Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Aikman Family

      Registered: June 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri June 19, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Exotic Location feeling
      Cons:

       
      We stayed at CBR in 2009 - just 4 of us. Then, in 2012 we took 8 of us and stayed at Port Orleans Riverside. Now, going back in Oct 2015, we definitely want to return to CBR. Riverside was good but didn't feel exotic. CBR feels like you are in the Carribbean! The colours, the sounds, the textures, all make you feel like you are in the Carribbean.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Segray85

      Registered: May 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon May 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything!
      Cons:

       
      This was our 4th time staying at a Disney Resort and our 1st time at CBR. After reading other reviews I was a little hesitant but CBR exceeded my expectations! We stayed from May 2-9 in building 32 in Trinidad North. The refurbished rooms are beautiful and gave our family of 5 plenty of space. We used the quiet pool more than the main pool due to location but both were wonderful. The food court was standard fare but the lines moved quickly and there was always plenty of available seating. Transportation was much better than expected. We hardly ever waited for a bus and only had to stand twice. Note: buses have two routes. Some pick up at Jamaica first and end at Trinidad South. The others begin at Martinique and end at Barbados. Overall we really enjoyed our experience and will definitely be back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      crashinto41

      Registered: April 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed April 22, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Updated Rooms, Views, Beach Theme, Hamocks
      Cons: Not Many, Just a big resort

       
      This was our second time to stay at CBR and we loved it even more this time! We had credits with an airline and made a quick 2 day trip here because we loved the view we had 5 years ago. We have been to WDW two other times since the first visit and this is our permanent favorite over Saratoga Springs and Coronado. We stayed Martinique and had a newly updated room and loved the atmosphere. We weren't in it much but took a good look at everything. We love the food court and since my girlfriend has a gluten allergy, they were very accommodating for it and I am sure for other allergies as well. Didn't have time to use the pool but it is a great one to visit and they have a small pool at nearly every village. For the price of this compared to the one deluxe resort we stayed at, we think this is a great stay for the price level. We LOVE the beach theme and relaxing in the hammocks and taking in the view. We had a rental car so we did not use the bus system but just like all the resorts there are pros and cons to using it. They do have an internal bus system to get around the large resort. We do wish we took advantage of it going to our one day at MK as I forgot about having to take the boat or monorail from the lot to the entrance but we had a great day. Hope this helps anyone trying to decided where to stay. Definitely ask for an updated room if available when you check in, we got one by default from requesting Martinique.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lespav

      Registered: April 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun April 5, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good location
      Cons: room was very outdated

       
      We stayed at CBR March 24-28, 2015. The resort itself was nice. We watched Epcot's fireworks from the main pool deck, avoiding park crowds and bus rides. The pools were nice, yet cold after an afternoon rain. We stayed in a Pirate Room because it was the only thing left when we made our reservation. I would have liked to have stayed in a preferred room but they were booked already. It seemed like a lot of them were empty, but they are also going through renovations so who's to say! The pirate room was fun considering the theme and decor. The room and furnishings are in desperate need of extensive care, though. There was a hole in the bottom of one bed where someone may have kicked it (it was the size of a large heel and positioned where this may occur), none of the drawers closed, the AC wall unit would not allow us to change the temperature so we cooked, and the bathroom just looked dingy (mousekeeping does a great job at working with what it is dealt; it was always clean). The room itself was very dark so it was a challenge to see your clothes in your drawers, which I suppose was ok since the drawers didn't shut; at least we couldn't "see" the stuff inside when not looking for it! The walk to OPR was really nice every day, actually. We used the path along the lake and it was nice to be out of the small room. The dining choices were sufficient and the layout was great! The 3 of us (we have a 10 y/o son) could easily go to separate eating places for breakfast and I didn't worry about him getting lost or stolen! Overall, the resort was great. The cast members were fantastic as expected. We weren't given a passcode when we got to the custom house so we had some issues getting our first meal on the dining plan, but the manager was REALLY nice and helpful; we had our passcode and food in less than 5 minutes (always good when you have starving people!). We typically stay off-site when we visit every other year, so we were slightly clueless with the onsite stuff. Everyone was really knowledgable and willing to patiently help us! It was a beautiful resort and, being from Pa, I always love the Florida air smell. Landscaping was beautiful and well taken care of! I would recommend anyone to stay here, but try to get a renovated room. We will definitely stay onsite again but will probably try a different resort (our first choice was Beach Club but was full when we got around to making our reservations). We should probably plan further ahead than 2.5 weeks before leaving :o)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcmouse

