Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • EpcotMom

      Registered: July 2006
      Location: Taunton, Massachusetts
      Posts: 42
      Review Date: Tue July 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful resort
      Cons: Drapes do not shut

       
      We stayed in the Martinique section on July 17 and 18. We have stayed here a few times before and love the theming. Did not use the main pool this time, but used the quiet pool in our section. We had a nice stay, room was clean, but since we were adjacent to the pool there was a lot of light and there is no way to really darken the room. I also understand that they are upgrading to queen size beds. This would definitely be an improvement, beds are too small. One other slight annoyance, housekeeping knocked on the door at 9:00 am on the day we were leaving. Kids were still in bed. She asked "when were we leaving"! My husband told her we would be an hour or so. She parked her cart outside our room and there it stayed until we left!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      beachpup

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet area in Trinidad South
      Cons: Quite boring compared to the other moderates

       
      Having stayed at all of the moderates over the years, we decided to try a pirate room at the Caribbean, having not stayed there since around 2000 or so. Well, it hasn't changed. I have to say it is my least favorite moderate resort, with Coronado Springs being my absolute favorite due to the theming and feel of the resort, with both Port Orleans coming in second and third. Caribbean Beach is bland, especially considering its themed after somewhere so robust and alive as the Caribbean. The grounds are not as beautiful as the other moderates, and the whole look and feel lacks a special something, unlike the others. If you didn't tell me the resort was themed after the Caribbean, I would never had known. Our pirate room in Trinidad South was extremely quiet the first three or so days we were there, which was a blessing since the main pool was always noisy, especially with the staff doing some kind of kid's sing along thing which seemed constant. Our quiet pool was exactly that except for one afternoon which had a group of obnoxious unsupervised kids being loud. Pluses at the main pool are a pretty long slide compared to the others, and a second 'hidden' hot tub behind the main pool slide building, which I delighted in camping out one afternoon with no one else to bother me. Other nice touches are small beaches sprinkled here and there, more than the Coronado, so there are plenty of options to find a quiet one to yourself. The food court was nothing to brag about. I had a cuban sandwich which seemed to take forever to get, but it was pretty good, if not worth the steep price. If you try anything from the quick service, get a 'monkey cupcake', chocolate cupcake with peanut butter frosting with banana filling, it was so delicious, even though it fell apart when I ate it lol. The pirate room was very cool, however the mattresses on the beds were HARD. The theming was awesome though and it was nice to come home from a day at the parks to a Disney themed room, I loved it. We always request a certain type of room when we stay at Disney, and I must say this is the first time in awhile we were granted our request right off the bat (probably because Trinidad South was so deserted). A pleasant stay but there are other better choices in the moderate category.
      Checking out was a problem, with our luggage. We took it to the main house to check in to our flight and so they could take the luggage, and they couldn't find our reservation. Very frustrating. So we took our luggage to the Polynesian, and they found our reservation right away no problem and allowed us to check our luggage with them . A negative ending to an otherwise pleasant stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kiwitess

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon June 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful grounds
      Cons: scratchy towels

       
      For a moderate resort, this was excellent. Caribbean Beach had beautiful grounds and I completely enjoyed walking the 1.2 mile path around the resort. The pool and jacuzzi area was wonderful. The restaurant area was not the greatest. It was more of a Sizzler's atmosphere then what I expected from Disney. The rooms were small but nice for a moderate resort. The towels were scratchy and coming apart. They were worse than Motel 6. No lotion and the shampoo and conditioner bottles fell apart as soon as we opened them - quite a waste if you ask me. The service was very good. All the people were excellent except for one woman at the luggage service area. She must have been having a bad day and was pretty unkind on the phone. We would stay again at the Caribbean Beach but will probably opt for a deluxe resort or the log cabins for our next stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcjones

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri May 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds, Front desk staff very nice and helpful
      Cons: Food Court, Hotel complex massive

       
      This was my first time staying at one of the moderate Disney resorts. I have stayed several times in the deluxe resorts. I thought the hotel was very nice and room was a pretty good size. I was traveling with three teenage girls who were performing with their class in Downtown Disney. The Hotel is very large and we were in Martinique section which was pretty close to food court and busing.


