Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Harrimans

      Registered: October 2009
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri July 10, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Characters, entertainment & food
      Cons: Price, very crowded

       
      Very expensive but a great night.


      The food was much better than I expected. Much more than just hot dogs and hamburgers. The unlimited ice cream as well as the beer and sangria add some value. I think I saw one kid eat a half dozen Mickey bars.


      Great interaction with the characters. They alternate dancing with the crowd of kids and appearing over at the sides for photo ops. They will stay at the end of the night until everyone who wants to meet them has had a chance. Very unique costume theming.


      There is a western style show that is a bit cheesy but fun. Also a trick roper that is pretty cool. Lots of fun music and just a great atmosphere.


      It really doesn't matter where you sit as the characters move around and you can see from everywhere...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mzznlink

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Central Virginia
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Tue July 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Interacting with the characters
      Cons: Too short

       
      It had been about 18 years since we went to Mickey's Backyard BBQ, the kids are now 21 - 33. This time we had an addition, my son's wife and our 1 year old granddaughter. She had a blast with the characters and loved swinging her arms to the music. Food was good, especially considering they have to lay it out for all those people. Adults had fun too. I just wish it was a little longer. It was July 4th so afterwards we went to the beach to watch the fireworks at MK.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dclagett

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue May 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Our kids were able to interact with the characters
      Cons: none

       
      Mickey's Backyard BBQ was the BEST event of our trip. We had 7 kids in our group, ages 2-9 and they all loved it. We arrived at 5:30 and were able to meet Chip & Dale & Goofy for pics and autographs and get in line for seating. We had 17 in our group and had been told to arrive early to be sure we could sit together. No problems! The food was fantastic as well, especially the ribs, pulled pork BBQ and mac & cheese. The kids really enjoyed dancing with the Characters and the band was fun. Here's a hint... during the rope trick show, watch for Mickey & Minnie greeting guests outside the shelter for pictures and autographs. You'll need to get in line early for this opportunity but it's worth it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      GNesty

      Registered: November 2007
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun November 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of food and drinks
      Cons: Just not a great show

       
      We attended the October 24th show and I really hate to say it but it just was not up to par. Yes you run into rude people who won't sit down so you can see and push there way to get a good table and as we witnessed even if your kid is screaming, crying will make them take there picture with a character however it was just lacking something. Food was plentiful, hot and considering the amount of people they were feeding not bad, plenty of beer, wine and soda for the everyone. Band was good, service too, but honestly for the price we paid we should have done the Luau again or HDD. Or even one of the nicer restaurants on property.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jlk806

      Registered: February 2009
      Location: Lancaster, NY
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Sat February 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Fun
      Cons: We didnt find any really

       
      We loved it. Went in early September. It was NOT unbearably hot as other reviews would suggest. It was hot out, but it wasn't uncomfortable in the pavilion. We got seated at the allergy table, as our son has a tree nut allergy. We had a great view of everything. The food was great we thought, though our family enjoys picnic food. We love hot dogs, cornbread and ribs. Everything we had tasted great and we especially liked everything on the buffet was safe for our tree nut allergic son. The included wine and beer was nice also.


      One annoyance: Mickey & Minnie posed for pictures on their break obviously a line formed, everyone in line was told they would pose for pictures until a specific song began playing, then they would up and head back to the dance floor. You would think people in line would be courteous enough to just take a picture and move on, but no, out came those darn autograph books, some families with 5-6 of them! I thought that was SOOO rude of them, there are a million opps to get autographs and now their insistence on collecting autographs would lead to some not happy children who wouldn't even get to get their picture taken because these people sucked up the time. We were among the first in line, took a picture, let our son give a quick hug and moved on but couldn't believe some people.


      Our son was just 4, is quite shy and wasn't interested in getting up and dancing with the characters. He just enjoyed the music and watching everything. We had a great time and it is on our list of reservations to make for our next trip. It depends what you expect from these events how satisfied or disappointed you will be. If you go into it expecting 1-on-1 character constant interaction and a gourmet meal, you will be disappointed. If you are looking for decent food (depending on your taste palate, we love picnic foods), cute entertainment, and the characters and understand that the characters aren't there just for you, but to entertain hundreds, you will have fun. Its all about perspective! And I had read many reviews before booking this (and are every-year Disney trippers) so I'm really glad the negativity didn't sway me!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mom of Princess Lover

      Registered: November 2012
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue January 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Ok food and plenty of it
      Cons: Not worth 2 meal plan choices

       
      My family and I (my husband, 4 year old daughter and myself) wanted to go to one dinner show during our stay at Disney. We were going to pick the Hoop Dee Do musical review since we had heard so much good about it. My travel agent suggested that Mickey's Backyard BBQ, would be a much better pick for a 4 year old and that we would love this show.


      So we arrived a little over an hour early (as we were advised to do) so that we would get a good seat, since it is first come, first serve. We were the second family in line and by the time we were taken out to the area where some of the character's were signing autographs and taking pictures, we were like the 4th or 5th family in line...such rude people. But we didn't bother saying anything...not Disney's fault. Well we were giving horrible seats...we were right beside the stage...literally beside it so really we couldn't see all that well. I thought that being since we were almost first in line, they would seat those people front and center.


      The food was pretty good, it was hot and they came and refilled the food so that everyone could go back for more if they wanted. Free refills on beer and wine and a nice dessert selection.


      The show was entertaining, would have enjoyed it much more if we would of had a better seat. Soo overcrowded though...they need to regulate the crowds better. Too many people/kids for their to be enough room for them all to get up and dance.


      The characters didn't seem to want to be bothered with the kids...I didn't expect one on one time with the characters but I would have liked for my daughter to have gotten to at least be a little close to them. So since we were fighting to see the character's you really didn't get to enjoy the meal.