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 84
      Review Date: Tue March 31, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great caribbean feel
      Cons: none

       
      Stayed here for a repeat visit for 10 nights in mid March. We requested Martinique Village and received it. Rooms were recently refurbished and they are very nice. Green tones are replaced with nice browns and tans. Still has that nice Caribbean feel. Our room did not have a murphy bed but we didn't need that extra bed anyway. The new queen beds were very comfy. Loved the new double doors to pull shut when one person is getting ready in the a.m. We would have liked larger drawers to put our clothes in. The new ones are very boxy. The curtains close completely now, as there were always gaps in the old ones. Mousekeeping did a great job as usual. No towel animals this time, but that's not a deal breaker by any means. We always had plenty of towels and shower stuff. Our check-in was the new direct to room option as we did online check-in before our arrival. We were sent a text and went straight to our room after our magical express arrival. Very easy and convenient. All you need to do to get that is make sure you have pre-ordered and received your magic bands and have a credit card attached to your reservation. Great idea. The grounds at this resort are always beautiful and well kept. The pools were very clean. They were redoing the laundry room at Martinique while we were there. We were told to use the Barbados laundry. That one was in pretty rough shape. I lost $2.00 in one of the dryers and the change machine was out of order. I think that facility was the next one to be refurbed. I also walked up to Trinidad North to use that laundry. That one had already been redone and it was great, new larger washers etc. But the price on the machines was raised to $2.50 there because of the new larger machines I would imagine.
      We have visited Caribbean Beach several times now and still keep coming back. It's our favorite for it's central location, but most of all for it's friendly and helpful cast members. They always make us feel at home.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bobid

      Registered: September 2008
      Location: Philadelphia
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun March 15, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, location, food court
      Cons: wi fi slow

       
      Stayed here last week for first time. We have been at the other Moderate resorts and liked all of them, but I think this is our favorite.
      We were in the Martinique building. Very queit and not far from food court. One beach was very close and very enjoyable for relaxing in the hammock in the morning.
      There is a small island conected to the walk around lake (a very long walk by the way) also which is very peaceful to walk to. It is filled with plants and attracts lots of birds.
      There is plenty to do for ones with small children as we noticed they can build sand castles on the beach and the main pool area was very busy. Seemed like they had best of both worlds for the adults and kids.
      Food court had lots of good choices for breakfreast and lunch. Food was very well prepared and tasty!
      We were in a renovated room. Plenty of space for my wife and I, our 17 yr old daughter, and my sister. Room also had a pull down bed which would be good for a younger child. Great option for families of 5.
      We had a car and a great advantage was how close it was to everything especially HS and EP
      We would definately stay here again!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dsnygrl

      Registered: September 2006
      Location: Aiken, SC
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Thu February 5, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Finally have installed queen sized beds!
      Cons: Bus stop at most parks is very far away!, cast Member knowledge at check-in of process to activate annual passes was poor!

