Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • jlundeen

      Registered: January 2013
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sun January 25, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice landscaping
      Cons: too big - regular rooms too far from everything -

       
      Years ago, I stayed every year at Coronado for an annual conference for my job. It was nice that the conference was at a Disney property, since my family or a friend could accompany me and we could go to the parks after hours. So my memories of this resort, while not great, were not bad, since the conference guests received rooms close to the main lobby.


      But...as a vacationing guest, it's a different story. The standard room are a long way from anything, and even though they have scheduled the buses so you can go to and from your building using them, invariably, the bus you are waiting for takes forever to arrive, and with four bus stops, it's often faster to walk the distance.


      This was not my first choice for a vacation, but due to Disney's Free Dining offer, our choices were limited. It was Christmas season while we were there, and having speakers blaring our Christmas carols in Spanish was more an annoyance than anything else.


      The "feel" of this resort is just not friendly. The people are very friendly and helpful, but I just never had that warm "welcome home" feeling while staying here.


      In the future, if there are no other moderate resorts available for the time we want to be there, we will probably either change the dates, or look for a Deluxe.... we don't plan to stay at Coronado again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MelissaStone

      Registered: September 2011
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Wed January 7, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful ground
      Cons: Too far to get the food or refill the drinks. Too many mosquitos.

       
      Room and bus service were OK. Stayed in building 6. It was close to the big pool but the food area closed too early even during the Christmas week. We would not be able to get the refill drink there after 7pm and have to walk all the way to the main building for the refill. Kids of mine aged 9, 12 & 15 don't like this place, just didn't have the Disney feel. We have tried 6 different Disney resorts from value to deluxe and this is the least that we liked.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Heintd

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue December 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful property
      Cons: Check in /check out very poor, major walk to room

       
      My daughter and I recently returned from a holiday trip to Disney. This was our third stay at Coronado Springs, and will be our last. Despite checking in on line months in advance, we were given a room in Casita 5 - the building was the farthest from El Centro as one could get. The person who checked us in wrote down the wrong room number. After walking (with all luggage) to the room, we had to walk all the back. She just giggled and said, whoops"" and gave us another room number. We then got to walk back to building 5 (still with all luggage) - luckily this one worked. Mousekeeping was average throughout the week - sometimes the room was well cleaned and re-stocked, other times they only made the bed. I had called several times to confirm our return flight, was constantly transferred from one department to the next. Despite being told everything was confirmed three times, we arrived back at the hotel the night before our departure with no printed boarding passes or Magic Express information. I began calling at 6 am to determine what to do on the day of our departure. I was again transferred from one department to the next. With less than 30 minutes until I anticipated that the Magic Express bus would arrive (and I only know this from previous trips) went to the front desk. After an 8 night stay, they didn't have me in the system and I had to show all types of registration information to get a hand-written note to get on the Magic Express bus. The person behind the desk referred me to yet another department to print boarding passes. By the time we arrived at this location - the line was very long and we had to board the bus and get boarding passes at the airport. If this had been our first visit to Disney, we would have had no idea what to do/or the timeframes typically needed. Given that the room was so far away from the restaurants, we revised our plans to eat breakfast in the parks each morning. We were close to one of the bus stops. We only went up to the main lobby twice during an 8 day stay, so felt like we were simply paying a substantial amount for an average room that looked out on a parking lot (ie, not a lot of Disney magic!) given the lack of attention to detail during check in and check out, I will very likely not return to Coronado Springs during future Disney trips.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tcohen24

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Sun December 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Friendly staff, pretty grounds
      Cons: Bathroom needs updating

       
      We stayed here 12/15-12/19/14. We were in Casitas 3 building, first floor. I was worried about the distance in walking but this room was close to the front lobby so it was only a short walk. It was a longer walk to one of the bus stops but close to the lobby bus stop.
      The room itself was clean and looked updated. The bathroom again was clean but it looked like it needed some updating.
      Buses ran about every 20 mins or so but it seemed as if the lobby bus stop was most crowded. It was worth the walk to a bus stop further from our room to avoid the crowd.
      We only ate at the Pepper Market. The food was good. Nothing spectacular but adequate for a quick breakfast or lunch.
      Overall it was a pretty good experience and I would stay here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mkymouse4ever

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Illinois
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Fri October 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): grounds are beauitful, pool area, More adult atmosphere
      Cons: walking distance

