Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • DisneyLifer04

      Registered: January 2016
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun January 31, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Remodeled Rooms, Attentive Staff
      Cons: None

       
      This was our second time staying at the Caribbean Beach resort and it was better than the first. First the rooms were all recently remodeled and we happened to get a room with the foldout bunk sized murphy bed. This made our two girls very happen, no sharing! The staff did a great job cleaning the rooms, although we are pretty easy and usually only ask for clean towels when we remember to say something. Really happy with the food court as usual, we have a tradition now, the first night we get in, it's a pizza and caesar salad to share. The buses made great time, almost every time it was maybe a 5 minute wait, the longest was maybe 15. Out trip was a full week, and this was the first time we spent the whole day at the parks. Usually we would go back to the room for a break around lunch time, to head back out in the afternoon, but no need. However, with that being said, take the break if you need to. Our kids love all the pools at this resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      2goofygurlz

      Registered: June 2012
      Location: wi
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon January 11, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Amazing Staff, 2 Vacations in One, Atmosphere, Beautiful New Rooms,
      Cons: Still long bus waits to and from parks.... The dried up waters...

       
      We now have now become 5 time repeaters to CBR, it is considered our home away from home, we have tried POP, absolutely having the WORST EXPERIENCE of our lives, as well as 2 stays at ASMO, which was fine but loud, and ASMU -that I did not personally enjoy at all. So hard lessons learned of the past it is from here on out to stick with what works for our family. Yes the drawback is the bus system being slow, it would be grand if they could get a better system going with the buses, more of those extended buses would be a great start and sending more than one for closing times would also be a bright idea! At least now CBR has an internal shuttle available to get to the food court or main house, so I am not sure why people are complaining about the walk, and truthfully it's not that long of a walk, besides you have been walking all day long at WDW really whats another few steps? It's sort of like standing on a bus is it really that big of deal? You have been standing in lines all day long a few more minutes won't kill you. Most Depressing for us has been the wilting of waters, what once had been a time where boats roared through the waters, fishing, paddling, sailing, now there just isn't any water to do so. That breaks my heart the most, that magic and spark has been taken away from this beautiful place, none the less, we will never stop returning as long as CBR's doors are open! See you real soon!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BacktoDisney

      Registered: January 2009
      Location: Winnipeg, MB
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Sun January 3, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): overall appearance of the resort
      Cons: food court

       
      We've stayed at many Disney resorts over the years, and even stayed here 20+years ago. It is a large resort, and well worth paying for the preferred room. We stayed in Bldg 25 Martinique and it was well located. I just wouldn't recommend this for adults, our family of four is all over 18, and the themed pool was for the kiddies. The food court, was not as good as some other resorts in my opinion. No fear if you're booked here, I just believe that if you are a group of adults, you may be happier over at French Quarter in the moderate category. We were lucky to have wonderful weather this December, but you need to note that the bar is OUTDOORS, not necessarily usable all winter months. We used the quiet pool and that was fine. The food court states that it is open until 12, however, much of it shuts down earlier, and if you're looking for late night food the choice will be extremely limited.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      emjohnson03

      Registered: December 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun December 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): quiet
      Cons: spread out

       
      I stayed here with a friend from 12/15-12/19 for the Christmas season. It was decent but I don't think I would pay full price. I got a discount and we stayed in Trinidad South which was the farthest away.


      That was tedious! Try staying at MK for 15 hours and it's midnight and you have 7 stops to just get to your room.


      I would recommend if you want quiet though. No issues with sound at all. It's not that friendly for time management and the shuttles do come, but it's so spread out.


      We hit up the dining area but again, it would out of the way. You can't just go to a store because it's a bus ride away.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Neffie Z

      Registered: September 2010
      Location: Midcoast Maine
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun November 15, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): lovely scenery, Shutters, Banana Cabana
      Cons: food court, magical express/bus service

