Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • omalley1118

      Registered: May 2007
      Location: NJ
      Posts: 52
      Review Date: Sun November 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Not run well, didn't honor reservation

       
      I made my online reservation, like all Disney obsessed people, at the earliest possible day. Our reservation was for 7:30 last night. I checked in at 7:05 and was told they were "running a bit behind". I went back at 7:50 and was told they weren't sure when they could seat us. At 8:10 I was told "I am not sure when we can seat you, but there are at least 8 parties ahead of you." I have a broken foot and am wearing a boot cast. I need to NOT stand that long. The only seating is outside where it's cold. At that point, we gave up and ordered pizza back at Kidani.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JoeyO11

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun August 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good atmosphere
      Cons: Food was ok, Crowded and expensive

       
      We went without any reservations to see the wait. They got us in by the bar instead of waiting 2 hrs. The experience was ok. But way too noisy and the food was just ok. For $150 for 5 people was not great value or worth the experience. Could have found a better option but kids were hungry. Look elsewhere.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      angiem0217

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Wed February 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      We were on the DDP and ate here for lunch. My 6 year old loved all the animals and the food was really good. We had a good waitress and really enjoyed our lunch. We had ADR and still had to wait for 25 minutes. They have a cool gift shop so it was not a big deal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hello12345

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Thu December 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Above average food
      Cons: price, limited menu

       
      We walked up on 12/01/13 at 4pm with no reservation and were told to come back at 5pm. We arrived back early at 4:45pm and we were called a few minutes later. The service was above average. I have ate at T-Rex before. The menu at Rainforest was considerably more limited when compared to T-Rex. We ordered some cheeseburgers, Chicken parm, and grilled chicken something. The food was above average to maybe good. Not worth the price though. The meal with no drinks or apps was over $90 for 4 people. The same stuff at Chili's or Applebee's would have been $50-60 at most. The atmosphere at Rainforest is boring compared to T-Rex, and I'm not really a fan of T-Rex either.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nursenita

      Registered: February 2008
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri November 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): did not have to wait long
      Cons: food,

       
      Just not for us. Did not enjoy the food, a lot of food but not good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jallears

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun August 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food was quick after ordered server was nice
      Cons: one hour wait after reservation time of 8:00 & rude management

       
      We just enjoyed 6 nights at the Saratoga Springs Resort with the dining plan. We were impressed by the customer service at the Coral Reef, Cinderella's Royal Table, Chef France, and the Turf Club. We had short but reasonable waits.


      On our last night at Disney, we went to
      Downtown Disney, for an 8:00 p.m. reservation at Rainforest Cafe. We were concerned we might be late and called. They told us that if we
      were 15 or 20 minutes late they would put us in with general seating. (No one mentioned they were running an hour behind). We rushed and
      we arrived just before 8:00 and were through the line posted "reservation check in" by 8:01 as noted on the white slip we were given, which also said call time 8:21. We were told they would just need 15 to 20 minutes to set up our table. We debated about taking our two toddlers to ride the carousel and do some shopping for souvenirs. We decided not to leave as they would be calling us in 15 to 20
      minutes.


      As 8:21 came and went and I was pushing a double stroller around the crowded store. I asked one of the employees if they were
      running behind. She returned to let us know they were 11 minutes behind, which would take us to 8:32 from the time on our white slip; still not enough time to take our older son to the Lego store. At 8:30 my son asked about our name and was told there were 2 parties ahead
      of us. At 8:45 and after hearing 4 names called, I asked again and they clarified 2 parties of 5 before us. I then asked a manager how the
      reservation system was working and if they were honoring reservations. He said this is how it works at any Disney restaurant. I told him we had been here for six days and we had always gotten right in. There was no apology or customer service attitude.


      We finally got called at 8:50 and were sent to another line where we were asked if we had a white ticket. I said yes, our girls were given frog hats, we were told to park our stroller, and again we waited. Four more parties were called. I noticed they were reading the tickets. I asked the employee who handed me the hats for the girls if she needed my ticket and if that is why we hadn't been called. She snapped back, "Yes I have been asking if you have white tickets" I explained that she asked me and I said yes. (We don't know all of the many systems at Disney. For example at the entrance to the fast pass line, they ask if you have a fast pass but don't take it until later in the line one, you show it and say yes, and another person on down the line takes the ticket. We need to know if you need the ticket.) I gave it to her and we finally sat down at 8:59 p.m.