       
      After nearly 2 years away, we went back to the Caribbean Beach Resort on January 2 - 11th. We had requested Jamaica Building 45 but were given Barbados Building 15 instead. We opted not to push to be assigned a room in Jamaica because we were coming it at the tail end of the holiday week. We did have some issues with check-in. We arrived at 5:30 AM and were told we could not check in or get our parking pass until 6:00 AM. I had thought that if you did on-line check-in all your paperwork was ready when you arrived and all you needed to do was get your room assignment. This was a problem for us as we had planned on going to breakfast early and then driving to Animal Kingdom in our own car. Once we did check in, I asked the cast member specifically if our Annual Passes had been linked to our Magic Bands so that we could enter Animal Kingdom when we got there without stopping at Guest Services. She indicated so, but after standing in half an hour line at Animal Kingdom for entrance we were tole our Magic Bands did not have our Annual Passes attached and so we wasted another half hour going to Guest Services to activate them. If we had known we had to activate our Annual Passes on the Magic Band at the park, we would have gone directly to Guest Services and not lost nearly an hour of our time. On with the rest of the review..We received a text message notifying us of our room in a different building than what the cast member at check-in told us (not a big deal, it was still in Barbados). We were very pleased to see that it had been renovated and now included queen sized beds, a big improvement from the previous use of full size beds! Note that they are renovating one village at a time. while we were there, they were working on Martinique. Other than the check-in fiasco, we were very pleased with our stay. The renovated rooms are lovely and very functional. I am pleased that they now have combination safes so that we do not have to carry a bulky key with us to the parks. Mousekeeping was for the most part great; no towel animals, but our room was vacuumed and cleaned every day. Our only complaint was that we returned to the room most days around 2:00 PM and often found the room had not been made up yet. This was a problem as we often wanted to rest and then had to leave the room and go to Old Port Royale while they cleaned. The grounds were lovely and our building was close enough to Old Port Royale that going for drinks or a snack was no problem. I see that they no longer offer canoe and paddle boat rentals at CBR. A shame as we would have enjoyed that. They have also removed the outdoor chess board and pool table from the Marina Area. I did enjoy the evening movie though and the food court area was very clean. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend CBR to anyone who is looking for a moderate resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      daffy29

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed February 4, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet Room
      Cons:

       
      Stayed Jan 26-Feb 1. Had a refurbished room in Barbados. The room had the new 5th pull down bed, which is nice if you have 3 children. No complaints but nothing fantastic to report. Just a typical hotel stay. My kid got sick and puked on the floor and they came cleaned it up very well along with bringing us new sheets. This is my 4th time at Disney in the last 7 yrs and after staying in Disney hotels every time, I might try a DTD non Disney hotel next time. After staying in a Hampton in on the way home, it makes you realize how little the Disney hotel rooms actually are.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Jenn C

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed January 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet room
      Cons: Mousekeeoing

       
      Stayed at CB from Dec 12 to Dec 21 2014 In Martinique. We paid for a preferred room and requested building 25 in Martinique with a water view. We were assigned a room in building 24 in Martinique with a view of the parking lot. When we requested a room in building 25, the check in cast member started sighing and rolling his eyes. He made it VERY clear that requests are not guaranteed. We told him we were aware of that and politely asked if he could check if a room with even one of our requests might be available. After much coaxing from my husband and explaining that it was our anniversary, and a lot of attitude from the cast member, he called and we were assigned a room in Martinique building 25 with a beautiful view of the Bay. We were disappointed at the cast members behavior but thrilled with the location of the room. That is until we opened the door!


      The room was filthy!!! I had to wipe the dust off of the shelves under the vanity area in order to put personal items there. The fire sprinkler was caked in dust as were the little pineapples on the top of the bed posts. There were cobwebs running from on top of the pictures on the walls up to the ceiling fan. When we turned the ceiling fan on it blew dust all over the room. The full length mirror had a big lipstick lip mark where someone had kissed it that wasn't cleaned properly. The room smelled musty and the heat and AC could not be controlled by the thermostat on the wall. We had to manually turn the heating and AC on and off ourselves via the actual window unit. It was a challenge keeping the room one constant comfortable temperature. We had one day where Mousekeeping missed our room entirely and one day where popcorn we spilled on the floor the night before was still there after Mousekeeping had cleaned the room the next day. When we first arrived in the room there was a pen and note pad for use, we lost the pen and note pad and when we requested new ones, we were told you only get one of each when you first arrive in the room!