       
      I stayed at CBR for two weeks in September. We had a room in Trinidad North, preferred with a water view. The room was beautiful, but I was a bit disappointed with the generic feel of the room. There was nothing to make it feel like Disney, unless you let down the murphy bed. The food court is woefully inadequate for the amount of folks they are looking to feed. One drink station. One. There was ALWAYS a line. One afternoon I tried to get into my room only to find that the battery in the RFID lock had died. I went to concierge who promised to send someone up immediately. Three trips back to concierge, and three and one half hours later, maintenance came up and changed the battery in 30 seconds. We were given two fast passes for our inconvenience. Meanwhile, we were hot, tired, and stuck in our bathing suits for three and a half hours. The evening before our departure, I called to set up our pick-up time and was told 8:30AM. At 8:50AM, I called again, asking if we'd missed the bus (we had been outside waiting, so I knew we hadn't) and I was told that the pick up order hadn't been written down. We were late for our ME. The food court has only a few stations open in the morning- far too few to service the hungry folks looking for a meal. Though the recent update was lovely, they really should think of updating and expanding their food and drink offerings at Port Orleans. Not a terribly good experience and one I won't be repeating. However, the Banana Cabana and Shutters were outstanding- service and product wise.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Cobryan

      Registered: October 2015
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Mon October 12, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): clean, quiet
      Cons: none

       
      We stayed at this resort from 10-3 to 10-11. This was our first time at the Caribbean. We loved it. Everything about the resort was great. Check-in was a breeze. We had a preferred room in Trinadad North and it was well worth the extra money. We were very close to Old Port Royale and the bus stop. The room was clean and met all of our needs. It was great having the sliding doors to the bathroom area. It provided an extra area for us to get ready. Mousekeeping was great and helpful.
      We used the Quick service dining plan. The food court was actually pretty good. We really only at breakfast there but the food was good. Occasionally, we had dinner and it was pretty standard fare but good.
      I had read that the due to the fact the resort was so large the bus service was atrocious. We did not experience any issues. We had very little wait time at the resort to get a bus. I think we only had to stand on one instance as there were always enough seats to accomodate everyone. My cousin did note that the bus was very crowded one evening coming back from the Magic Kingdom but the MNSHP was also taking place. Other than that the bus system seemed good. It really didn't seem to take too much time to stop at each village.
      We didn't use the resort pool but we did use the quiet pool one day while doing laundry. Very nice.
      Final thoughts, yes, the resort is very large and would be difficult to navigate having not stayed in a preferred room. I will most certainly return to Caribbean. I have stayed in many deluxe and value resorts. This by far is my favorite!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LLSS

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Wed September 30, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Room, pool
      Cons: Bus service

       
      I really like this resort. As many have stated, it is much bigger than most of the resorts, and it can be a pain to get from your room to the main pool and dining area (unless you get in a section close to Port Royal, and we did, just make sure to check in early and request). However, while being spread out can make things harder, it also makes this a quieter resort near your room, which is nice if you want to sleep in or relax. You can be close to the bus stop without the whole resort going by your room.


      The pool is probably the best we have had at a Disney Resort outside of the Beach Club and Animal Kingdom (admittedly we have not stayed at all of the deluxe resorts or Coronado). The pool is big, there is a lot to do, and the kids area is great. The food area had better food than I expected. The one negative I could give this is the same as others, it's a pain making multiple bus stops when you go to and from parks. Though I will say, don't forget that if you stay along the Boardwalk, you have multiple stops, as well as if you stay at Port Orleans. Like I said, a bit of a pain, but it's not as over the top as some make it seem (maybe 5-7 extra minutes)


      The only other real complaint I have is the text when your room is ready. With a SUPER early flight, we were pretty exhausted when we got in and wanted to rest before MNSSH. We got to the hotel a little before 10 (though our bags not until after 5, different story/issue with the Magical Express), and were told we would be texted when the room was ready (the check in woman was EXTREMELY nice and said she would be sure to let mousekeeping know we were waiting). Well, after check in and getting on the resort bus to check the resort out, we went to eat some lunch. After lunch, I decided to check on our room. Turned out it was in fact ready (no text message, went to concierge in the dining area). We got in and got our rest, but I never did receive the text. Moral is, don't rely on that if you are waiting, make sure to check throughout the day as it may be ready much earlier for you. But the room was very comfortable (though my kid was a little sad we didn't have a towel Mickey, but she survived) and a nice size. Overall, really was impressed with the resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BDev

      Registered: January 2012
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Tue September 15, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming
      Cons: Size/Cleanliness/Customer Service

       
      We've been to Walt Disney World dozens of times and this hotel was our worst experience by far. We arrived with a large dance group at the end of June. We arrived at the resort at 10:00am not expecting a room immediately. What we didn't expect was to not get one until 6:00pm. When we got the room it wasn't very clean. There was trash still in the trash barrels and it smelled like housekeeping simply made the bed and sprayed 5 cans of Lysol in there.


