Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Hamill04

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue September 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was very good
      Cons: Numerous "little" things...

       
      I was torn if I should cancel my reservations here and try somewhere else after reading all the bad reviews and now that its over I'm still torn on whether I should have cancelled our reservations and tried somewhere else. It all started when we walked up to the hostess and gave her my name and time of my ADR. She could not find me and asked if I could give her a confirmation number. Thank goodness I had my phone on me and that I had the Disney Experience app because all my confirmation numbers were written down in my vacation notebook which I left in CT. It was 6pm and the restaurant was pretty much empty. I had been worried about the complaints of the noise but it didn't start getting noisy that Thursday night until around 8 when we were leaving so if you have small kids try to get an early dinner. Our server Lile was very friendly our drinks came out very fast but our food came out VERY slow. from our drinks to dinner was 45 minutes. My daughters pizza came out at 30 minutes but then it just sat there waiting for the rest of the food to show up. I guess it comes out of a different "station" as Lile explained and he offered to put it under the warmer but I never send food back after watching the movie "Waiting". My husband had the Cuban tour and I had the skillet of seafood. Both of our dishes were very good- I have never had Cuban food so I cant tell you if it tasted authentic or not but we both really enjoyed out dinner. The yellow rice was so good but the skillet is huge so I couldn't finish it. We ordered our desserts to go because a storm was coming in and the restaurant was filling up. We were on DDP and there was some confusion with that-no clue what is was but he kept bringing me receipts and asking me to sign them and then taking them back and fixing them and getting me to sign them again. He was so nice it was hard to get irritated with him. Finally he handed my husband the four desserts to go and we walk out. About halfway across Downtown Disney(towards the Marketplace) my husband says the desserts are leaking down his legs. What?! We stop and he opens them up. They were supposed to be three chocolate cakes and some vanilla custard-they were four ???? of whip cream, cherries and ice cream?! Who packs ice cream to go?! REALLY?! It was 80+degrees outside! As much as Lile was nice this is where I finally got upset. I understand you have no control of how long food takes but you should at least check the boxes and make sure the food is right!!! Or that it wont come out at different times!!! So my husband asks me if I want to go back and get the right desserts as he stands there with and overtired, whining kid in one hand and take out dripping down his legs in the other as a thunderstorm rolls in still 10 minutes from the buses(I had no clue there were two bus stops!). Ummmmm, no honey-just throw them away. I don't think we will go back. Ever.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      AddictedtoDisney

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Delaware
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri August 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Live music inside n outside, friendly service, food
      Cons: N/A

       
      On our last night there we had 8pm reservations and enjoyed every moment. It was a busy night being that it was Friday so service was a bit slow but no complaints. The drinks and food were delicious and cooked to perfection.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      caleal

      Registered: March 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Fri April 19, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fun atmosphere
      Cons: slow service, subpar food

       
      I dined here on a Friday night (4/12). The atmosphere of this place is really fun. We sat on the patio which meant we had a good veiw of the courtyard and the DJ set up there for the night.
      The service was excrutiating slow, which was confusing because we'd technically had two wait staff - our official waitress and her helper. The entire meal took nearly two hours, and we'd only ordered two drinks, an app platter to share, and two entrees - and we're definitely not "leisurely" eaters who linger. We sat for a full 20 minutes between our plates being cleared and our check appearing.
      The food itself was semi-disappointing. We ordered the Bongos Combo appetizer platter to share. The fried stuffed potatoes were amazing. If I had only ordered a platter of these I'd probably be raving abuot the place. The rest of it was anywhere from boring (ham crouquettes reminded me of freezer cheesesticks) to disgusting (I couldn't finish the yucca cups).
      This continued with husband's entree. He ordered the Masitas de Puerco (marinated, fried pork). His pork was so dry he had trouble eating it - especially without the waters we'd ask for about half an hour earlier. On top of that, it tasted as if it hadn't been seasoned with anything.
      I had the Bistec Empanizado (breaded fried steak), which was definitely amazing - tons of flavor in the breading. I was not given a steak knife though, and my waitress never showed up so I could ask for one. So it was a bit difficult to saw through with my butter knife. The side dishes were pretty bland as well- black beans and rice and sweet plantains with very little flavor. I didn't hate them, but I didn't love them either.
      Overall, I don't think I'd bother going back. The price of the meal was definitely not reflected in the quality of the food or service.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LizFoley

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue December 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Dining Plan
      Cons: None!