       
      This was our first stay at CSR 9/16 > 9/18. We have stayed moderates before: CBR & PORS. We actually thought we now prefer CSR. Being adult only trip it was nice to have less children and more adult atmosphere. Due to the convention area, we did see more adult only's here.
      Room was very clean, quiet, and we had a great location in Rancheros. Short walk to main pool area. We also liked the smaller quiet pool areas. We used our car to get to the main building. We never heard people from our room.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MM from Connecticut

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Thu October 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful Resort and finally a NORMAL food court!
      Cons: Needs a bridge to cross over the lake -- takes too long to walk

       
      The Coronado is a beautiful resort with a large, fun main pool and great bus service. The food court is now a normal food court (previously there were CMs to fill mugs and clear dishes that we had to tip, but we still ordered & carried the food). It is the nicest of the moderate resorts. However, it is very, very far to walk from rooms to the main building (15 minutes) or to the main pool area. I wish they would install either a bridge over the lake or offer a water taxi. Buses were great and ran often.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      annalawson

      Registered: August 2009
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue September 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): gronds were nice, nice having gym on site
      Cons: to big, to much walking

       
      We like trying different places, so staying at Coronado was a first for us. While it was nice, and we had a nice vacation, I don't think we will try this resort again.
      My travel agent requested Cabanas area for us as I also did during online check in. We however were put in Castitas building 4. We did get the ground floor level that we requested. My sister and her family were put in Castitas Building 3 fourth floor. Her room seemed newer, I guess more people request ground floor so they get worn our faster? Over all a nice trip, housekeeping kept us well supplied with towels and such. One annoying thing was that to go to Typoon lagoon you had to take the Downtown Disney bus and then transfer again! We opted to take a cab, which with a generous tip was $20 for all 6, I think it was well worth it, we did the same for the return trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      poodlepal

      Registered: August 2011
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Fri August 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Resort is beautiful, the staff is extremely helpful
      Cons: Bathroom door needed to be painted.

       
      I have stayed at several Disney resorts and this is possibly my favorite. We stayed in a "business" room near the bus stop and restaurants and got the free continental breakfast, so our experience may have been a little easier than others. I recommend upgrading, if you can afford a little extra.


      The grounds are beautiful and the staff is extremely helpful. They helped my disabled mother get around and even mad a pre-checked TSA boarding pass for her--without being asked. The bus system was not reliable, but that is not the fault of the Coronado Springs hotel. The hotel itself and the experience staying at it was wonderful. We got Mickey towels, the room was cleaned promptly and the magic bands worked pretty well (sometimes took a couple of tries to line it up, but we always got in the room). The bathroom needed a paint touch up, but if that doesn't bother you, you should have a wonderful time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jacwin1

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: St. Pete, Fl
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed June 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beauty of resort, awesome staff, bromine pool
      Cons: linen carts going by at all hours of the night

       
      The resort is beautiful, the staff is extrodinarily helpful. Our room was clean, well stocked and very comfortable. I have to sleep propped up because of a medical issue and I find the pillows to be very small and difficult to sleep on without sliding off the side of the pillows. I like the d├ęcor of the rooms they are southwestern, but done in a tasteful understated way. Pool and hot tub are bromine and has little to no chlorine smell or residue on your skin and hair. The playground is great for little ones. The gas powered carts going by the rooms at night was waking me, I let the manager know and he will look into it. This only applies if you stay in on of the building not set back from the main walkways.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Breeze1979

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun May 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pool, room size
      Cons: Non

       
      We stayed here a few nights before checking into AKL. We ended up wishing we had stayed at Coronado for the entire trip.....our kids liked this resort better.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hlclsl

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri May 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful resort, nice pool
      Cons: very large layout

       
      I have actually never gotten to stay here; I have a family of 5 and because of this can only stay at the Port Orleans resort as it is the only moderate hotel that allows for 5 guests (without a price hike). We visited this resort on one of our stays and all agree that we'd love to stay at this resort, or try one of the other moderate resorts! I wish Disney would change their policy and accomodate 5 guests at these resorts!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      schmamm

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: United States
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri March 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful, not crowded
      Cons:

       
      We stayed at Coronado Springs March 15-17, 2014. We had a great stay. I used online check in and received the building and view I requested. Plus the room was ready for check-in at 9:30 in the morning. We were very pleased. We ate breakfast every morning at Pepper Market and the food was delish. I highly recommend the Egg and Chorizo sandwich. we had little to no wait for food. We also had great bus service. Our longest wait was 10 minutes for the bus to Epcot. This was my second time staying here and my boyfriend's first. I would highly recommend this resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Wlg0406

      Registered: February 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed February 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very pretty resort, good food options
      Cons: Bus system, starting to show wear and tear

       
      We stayed at Coronado in February 2014 for the Princess Half Marathon. We've stayed at both deluxe and value resorts but this was our first moderate. In general, we had a perfectly fine stay at Coronado.