      On our first morning there, I noticed that someone had spilled some Cheerios on the stairs. We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and those Cheerios were still there the day we left. Also, when walking to the food court in the morning I walked through the quiet pool area and it was littered with used towels, empty pizza boxes, soda and beer bottles, etc. from the night before. I partially blame the slobs that left all of that there, but I also blame the staff for not cleaning it up either.


      I've never written a negative review for anything Disney related prior to this, but this was not acceptable by Disney standards. After our stay at Caribbean Beach we stayed for 6 nights at Bay Lake Tower and it was great.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      grammie523

      Registered: August 2015
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Fri August 28, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful, great atmosphere, good food
      Cons: SLOW Bus Transportation, Layout is far from Food Court

       
      1st time at CBR. Cast members were nice, but we didn't get any of our requests. Booked 2 connecting rooms & we did manage to get rooms beside of each other but not connecting. We were in Building 54 of Aruba. Rooms were very clean & nice, but really far from the food court. The bus stop was at the backside of building in parking lot. Buses were ridiculously slow! We waited for at least 30 minutes, some 55 minutes, to any park. We complained, but it didn't do any good. Remember that even if you are at Disney you need to be safe and secure. I know things can happen anywhere, but if staying at this resort, I suggest you put the long roll pillows from your bed, under the curtain & hold it securely with rolled towels. Otherwise, the resort is gorgeous & we still had a fabulous time! The food court has good food & Shutters was awesome! I had the banana crusted mahi mahi & it was delicious! Recommend the restaurant!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bigmamajo

      Registered: July 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sat July 4, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): room request granted
      Cons: poor customer service, no Disney magic

       
      We called and spoke to a room assigner 5 days before check in, requested Martinique 26, 2nd floor corner room. All those requests were granted, that is the only reason for 3 stars! Upon arrival, I stood as 3 cast members stood talking, I finally said aloud, "Can someone help me check in?" The clerk was not overly friendly, a supervisor, Carol stood and watched, but never spoke to me. I had to ask for my anniversary buttons, which were just handed to me, nothing written on them as I saw other locations do. We got the text our room was ready, when we arrived a maintenance man was in the room using cleaner on a spot on the carpet. I told him we were told the room was ready, he said no, but we could come in anyway. Never had any towel animals or "magic" around the room. I know this is not a guarantee, but in 5 other visits, this has always been a highlight for our kiddos! We called housekeeping to ask about getting one for our last day and was told CRB was no longer making towel animals. We spoke to manager at front desk and were told CRB does not teach housekeepers to make them. I told them we were very disappointed, and felt this resort had lost the Disney magic, from check in to check out not a positive experience, except the room request granted. This was our first visit, with the addition of the murphy bed (we are a family of 5) but will stay at POR from now on, even if it is not in the promotion!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Aikman Family

      Registered: June 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri June 19, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Exotic Location feeling
      Cons:

       
      We stayed at CBR in 2009 - just 4 of us. Then, in 2012 we took 8 of us and stayed at Port Orleans Riverside. Now, going back in Oct 2015, we definitely want to return to CBR. Riverside was good but didn't feel exotic. CBR feels like you are in the Carribbean! The colours, the sounds, the textures, all make you feel like you are in the Carribbean.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Segray85

      Registered: May 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Mon May 11, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): everything!
      Cons:

       
      This was our 4th time staying at a Disney Resort and our 1st time at CBR. After reading other reviews I was a little hesitant but CBR exceeded my expectations! We stayed from May 2-9 in building 32 in Trinidad North. The refurbished rooms are beautiful and gave our family of 5 plenty of space. We used the quiet pool more than the main pool due to location but both were wonderful. The food court was standard fare but the lines moved quickly and there was always plenty of available seating. Transportation was much better than expected. We hardly ever waited for a bus and only had to stand twice. Note: buses have two routes. Some pick up at Jamaica first and end at Trinidad South. The others begin at Martinique and end at Barbados. Overall we really enjoyed our experience and will definitely be back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      crashinto41

      Registered: April 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Wed April 22, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Updated Rooms, Views, Beach Theme, Hamocks
      Cons: Not Many, Just a big resort

