Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Dsnygrl

      Registered: September 2006
      Location: Aiken, SC
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Thu February 5, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Finally have installed queen sized beds!
      Cons: Bus stop at most parks is very far away!, cast Member knowledge at check-in of process to activate annual passes was poor!

       
      After nearly 2 years away, we went back to the Caribbean Beach Resort on January 2 - 11th. We had requested Jamaica Building 45 but were given Barbados Building 15 instead. We opted not to push to be assigned a room in Jamaica because we were coming it at the tail end of the holiday week. We did have some issues with check-in. We arrived at 5:30 AM and were told we could not check in or get our parking pass until 6:00 AM. I had thought that if you did on-line check-in all your paperwork was ready when you arrived and all you needed to do was get your room assignment. This was a problem for us as we had planned on going to breakfast early and then driving to Animal Kingdom in our own car. Once we did check in, I asked the cast member specifically if our Annual Passes had been linked to our Magic Bands so that we could enter Animal Kingdom when we got there without stopping at Guest Services. She indicated so, but after standing in half an hour line at Animal Kingdom for entrance we were tole our Magic Bands did not have our Annual Passes attached and so we wasted another half hour going to Guest Services to activate them. If we had known we had to activate our Annual Passes on the Magic Band at the park, we would have gone directly to Guest Services and not lost nearly an hour of our time. On with the rest of the review..We received a text message notifying us of our room in a different building than what the cast member at check-in told us (not a big deal, it was still in Barbados). We were very pleased to see that it had been renovated and now included queen sized beds, a big improvement from the previous use of full size beds! Note that they are renovating one village at a time. while we were there, they were working on Martinique. Other than the check-in fiasco, we were very pleased with our stay. The renovated rooms are lovely and very functional. I am pleased that they now have combination safes so that we do not have to carry a bulky key with us to the parks. Mousekeeping was for the most part great; no towel animals, but our room was vacuumed and cleaned every day. Our only complaint was that we returned to the room most days around 2:00 PM and often found the room had not been made up yet. This was a problem as we often wanted to rest and then had to leave the room and go to Old Port Royale while they cleaned. The grounds were lovely and our building was close enough to Old Port Royale that going for drinks or a snack was no problem. I see that they no longer offer canoe and paddle boat rentals at CBR. A shame as we would have enjoyed that. They have also removed the outdoor chess board and pool table from the Marina Area. I did enjoy the evening movie though and the food court area was very clean. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend CBR to anyone who is looking for a moderate resort.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      daffy29

      Registered: January 2011
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed February 4, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet Room
      Cons:

       
      Stayed Jan 26-Feb 1. Had a refurbished room in Barbados. The room had the new 5th pull down bed, which is nice if you have 3 children. No complaints but nothing fantastic to report. Just a typical hotel stay. My kid got sick and puked on the floor and they came cleaned it up very well along with bringing us new sheets. This is my 4th time at Disney in the last 7 yrs and after staying in Disney hotels every time, I might try a DTD non Disney hotel next time. After staying in a Hampton in on the way home, it makes you realize how little the Disney hotel rooms actually are.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Jenn C

      Registered: January 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed January 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet room
      Cons: Mousekeeoing

       
      Stayed at CB from Dec 12 to Dec 21 2014 In Martinique. We paid for a preferred room and requested building 25 in Martinique with a water view. We were assigned a room in building 24 in Martinique with a view of the parking lot. When we requested a room in building 25, the check in cast member started sighing and rolling his eyes. He made it VERY clear that requests are not guaranteed. We told him we were aware of that and politely asked if he could check if a room with even one of our requests might be available. After much coaxing from my husband and explaining that it was our anniversary, and a lot of attitude from the cast member, he called and we were assigned a room in Martinique building 25 with a beautiful view of the Bay. We were disappointed at the cast members behavior but thrilled with the location of the room. That is until we opened the door!


      The room was filthy!!! I had to wipe the dust off of the shelves under the vanity area in order to put personal items there. The fire sprinkler was caked in dust as were the little pineapples on the top of the bed posts. There were cobwebs running from on top of the pictures on the walls up to the ceiling fan. When we turned the ceiling fan on it blew dust all over the room. The full length mirror had a big lipstick lip mark where someone had kissed it that wasn't cleaned properly. The room smelled musty and the heat and AC could not be controlled by the thermostat on the wall. We had to manually turn the heating and AC on and off ourselves via the actual window unit. It was a challenge keeping the room one constant comfortable temperature. We had one day where Mousekeeping missed our room entirely and one day where popcorn we spilled on the floor the night before was still there after Mousekeeping had cleaned the room the next day. When we first arrived in the room there was a pen and note pad for use, we lost the pen and note pad and when we requested new ones, we were told you only get one of each when you first arrive in the room!


