Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • debg32

      Registered: August 2006
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 69
      Review Date: Mon May 29, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Entertainment
      Cons: Seating

       
      It had been many years since we did this and decided to do it this trip since friends were with us. The food was okay. The ribs were good but the beans were cold. The corn bread was good but I miss the strawberry vinaigrette dressing on the salad. The one they have now was too spicy for me taste. The chicken was good but the strawberry shortcake needed more strawberries and less cake. The show is always entertaining and we all enjoyed it. Since the only seating available was Tier 3, we had no choice. If you choose to use the Tier 3 seating, everyone sits in one line so you cannot hold a conversation with anyone other than the two people seated next to you. The chairs turn so you can see the show. However, you cannot see what is happening directly below you. Everyone should do this once. It is fun.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Momof4

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Fri March 3, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ???
      Cons: Cost, food

       
      This one was tough for me. We've all heard of the Hoop Dee Doo and everyone loves it and I wanted to, I really, really wanted to but.... C'mon. 4 adults (actually 2 parents and 2 teens) $300 bucks, fried chicken, and cheesy entertainment. First off, they stuff you in there. I was constantly getting bumped by someone. The food is fine- fried chicken, ribs, mashed potatoes, corn, beans and salad but again $300. Unlimited beer and wine is only possible if you can get a server to bring it to you. We had a total of 3 beers at our table. I also understand that I'm paying for a dinner show and while I did laugh a few times I just don't understand the hype. I'm glad after 40 years of traveling to Disney that I finally went but will I be back? Not a chance! And I am thankful that my kids grinned and beared it without any complaints!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fantabulously Cherry

      Registered: February 2017
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri February 10, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything!
      Cons: Nothing!

       
      This was my first experience with HDDMR after 11 previous WDW trips. It did not disappoint in any way! The food was excellent and the show was very entertaining. Since we were there in December, we caught the Christmas version. I still have Sixpence singing "I Ain't Gettin' Nuttin' For Christmas" stuck in my head!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      King Ezekiel

      Registered: January 2017
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Fri January 6, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Most food is great, you'll have a wonderful time, never gets old
      Cons: Price keeps going up, some of the food is less than great

       
      I visited Hoop Dee Doo in December 2015 about a week before Christmas for the first time and boy was it amazing. Got category 1 seating (which I highly recommend) and we had a blast. Food was excellent, cast was funny. everything was great. Saw it with my mother, father, sister and niece. My other sister (niece's mother) was flying down to visit during Christmas and we decided we wanted to go again, as my other sister had never seen the show before. By some miracle I was able to get a category 1 table for 6 on Christmas eve. This show was even better than the first. Our table was dead center, the performers came and sang and danced right around our table, Claire came and sat on my dads lap and my niece was picked for a role towards the end of the show. A family experience we'll never forget.


      Like most have said, it's a Disney must. The jokes will be corny but they never cease to be funny. Kids especially will love the show.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      angela923

      Registered: October 2011
      Location: United States
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Mon December 12, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Entertaining and good food
      Cons: None

       
      Went to Hoop de Doo Revue on 12/5/16. Show was great as always. Went with 2 couple who have never seen the show before. They loved it. Loved the food too. It being Christmas they added Christmas songs, which made the show different for a 6th time it was great.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SCOTTMOP

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: WESTMISNTER,MARYLAND
      Posts: 86
      Review Date: Fri February 5, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): A classic show with great food
      Cons: Wish show was longer

       
      This is a must everytime we go to Disney. The show is the same each time but it is a hoot. THe food is excellent. Ribs, Chicken, corn, masshed potatoes, beans, Salad and bread. Plus your alcohol is included in the price!! Fun for the whole family. Great show great food great time!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jdnwebster

      Registered: November 2009
      Posts: 47
      Review Date: Mon January 25, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Entertaining, great food
      Cons: pricey

       
      This was the second time that we have attended the show. It had been awhile so we were all in agreement that it was a must-do for this trip. We sat in Tier 3 section (upstairs). We basically sat at a long table while eating then our seats swiveled around to watch the show. These were great seats-our view was only blocked when the performers came over to the far corner off the stage. My youngest son and friend's teenage daughter were included in the show. Age range for our group was 11-45. We thoroughly enjoyed everything. It is a little pricey but I don't think any of us had laughed that hard the whole trip. We talked about the show days afterwards too. If you are on the fence, my advice is to GO!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Jchuges7

      Registered: February 2015
      Location: Cincinnati
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Mon November 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wonderful food, entertaining show, unlimited beer wine & sangria!
      Cons: Category 3 seating a little uncomfortable

       
      Went to the 8:30 show on 11/2/15. Purchased Category 3 seating last January and got moved to the floor due to lack of attendance. This show was near capacity and we did have to sit in the balcony. I was pleasantly surprised to see the performers coming up to our level and getting us involved. The seating was a little unusual as our seats had our backs to the entertainment in order to eat but they rotated around. Still was a little uncomfortable for a larger person like me but we managed.


      Food was outstanding as always: chicken was crispy and flavorful, ribs were tender and smoked just right, cornbread was great and the other sides did not disappoint. Strawberry shortcake was SO GOOD but we were so full we didn't eat much of the dessert. We did have a dairy allergy in our party and she was taken care of with great respect as per usual with Disney.


      The show was full of great singing, dancing and plenty of corny jokes, but if you're in the right frame of mind they're very funny! Improv skills of the cast came into play a few times to pick on an embarrassed 13 year old girl in the front and that added a hilarious touch. I appreciated being recognized for being recently engaged, my fiance not so much but she's shy.