      All of this and we just spent 2 meal choices! Never again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Nonnadee

      Registered: January 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri January 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None
      Cons: Food, never got close to a character

       
      Don't waste your money. We went on Christmas Day as a special treat for our children. When we booked we were not told that the menu selection was not the typical BBQ dinner that they advertise. It was dried out smoked turkey and ham, both were nothing more than lunch meat. Only a couple sides and for dessert it was ice cream or pumpkin pie. We were told it was two tables of dessert selections, this was so untrue. Also, to get our meals we had to wait in long lines only to be so unimpressed with the ridiculous selection (so not Disney quality) and it was so picked over and very unappetizing. After being told to be there 45 minutes prior to the reservation, with young children that was ridiculous. Finally being seated (the entertainment was already in progress) it was so large we didn't even see the stage. Not one character ever made it to our table. We had enough and spoke to the manager whereby we learned that since it was a holiday they change the menu (down graded it). So not worth the ridiculous amount of money they want for such a terrible meal. We have been to many other Disney Character meals and loved them! This one is not worth your money.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bamabelle1982

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: Alabama
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon December 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
      Cons: Too much show to be able to enjoy food

       
      Considering we used two dining meal tickets with this meal, I was probably the most disappointed. The show starting early would be fine - IF it were just a show. But almost as soon as you sit down with your food, they are bringing out the characters to dance with the kids. I would've loved to have been able to enjoy a little bit of my food without feeling rushed or having to get up and down with my son. The food was great, there was just no time to enjoy it. I wouldn't waste my time doing this again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      princessheather314

      Registered: December 2012
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed December 5, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun, good food, kids can be kids
      Cons: little crowded and RUDE people

       
      We went to this event on December 2. We celebrated my daughters 5th birthday. We had a group of 11 people under 2 different reservations. The staff allowed us to save room for the rest of party until they arrived. The food was good, the band was great, the staff was super friendly, the facility was CLEAN and the kids had a ball. We had a birthday cake specially made and they went out of their way to make sure it was a special evening for my daughter. Characters took pictures (which we were NOT expecting) and there weren't so many people that it was a miserable time. We had a blast. My only complaint is the amount of RUDE people (which was EVERYWHERE in Disney and NOT Disney's fault!)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Sun September 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): live entertainment, chance to dance with characters
      Cons: access to characters

       
      We went to Backyard BBQ on 9/13. Transportation to the Pavillion isn't easy. We had our own car so we drove to Ft Wilderness and then took a bus to the Settlement. We arrived 45 mins before 6:30 reservation. Then we had to walk a little ways to the pavillion.


      Our 25 pound 1-year old was sleeping in his stroller. When we got there we were told that we had to take him out of the stroller. My husband asked if we could keep him in until dinner and then turn in the stoller and was told "NO".


      Chip, Dale and Goofy had been taking pictures and signing autographs but we got there just as they were finishing. So we didn't get a chance to get a picture. (we really don't need their autographs at this point, but a picture would have been nice).


      It was about this time where we saw 2 other strollers (both empty) ahead of us in line. I went back up to the CM taking strollers and asked if we could have ours back for our baby because he was sleeping and is so heavy to hold onto. Again, I was told "NO". I told them that I just wanted it to wait in line and that I would turn it in before entering the pavillion for dinner. I pointed out the two strollers that were in line and was told "it would be taken care of".....it never was. Yet, the CM wouldn't give me back my stroller to wait in the 45-minute line for dinner.


      When it was time to be seated my husband saw what appeared to be a manager and asked him what the policy on strollers was, since there appeared to be inconsistencies. He told us that there is no policy. We asked why our stroller was taken away from a sleeping baby and he told us that it shouldn't have been. Excuse - "new CM". I accepted his seemingly insincere apology.


      Our party of 11 was given a table in the back with a highchair. The food was plentiful and there are free adult beverages. There was Ribs, BBQ chicken, beans, potato salad (best thing on the buffet), cornbread, slaw, watermelon. Then for dessert there were a few choices of popsicles and Mickey Bars.


      The show was entertaining, especiallly the rope trick, although it was hard to see in the back. My kids enjoyed dancing with the characters. Mickey and Minnie were harder to access. they went off to the side to do autographs and pictures. The line was QUITE long. So they didn't dance as much as Goofy, Chip and Dale.


      My request for this meal would be to just take a picture of each group as they arrive with the characters, like they do at many other character meals. Perhaps, a total ban on autograph books would also help. That would make pictures go faster.


      Not sure if we will try again anytime soon. May wait until our baby is out of a stroller.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mjcgodz1997

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: Ohio
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Wed June 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and FUN
      Cons: Nothing

       
      Originally could not get a "resi" for this through WDWDINE. Went to the front desk at the Fort, where we were staying and talked to the CM. A few key strokes and he had us in. He mentioned that WDWDINE is only allowed so many spots in any dining experience, the rest are saved for the CM's at the front desk to accommodate their guests. Also he mentioned that even if the concierge can't get you in, if you show up at the front entrance to the pavilion at 4:30 or so, the leader back there can get u in about 85% of the time. This must be true, as we were told by WDWDINE that they were booked solid, the CM at our front desk got us in, and there was plenty of room at the tables for probably 60 or more people. The DW and I talked about how sad it is that some families who really wanted this experience missed out when they could have been in attendance. They have two lists that they have where you can put down a birthday or other special occasion that you want "shouted out" during the evening. I put down that my wife was recently promoted to Staff Sergeant in the Air Force Reserve. They went out of their way to have the whole family come up front and be recognized. They even had our 8 year old daughter come up and call out the characters after one of their breaks. It was truly a magical moment. THANK YOU DISNEY.
      Click here to see this users profile  

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.