      I asked the server if there was anything they could do about an hour wait time after our reservation. She went and got another manager, who came and asked about the
      situation. I told her we waited an hour after our reservation time. She replied, "You mean your preferred seating time?" I said no we had an
      actual reservation. She said they don't take reservations and that they give Disney dining club members preferred seating over walk up
      customers, but there's no guarantee. I signed in under a sign that said reservation sign in though. She said the wait was usually half an hour and that they were running behind half an hour that night. This was not what was told to us initially (15 to 20 minutes just to get to the
      table ready) or after checking (running 11 minutes late). We could have spent that hour shopping in Downtown Disney buying the kids
      souvenirs, or riding the carousel. The said she would buy us a dessert, which was already on our dining plan, but then we settled on a Childs
      meal and was reluctant to do that. Management was very unapologetic and stated conflicting information and policies.


      I will say that the server rushed our toddlers meals out and got our food in a timely manner. Maybe we were spoiled by Disney customer service the rest of the week, but this night was anything but magical on our last night at Disney.


      After three separate emails to wdw.guest.communications@disney.com I got am email from the General Manager of Rainforest Cafe. Here is my synopsis of that conversation that I sent back to guest communications. I spoke to their GM who emailed me yesterday (first contact and I called back on the same day). He apologized but also confirmed that they do not honor reservations (no answer as to the sign that says reservation check in) and they put Disney dining club members into "preferred seating." "It is a business decision and they would lose money if they held tables." It would have been nice to know this up front instead of the "15 to 20 minutes just to get the table ready" that we were quoted upon arrival and additional extensions of time each time we asked. I believe the treatment we received and one hour wait time with no communication is unacceptable, but I understand that they choose to run their business that way and Disney cannot do much to correct it. After the phone call, which was cordial, it was clear that the treatment we received was a result of the tone at the top. The only person who treated us with customer service was the server (of course they have the incentive of a tip).


      If we want fairy dust, we will have to stick with Disney parks and resorts in the future.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jdduncan

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: Atlanta, GA
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu June 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): animals go nuts every few minutes
      Cons: limited disney dining menu & mediocre food

       
      We ate here for dinner on June 23, 2013 around 9:00 pm. We had 9:30 reservations and showing up early paid off, as we were seated within minutes. The animatronic gorillas and elephants were not right at our table, but they did put on a little show every five minutes or so, which our little girl enjoyed. That was the sum total of positives with dinner, unfortunately.


      We love the Disney Deluxe Dining plan, and were using it on this trip. Rainforest Cafe seems like they would prefer you didn't though, because they limit both the appetizer selection and desert selection without any association with price. A $16 appetizer, for example, could be shared by two people, but their $18 sampler somehow can only be shared between four people. It isn't as if we wanted to pig out, but I have a real problem with this non-Disney location putting on heirs like they are too good to open their menu up for the dining plans. The food is simply not good enough to stick their noses in the air.


      So we had cheese sticks and a dip for appetizers. Meh. I ordered a tempura dish with sticky rice as my entree, but they were out of the sticky rice so I had the option of choosing other rice (not a different dish, of course). Rice was way too dry, and my wife's steak was nothing special. Deserts again were limited, so we got plain old chocolate cake. Food was nowhere near on par with typical Disney-run restaurants.


      Wait staff was lacking that Disney cheer, too. Our server seemed put off to have to explain how our meal plan worked, and even more annoyed when we needed refills on our beverages. Whereas Disney cast members at least act like they enjoy their jobs, this girl obviously wanted to be elsewhere. I can take this attitude at home, but when I go to Disney I expect a better experience.