      My only real complain is the food court. I thought it was over priced and the food was only ok. I hated how everything was a la carte. You think you are buying a couple of muffins and a couple bottles of water and you wouldn't be spending that much. Breakfast always seemed to be about $25.00 for two people with very little food bought. I would love to see it set up as a buffet and pay one price. I also don't like the set up of the food court. It doesn't have a good logistical design. People are trying to buy pastries on 1 line and the cashier line converges with it. They will not give you to go containers when you get the food. You have to go to a separate station and it just makes it confusing. Unfortunately, trying to manage food (without box) and water bottles I dropped it all over me. Food Court staff less than friendly.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcmouse

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Mon April 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful, clean and friendly
      Cons: none

       
      Husband and I stayed here in a preferred room in Martinique from 3/18 - 3/27. This isn't our first stay here, actually probably our 7th or 8th. There are many reasons we keep returning. We have Never had any problems with room cleanliness. Mousekeeping always is super. During this latest stay we came back to our room early in the afternoon one day and found a staff member cleaning out the air conditioner vents with Clorox. That's how clean it was. Grounds are gorgeous, cast members are terrific, and we always feel home away from home. The walks to the food court aren't that bad, even from the far reaches of the pirate rooms. Yes, they take some time, but not more than 5 or 6 min. We regularly walk around the lake for exercise so we have traveled to all areas of the resort. We will always return here and feel this resort is sometimes unfairly judged because of it's large size. The only thing we would change is installing queen beds in all the rooms, and during this last visit we learned that that may indeed happen in the near future. Give it a try, you'll love it as we do.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      allears2014

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sat April 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lake and grounds were nicely landscaped
      Cons: Everything else

       
      My son really wanted to stay in a pirate themed room, which are available at the Caribbean Beach Resort. In the past we have stayed in Disney's Deluxe and Value Resorts, but have never stayed in a moderate. I was very pleased with the Value Resort, so since the Caribbean is supposed to be a step up from that, I expected a step better than the Value Resorts. We were very disappointed.


      Before I address our issues, I will say the exterior of this Resort is nicely landscaped and well maintained. The bus stop for our section was always clean.


      At check in, I was notified that all of the pirate rooms are located at the far end of this "resort". There is only one food court for the entire property (this property is HUGE). I asked how we would get from the room to the food court and was told it is "an easy 5 minute walk from your room". This was just not true. My son and I walked a steady pace and it took nearly 20 minutes. There is also an internal resort shuttle, which I did try; however, the wait at the bus stop was 20 minutes and then it circles and makes all the other stops in between- - I believe there are like 8 internal bus stops. Walking is faster, but still an unreasonable distance for a cup of coffee or soda (oh, and if like us you have your shopping sent to the hotel, well you'll need to make the LONG trek to the gift shop, also located next to the food court.).


      The other thing you should know, which I didn't until we got there was the large, zero entry cool looking pool advertised as "the pool" on their webpage is at the food court. So, if you're in a pirate room and want a quick dip in the pool- - - forget about it. It's too far away from the pirate section-- if you have a car you could drive to it- - otherwise, it's walking approx 40 mins round trip with your pool accessories or waiting at a bus stop. Our "pirate section" did have it's own pool, but it was more akin to what you'd find in a friend's backyard- - a good pool, but nothing special.


      When we entered the room in Building 36, the odor was overpowering. We could not catch our breath; it smelled of mold, mildew and soured gym socks. Called the front desk and they said they'd send someone down to freshen it up. We were leaving as the man from housekeeping came in to "freshen" it. When we returned late that evening, it smelled of air freshener, mold, mildew and soured gym socks.


      The room was too hot as well and when we tried to turn down the air, it would not go lower than 68 degrees on the thermostat. It felt like 78 degrees in the room. We asked about this, too, but were told 68 degrees is as low as it will go. Also, the windows do not open and there was no balcony to allow for fresh air.


      Then we noticed there was hair everywhere, my son dropped one of his toys on the floor and when he picked it up it was covered in hair, the bathroom floor had hair everywhere. The light switch was black (although originally white). The pirate ship bed had a large piece broken off of it. The entire room felt filthy, old and worn out.


      This time I traveled the long distance back to the front desk to speak with someone in person, explained we have stayed at Disney many times and never experienced anything like this. . . I told the man at the front desk "our room is really filthy". He offered to do a thorough cleaning the next day, but did not offer a different room. For the first two days, there was a large bag of dirty linens that just sat outside our door.


      Being too far away from the food court for a quick drink, I left to buy a soda from the machine at the bus stop one evening. It was not working. I then found the laundry room, but that machine was out of order also.