      We reported all of the issues to the Mousekeeping manager who actually came to our room to see the issues and speak to us. She laughed most of the issues off and excused the uncleanliness in the room by stating our Mousekeeper was new and that the room was scheduled for refurbishment in the near future. We were made to feel like we were complaining about nothing. The mirror was eventually cleaned, the room was vacuumed properly and the shelves were dusted, but the dust and cobwebs caked on the sprinkler, pineapples, pictures and fan remained there for our entire stay, even after a calling everyday requesting the dust be cleaned. The heating and AC issue was not resolved during our stay either. We were continuously told someone would eventually fix the issues and that they were on the "list" to be dealt with. We were given a $50 credit but never an apology for the issues. We would have preferred that the room get a proper cleaning rather than the credit.


      This was our first time staying at a moderate resort and we were completely disappointed by the room and cast members. We have stayed at Pop Century and all of the All Star Resorts on numerous occasions and the rooms and cast members have been wonderful there. Time to go back to the Value Resorts where Disney feels and looks like Disney!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KarissaB1

      Registered: December 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Sun November 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great main pool
      Cons: Size, number of bus stops

       
      We stayed at this resort from 11/14/14-11/21/14. Our room was a preferred room located in Martinique. It was not renovated yet, however, it was clean and maid service was good. This was our first time staying at this resort, because Port Orleans was not part of the free dining offer this time. I had read previous posts regarding the size, but assumed others were being picky. I assumed wrong. This resort is huge. We were not far from the bus stop or the food court because of where I requested the room, but things were still not at your fingertips per se. This resort has 8 bus stops, so do not expect to keep or get a seat often. The food court food was okay, but not outstanding. We only ate there once. We did not try Shutters. The gift shop was good and the main pool was beautiful. This resort is nice, it is just too large and did not feel as comfortable as our previous resorts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jlmatheo

      Registered: January 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Tue November 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): refurbished room, great staff, lovely grounds
      Cons: Size of resort

       
      We stayed here Nov 15-22, 2014.
      We requested a ground floor room in Jamaica and were assigned that. We loved being the first bus stop most of the time. The room was very nice. Mousekeeper Maria was outstanding.


      However, this resort is HUGE. The walk to the food court and main pool was long. In good weather this would not have been an issue, but we had cold and rainy weather and therefore it felt like everything was miles away.


      Having so many bus stops could really add to the travel time.


      We ate at the food court once. Everything was fine, but not outstanding. Very crowded, but it was cold so I'm guessing most people came back from the parks early.


      The resort was peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed our stay but I don't think we would choose this resort again due to the size.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MouseBound4

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun November 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming, cleanliness, quiet
      Cons: Did not get building area requested

       
      We stayed for 5 nights in October 2014. This was our 3rd stay at CB resort. I had read on All Ears that this resort was being renovated building by building, so I wanted to make sure we were assigned a room in one of the buildings already completed. The online check-in gave us an opportunity to make requests for location, so I requested Aruba or Jamaica. I made a couple of other requests as well. I also called & was on the phone a long time with a WDW representative about the building request. The cast member on the phone assured me we would be assigned one of the renovated buildings. When we arrived at the resort, NONE of our requests were granted. I did not expect that all our requests would be granted, but I did think at least one request would be granted. I was told the resort was full so we had no choice but to take the room assigned in Martinique. I had worried over nothing. Even though ours was not a renovated room, it was spotlessly clean & looked like it had new carpet. Our mousekeeper was one of the best we have had, & we made it a point to let management know. The cast member who checked us in was really nice as well. He was so nice, I had a hard time complaining about the room assignment. The grounds were very nicely landscaped. We took advantage of both the quiet pool & the themed pool, both were quite clean & enjoyed both. We did not experience any of the problems with the food court which others on All Ears experienced. Our food was good. We did not utilize the buses, so I cannot comment on them. By the way, I was told when arriving at the resort that it is a frequent occurrence that guests are told they will have certain requests granted only to find out later the requests are not granted. The cast member at check-in told me the cast members on the phone are nowhere near WDW & know nothing of the resort itself. I concerned myself needlessly with building assignment. We have stayed in 3 different villages on our 3 stays & all 3 have been fine. We have stayed in three of the deluxe resorts, but are quite satisfied with the moderates. I would recommend (and have recommended) CB resort to others.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pkmuns

      Registered: April 2009
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Thu October 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beatiful resort, courteous, helpful employees
      Cons: The front desk is quite a distance from rooms, lack of storage space

       
      My adult daughter and I stayed October 15-18, 2014.


