Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • monorailmom

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 31
      Review Date: Wed August 24, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location, bus service, beautiful surroundings
      Cons:

       
      My DH and I stayed at Coronado 8/12-8/16 on a couples' only trip. While we are DVC members, we wanted to save our points for family trips, and got a great AP rate on a Business Class room. Coronado remains our favorite Moderate resort. The resort is just beautiful, I came home with so many pictures of the flowers that were blooming all around the lake. The pool is honestly one of the best at Disney World, even over some of the DVC resorts! Never crowded, could always find a table, and great service at the pool bar. Bus service was very good as well, waited once or twice at a park for over 15mins, but it wasn't a common occurrence. Only had to stand on a bus coming home from a park once.


      The Business Class, while an uncharge, was not only a great convenience, but we believe saved us money in the long run. We stopped by every morning for breakfast, and again early each evening for light appetizers and wine. A few times we made it back to the resort before closing time at 10 and enjoyed another glass of wine to cap off the evening! Smile Room location here is perfect: quick walk to the bus stop, food court, and pool.


      We look forward to more stays here!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Big Al Fan

      Registered: June 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue July 5, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Mousekeeping, Theming, Gift Shop, Special Requests
      Cons: Food Court was so-so.

       
      Stayed at Disney's Coronado Springs Resort for eight nights in June. Really pleasantly surprised! They honored my special requests for room location, mousekeeping was amazing (thank you Ramon!) - several wonderful towel animals through the week, beds were made with military precision, not a dust bunny or stray hair to be found - spotless. I tend to peak under the sheets and examine the mattress - older mattresses, but comfortable and no stains) Smile.


      I had stayed here once before a month after the resort opened (I think 1998) and forgot how beautiful the grounds and buildings were. This time, we stayed in the Casitas section... loved it. So beautiful. For those contemplating which "region" to stay... I liked Casitas best, then Ranchos (if you don't mind a bit of a walk to the main buildings). I personally found the theming of the Cabanas section least impressive, though still beautiful. We rented a car, so I can't comment on bus service or the walk to the main buildings (though I see why other's have said it could be quite a hike from your room to the main areas).


      I am a big Disney full-service restaurant fan, so we only used the Pepper Market food court twice (lunch the first day and breakfast the last morning). Service at the counter was a bit slow and food was so-so. Had to use the Business Center to ship a package home... convenient and effective, but service was a bit in need of training - very polite, just not fully up to speed. LOVED Panchito's gift shop... nice Coronado specific merchandise and friendly, helpful staff. Front desk staff was pleasant and effective at check-in and check-out.


      I have stayed at several Disney Deluxe hotels during other recent trips and I would say Coronado holds it's weight comparatively. Was nervous that the convention center would damper my vacation mood, but never saw a suit or briefcase the entire week (maybe no conventions were booked while I was there). Would recommend and would stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      beachpup

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed June 8, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Awesome theming
      Cons: Not much

       
      We have stayed here a few times in the past and loved it, and this time was no different. We had a quiet room in the Ranchos section, and the only negative was the tv reception was spotty for some reason, since we love to have the Disney guide on when we're in the room for the music. Food was good at the food court, it's different than before, easier to understand and navigate, although its puzzling there isn't a burrito on the menu anymore. The enchiladas were really good though! Love the large pool , and the large hot tub! We had gone to the front desk to ask a question and one of the managers actually remembered us from past years, that was such a nice feeling! This is still my favorite moderate resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Koon

      Registered: December 2015
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Thu December 31, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet, theme, excellent QS restaurant, value
      Cons:

       
      Our family has stayed at this resort three times, and we love it. It has been quiet and uncrowned each time. We consider it a hidden gem! Pool and water slide are fantastic. QS Peppermarket is an excellent value on the meal plan. I would recommend paying for a preferred room. We did that this trip and found we were the first on the buses for parks and the first off...we always had a seat! I highly recommend this resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      girldrgn8

      Registered: April 2011
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Wed December 30, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Rooms, public areas
      Cons: Size of resort

       
      We stayed here for a long weekend Dec 10-13. Our room was perfect for what we needed. We were in Casista Building 4, otherwise we would have had a lot of walking to do.


      We did not take advantage of any of the amenities offered at the resort until Sunday right before checkout. The quick service restaurant was closed for a private event and they had set up a once through breakfast buffet in the main restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ktuckermk

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: Baytown, Tx
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Thu June 25, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds to explore, ability to close off the sink area, business lounge, bus service
      Cons: Limited hours of the business lounge, occassional full bus

       
      We stayed June 6-12 and will be staying here in the future. My boys loved the pool and the bridge leading there. We only had one morning that there wasn't bus service coming to our stop because it was already full. Had we not slept late for our breakfast reservation it wouldn't have been a big deal. We still relied solely on Disney transportation while our car stayed parked for a week and never had another problem. The grounds are just beautiful, makes for lovely walks
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mballara