      The show is a bit pricey but worth every penny in my opinion. Having my friend's CM discount certainly helps. If you're on the Dining Plan consider paying for this out of pocket as it's not a great value when you break it down per credit (2 table service credits).


      Just a note, we had been at Hollywood Studios earlier that day and stayed to see most of Fantasmic, still making it with plenty of time to spare. Would likely have made it even if we had stayed until the end of Fantasmic. It's possible to make it just be on the way out to avoid the huge crowds that Fantasmic gets nightly.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      BDev

      Registered: January 2012
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue September 15, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food/Show
      Cons: Nothing

       
      We ate here at the end of June celebrating my daughter's birthday with a large group from her dance team that was at Disney performing. Most of the girls were in the 12-13 age group and obviously too cool for this...until they all had a blast and loved the food.


      The show is corny and predictable...but hysterical. The food is basic, but done well. As is most of cases at Disney you are paying for the show and atmosphere so don't expect gourmet dining.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Harrimans

      Registered: October 2009
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Fri July 10, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun, food & entertainment
      Cons: ribs still no good

       
      2nd time we have done this.


      Kids and parents really enjoyed it yet again. The food is very good (cornbread especially) with the exception of the ribs. Unlimited beer and sangria is nice touch.


      This time we had tier 1 seating and our table was right up against the stage. Really felt like we were part of the show. Cast is new and younger but still very funny.


      The key to this is you have to go in with an open mind and understand this is a corny hee-haw style show.


      Lots of fun!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jjbmtperk

      Registered: May 2015
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu May 28, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fun evening out
      Cons:

       
      3 times in 5 years and it doesn't get old. From the setting, to the atmosphere, to the cast, to the servers, to the food, to the entertainment just a very enjoyable event Our server, Rob, even gave us small gifts as we left.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SickPuppy

      Registered: June 2011
      Location: S.E. Wisconsin
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Sun May 10, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Everything Was Outstanding
      Cons: None

       
      This was the second time we attended this show and dinner.
      I have nothing bad to say about this place. The food and the show were outstanding. I especially like the chicken. The service is good and you walk away knowing you got your money's worth.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      drdufault

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon January 19, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): EVERYTHING!
      Cons: NOTHING!

       
      I have been here many times before, always with a positive experience. However, when my wife and I went on our Disneymoon, it was the best experience yet.
      We were seated on the sweetheart table (right against the stage in the middle).
      The food was amazing (AS ALWAYS) the service, out of this world, and the show was fantastic.
      We were asked to stand up and dance while they sang a love song (all of the couples who were celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon got up to join in).
      Hoop Dee Doo really made out first night of our honeymoon one to remember.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 258
      Review Date: Sat January 3, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Hysterical show and very good food
      Cons: Server not as funny as last time

       
      We attended the 8:15pm show on 12/16 for the second time this year. My friend and I were returning and brought my mom along to join the fun! The parties with wheelchairs/ECVs (including us) were gathered on the side porch to be seated ahead of the masses, even if the person intended to transfer.


      Our table was #42 (category 1) and it was the perfect location: center of the hall towards the front; a lot of the performers came very near our table when they were out and amongst the audience. My friend even got picked on by Dolly Drew throughout the show!


      The food was even better than I remember. Only item I didn't care for (and I'm alone in this opinion) was the ribs, as I found the sauce a bit too spicy. Everything else was fantastic!


      Our server didn't do anything particularly fun. I don't know if she's the norm or the exception, since last time our server had us in stitches!


      The show was as funny as it was 9 months ago, but I liked that it was a little bit different for the holidays, too. I would definitely come back again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CinCin

      Registered: October 2010
      Location: Texas
      Posts: 65
      Review Date: Mon November 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun show, great food, bus service to resorts afterward
      Cons: none

       
      This was my first visit and before I went, I was quite hesitant as I feared the jokes too corny, the food so so, it was way out at Fort Wilderness, and I was dining alone and feared being seated with a bunch of strangers and the whole family style service...and the ribs being fatty and not getting white meat chicken, etc. I was sooo wrong about everything. This was a fabulous meal! I had a great table right near the stage in category 2. I was seated alone and they had the most delicious cornbread. I ate half the loaf before dinner even started. My server gave me the recipe! The chicken was all white meat breast on the bone with skin on and it was like you'd get at home. It tasted like fresh home cooking and not like chain restaurant chicken. The ribs were meaty and lean and I really enjoyed both meats. The mashed potatoes were real and not reconstituted instant ones. The beans were ranch style and quite good. The entertainment was funny and appropriate for all ages and not the least bit boring. The dancing was really good and they had some really good voices too. All the cast was very talented and entertaining. The icing on the cake though was the strawberry shortcake. It's already my favorite dessert, and then their version is so delicious and homemade. I had the best evening there and I will definitely return. Both the food and the show were great. I attended the 6pm show and when it was over, they had all our resort buses lined up to transport us back to our home resorts. It was wonderful not to have to wait for a bus and have one waiting on me for a change. The bus waited about 15 minutes after I boarded for others that were still streaming out from the show. Yes, it's a bit steep for a meal, but for me it was so worth it. I had a great evening of fun and memorable food too. I would not bother paying for tier 1 seating as my table had a great view and the actors still came to all the tables even the tier 3 seats in the balcony. I can't say enough about this wonderful experience except GO!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.