      We asked for a room in the newly refurbished Jamaica area, but were put into room 5131 in Aruba, right next to Jamaica. Our room in Aruba has also been refurbished. Although we don't need and didn't request an accessible room, that is what we were given.


      The room was lovely, with new queen size beds, and a fold-down bed suitable for someone less than 5 feet tall, allowing 5 people to sleep in the room.


      The disadvantage of having the fold-down bed is that it takes away valuable storage space. The only drawers were under that bed, right above the floor, making them inconvenient to use.


      The hanging storage is limited by the fact that the mini-fridge is located in the wardrobe, leaving about 4-6 inches of full length hanging space. Blouses can't hang straight above the fridge.


      The bathroom is huge, due to being in an accessible room. It has rails near toilet and tub, and two sinks. There is a sliding door separating bathroom from the rest of the room.


      It is a pleasant walk to Center Town from this building, as the bridge is right behind it.


      The food court is very nice, and has many options, including gluten free items.


      Bus stops are a 5-7 minute walk in either direction, the Aruba or Jamaica stops.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      njdc5

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Tue October 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Pool, splash park, activities, buses (surprisingly!)
      Cons: The size, some of the food options

       
      Our stay at the Caribbean Beach Resort was generally a good one, with some quirks. This is our third time staying here in the last 15 years, with the last stay being about 5 years ago. We stayed in the Martinique section, on the ground floor, as we had requested. The rooms were not updated, but we knew that prior to making our reservations. We checked in around 8:30 at night, and it couldn't have been easier. We walked into the customs house, checked in, and were at our room within 15 minutes. Bell services came 30 minutes later with our deliveries from Garden Grocer, and 15 minutes after that with the ECV's. We paid the extra money to be in the preferred area of Martinique, and the location was fine; close to the bus stop, and 3 buildings from the Old Port Royale.


      The pool and kids splash area here are both fantastic. Neither ever felt crowded, and the kids loved them both! The playground was nice as well, and the movie by the pool was fun, but get there early, as there weren't enough seats for some nights. The campfire was great too, with the staff being really good with the children, and roasting marshmallows in Florida was quite a novelty!


      The food court was just okay. The salads were decent, same chicken nuggets as anywhere else at Disney, and the sandwiches were just okay. Breakfast was fine, if not expensive. There were a few long lines during our trip, but nothing that did not pass quickly. The grab-and-go was decent, usually pretty well stocked, and added the typical Disney price markups. The pool bar was fine, with a really good selection of draft beers, all for between $6-$8.


      The concierge counter was always very helpful, and they were there until at least 10, maybe even 11 pm every night.


      The bus service was surprisingly very good, as we were prepared to have to wait forever for some of the buses. There was only one time that we had to wait over 20 minutes for a bus. This was great! The buses do have a long way to travel while still in the resort, so it takes at least 10 minutes from getting on the bus in Martinique, to when you actually leave the resort. This was the only thing that was a pain during our entire trip.


      Overall, we did enjoy our stay in this resort. The kids loved the pool and splash area, we enjoyed the beer selections and bus service, and we all enjoyed the family time together. I think that for our next trip, we'll try out the Port Orleans French Quarter, or return to our all-time favorite, the Animal Kingdom Lodge.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sherita66

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon October 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere was relaxing, rooms were very clean
      Cons: Large size of resort, bus system, food court choices

       
      I would only reccomend staying here in the Matinique area. One of the 2 first bus (Jamaica is the other) stops and close to food court and themed pool. Food court ran out of desserts early in the evening. Many choices were spicy and and not very appealing. If you like basic fast food (IE hambugers, hoy dogs, subs and Pizza/pasta its ok.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NY10543

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Fri August 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Decor, landscaping, ease of check-in/out
      Cons: Size of resort, food in food court, bus service