       
      Food was tasty! Staff was gracious and accommodating.


      Just because it's Cuban doesn't mean it's spicy or weird, it's just a little different.


      Had a delicious meal -- I had a roasted chicken which was cooked perfectly (not too dry, nor was it underdone).


      We chose the churros for dessert which was probably the only thing that could use a tiny bit of improvement. I'd love to see different sauces rather than the traditional vanilla, chocolate, strawberry.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Sarahlynn

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Upstate NY
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Mon October 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We got last minute reservations for dinner on a Thursday evening in September. The food my husband and I ordered was very good! I had chicken with sweet plantains. His was a combo of chicken and pork (I think) with fried plantains. The black beans were delicious and I think my favorite part. We did not have dessert. I wish the childrens options had been more varied though. My kids ended up eating pizza that looked like it was frozen and prepared in microwave. I would have given it a high score if not for that.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dakotarose

      Registered: September 2012
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Wed September 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): tables on the balcony
      Cons: very noisy, rude waiter

       
      Met friends here for drinks and appetizers. No reservations so we waited 10 mins for a balcony table. After we placed our order, our waiter informed us that most people order dinner. I thanked him for the info, and said that appetizers and cocktails ($9 each by the way) would suffice for us. He said that if we take a table on a Saturday, we should at least order dinner -- the restaurant expects us to. A real charmer, don't you think?


      A third of the cafe's tables were empty at 8 PM on a Saturday. I would like to recommend this as a place for drinks and dancing (nice little dance floor) as it has a lively atmosphere. However, they don't want you to hang around and drink up (for $9 a cocktail). Clearly! So why the blaring loud dance club music then??? This place needs to resolve it's identity crisis. Go someplace else where your patronage is welcome.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bdlfe

      Registered: September 2012
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun September 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Haven't found any yet
      Cons: Limited QSDP options

       
      We went during lunch to try the takeout options using our QSDP. The only items using an adult credit are sandwiches, entrees are not available under the dining plan. We decided against getting a sandwich since we can get better value at Wolfgang Puck Express on the east side or Pollo Campero.
      So I ordered a kids pizza for my daughter using a child credit. They should not bother serving pizza since it was basically Ellio's.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      EpcotMom

      Registered: July 2006
      Location: Taunton, Massachusetts
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Sun August 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nothing
      Cons: Too loud, lackluster food

       
      Right from the start, the woman at the check in desk could not find our reservation, which annoyed her. She offered outside seating or we would need to wait. We chose to wait. We waited about 20 minutes, and were seated in a booth near the bar. Our group of 5 adults (three in their twenties, 2 in their fifties) all thought the restaurant was unbelievably loud, music blaring. We were unable to have a conversation without shouting.
      Our server was nice, but slow. Another review mentioned 15 minutes to take drink orders, 15 minutes to get them, etc.
      We ordered 3 Cuban Tour and 2 Chicken Milanese. The meat was stringy and bland. The Milanese has almost no sauce, an way too much cheese. None of us were impressed at all. The others had sorbet for dessert, which was already half melted and soupy. I had the rice pudding, which was the best thing I ate there. We were on the dining plan, thankfully, because all of us agreed that we would not have wanted to "pay" for that mess!! We will not be going to Bongos again!
      I see in other posts that people love the food. Perhaps it is our taste. However, I have a hard time believing that the servers who work there day after day aren't going to have severe hearing problems after being in that environment over time!. The loud music is the worst! We were happy to get outside!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Photographer

      Registered: June 2006
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Fri May 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Dining Plan
      Cons: Bad service, dead bugs, and more

       
      I will start by saying once I spoke to the manager, our meals were free but how we got to this point was a major headache.


