Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • kestondisney

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Tue July 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 1 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Quality of food and cooking

      This was just awful!
      Got a walk up table which should probably have been a clue.
      My wife had a salad and a peperoni pizza. She said the pizza was worse than a frozen supermarket version. I tried a bite and could only agree. It was also very small.
      The three others all had the penne Bolognese, figured they could not get this to far wrong in an Italian themed restaurant. Wrong....I have never seen and orangey yellow Bolognese sauce before, which tasted how looked.
      This place sums up Disney dining which is with very few exceptions, overpriced and very poor quality. It has got worse since the launch of the ubiquitous Dining plan. This has led to the quality being reduced presumably to improve profit margins.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Fri January 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice location overlooking the lagoon
      Cons: food

      It has been years since we have eaten at Portobello, so we decided to try it again last month (Dec 2013).
      We had ressies for 7pm, but got there about 6:30. Luckily they weren't busy, and were able to seat us early. (tables are way too close together)
      We were on the DDP, and ordered the fried calamari & rice balls as appetizers. Both were delicious. The calamari was lightly breaded and cooked to perfection, not chewy at all, and the rice balls were hot & oozing with mozzarella. The marinara sauce was very good too. Unfortunately that was the best part of our meal.
      Hubby ordered spaghetti & meatballs, and I ordered the lasagna. Hubby said his was just ok, nothing special. I on the other hand was served a slice of lasagna that was hard (like 3-day leftovers) and was iced cold in the middle. Our server did offer to get me something else, but I was already turned off by the place, and just wanted to get the check and go. The manager came over to apologize, and said there must be a problem with the ovens, and assured me the lasagna was made fresh everyday (although I truly doubt that!). Being we were on the DDP, there was no way to take my meal off, so they took our appetizers off the tab, which we were fine with.
      I certainly would not go here again, once I have a bad food experience someplace, that pretty much finishes it for me. I would not recommend Portobello to anybody after my experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2006
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed April 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great waiter, Great Food
      Cons: Not a one

      My wife and I ate an early lunch here during February Vacation. Our waiters name was Zak. He was friendly, but professional. Zak made of feel comfortable throughout our dining experience. I had the Gnocci with Nona's Ragu-out of this world, and my wife had a roasted vegetable sandwich with goat cheese, that she continues to rave about. We shard dessert. A chocolate toffee cake with a scoop of espresso gelato. Incredible!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed December 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Not good for children with food allergies

      We had dinner here last week. While the food on the adult menu was good, I must warn you not to take children with food allergies here. My son is allergic to pecans, so we avoid all tree nuts. Upon sitting down and telling the waitress this, she then told us what he could NOT have off the children’s menu — just a about everything except grilled steak, fish and chicken. They apparently use some type of flour for all their bread products and pizza dough that contains nuts. Really? So we had a very unhappy nine year old who could not eat the rolls, pizza or meatballs (breadcrumbs). I’m sure if he were ordering off the standard menu there would have been more choices but with an already limited childrens menu, it was not a good night.

      A positive was that the waitress was extremely knowledgable about the menu and did give us great information as to why he should avoid each item, but no really any alternatives. With so many other restaurants that are more allergy friendly, I wouldn’t bother with this one again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2008
      Location: New Orleans
      Posts: 52
      Review Date: Thu May 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: Just mediocre Italian food

      I ate here for the first time in April with a group of 7 adults. Nothing to write home about. The Italian food wasn't anything better then most chains. The server wasn't exactly keeping up well either. Definitely not on my list to try again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Jax, FL
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Sun March 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fast& friendly service
      Cons: menu selection

      The food was good, I'm not much of an Italian food fan, but the wife is. Only gripe I had was not very many choices on the lunch menu, mainly pizza, pastas, and sandwiches.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2006
      Location: Cary, IL
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Fri February 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cappucino Gelato, Steak, Fish, Service, drinks
      Cons: Bread was hard, Peach drinks were awful

      This was our first visit to Portobello's and we absolutely loved it. I was in a party of 11 with a number of kids. Tiffany, our waitress was outstanding and very patient with us. The flank steak (rare) was the best flank steak I every had. The fish and pasta dishes were also incredible. Everyone ordered a non-alcoholic specialty drink and they were all yummy, except the peach flavored drinks. The cappucino gelato was AMAZING!!!!! One of the best desserts I have ever had. If you are on the Disney dining plan, you have to go.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.