Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Irishrabbit

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Fri January 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice location overlooking the lagoon
      Cons: food

       
      It has been years since we have eaten at Portobello, so we decided to try it again last month (Dec 2013).
      We had ressies for 7pm, but got there about 6:30. Luckily they weren't busy, and were able to seat us early. (tables are way too close together)
      We were on the DDP, and ordered the fried calamari & rice balls as appetizers. Both were delicious. The calamari was lightly breaded and cooked to perfection, not chewy at all, and the rice balls were hot & oozing with mozzarella. The marinara sauce was very good too. Unfortunately that was the best part of our meal.
      Hubby ordered spaghetti & meatballs, and I ordered the lasagna. Hubby said his was just ok, nothing special. I on the other hand was served a slice of lasagna that was hard (like 3-day leftovers) and was iced cold in the middle. Our server did offer to get me something else, but I was already turned off by the place, and just wanted to get the check and go. The manager came over to apologize, and said there must be a problem with the ovens, and assured me the lasagna was made fresh everyday (although I truly doubt that!). Being we were on the DDP, there was no way to take my meal off, so they took our appetizers off the tab, which we were fine with.
      I certainly would not go here again, once I have a bad food experience someplace, that pretty much finishes it for me. I would not recommend Portobello to anybody after my experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      grandflo89

      Registered: January 2006
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed April 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great waiter, Great Food
      Cons: Not a one

       
      My wife and I ate an early lunch here during February Vacation. Our waiters name was Zak. He was friendly, but professional. Zak made of feel comfortable throughout our dining experience. I had the Gnocci with Nona's Ragu-out of this world, and my wife had a roasted vegetable sandwich with goat cheese, that she continues to rave about. We shard dessert. A chocolate toffee cake with a scoop of espresso gelato. Incredible!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      murphyka

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: New Jersey
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed December 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: Not good for children with food allergies

       
      We had dinner here last week. While the food on the adult menu was good, I must warn you not to take children with food allergies here. My son is allergic to pecans, so we avoid all tree nuts. Upon sitting down and telling the waitress this, she then told us what he could NOT have off the children’s menu — just a about everything except grilled steak, fish and chicken. They apparently use some type of flour for all their bread products and pizza dough that contains nuts. Really? So we had a very unhappy nine year old who could not eat the rolls, pizza or meatballs (breadcrumbs). I’m sure if he were ordering off the standard menu there would have been more choices but with an already limited childrens menu, it was not a good night.


      A positive was that the waitress was extremely knowledgable about the menu and did give us great information as to why he should avoid each item, but no really any alternatives. With so many other restaurants that are more allergy friendly, I wouldn’t bother with this one again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      debsil4

      Registered: August 2008
      Location: New Orleans
      Posts: 47
      Review Date: Thu May 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: Just mediocre Italian food

       
      I ate here for the first time in April with a group of 7 adults. Nothing to write home about. The Italian food wasn't anything better then most chains. The server wasn't exactly keeping up well either. Definitely not on my list to try again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tjm6515

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Jax, FL
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Sun March 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fast& friendly service
      Cons: menu selection

       
      The food was good, I'm not much of an Italian food fan, but the wife is. Only gripe I had was not very many choices on the lunch menu, mainly pizza, pastas, and sandwiches.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sheridanclan6

      Registered: February 2006
      Location: Cary, IL
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Fri February 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cappucino Gelato, Steak, Fish, Service, drinks
      Cons: Bread was hard, Peach drinks were awful

       
      This was our first visit to Portobello's and we absolutely loved it. I was in a party of 11 with a number of kids. Tiffany, our waitress was outstanding and very patient with us. The flank steak (rare) was the best flank steak I every had. The fish and pasta dishes were also incredible. Everyone ordered a non-alcoholic specialty drink and they were all yummy, except the peach flavored drinks. The cappucino gelato was AMAZING!!!!! One of the best desserts I have ever had. If you are on the Disney dining plan, you have to go.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Disneydreamers3

      Registered: March 2011
      Location: USA
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sun November 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious food!
      Cons: none

       
      DELICIOUS!!! The Misti(appetizer)is a must! We had 4:30 reservations and that was considered lunch,I reccomend it because it is same menu as dinner, cheaper prices, decent portions. We shared appetizer and had a pasta dish each and were more than satisfied.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      slamborne

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Rockledge, FL
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri October 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service
      Cons:

       
      We passed this restaurant so many times on the way to T-Rex with kids or Fultons with other adults. I am so glad we decided to try it today. We ordered two of their specialty drinks: Acqua de mare and raspbasilico. Both were delicious. We ordered the stuffed mozz to share for an appetizer. Also delicious. Then came warm crusty rolls with awhole roasted garlic and olive oil. We could have made a meal just out of that. For dinner I had the mushroom wood-oven baked pizza and my husband had the rigatoni. Both were great. We tried the biramisu for dessert. It is tiramisu but made with beer instead of espresso. I don't like beer, but it was good although a bit too sweet. Our waitress (Malena) did not rush the courses and because it was our anniversary she put a candle in the dessert and belted out an amazing opera style anniversay song. We will definitly be back to try other items on the menu that looked tempting.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      nessz79

      Registered: November 2007
      Location: Naples, FL
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Sat October 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Location and view
      Cons: Food, slow service

       
      Unfortunately, the view couldn't make up for the lackluster food and slow service. We aren't picky by any means but we left this place disappointed. The view can't be beat on the water, especially if you can get a seat outside. You can watch the boats go by along with various fishing birds. However, the food was dry and disappointing. I had the Margherita pizza and my husband had a soup and sandwich. My pizza was on dry, thin bread. Not the kind of crisp thin crust you might be thinking about, but this dry bread with no taste. It was about half covered with a thin sauce, clumpy cheese, and thin strips of basil. Just not what I expect. My husband's sandwich was supposed to be somewhat like a calzone filled with cheese, tomatoes, and basil. However, the filling was very scarce and was mostly bread. It wasn't especially filling.
      In addition, the service was very slow. Although the waitress was very nice she seemed to be too spread out as there would be 20-30 minutes where we didn't see her. What should have been a relaxed but not too long lunch turned into a very long experience as we waited for our waitress to show up again.
      This place has such great potential with its beautiful location and the promise of good Italian food.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.