      Good: We were in Cabanas building 8A. Fantastic location. Steps from bus stop 4, steps from the pool and only a 5-minute walk to the main building. (Granted, we're urban dwellers and used to walking a lot daily.) I imagine that other locations in the resort wouldn't be so great...


      Pepper Market was great for breakfast each day and Cafe Rix was equally great for grab-and-go items. Loved having multiple places to refill mugs. The bar by the lake was fantastic when we got back from the parks at night.


      It's really a very picturesque resort--especially on the lake in the evening. The staff we encountered were universally warm and helpful.


      The set-up of the rooms is nice and I appreciated having the doors between the vanity area and the bedroom so we could block light when needed. I was pleased with the size of the room considering it's a moderate resort.


      We didn't actually make it to the pool but it looked awesome. The hammocks on the beachy area are just wonderful!


      Bad: The rooms are starting to show some wear and tear. There were stains in the bathroom (not worrying stains--more like rust stains) and the carpet just felt worn. I'm not sure how old the resort is but it could use a fresh coat of paint.


      We were there with a number of big conventions. It wasn't terrible but definitely gave the resort a different feel than other Disney resorts. The theming is also pretty subtle--I wasn't transported to another "place" the way you are at other resorts.


      This is probably more of a reflection on the bus system than on Coronado Springs in particular, but we encountered a number of long waits for buses. To the extent that we had to take a few cabs to make dining reservations. The rides to the Magic Kingdom and to Epcot felt pretty long. When the bus system works, it's great. But when it doesn't work, it's pretty frustrating and this trip we had more experience with the bus system not working.


      Overall...I think we would try another moderate before staying at Coronado again. But I wouldn't actively avoid Coronado either.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sasmmb

      Registered: March 2006
      Posts: 30
      Review Date: Mon February 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): convenient if you are here for convention
      Cons: housekeeping is horrible/ far to walk to main building

       
      I'm quite disappointed in this hotel. When I got to my room I found a mans dirty sock between the ottomans (meaning they hadn't vaccummed there either), drapes splattered with ketchup (I hope it was ketchup!), and partially used bottle of shower gel. It's clear housekeeping did a poor job. The manager was appropriately aghast and came to the room to check it out. So hopefully she will take care of it. I was not offered any compensation or extra amenity though.


      Also this is a BIG resort. I stayed in the Casistas Building #5. There are no bridges across the lake from there so you have to walk around the entire lake to get to the main building and restaurants.


      Given all the great Disney hotels, I would not recommend people spend their money on this one.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      texasmomoftwo

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue December 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Room Size, Partition between room and bath, staff
      Cons: size

       
      Coronado Springs is a LARGE resort. Acreage wise it is the largest of all Disney resorts. I was staying in building 4 12/4/13-12/9/13. Third floor room. We had easy access to stairs, and there was a "quiet" pool right by our building. Building four is near bus stop two, which is VERY NICE when coming back from a long day at the park.


      The staff is excellent. Especially Maria and Robert. They are in the front desk and work hard to make sure your stay is enjoyable.


      It is about a 10 minute walk to the pool from building 4. We walked the entire "circle" from the front building all the way around the property and it took about 30 minutes to get back to the main building. Very beautiful grounds. At the end of the day it could be quite a walk, especially if you have young children to the back of the property.


      The main pool (big dig site) is AWESOME. Arguably the best pool at Disneyworld. Has a great slide, really large swimming area, tiny toddler pool, and a small hot tub. Very very nice though and a must do.


      Magic Bands in DECEMBER were anything but magic for me. My rating here of 9 is simply on the resort, and not on my disneyworld experience. If I had to rate my Disneyworld experience due to the many, many magic band issues, my rating would be NEGATIVE! It prevented me from booking for next year, which I was planning on doing.


      If I was to return to Disneyworld, I would stay at Coronado. It is a convention hotel, so you get more of a major named brand hotel (think H...or M...) feel than a Disney feel. There are no characters around. The theme is upscale Southwestern type instead of a "disney type" thing. However, I LOVED this resort and would not hesitate to recommend it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.