       
      This was our second time to stay at CBR and we loved it even more this time! We had credits with an airline and made a quick 2 day trip here because we loved the view we had 5 years ago. We have been to WDW two other times since the first visit and this is our permanent favorite over Saratoga Springs and Coronado. We stayed Martinique and had a newly updated room and loved the atmosphere. We weren't in it much but took a good look at everything. We love the food court and since my girlfriend has a gluten allergy, they were very accommodating for it and I am sure for other allergies as well. Didn't have time to use the pool but it is a great one to visit and they have a small pool at nearly every village. For the price of this compared to the one deluxe resort we stayed at, we think this is a great stay for the price level. We LOVE the beach theme and relaxing in the hammocks and taking in the view. We had a rental car so we did not use the bus system but just like all the resorts there are pros and cons to using it. They do have an internal bus system to get around the large resort. We do wish we took advantage of it going to our one day at MK as I forgot about having to take the boat or monorail from the lot to the entrance but we had a great day. Hope this helps anyone trying to decided where to stay. Definitely ask for an updated room if available when you check in, we got one by default from requesting Martinique.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lespav

      Registered: April 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun April 5, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good location
      Cons: room was very outdated

       
      We stayed at CBR March 24-28, 2015. The resort itself was nice. We watched Epcot's fireworks from the main pool deck, avoiding park crowds and bus rides. The pools were nice, yet cold after an afternoon rain. We stayed in a Pirate Room because it was the only thing left when we made our reservation. I would have liked to have stayed in a preferred room but they were booked already. It seemed like a lot of them were empty, but they are also going through renovations so who's to say! The pirate room was fun considering the theme and decor. The room and furnishings are in desperate need of extensive care, though. There was a hole in the bottom of one bed where someone may have kicked it (it was the size of a large heel and positioned where this may occur), none of the drawers closed, the AC wall unit would not allow us to change the temperature so we cooked, and the bathroom just looked dingy (mousekeeping does a great job at working with what it is dealt; it was always clean). The room itself was very dark so it was a challenge to see your clothes in your drawers, which I suppose was ok since the drawers didn't shut; at least we couldn't "see" the stuff inside when not looking for it! The walk to OPR was really nice every day, actually. We used the path along the lake and it was nice to be out of the small room. The dining choices were sufficient and the layout was great! The 3 of us (we have a 10 y/o son) could easily go to separate eating places for breakfast and I didn't worry about him getting lost or stolen! Overall, the resort was great. The cast members were fantastic as expected. We weren't given a passcode when we got to the custom house so we had some issues getting our first meal on the dining plan, but the manager was REALLY nice and helpful; we had our passcode and food in less than 5 minutes (always good when you have starving people!). We typically stay off-site when we visit every other year, so we were slightly clueless with the onsite stuff. Everyone was really knowledgable and willing to patiently help us! It was a beautiful resort and, being from Pa, I always love the Florida air smell. Landscaping was beautiful and well taken care of! I would recommend anyone to stay here, but try to get a renovated room. We will definitely stay onsite again but will probably try a different resort (our first choice was Beach Club but was full when we got around to making our reservations). We should probably plan further ahead than 2.5 weeks before leaving :o)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcmouse

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 84
      Review Date: Tue March 31, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): great caribbean feel
      Cons: none

       
      Stayed here for a repeat visit for 10 nights in mid March. We requested Martinique Village and received it. Rooms were recently refurbished and they are very nice. Green tones are replaced with nice browns and tans. Still has that nice Caribbean feel. Our room did not have a murphy bed but we didn't need that extra bed anyway. The new queen beds were very comfy. Loved the new double doors to pull shut when one person is getting ready in the a.m. We would have liked larger drawers to put our clothes in. The new ones are very boxy. The curtains close completely now, as there were always gaps in the old ones. Mousekeeping did a great job as usual. No towel animals this time, but that's not a deal breaker by any means. We always had plenty of towels and shower stuff. Our check-in was the new direct to room option as we did online check-in before our arrival. We were sent a text and went straight to our room after our magical express arrival. Very easy and convenient. All you need to do to get that is make sure you have pre-ordered and received your magic bands and have a credit card attached to your reservation. Great idea. The grounds at this resort are always beautiful and well kept. The pools were very clean. They were redoing the laundry room at Martinique while we were there. We were told to use the Barbados laundry. That one was in pretty rough shape. I lost $2.00 in one of the dryers and the change machine was out of order. I think that facility was the next one to be refurbed. I also walked up to Trinidad North to use that laundry. That one had already been redone and it was great, new larger washers etc. But the price on the machines was raised to $2.50 there because of the new larger machines I would imagine.
      We have visited Caribbean Beach several times now and still keep coming back. It's our favorite for it's central location, but most of all for it's friendly and helpful cast members. They always make us feel at home.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.