       
      I agree 100% with the previous reviewer. I had the exact same experience the week of 8/16-8/23. This resort is way too large. It took us 10 minutes to walk to the main building (Port Royale) After a day in the parks in the August heat, the last thing you want to do to is to have to walk more! The food at the food court was marginal at best, the choices were poor. I have been to WDW 10 times, 8 staying inside Disney and have never complained. I prefer some of the value resorts over Caribbean Beach. It was not worth the extra money.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SMReichert

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri August 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean
      Cons: Too far from everything; slow bus/full buses; not thrilled with food choices

       
      I can only speak for my experience this week at CBR. This is my 12th time in WDW. First time in CBR. I usually stay in Deluxe, but have stayed in French Quarter and was very happy there. I stayed this week in CBR. (We are still here). When I checked in on Tuesday, the registration wasn't too busy, but I still waited a bit to check in. The person who finally checked me in, came over to me in the line with an ipad and started the process as I stood there in the line. When she asked me for my credit card info, I asked if we could go somewhere that I could put my stuff down, and give her the info in a less public area. (I think she was new).
      When I saw that our room was at the far end of Trinidad south (Furthest from the center hub of the resort), I asked if we could be closer to the pool and the restaurants. It was just my son and I, and I don't like to have to walk far in the dark by ourselves. They told me I couldn't move from the "pirate room" because it was a "premium" room and moving me to a different room would mess up my "package" (Whatever that meant). But they did move me "closer" in Trinidad South, which ended up being farther from the bus stop and actually further walking distance to the restaurant. They seemed very bothered by the fact I asked to be closer. It definitely was not worth the extra money for a pirate room!!!
      Since we were at the end of the resort, the buses were always late and full. Since it was extremely hot, people were not respectful of the people who were already waiting and butted in front of the people who were waiting. So we had to wait for a second bus to get to a few of the resorts this week.
      I want to add that we met a nice family while waiting for the bus back to CBR from MK. They were complaining about the same problems I was having.
      I wasn't given anything about the resort like I have received from other resorts like what restaurants they had, hours of operation, etc. I did receive the dining plan brochure, a list of activities at the pool and a map of the resort.
      The first night, we were hungry and in our room. There wasn't any info in our room on private dining or pizza delivery. We called the front desk. They said there were places that delivered here, but we would have to go to the front of the resort to get it! Definitely not walking distance especially at 10 pm! So they recommended in room dining. I was transferred to another person. I asked what they offered and they said it was in a brown folder on the table. There was no folder. They asked what room I was in and they said someone would get it out to me. After 40 minutes, we called back. They said they didn't offer in room dining (What??) but they offered pizza delivery. (They think I was transferred to someone who was unaware I was calling from CBR.). We got the pizza (disappointing, but something)
      The food at the food court isn't that good. The grab & go doesn't have prices on anything. We have the refillable mugs, but a waste since we are so far away that we aren't there to fill them. Or we would have to carry them with us to the parks all day.
      Our room wasn't cleaned today. Not sure why. We didn't have washcloths in our room when we checked in, but them came right away with them along with extra towels.
      I have NEVER complained about WDW ever! Not sure if its the weather, but even the bus drivers are grumpy! The hotel employees are not happy or pleasant. The DVC rep was happy & Disney like, but no one else. I am very disappointed. My 11 year old has noticed it too. We are having fun though. It is WDW! But CBR is a total disappointment. Maybe if we were closer, we wouldn't have rated it so poorly, but being so far from everything, waiting so long for a bus to go to the resorts, and the food, I can't give it a good rating. Sorry. Back to Deluxe next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 241
      Review Date: Thu August 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Refurbished rooms, relaxed feeling, friendly cast members, requests met
      Cons: new rooms seem dark, parking due to construction, loud A/C units

       
      I booked a stay in a king bed room for 8/13-8/18. During online check in, I requested a water view room in Jamaica, and I also faxed a letter with more specific room requests, down to various room numbers.


      On 8/13, I arrived at the resort around noon and proceeded to the Custom House to check in. I did not even have to enter a line as a cast member greeted me with an iPad and went to get my packet for me. She told me my room was ready, and that it would be room 4217. This was the third room number I had requested so I was very pleased.


      The room was a short walk from the parking lot, just steps away from the beach and quiet pool, a five-minute walk over the bridge to Old Port Royale, and had an amazing view of Barefoot Bay and OPR. It was a room that had recently been refurbished with darker woods and tones. Personally, I thought it was a little too dark, not light and airy like I picture the Caribbean to be. My two real complaints about the room were the very noisy A/C units and the WiFi. CBR has not switched to the motion sensor thermostats, which is nice because the room stays cool at night, but they still have the bulky, loud, under the window kind. The WiFi was very slow and I had to disconnect and reconnect about every five minutes.


