Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • LISAE

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Sun August 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food amazing in quality and choice
      Cons: Transport and service

       
      Food is always excellent here for breakfast and for dinner. We love the carved meats - this trip it was ham and corned beef. Also traditional breakfast foods (the choc chip pancakes were lovely and the waffles) some African type foods are also available. The sticky toffee pecan buns are worth the trip alone.
      Plenty of pastries and muffins and lashings of fruit also available.
      Son and husband love the juice.
      Service this trip was remarkably slow (maybe because we were later than usual?) with dirty plates piling up and nearly impossible to get drink refills, the straws never did appear.
      As mentioned in my dinner review the transport is a killer, too hard to get to this resort by WDW transport nevertheless we will definitely return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      monkback2

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: camden,arkansas
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed June 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): all the servers were very good and the resturant is beautful
      Cons: none

       
      1st time here. The different food i tried were all good although a lot of them were too risky for me. The wife and kids tried many things and no complaint. The Apple cobbler with the crumbles was awesome.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      atheiss

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sat April 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, food
      Cons: service was a bit slow

       
      My husband and I have breakfast here the morning that we headed home. It was a great way to end our vacation. It was a bit crowded, but we had reservations and were seated right away. Our waitress seemed a little overwhelmed and we didn't see much of her, but it's a buffet so we were ok. The food was delicious and there were lots of options. And AKL is BEAUTIFUL! I just enjoyed sitting in the gorgeous restaurant eating that yummy food!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SusieH212

      Registered: March 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Fri February 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cast Members, Atmosphere, Delicious Food!
      Cons: none

       
      What a perfect final meal before heading to the airport!!! Boma for Breakfast should NOT be missed! A wide range of delicious foods. Quite a variety that even met the needs of this vegan. Cast member Frank from Philly even ran to Jiko to get me some vegan "butter". The Jungle Juice was the best. Loved every minute!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mamalydia

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: miami, florida
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed December 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great varietly of food, great service
      Cons: none

       
      All adults in our group! Everyone was able to enjoy the different foods available in the buffet. The coffee was delicious. We were not rushed and although the restaurant was busy...the buffet line was never long! Great food for the price...and no characters, which was fine for us since we did not have children traveling with us this trip! Will do this buffet breakfast again!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      texasmomoftwo

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue December 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): buffet, great variety of food, resort beauty
      Cons: service a tad slow

       
      We traveled via cab to BOMA for breakfast during week of 12/4-12/9/13. We had been recommended to go there. We had made an ADR and arrived right on time. We were seated within minutes. It is great to be able to just go get food, as we did not want to miss park time.


      BOMA favorites for me: JUICE! YUM YUM YUM
      Coffee was great too. The bread pudding french toast is to die for! YUM. Although the syrup makes it really sweet. I recommend you put the syrup on the side.


      The juice is great. A tropical flavor mix.


      The cooks work hard here and the food was coming out quick. They refilled the buffet on a regular basis, keeping things nice and hot.


      Great variety including mickey waffles, meats, and they had a carving station with ham and turkey! Great way to fill up before hitting the parks for a long day.


      I can't wait to go back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      gthurber

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Sun November 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very good food.
      Cons: Server disappeared for an hour. Dirty tables.

       
      Our party of five all agreed we would go back to Boma for the food but the service was the worst of our trip. After our server got us drinks, we did not see her for an hour. Many tables around us were filled with dirty dishes. Two ladies who were seated near us, realized their seats were dirty after their hostess left. They tried to find someone to clean their table and could not find anyone. They ended up cleaning off the seats themselves. I hope, based on all the good reviews I have read, that we just hit Boma on a very "off" morning and their service would match the quality of their food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rjeast1

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri October 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, atmosphere, service
      Cons: None

       
      We were at the Boma for breakfast on 10/9 and as usual, it was delicious. Their food is soooo good. This is our favorite place to do breakfast. There just is not enough good to say about it. Their juice! Oh my goodness, I could have that for breakfast, lunch, dinner and midnight snack. Their scrambled eggs...I don't know how to describe them. They are so creamy and yumm. We make it a point to go there at least once for breakfast while we are there. Their sausage is also delicious. You just don't know where to start. The desserts are very good also although I did notice they do not have as ample a selection as they used to.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      AddictedtoDisney

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Delaware
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri August 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food selection, friendly service, no wait
      Cons: Passion fruit juice was watered down

       
      Staying at the resort was very convenient...no need to wait long due to reservations. The friendly service and food selection makes this one of our favorite places to eat at. The atmosphere and authenticity of the decorations is amazing! There is live music on some mornings, makes it that much more fun.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 215
      Review Date: Thu August 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food and service
      Cons: Watery oatmeal

       
      We dined here for breakfast at 10:50am on 7/30. I had previously dined here alone in May 2010, and thought it was just okay bordering on poor quality. However, I wanted something relaxed but filling for our last day of vacation.


