Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • jeconk

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue March 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great way to try foods of another area
      Cons: Need explanations of what some foods are - perhaps cards next to them on the lines

       
      This was another "anticipated" restaurant of our large group and one that, while we were satisfied, we were not "overwhelmed." Obviously the choices on the buffet offer many traditional African dishes but they also have several standard American Faire dishes for those who may not be as adventurous. It was a great way to sample foods (and find some that you like and want more of!). While they had the names of the dishes listed above them, that didn't always tell you what the dishes were and what was in them. (my brother in law is allergic to mushrooms for example.) We found that we had to ask the chefs what was in many of the dishes and they were not always standing right by the foods so you had to guess or skip it.


      The bread and salad selections were varied and the dessert portions were small (so you could try several) but were not that varied and didn't "wow" you.


      It was a nice restaurant to try, but not sure I would go back there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kathie859

      Registered: November 2012
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu January 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great soups
      Cons: Long line for entree service

       
      I go for the great soups and unusual salads but others in my party (there were 7 of us) go for the full experience including the meat station. On our recent visit the line for the carving station was never less than 20 people deep and service was slow. 2 adults ended grabbing chicken legs off the kids station. Several people also felt the side offerings had decreased from our previous visits.


      Since we payed out of pocket and used the Tables in Wonderland card, the tip for the meal was over $40. There's no way the server earned that amount during the 75 minutes we were there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Sun January 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful options
      Cons: none

       
      I had breakfast at Boma once before and was eager to try dinner.


      The dinner buffet was full of more African options then the breakfast buffet was. I'm an adventurious eater while vacationing so I was all over all the wonderful options on the lines. Everything was wonderful including the sirloin and corned beef at the carving station.


      There was a very variety of soups and I enjoyed them all except the sausage one.


      The part of the meal that really blew me away were the legendary Zebra Domes. They are tiny cakes with a chocolate drizzle that looks like Zebra stripes hince the name. Inside of the cakes was a filling made from kahlua. They were heavenly and well worth coming back for.


      Boma is a great place to try food outside your comfort zone. I will be returning
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 53
      Review Date: Sat December 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): waiter
      Cons:

       
      We love Boma. We had the same waiter as two years ago. It was alright this time. DS9 loves the sirloin and the watermelon tomato blue cheese salad. The soups are yummy. We had the coconut chicken curry. I have the recipe and make it here. I guess I have changed it up here and there and enjoy mine better. The sirloin was good. The ribs my dad loved me not so much. The fufu is something my husband enjoys- sweet potato and mashed potato together. the bobotie my dad had. It's an egg ground beef type dish. The ginger carrot soup was also good but make it at home too. The Durban chicken again I make at home and was the same. Desserts are bite size. Not a zebra dome fan but they're there if you like them. It was very nice the waiter brought my son a dessert out with a candle. Very few even acknowledged my son's bday. Will probably go back. Would like to try breakfast.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dandnmom

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Cincinnati OH
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu December 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lots to try - good variety no matter your taste
      Cons: price

       
      Yum Yum Yum. Second time eating here and it didn't disappoint. Great way to try new things - plenty of the basics if you're not that adventurous. (But why go if you're not.... you can get mashed potatoes elsewhere for a lot less....) Wish they'd put out a Boma-specific cookbook - I'd buy it in a heartbeat. Servers were very pleasant and quick, everyone eager to help - many were from Africa and eager to share their culture. How long 'til I can go back....?!?!?
      Click here to see this users profile  
      emmhorton

      Registered: July 2007
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Fri December 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food selection
      Cons: Tables close together

       
      Third time eating here and still enjoyed it. We always love trying different salads, soups and entrees. If you are not adventurous, they do have some of the standard fair- roast beef, mashed potatoes, mac and cheese. But honestly- it's a great way to try something new!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WDWAndy

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon November 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food Quality and Variety, Wait Staff
      Cons: None

       
      Amazing meal enjoyed by entire family. Loved the buffet options and ability to try new items without committing to an entire entree. Vegetarians should love this place since there are many meat free options. Of course the beef was awesome as well!! Small desserts allowed us to sample everything. Atmosphere was bustling and energetic. Might not recommend for a quiet romantic meal, but totally fun and entertaining for people of all ages!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      The Hendies

      Registered: February 2008
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Tue November 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Love the food!
      Cons: None

       
      The best part of dining at Boma is that the adventurous eater (me) can enjoy taste treats, while the more conventional eater (my spouse) can have a meat and potato meal. The soups alone are worth the trip! Can't wait to go back!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      David Carrano