      Because the construction trailers are set up in the back of the Jamaica 41-43 parking lot, the parking was very restricted in that lot. During the day it was easy to find a spot, but coming back after the fireworks I had to park over in the 44-46 lot several times.


      The Fuentes del Morro pool was a lot of fun, and I enjoyed the slides. I bought some Magic Band accessories in the gift shop and ate three breakfasts, one lunch, and one dinner at the food court. I swam in the Jamaica pool one day and thought it was too warm. Did not use transportation so I can’t comment on that.


      While this resort is spread out, I did not think the walk to OPR was unbearable, and oftentimes I drove over anyway. I was a bit hesitant to stay here at first but I am glad I gave it a try and would recommend it to others-there’s nothing quite like coming back from a busy day at the parks and being able to relax in a hammock just steps from your door!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      patti1009

      Registered: July 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun August 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Landscaping, room renovation
      Cons: Food, Bar, Pool too clustered together

       
      We've stayed at several value, moderate, and deluxe Disney resorts and the only one we liked less than Caribbean Beach was All-Stars Sports. Our check-in July 4th was easy and we were put in an unrenovated Aruba room. It had a very noisy a/c, and when I called to complain they immediately moved us to a renovated room in Jamaica. So we got to see both the old and new rooms. We really liked the renovated room and the service was excellent throughout the resort. We could see 3 different fireworks shows on the 4th from the beach of the Jamaica area.


      The entire resort is visually lovely, especially the rooms area across the lake, everything else is clustered together - pool, bar, food court (we didn't eat there), restaurant (where we had a very good meal). It makes for an uncomfortably congested feeling, especially during the busy holiday period. We are smokers and try to be sensitive to others - unfortunately they put the smoking area right where everyone coming and going walks. If it bothered us, I can imagine how non-smokers and their children feel.


      Of the moderates, we liked Coronado Springs much more because although it is equally large and visually lovely, the food outlets and main pool are spread apart more so it feels less crowded. And we'd rather stay at Pop Century or Art of Animation again for their lower price, great theming, and food courts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Marcie P

      Registered: July 2008
      Location: Johnstown,PA
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Fri August 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice moderate resort
      Cons: on-going construction

       
      Stayed at Caribbean Beach July 19-26, 2014. There were 8 people in our party, with three rooms. Check-in went fairly smoothly. Rooms were not ready when we got there, so we took our carry-ons to bell services so we could head out to the parks. Also gave phone numbers to CMs at desk so they could let us know when rooms would be ready. Only one of the three rooms got a text that their room was ready. When we called to inquire about the other two rooms, they said they were ready(as if we should have known). Getting luggage and grocery order from Bell Services was a bit tricky. It took three phone calls to get all of our bags and grocery order to our rooms.
      The addition of queen beds and the pull down bed was a good thing. Disney should have thought about this years' ago.
      As far as some of the other posts concerning swimming in the lake at the resort--do your research before getting to the resort. It clearly states that swimming is not permitted in any of the resort lakes. And as far as the food at the resort, go out and explore your options.
      We were on the Counter Service Dining Plan, and found a variety of foods in the parks and resorts. One of the best options is Wolfgang Puck Express in Downtown Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mkhmn

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Gift shop
      Cons: Rooms, castmembers

       
      We scheduled our vacation at this resort to give it a try after spending the last four visits at Coronado Springs. We had combined conference time with tacked on vacation in the past and Coronado Springs did not disappoint. After retiring we decided to try the other resorts in the near or same price range. Bad idea.


      We arrived on the Magical Express from the Orlando Airport and so far, so good. We are welcomed into the lobby by the major domo at the door...again, nice touch. We get in line to register, although I'm expecting to sail on through as I have "checked in" using My Disney Experience and should only have to grab room keys and be gone. WRONG.


      We are in line and are approached by a woman castmember who is carrying on an argument with a male castmember about why is she doing what she is doing (which is apparently helping with check-in). They continue arguing and we are waved over before she concludes her argument and can talk to us.