      If your kids just have to eat here, just know that you'll be spending the money on decor rather than actual food. We did it once, but won't make the mistake a second time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ldk72

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sat May 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quick seating
      Cons:

       
      Having the Landry's card allowed us almost immediate seating both times we ate here. Very good service and our servers always accommodated changes to the menu. The awesome appetizer is not only good, but literally it becomes an entree instead of an appetizer for up to two people. The atmosphere in the restaurant is very fun and vibrant in color. Its become a tradition to eat here every time we are @ Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      chrisfam4

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Thu April 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Neat setting/atmosphere
      Cons: wait, food, prices

       
      My family dined here on 4/1 for dinner. It was a special request as a birthday dinner by one member of our party. We were about 15 minutes late for our 6PM reservation but that quickly turned into 30 minutes as we got in the wrong line for check in. There needs to be overhead signs for standby and reservations. We were seated an hour after our reservation time. Strike one! We were in the gorilla room in a back corner but really there are very few bad tables. Our waitress Valerie was awesome. She tried very hard to fulfill every request. She was attentive and offered to bring the kids meals ASAP which was much appreciated. Our meals however were severly delayed and we didn't eat for at least 45 minutes after we ordered. Strike two. We had a minor roach issue - on the floor, NOT the food - strike three. A manager was sent over. She appologized profusely and offered to comp our appetizers and give us a free Volcano dessert. By this time we just wanted to leave. It was our first night and thankfully we were too happy to be "in the world" to let it dampen our spirits. It is the LAST time we will visit this restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      shadowpup

      Registered: November 2006
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Tue March 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: Service

       
      It is great to go once to experience the atmosphere. Beautiful! The food was OK. Nothing special. If it wasn't for the dining plan, we probably would have been upset over the prices. The menu has a lot of choices. Server was horrible. He kept trying to talk to us over the animals instead of waiting a few minutes for them to be quiet. It was very hard to hear him.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mrsfarrellhob

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Hoboken, NJ
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Mon February 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Bar seating, service
      Cons: Food, prices

       
      I am never eating here again! The "natural" (aka vegetarian) burger smelled like feet and tasted worse. And it was served with what I'm pretty sure were potato chips from a bag.


      The service was friendly and attentive, but it did nothing to make up for the terrible and OVER PRICED food! I paid $20 w/ tip for a sandwich and a drink. That night, I paid $26 w/ tip for a MEAL and drink at a sit-down restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      brittniqueen

      Registered: February 2013
      Location: Georgia
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Fri February 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): chocolate volcano!
      Cons: Atmosphere, waitress

       
      It was a good meal we ate here on Jan 30 2013. I would not come back though. They had a special shrimp trio that me and my DH both got which was really good. But our dinner started out waiting 10 minutes for our waitress to even come to our table and another 15 minutes before our drinks arrived, and they arrived by another waitress. Then the meal was good. We were on the dining plan and shared the chocolate volcano dessert which was amazing! And I am not a big cake person! Then again, we asked for the check which took 10 minutes for her to bring. My parents were done and paid but we were waiting on my check which took the waitress 25 minutes to finally bring to the table. We had to get the manager involved which all he did was say I'm sorry. The worst part about the service was that they were completely dead!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Sheriff

      Registered: December 2012
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Sat December 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was good, Service was good, Dessert, Decor
      Cons: Kind of loud at times, Pricey

       
      This was our lunch on our go home day. Got there early and right as they were opening. We were seated and served as soon as we walked in. A little over-price for my taste but it is what to be expected at a novelty restaurant. Got a little loud at times when the animals were active.
      The food was great. The Volcano dessert was incredible.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NOSaintsfan1970

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: NO Louisiana
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sun November 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): the animals and fish tanks
      Cons: none that I can think of

       
      This is becoming a tradition for me and my wife. We go eat lunch there the moment we arrive at Disney. We made a reservation this time and it makes it so much easier. We learned our lesson last time. We didn't have to wait long but we saw how busy it could be. Do yourself a favor, make reservations to avoid the wait it's easy you can make it online.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bolter

      Registered: December 2010
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Tue November 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere was fun,
      Cons: nothing negative, but nothing notable either

       
      The food was good enough, with plenty of choices. Everything was just normal in flavor, not bad or anything, but no wow factor. I would eat here again, but I wouldn't go out of my way to do it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.