      We reported all of the issues to the Mousekeeping manager who actually came to our room to see the issues and speak to us. She laughed most of the issues off and excused the uncleanliness in the room by stating our Mousekeeper was new and that the room was scheduled for refurbishment in the near future. We were made to feel like we were complaining about nothing. The mirror was eventually cleaned, the room was vacuumed properly and the shelves were dusted, but the dust and cobwebs caked on the sprinkler, pineapples, pictures and fan remained there for our entire stay, even after a calling everyday requesting the dust be cleaned. The heating and AC issue was not resolved during our stay either. We were continuously told someone would eventually fix the issues and that they were on the "list" to be dealt with. We were given a $50 credit but never an apology for the issues. We would have preferred that the room get a proper cleaning rather than the credit.


      This was our first time staying at a moderate resort and we were completely disappointed by the room and cast members. We have stayed at Pop Century and all of the All Star Resorts on numerous occasions and the rooms and cast members have been wonderful there. Time to go back to the Value Resorts where Disney feels and looks like Disney!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KarissaB1

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Sun November 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great main pool
      Cons: Size, number of bus stops

       
      We stayed at this resort from 11/14/14-11/21/14. Our room was a preferred room located in Martinique. It was not renovated yet, however, it was clean and maid service was good. This was our first time staying at this resort, because Port Orleans was not part of the free dining offer this time. I had read previous posts regarding the size, but assumed others were being picky. I assumed wrong. This resort is huge. We were not far from the bus stop or the food court because of where I requested the room, but things were still not at your fingertips per se. This resort has 8 bus stops, so do not expect to keep or get a seat often. The food court food was okay, but not outstanding. We only ate there once. We did not try Shutters. The gift shop was good and the main pool was beautiful. This resort is nice, it is just too large and did not feel as comfortable as our previous resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jlmatheo

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Tue November 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): refurbished room, great staff, lovely grounds
      Cons: Size of resort

       
      We stayed here Nov 15-22, 2014.
      We requested a ground floor room in Jamaica and were assigned that. We loved being the first bus stop most of the time. The room was very nice. Mousekeeper Maria was outstanding.


      However, this resort is HUGE. The walk to the food court and main pool was long. In good weather this would not have been an issue, but we had cold and rainy weather and therefore it felt like everything was miles away.


      Having so many bus stops could really add to the travel time.


      We ate at the food court once. Everything was fine, but not outstanding. Very crowded, but it was cold so I'm guessing most people came back from the parks early.


      The resort was peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed our stay but I don't think we would choose this resort again due to the size.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MouseBound4

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun November 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming, cleanliness, quiet
      Cons: Did not get building area requested

       
      We stayed for 5 nights in October 2014. This was our 3rd stay at CB resort. I had read on All Ears that this resort was being renovated building by building, so I wanted to make sure we were assigned a room in one of the buildings already completed. The online check-in gave us an opportunity to make requests for location, so I requested Aruba or Jamaica. I made a couple of other requests as well. I also called & was on the phone a long time with a WDW representative about the building request. The cast member on the phone assured me we would be assigned one of the renovated buildings. When we arrived at the resort, NONE of our requests were granted. I did not expect that all our requests would be granted, but I did think at least one request would be granted. I was told the resort was full so we had no choice but to take the room assigned in Martinique. I had worried over nothing. Even though ours was not a renovated room, it was spotlessly clean & looked like it had new carpet. Our mousekeeper was one of the best we have had, & we made it a point to let management know. The cast member who checked us in was really nice as well. He was so nice, I had a hard time complaining about the room assignment. The grounds were very nicely landscaped. We took advantage of both the quiet pool & the themed pool, both were quite clean & enjoyed both. We did not experience any of the problems with the food court which others on All Ears experienced. Our food was good. We did not utilize the buses, so I cannot comment on them. By the way, I was told when arriving at the resort that it is a frequent occurrence that guests are told they will have certain requests granted only to find out later the requests are not granted. The cast member at check-in told me the cast members on the phone are nowhere near WDW & know nothing of the resort itself. I concerned myself needlessly with building assignment. We have stayed in 3 different villages on our 3 stays & all 3 have been fine. We have stayed in three of the deluxe resorts, but are quite satisfied with the moderates. I would recommend (and have recommended) CB resort to others.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pkmuns

      Registered: April 2009
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu October 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beatiful resort, courteous, helpful employees
      Cons: The front desk is quite a distance from rooms, lack of storage space

       
      My adult daughter and I stayed October 15-18, 2014.