      Our clerk takes FOREVER to get the information for our room and manages to make 3-4 mistakes that take FOREVER to correct. We want my daughter's credit card tied to her name and my card to mine, even though we are sharing a room. We don't want to share our charges. He doesn't understand, messes it up and has to do it again. The kids (8 and 11) are now running around the lobby even though they have been threatened and we have now been in the Custom House for 30 minutes. At 45 minutes we are done and my sons (who are sharing a room of their own) step forward. Two hours later - I am NOT KIDDING - their information is finally entered into the computer even though they also did the My Disney Experience check-in. In the process we have called a supervisor, who has called another supervisor who in the time he worked with the computer, called someone somewhere, managed to completely WIPE OUT all my information on the Disney Experience site, including fast passes and reservations. No sorry, no let me help you, no NOTHING for the extreme inconvenience. I have told my daughter and grandkids to go onto our room and hit the pool or something after the hour mark - I've stayed to lend moral support and maybe ramrod this thing as my sons are handicapped and not the most assertive.


      So when we're ready to finally leave we go out to bell services. The bellman was annoyed to have to take us to our rooms which are quite a walk away. He just got back from taking my daughter and grandkids. I'm like, you just took them? and he said yes. So in spite of getting them out of there an hour ago they've had to wait for a ride. Nice.


      I tell him we have a grocery service delivery waiting as well to be taken and that annoys him further. I have never been treated like this before at Disney. A woman bell person gets the groceries from a room and we are finally heading out with the disgruntled bell person.


      We arrive at the rooms and he brings up the groceries, semi complaining the whole way ("I've had a long day, it's hot, wow it's tough coming up these steps all the time"). Gave him a tip that he didn't deserve just to take in the room without him around.


      Not good. Neither room's refrigerators are plugged, so we're starting from hot with insulin to cool. The carpet feels damp and the room smells strange. We ask for housekeeping to come look at the refrigerators and are given a lecture over the phone about plugging them in, are both down? etc. I tell them to forget it and plan to ice the stupid insulin for the remainder of the trip.


      The groceries are fine, however, and we have one thing that has gone right. Yippee.


      Head for the food court at the big pool and are shocked to see several white sand beaches leading to...nothing. No water access to the very green lake (thank goodness) but what is the point of the sand, then? I guess if you like to sunbathe on a chair over sand, fine, but don't expect to cool off. You have to walk to a quiet pool or to the big pool - and it's a major hike - to get wet. I must have been naive to think that beaches meant water access. WHAT IS THE POINT OF THE BEACHES??


      On the dining plan for the first time as well and cannot believe the disappointing choices we have for dinner. Never heard of half of the stuff we are offered and got a crazy sandwich cut in a wedge that was hard and inedible. We never ate here again.


      The gift shop attached was really pretty full of most things you could want and also had some grocery items including a large selection of beers and wines by the single serving, or larger packages.


      Checked out the "amazing pool" with the pirate theme - the water was the same temperature as a warm bath. Ugh. Never came back here, either. The quiet pool by our room had cool refreshing water albeit without a slide.


      Decide to hit Downtown Disney and the bus transportation still seems to be working great. We walk down to the stop and head out with a minimum wait. Downtown is still the same, more or less and we came back a few hours later.


      The refrigerators are still not working - off to get ice to pack the insulin in till hopefully they kick in. Our luggage has partially arrived and same bell person comes back with one last suitcase after we call to report it missing. He is again unhappy to have to come back - this guy needs a new job somewhere else. Tipped him again, reluctantly.


      Over the course of the days we were there we had housekeeping miss us entirely one time (called and asked for them to come at 8 p.m. and the man who answered said, "really?" like that was outrageous. They did not come.


      On the day we left, I called for bell services to pick up our luggage to take in for the Magical Express. We had the most surly, unpleasant person come - a man whose name I wrote down but can't remember now. He gave us nothing but grief about the fact that we all had ipads that would need to be locked up till the time for the bus. Why did we all need one, we ought to get our heads out of them and look around, etc. My daughter wanted to take him on verbally but I told her to just let it go and we'd never come back here again. Again, a reluctant tip, but I also wanted to have my stuff back when it was time. This guy looked like he could "lose" our stuff if crossed.


      I intend to keep my promise. I WILL NEVER GO BACK HERE AGAIN. I have never been treated so shabbily at a Disney resort. Oh, by the way, no soap dispenser in the laundry worked for the entire time of our stay. We had to ORDER soap to be delivered to the room from the grocery company again - no one we asked about it at the Custom House gave a care. I know others complained, but NO ONE CARED.


      I would avoid this huge property with its insane beaches that go nowhere and its unfriendly clerks, bell persons and staff. Go to Coronado Springs - we will.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.