      Overall, we were extremely disappointed with the room. It was a shame since my son was so looking forward to a "cool pirate room". The fact that I paid extra (pirate rooms cost more) for a dirty room too far away from the food court to enjoy the "unlimited refills" was disappointing. I would not recommend this resort and will not stay here again. It is in major need of updating.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wdt08Ias

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue April 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful Caribbean atmosphere and surroundings
      Cons: none

       
      My DW and I stayed 03/31/14 to 04/05/14. We've stayed at this resort at least 6 or 8 times (kinda lost track) and we've never been disappointed, it's one of our favorites. We requested Martinique as we haven't stayed there before but we got Jamaica which was fine. We did get upgraded to a king room though. People complain about the size however we enjoy the short walks through Caribbean Cay to Port Royale for coffee in the morning. The walking is good for burning off the extra calories from the dining plan too! The bus service was reasonable as always, 10 or 15 minutes, with one exception. We were meeting friends at Downtown Disney for lunch one day and had to wait 45 minutes for a bus. Maybe they run less buses to DD during the daytime. We also had a minor incident in our room. Upon our return one afternoon we found a lizard in the room but a call to maintenance and a CM came and quickly removed it. I didn't mind but my wife wasn't happy about our extra guest. All in all we had another wonderful stay at Caribbean Beach.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mmc55

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: North Reston VA
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Thu March 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Spacious/Tropical/pools/clean/colorful
      Cons: Long ride to MK

       
      Stayed 2/24-3/1. Never feels crowded (that's a switch - Touringplans.com said low crowds but sure had trouble navigating the streets at the 4 parks). You feel like you are in a tropical paradise, Our room was ready at 10a. Pools heated and numerous. Housekeeping great. Centertown eatery had many choices (typical high WDW prices) - there is a pastry rack you can't beat. The number of buses was good - I believe CBR has two routes to minimize guests having to go all around the resort. The DME CMs were very efficient. We were lucky we were equidistance from the Barbatos and Martinique Bus Stops but depending on which building you are in the walk to the bus stop can be long. We were in Building 21 - Martinique.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      caleal

      Registered: March 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun February 23, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful, spacious
      Cons: large (only a con if you have mobility issues).

       
      Carribean Beach Resort is amazing. It's definitely the place to go for a quiet, serene Disney stay. I never found any aspect of it particularly crowded. Wandering around you never go too far without stumbling on a little beach and hammocks, or a fire pit. It is a very lagre resort, so if you have mobility issues you'll want to request specific rooms closest to whatever is important to you. The rooms are ample sized and quiet. There are very few hidden Mickeys which was a bit of a bummer, but I didn't come to Disney to scour the room for Mickeys! The feature pool has a lot of fun pirate additions, and there are tons of quiet pools around the property so you're never far from one. But the poolside bar was a fun way to end the nights! I would definitely stay here again!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      luvdiz8

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed January 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): laid back, great pool
      Cons: how large the resort is

       
      By far my families favorite Moderate resort at Disney. Such a positive, laid back vibe. Rooms were clean and well kept, had adjoining rooms with no problem. Pool is awesome especially if you have young children. Would highly recommend CB and plan on staying again in October.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      TruckDriverMickey

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue January 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great theming, large but quiet.
      Cons: nothing..

       
      Just read the newsletter about the Caribbean and thought I'd do a quick-y review mostly to give everyone a "heads-up" regarding booking. We had an unexpected chance to drop by the world last Sept. and made a last minute call for reservations. As we spend most of our time in the parks, downtown, and hanging out at the up-scale resorts and only sleep in the room we usually stay at the All-Stars, Pop Century, or Animation. I gave the cast member our dates and chatted a bit about our many visits over the years, he asked if we had ever stayed at the Caribbean and told him we had years ago when the kids were little. Here's the thing.. He said the Caribbean just popped up on his screen for the dates we wanted for the same price as Pop C. But, we had to move quickly as it may disappear (off his screen). Naturally we went for it and had a great stay at a great rate. Didn't think these things still happened. The last time was a special post card with PIN. Thanks Mr. Mouse...
      Click here to see this users profile  
      steelers_fan

      Registered: October 2012
      Location: Ohio
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sat January 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pools, beautiful resort, hot tubs, bar
      Cons: food court, overall size of resort, bed size