      Registered: March 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat March 14, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds, very well kept, friendly staff
      Cons: Nothing to really speak about

       
      Hi there! My wife and I stayed at this resort for the first time from March 5th to the 9th for our 45th wedding anniversary and couldn't have had a better experience. Having been at Disney World in many occasions throughout the years it was to no surprise. Since day one that we arrived kind of late and have to hurry to go eat, we were greeted with a great smile and service at the Maya restaurant, live music still playing. Usually service waiters are tired late at night and one can notice this, not this time, our attendant was as crisp and alert as she could be early in her shift. Next day, my wife had a well deserved body massage and in the meantime I went to explore the place. It was the break time between the breakfast and the lunch time when I met Martha at the entrance of the Pepper Market counter restaurant. Martha is being known also as "the coffee lady", since she has the best hand to make cofee in the whole WDW area. Later on we met Daniela Jacinto, one of the best floor managers you can ever meet, she also introduced us to Michael Hill, general manager of the place, great person to talk to, to both we express our praises for the good service.
      The next day we went to have breakfast at the "Las Ventanas" restaurant, a quaint and relatively small (about 58 seats) right next to the Pepper Market. There we met the best group of service personnel you can meet, they were; Nelson, Mariela, Diane and Analea. They made us feel like family or a long time friend. I sure would miss them.
      Sorry for the long review but it had to be said.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ToniF

      Registered: March 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed March 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds, friendly staff
      Cons: None

       
      We were at Coronado Springs March 4th and checked out March 7th. Our party included the Grands (ages 2 through 5) and their parents, grandparents and great grandparents. We stayed in the Casitas Building 4. We were in rooms 4443, 4444, 4445 and 4457. There was a bus stop right outside of our building: however, we drove to the parks each day.


      All of our rooms were clean and smelled fresh. Mousekeeping kept the rooms well stocked and set up the Grands' lovies (aka stuffed animals) on their beds which thrilled the Grands. The mattresses were comfy and while I appreciated a break from all of the Disney theming, I can see where the lack of Mickey may not be everyone's cup of tea.


      Our first night there, we played in the pool and the Dig Site and ate dinner at the pool snack bar. We had nachos, hot dogs, pork carnita tacos and fries. The food was ok. I found the tacos to be more like a chili verde instead of carnitas. The Grands loved roasting marshmallows and the water slide was a hit with the Grands. They have life vests for the kiddos if you need them.


      We planned our days so that we would be at the parks early in the morning, return to the hotel for lunch and then head back to the parks. Some of our party ate breakfast in their rooms and some of us ate at the Pepper Market. My husband and I split an omelette and a fruit cup for breakfast each day. Two of the Grands split a fruit and yogurt plate. It was a huge plate of fruit. In general, I found to food to be fine. The portions were on the larger side, so splitting an entree and adding extra sides made the meals more affordable.


      The Concierge desk was very helpful in adding an extra person to our dining reservations. The check in process for the most part was flawless. If you choose to add a credit card to your Magic Bands, make sure to check that they put a realistic credit limit on your charging abilities for the day. They set our limit at zero which, thankfully, I discovered at the on site shop. It took about 5 minutes to correct. Check out was just as easy. We were met by Cynthia who had a hand held device and was able to get us checked out in 5 minutes. Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      destinie

      Registered: March 2015
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sun March 1, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lovely environment, comfortable rooms, housekeeping is great, restaurants accomodating for restricted diets, gorgeous
      Cons: Bathroom needed updating

       
      I booked our stay at Coronado before reading reviews. After reading reviews I was worried that I made a poor decision but I have to be honest that our stay was fantastic and would definitely stay here again.


      We stayed in the Cabanas which was a short walk to the main building. Not a problem as we were visiting in February when the weather in Florida is much nicer than the frigid weather we came from. The walk isn't an issue as there are multiple bus stops and employees with golf carts are more than happy to call out and see if you need a ride. Our room was always in lovely condition, even if the bathroom needed some updating. (Our bathroom door was weird and had difficulty opening it since there was no handle but aside from the door everything else was lovely.)


      The food..THE FOOD. I cannot eat Gluten or Dairy and we ate at the Maya Grill AND the Pepper Market and they were able to accommodate me. If you have food intolerances/allergies ASK the cast members were so nice and we had fresh food from the Chef. YES on Gf/Df french toast AND Mickey Waffles in the morning!


      We did online check in and our process was smooth. Checking out was great as well. Honestly, I cannot find anything really poor to say about Coronado We want to go back now!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jlundeen

      Registered: January 2013
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun January 25, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice landscaping
      Cons: too big - regular rooms too far from everything -

       
      Years ago, I stayed every year at Coronado for an annual conference for my job. It was nice that the conference was at a Disney property, since my family or a friend could accompany me and we could go to the parks after hours. So my memories of this resort, while not great, were not bad, since the conference guests received rooms close to the main lobby.