      I was on the Disney Dining Plan and my friend was not. I have food allergies and relayed the info to our server. He came back saying they had fresh chicken and plantains they could make me. I had to ask for rice. Our meals came out in 5 minutes, a bad sign considering my meals always take longer to prepare.


      My chicken had been washed of its marinade with specs of black pepper (my allergy) left behind. The server took down the wrong order from my friend. She got some other dish with dry, hard chicken. Mine went back and the waiter returned to say the chef would ONLY make me the 1 vegetarian dish they offer, plantains, rice, and steamed veggies. I agreed because I was starving.


      My friend complained about her meal but nothing was done. Normally, a manager or chef talks over my allergies with me. I didn't see anyone until after I ate and requested to see him.


      I told him everything that happened and he apologized multiple times. I pointed out the 3 dead mosquitoes on our table as well. He comped our meals.


      I eat at a Miami chain, Sergio's, without problems. I can also enjoy food at El Pub in Little Havana, and at Cuban restaurants in CA. This was an awful experience. I'll never go back & it's a huge let down since I'm a big fan of Gloria Estefan.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      shellyboo70

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu March 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great atmosphere
      Cons:

       
      Food is wonderful, so are the drinks. Just know that they are truly on "island time" and the wait between order your dinner and receiving it can be lengthy....just enjoy... have a drink, an appetizer and relax.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Kaits Inside Dish

      Registered: December 2011
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sat December 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun atomsphere
      Cons: None

       
      As I entered Bongos, a Cuban Cafe in Downtown Disney I had a feeling that I was going to have a blog worthy review to write about. The interior of the restaurant had a warm Cuban feel to it. The walls, which were made of a white concrete were indented with palm trees and plants. Pictures constructed of colorful mosaic tiles were strategically positioned throughout the restaurant and all the windows had colorful stained glass, which added to the warm ambiance. There were also quite a few photographs and painted pictures of Gloria Estefan throughout the restaurant (her and her husband, Emilio Estefan are the owners of the restaurant). The bar, which was made of a bamboo like structure housed bar stools which were designed to resemble traditional Cuban drums. The restaurant was quite spacious with plenty of seating available, there was even a massive wrap around stair case located in the center of the restaurant leading to addition upstairs seating.


      After being seated, we immediately began with appetizers. We choose the bongos combo, which was basically a sampling of all the appetizers including Traditional Cuban Ham Croquettes, Cuban Mojo Marinated Fried Pork Bites, Fried Stuffed Potatoes, Pork Tamale, and the Stuffed Plantain Cups which included green plantains cups stuffed with minced beef . I obviously didn't eat any of this but I will admit it did look quite appetizing and had a very appealing smell. Everyone raved about the appetizers and said they were wonderful. We also ordered the Fried Green Plantains which was served with Cuban Mojo.Now this I did try and I can attest that it was incredible. The plantains were served crispy (they are fried twice) and had a very mild taste which was absolutely delicious when dipped in the Mojo sauce, made of olive oil, garlic, and a citrus juice. This is a very traditional Cuban snack known as Tostones con “Mojo”


      Bongos also offers live music, in fact we were serenaded by a maraschino band whom sang La Bamba for us! They did an excellent job of singing and playing their instruments. Bongos also houses a large stage stage area where guests can hear local Cuban bands play on select nights.


      After picking on appetizers and taking some time to review the very extensive menu, we ordered our entrées. I selected the Plato Vegetariano, which included carrots, broccoli, mixed green beans, Lima beans, and kidney beans, served with sweet plantains and white rice. I mixed everything together and added a splash or two of hot sauce, and it sure was delicious! The veggies were steamed and extremely crisp. Normally I am not much of a rice person, but the rice was extremely flavorful and had an almost sweet taste to it. The fried sweet plantains were absolutely incredible, the plantains had a crisp exterior but had a warm and soft inside, unlike the fried green plantains, these plantains were extremely sweet and flavorful and required no additional sauce to enhance the flavor.


