, pasta, nuggets (the staples) plus 6 adults with diverse palates. The carved meats plus salmon as well as varieties of soups, salads and desserts were delicious and plentiful as always.


      Our favorite server, Bob, came around to say hi (he does this if we're not in our section) and everyone waddled out happy.


      I took of 1 point for the waiting area which is small and difficult to navigate (especially after eating!) and the cost, which in keeping with everything else on property, is slightly inflated for the product provided.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      monorailmom

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Tue May 3, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lots of choices
      Cons: tough for picky eaters, noisy

       
      We like to eat at Boma when we stay at AKL. We had an excellent dinner, though the picky eaters in my group struggle here a little. The tables are close and it is a little loud, but overall this is a nice experience that we will do again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.