      We asked for a room in the newly refurbished Jamaica area, but were put into room 5131 in Aruba, right next to Jamaica. Our room in Aruba has also been refurbished. Although we don't need and didn't request an accessible room, that is what we were given.


      The room was lovely, with new queen size beds, and a fold-down bed suitable for someone less than 5 feet tall, allowing 5 people to sleep in the room.


      The disadvantage of having the fold-down bed is that it takes away valuable storage space. The only drawers were under that bed, right above the floor, making them inconvenient to use.


      The hanging storage is limited by the fact that the mini-fridge is located in the wardrobe, leaving about 4-6 inches of full length hanging space. Blouses can't hang straight above the fridge.


      The bathroom is huge, due to being in an accessible room. It has rails near toilet and tub, and two sinks. There is a sliding door separating bathroom from the rest of the room.


      It is a pleasant walk to Center Town from this building, as the bridge is right behind it.


      The food court is very nice, and has many options, including gluten free items.


      Bus stops are a 5-7 minute walk in either direction, the Aruba or Jamaica stops.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      njdc5

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Tue October 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pool, splash park, activities, buses (surprisingly!)
      Cons: The size, some of the food options

       
      Our stay at the Caribbean Beach Resort was generally a good one, with some quirks. This is our third time staying here in the last 15 years, with the last stay being about 5 years ago. We stayed in the Martinique section, on the ground floor, as we had requested. The rooms were not updated, but we knew that prior to making our reservations. We checked in around 8:30 at night, and it couldn't have been easier. We walked into the customs house, checked in, and were at our room within 15 minutes. Bell services came 30 minutes later with our deliveries from Garden Grocer, and 15 minutes after that with the ECV's. We paid the extra money to be in the preferred area of Martinique, and the location was fine; close to the bus stop, and 3 buildings from the Old Port Royale.


      The pool and kids splash area here are both fantastic. Neither ever felt crowded, and the kids loved them both! The playground was nice as well, and the movie by the pool was fun, but get there early, as there weren't enough seats for some nights. The campfire was great too, with the staff being really good with the children, and roasting marshmallows in Florida was quite a novelty!


      The food court was just okay. The salads were decent, same chicken nuggets as anywhere else at Disney, and the sandwiches were just okay. Breakfast was fine, if not expensive. There were a few long lines during our trip, but nothing that did not pass quickly. The grab-and-go was decent, usually pretty well stocked, and added the typical Disney price markups. The pool bar was fine, with a really good selection of draft beers, all for between $6-$8.


      The concierge counter was always very helpful, and they were there until at least 10, maybe even 11 pm every night.


      The bus service was surprisingly very good, as we were prepared to have to wait forever for some of the buses. There was only one time that we had to wait over 20 minutes for a bus. This was great! The buses do have a long way to travel while still in the resort, so it takes at least 10 minutes from getting on the bus in Martinique, to when you actually leave the resort. This was the only thing that was a pain during our entire trip.


      Overall, we did enjoy our stay in this resort. The kids loved the pool and splash area, we enjoyed the beer selections and bus service, and we all enjoyed the family time together. I think that for our next trip, we'll try out the Port Orleans French Quarter, or return to our all-time favorite, the Animal Kingdom Lodge.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sherita66

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon October 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere was relaxing, rooms were very clean
      Cons: Large size of resort, bus system, food court choices

       
      I would only reccomend staying here in the Matinique area. One of the 2 first bus (Jamaica is the other) stops and close to food court and themed pool. Food court ran out of desserts early in the evening. Many choices were spicy and and not very appealing. If you like basic fast food (IE hambugers, hoy dogs, subs and Pizza/pasta its ok.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.