      Registered: January 2007
      Location: North Branford CT
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Fri September 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice theme, convenient if staying at AKL
      Cons: Noisy, unorganized, low quality food, poor wait staff

       
      We had the dinner buffet at Boma on September 13th, 2013. We were staying at the AKL so it was convenient. We have eaten at Boma before; however, this time around we found it to be very noisy and unorganized. Although it was busy, we did get our table rather quickly. Our party consisted of 6 adults, 4 on the dining plan, two not. I tried to explain that to our waitress when we sat down but she seemed confused and said she would take care of the details later. We used the wrist bands all week, so we knew what to expect. To be truthful, she never did take care of the details, at the end, we got billed for the full amount as well as an 18% gratuity charge. Believe me; the service was not worth an 18% gratuity. We finally did get the bill straightened out. Overall, the food was just mediocre, not bad, but nothing to write home about. More than likely we will not go back. Maybe the breakfast buffet is better?
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clayalex02

      Registered: July 2007
      Location: Pittsburgh, PA
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Thu September 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food variety, server
      Cons: waiting area

       
      Mom, Sister, DD24 and I ate here on Sept 1. The waiting area needs something done. Also, the desk staff seems confused. The wait seems longer compared to other restaurants at Disney World. Once seated the server was great and the food was great as usual. The plain eater in our group did not enjoy it as much as the rest of us, except for dessert, which she thought was fabulous.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bibba410

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: Arkansas
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sun September 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food and wait staff
      Cons: long wait to be seated

       
      We ate at Boma for dinner in late August of this year.


      I don't normally start off negative - but I just want to go ahead and get this out there. The wait to be seated was bad. Really bad. Like "why even have an ADR if we're going to wait around for an hour" bad. The cast members seemed flustered and unorganized. If you do eat here for dinner, maybe try earlier in the evening.


      Once we were seated our waiter was very friendly and efficient. The food, as always, was spectacular! I have already made my own version of the KokoNutty rice here at home. The spices and herbs that are used at Boma are truly unique and it's definitely something we can't find at home. I do highly recommend visiting to open up your pallet to something unique.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nrymut

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 100
      Review Date: Sat August 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service
      Cons: None

       
      Not our first trip here and not our last. Food was outstanding. The soups are great. Love the bobotie and fufu.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ed Mann

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Fri July 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service, food & atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      This is our 4th trip to WDW since 2003 and Boma keeps getting better and better. We ate there twice during our 12 day trip. On July 7th our server was Maureen from NJ. She tiED' for 'Best Server' of our trip with Yvonne over at 'Be Our Guest'. Both nights were NOT crowdED' and we felt special. The selection of food variED' a little from the first to second meal. If you haven't triED' Boma yet...what are you waiting for? If dining reservations says it's bookED' and you're leaving Animal Kingdom, hop on the bus to the Lodge. They usually have plenty of seats savED' for walk-ins. Everything is labelED' with what the dishes are. If you're timid about trying something new, so were we back in 03', but with so much too choose from you're bound to like something. Just make sure to bring your camera. From the moment you enter the Lodge there are a lot of Kodak spots. Tasting is believing. We haven't been disappointED' yet. Six dinners and counting!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MinnieMouseMama

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Princeton, IL
      Posts: 48
      Review Date: Sat June 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Just delish!
      Cons: price

       
      This was our first visit to Boma after dining at Jiko several years ago. Boy, do I wish we had come here before. Our meal was excellent. Our server was attentive and kept all the glasses full and the dishes cleared away. My parents joined us, and this made me a little nervous at first as my mother is not an adventurous eater at all. I didn't need to worry all all. There is more than enough to keep children and those with a limited palate happy. Those who wish to try new things will have a field day here. Everything was fresh; nothing wilted under the heat lamps. We loved the crusted salmon, the curry chicken and the spicy green beans. I had the mushroom soup and the seafood stew and both were delish. For years I have heard people rave about zebra domes and now I understand why! This IS an expensive meal, no doubt. But for our family who has visited WDW many time, this was worth it for such a unique experience. If you have enjoyed Tusker House, run- do not walk, to Boma. We will be back for sure.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mrodgers962

      Registered: June 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon June 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Different foods to try
      Cons: none

       
      This is the second time we have visited this restaurant. We love the different foods they serve. Everything was delicious, especially the soups, salads, and desserts! Even my 8 year old daughter loves it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.