      Everyone else at the table ordered Cuban sandwiches. Which came toasted and pressed and served with a side of fries. The Cuban Sandwich came with roasted pork, ham, pickles, swiss cheese, and mustard served on traditional Cuban bread. Everyone seemed to love their meal and said the combination of ingredients gave the sandwich a wonderful flavor. Too full to finish their meal, everyone at the table (excluding myself, I completely cleaned my plate), asked for to go boxes.


      Someone also ordered a side cup of black beans and shared them with the table so we could all have a taste. I had to remind myself after about the 10th taste as I dangerously neared the bottom of the cup that the black beans weren't mine alone. I think it was this simple side dish that made me fall in love with Bongos. The black beans were served thick like a soup and had such a vibrant flavor, I suspect this was due to the Cumin (one of my favorite spices) . I could have easily made a meal off of this.


      We left completely stuffed and quite satisfied with our meals at Bongos! Definitely a great restaurant to try. It has a great fun and uplifting atmosphere and the food is incredible. The menu is quite extensive and offers a large selection of chicken, pork, and seafood dishes.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      Ninna03

      Registered: November 2011
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sun November 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Authentic cuban cuisine
      Cons: None!

       
      This restaurant is so good that we ate there twice during our one week visit!


      The first time we went there was on a Monday night and the wait time was minimal. The second time was on a Thursday night and we had to wait 45 minutes, but we knew it was worth the wait.


      I have to admit that on Thursday night, I felt like we were rushed thru dinner because the place was so busy. The waitress never even offered dessert and brought the check right away after clearing the dishes.


      However, on Monday night they came around with a dessert sampler in shot glasses. It's a great idea because you get to pick a little something sweet without having to order a huge dessert or trying to convince someone to share with you. Smile


      The food is so delicious. I highly recommend this place!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Wendy Writes

      Registered: May 2010
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Tue September 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Evening
      Cons: none

       
      Sorry to see such bad rating for this restaurant. We had a fantastic dinner, 8 people, lots of good authentic dishes, great drinks. Wonderful service. Make sure you give this place a try, we were so glad we did.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mflannagan

      Registered: November 2009
      Location: Danvers,MA
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Thu June 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food
      Cons: service,noise

       
      We had been to Bongo's before (without kids) and enjoyed it. Maybe now that I have kids my tolerance for things have changed? We went there with 2 kids and 4 adults. We were informed that the 18% gratuity was included, which is fine. If the service is great I am willing to tip additional. Well, if I had the option to tip and it wasn't included it would have been 10%. One of the worst dining experiences service wise I have ever been a party to. It's so bad that 2 months later my 9 year old son still remembers the waitress' name. It took her 15 minutes to take our drink order. 15 minutes to get the drinks. another 20 minutes to get our food order. You get the picture. Slow, and not really caring about any of it. We saw this happen with all the tables she was waiting on. Then we saw tables that another waiter was taking care of, he had 6 tables (she had 3) he turned them over so quick, he never stopped moving. People who sat down 30 minutes after us, were onto the main course while we still waited and waited for ours. It's a shame, the food is really good, and the drinks are great, but the time that we sat and sat, took away from the potentially good time we could have had.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MinnieMouseMama

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Princeton, IL
      Posts: 48
      Review Date: Fri April 29, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food
      Cons: too loud for conversation

       
      Let me start by saying that DH is a grad of University of Miami and LOVES Cuban food. He is happy eating here. Our waiter was attentive and the food was good. I had pork and he had the steak with a chimi sauce. Our big complaint is the noise. It's just plain too loud. We had friends with us and it was impossible to converse. When spending $150 for a meal for 6 I'd like to be able to chat without shouting. Some music is fun, this was not!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.