      But...as a vacationing guest, it's a different story. The standard room are a long way from anything, and even though they have scheduled the buses so you can go to and from your building using them, invariably, the bus you are waiting for takes forever to arrive, and with four bus stops, it's often faster to walk the distance.


      This was not my first choice for a vacation, but due to Disney's Free Dining offer, our choices were limited. It was Christmas season while we were there, and having speakers blaring our Christmas carols in Spanish was more an annoyance than anything else.


      The "feel" of this resort is just not friendly. The people are very friendly and helpful, but I just never had that warm "welcome home" feeling while staying here.


      In the future, if there are no other moderate resorts available for the time we want to be there, we will probably either change the dates, or look for a Deluxe.... we don't plan to stay at Coronado again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MelissaStone

      Registered: September 2011
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Wed January 7, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful ground
      Cons: Too far to get the food or refill the drinks. Too many mosquitos.

       
      Room and bus service were OK. Stayed in building 6. It was close to the big pool but the food area closed too early even during the Christmas week. We would not be able to get the refill drink there after 7pm and have to walk all the way to the main building for the refill. Kids of mine aged 9, 12 & 15 don't like this place, just didn't have the Disney feel. We have tried 6 different Disney resorts from value to deluxe and this is the least that we liked.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Heintd

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue December 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful property
      Cons: Check in /check out very poor, major walk to room

       
      My daughter and I recently returned from a holiday trip to Disney. This was our third stay at Coronado Springs, and will be our last. Despite checking in on line months in advance, we were given a room in Casita 5 - the building was the farthest from El Centro as one could get. The person who checked us in wrote down the wrong room number. After walking (with all luggage) to the room, we had to walk all the back. She just giggled and said, whoops"" and gave us another room number. We then got to walk back to building 5 (still with all luggage) - luckily this one worked. Mousekeeping was average throughout the week - sometimes the room was well cleaned and re-stocked, other times they only made the bed. I had called several times to confirm our return flight, was constantly transferred from one department to the next. Despite being told everything was confirmed three times, we arrived back at the hotel the night before our departure with no printed boarding passes or Magic Express information. I began calling at 6 am to determine what to do on the day of our departure. I was again transferred from one department to the next. With less than 30 minutes until I anticipated that the Magic Express bus would arrive (and I only know this from previous trips) went to the front desk. After an 8 night stay, they didn't have me in the system and I had to show all types of registration information to get a hand-written note to get on the Magic Express bus. The person behind the desk referred me to yet another department to print boarding passes. By the time we arrived at this location - the line was very long and we had to board the bus and get boarding passes at the airport. If this had been our first visit to Disney, we would have had no idea what to do/or the timeframes typically needed. Given that the room was so far away from the restaurants, we revised our plans to eat breakfast in the parks each morning. We were close to one of the bus stops. We only went up to the main lobby twice during an 8 day stay, so felt like we were simply paying a substantial amount for an average room that looked out on a parking lot (ie, not a lot of Disney magic!) given the lack of attention to detail during check in and check out, I will very likely not return to Coronado Springs during future Disney trips.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tcohen24

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Sun December 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly staff, pretty grounds
      Cons: Bathroom needs updating

       
      We stayed here 12/15-12/19/14. We were in Casitas 3 building, first floor. I was worried about the distance in walking but this room was close to the front lobby so it was only a short walk. It was a longer walk to one of the bus stops but close to the lobby bus stop.
      The room itself was clean and looked updated. The bathroom again was clean but it looked like it needed some updating.
      Buses ran about every 20 mins or so but it seemed as if the lobby bus stop was most crowded. It was worth the walk to a bus stop further from our room to avoid the crowd.
      We only ate at the Pepper Market. The food was good. Nothing spectacular but adequate for a quick breakfast or lunch.
      Overall it was a pretty good experience and I would stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mkymouse4ever

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Illinois
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Fri October 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): grounds are beauitful, pool area, More adult atmosphere
      Cons: walking distance

       
      This was our first stay at CSR 9/16 > 9/18. We have stayed moderates before: CBR & PORS. We actually thought we now prefer CSR. Being adult only trip it was nice to have less children and more adult atmosphere. Due to the convention area, we did see more adult only's here.
      Room was very clean, quiet, and we had a great location in Rancheros. Short walk to main pool area. We also liked the smaller quiet pool areas. We used our car to get to the main building. We never heard people from our room.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MM from Connecticut

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Thu October 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful Resort and finally a NORMAL food court!
      Cons: Needs a bridge to cross over the lake -- takes too long to walk

       
      The Coronado is a beautiful resort with a large, fun main pool and great bus service. The food court is now a normal food court (previously there were CMs to fill mugs and clear dishes that we had to tip, but we still ordered & carried the food). It is the nicest of the moderate resorts. However, it is very, very far to walk from rooms to the main building (15 minutes) or to the main pool area. I wish they would install either a bridge over the lake or offer a water taxi. Buses were great and ran often.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.