      We were seated nearly right away, and our server was Laura. She brought us coffee, chocolate milk, and water with no problems, and was great about promptly clearing away our dishes and keeping the drinks refilled.


      I started with breads and fruit: banana bread, blueberry muffin, croissant, and cinnamon roll, plus cantaloupe and pineapple. Another person in my group had a sticky bun and said it was great.


      For my next course I had a waffle, a blueberry pancake, bacon, sausage, and oatmeal with brown sugar. I thought the oatmeal was a bit on the watery side, but I'm also used to instant oatmeal with milk. All other items were great.


      My last trip up to the buffet was for the amazing Goat Cheese & Chive scrambled eggs. I remembered these being the best thing I ate during my last time here, and this time was no different. Everyone in my party loved them, and I normally HATE eggs of any kind.


      This was a much better experience than the last time, and I now understand the Boma hype. Will definitely be joining on the bandwagon for this restaurant!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cop447

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Spartanburg, SC
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Sat June 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Outstanding everything
      Cons: none

       
      I have been to Walt Disney World many times and have dined and many restaurants and do not give out 10's easily. I took my two son's ages 11 and 14 and was blown away by the service and food. Jennifer was our waitress and was fantastic. The Jungle Juice we got first was fresh and delicious. The food was outstanding and we all left stuffed. The atmosphere in the hotel and restaurant was amazing. No matter where you stay at Walt Disney World make a reservation and go to Boma and check out the wonderful Animal Kingdom Lodge.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wendybarrie

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Wed May 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EXCELLENT
      Cons:

       
      We have stayed at this resort several times and never tried Boma. Typically it was choosy eaters in our group that led us the decision to abort our reservations however this time I drug everyone in and everyone had an awesome time. The choices include African flair and other options as well. The fruit section and hummus were excellent, my daughter was thrilled with the mac n cheese. All of us loved the corn pudding and sweet potatoes. This is a Must-Do going forward even when we are not at the lodge!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bjtrax

      Registered: July 2006
      Location: Wisconsin
      Posts: 60
      Review Date: Sun April 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      Had breakfast at Boma on April 13th. The food choices were excellent, and even included a carving station with turkey breast & ham! I also had scrambled eggs, bacon, potatoes,sausage & shared a made-to-order omelet with DW. Fresh pineapple, and a very good almond pastry finished my meal. Didn't find the house juice to be anything special, but did enjoy the pot of coffee. Simply the best breakfast buffet I've had!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      thetony45

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 67
      Review Date: Fri March 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food in large quanities, beatiful scenery
      Cons: Was being rushed there at the end

       
      I decided to kick off my last day at WDW with breakfast at Boma.


      After exploring the lodge a bit I was still half an hour early for my reservation but the Cast Members on duty let me in an I was seated right away. I always wear a Fantasia style sorcerer's hat with Mickey ears. I got a nice chuckle on my receipt in the comments section they put Mickey Hat.


      Boma was open to the rest of the lobby so it had excellent and African theme and scenery.


      My server was very slow to take my drink order but was quick throughout the meal to keep my glass filled. I had what was called Jungle Juice which was pineapple juice mango juice orange juice and lemonade and was very tasty.


      Boma is a buffet but instead of one long buffet line it has several little pods. One pod had oatmeal, quinoa porridge, and Pap which was a white cornmeal that was very good.


      One bay was a meat carving station with roasted ham and roasted corned beef. I love corned beef and this was the best I ever had. Boma also features a made to order omelet station. You simply say what you want in it and the cook instantly gets to work.


      There was also a french toast bread pudding that was simply amazing!


      Pastries included Sticky Buns and Cinnamon rolls that were warm and mouth watering. For picky eaters Boma featured many different types of cereal.


      About halfway through my meal the hostesses started a small parade. One of them beat on a traditional African drum and they marched around the restaurant. Guests were encouraged to clap along and even join the parade if they wanted. It added a great deal of fun to the meal.


      Toward the end of the meal I started getting rushed by my server. Unfortunately that is why I can only give Boma a 9 out of 10. Otherwise the meal was perfect.


      I have a new favorite restaurant on property and will make plans to come back for dinner sometime.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jnc1223

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: College Station, Tx
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Mon February 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, food
      Cons: none

       
      We've been looking for a reason to visit the AKL and I had one more dining reservation I needed to fill so we decided to do breakfast and we were so happy that we did. It was incredible, my husband who is not usually a breakfast out kind of guy was in heaven. My daughter couldnt get enough of the fresh blueberry muffins. The mustard served with the ham was like nothing weve ever had and the wood grilled asparagus was the best! We will definitely be back here!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.