       
      We stayed at CBR the first week of Dec 2013. The resort is very beautiful and laid back. The pools are great with a kiddie pool at the main pool. We didn't use the smaller pools but they did seem adequate in size for the areas that they serve. The beds were just doubles, no queens here. Hopefully that changes soon. We thought the food court options were just OK. We actually liked the food courts at Pop and AOA better, where we stayed last year! We did not eat at Shutters, just the quick service places. We stayed in Trinidad North, so we had a very short walk to the main building/food court/pool. Bus service was good. We never used the internal shuttle, but park buses came rather frequently. Longest wait we had was maybe 15 minutes. There was one instance where a bus came that was totally full, but it wasn't for our destination anyway. I didn't like that our return bus stop at the parks is as far away from the gates as the value resorts. You pay more to stay at a moderate than a value. The staff, including mouse keeping, was excellent. We WOULD stay here again, if it fit into our overall plans. We stayed this time on a deal with free dining plan, and had wanted to stay at POR but they had no availability. If you stay here, just try to get a room as close as possible to the main building.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mala721

      Registered: April 2007
      Location: New York
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun January 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Grounds, pools, quiet
      Cons: huge resort, buses

       
      Stayed here back at the end of October. (On a
      "baby-moon" so just getting around to this)
      Check-in was a breeze, even with booking kind of last minute, our magic bands were there waiting for us. We checked in(at 10:30am) bands were activated, room wasn't ready yet. We had a rental car for this trip(thankfully) and by the time we got to the car they were calling to let us know that our room was ready.


      The grounds and property here are gorgeous and well kept. We enjoyed how quiet it was no matter what time of day it was. The quiet pools were great.


      The first day we decided to use the buses even though we had a rental car. That was the last time we used the buses for the rest of our stay. We waited for a bus to Epcot for 15 min. (Not terrible) Leaving Epcot around 5pm(way before park closing) we waited a half hour for the bus to bring us back. That night we gave it another shot to go to Mgm and going there was ok but coming back was around a 45min wait.(we are not at all against handicap persons getting on the bus but when there are 2 scooters with their family members which are 7 people deep,it's a little frustrating). From then on we took the car everywhere we went and it was amazing. First time we had a car is Disney and will prob never not have one again. The longest it took us to get anywhere from CBR was 15 min.
      The resort itself is huge but as I said before very quiet and very well kept. We had preferred room in Martinique which was close to Old Port Royale. Very convenient in the morning and wouldn't want to walk as far as some would have to in the further parts of the resort.
      We would probably stay here again, but The Boardwalk is and always will be the top of our list. Port Orleans Riverside is another favorite as well, but CBR was absolutely a great place to return to at night.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      beaner1219

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue January 7, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Room, buses,fod
      Cons: None

       
      Stayed first week of Dec. Room was ready at check in, 9:00am.
      We had bracelets and they worked great. Food at port Royal was great.
      Room was always clean when we returned from parks
      Click here to see this users profile  
      PAProfessor

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun December 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Landscaping
      Cons: Check-in, room, busing

       
      This was our 18th visit to WDW and our 5th resort. We checked in on Nov. 15th and left on Nov. 22.


      Check-in was not smooth as at other resorts. Reservations were not correct and my DD's room was not connected as we had reserved. We had done this on every other visit. We booked preferred rooms months in advance since my wife is in a wheel chair and I was coming off surgery that mandated very little walking. I called the WDW reservations to make them aware of my latest situation and they assured me housekeeping had it under control. We ended up in Trinidad North but on the back side requiring a 3-4 hundred yard walk to Old Port Royale. Odd since I viewed several non-handicapped families exiting rooms that were right next to OPR.


      The second hint things were not going well was the musty smell upon entering the room. Obviously the carpets had been cleaned but were not allowed to dry properly. They were damp in spots. The beds at this resort are too small for a moderate. House keeping was not up to usual WDW standards until the last 2 days when a new HK'er came on duty.


      The MAJOR complaint at this resort is busing. It has 7 or 8 stops. Depending on where the bus entered the resort many times it was full and did not stop or it had 20-30 people standing packed in tight. One morning we waited 50 minutes until we called on the bus stop phone. We kept track of the time and on average we consumed 2-3 hours a day waiting and traveling on buses at CBR. At the price that is unresonable.


      The resort is huge but does have a nice pool. The food court is only OK. This resort needs major updates like the gift shop and it's selections.


      The employees at OPR were great and very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge desk.


      We have stayed at PC, ASM, CSR, POR and now CBR and this seems negative. We have never in 18 visits complained but this is our absolutely last visit to CBR.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.