Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • sherita66

      Registered: October 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon October 6, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere was relaxing, rooms were very clean
      Cons: Large size of resort, bus system, food court choices

       
      I would only reccomend staying here in the Matinique area. One of the 2 first bus (Jamaica is the other) stops and close to food court and themed pool. Food court ran out of desserts early in the evening. Many choices were spicy and and not very appealing. If you like basic fast food (IE hambugers, hoy dogs, subs and Pizza/pasta its ok.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      NY10543

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Fri August 29, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Decor, landscaping, ease of check-in/out
      Cons: Size of resort, food in food court, bus service

       
      I agree 100% with the previous reviewer. I had the exact same experience the week of 8/16-8/23. This resort is way too large. It took us 10 minutes to walk to the main building (Port Royale) After a day in the parks in the August heat, the last thing you want to do to is to have to walk more! The food at the food court was marginal at best, the choices were poor. I have been to WDW 10 times, 8 staying inside Disney and have never complained. I prefer some of the value resorts over Caribbean Beach. It was not worth the extra money.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SMReichert

      Registered: August 2014
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Fri August 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Clean
      Cons: Too far from everything; slow bus/full buses; not thrilled with food choices

       
      I can only speak for my experience this week at CBR. This is my 12th time in WDW. First time in CBR. I usually stay in Deluxe, but have stayed in French Quarter and was very happy there. I stayed this week in CBR. (We are still here). When I checked in on Tuesday, the registration wasn't too busy, but I still waited a bit to check in. The person who finally checked me in, came over to me in the line with an ipad and started the process as I stood there in the line. When she asked me for my credit card info, I asked if we could go somewhere that I could put my stuff down, and give her the info in a less public area. (I think she was new).
      When I saw that our room was at the far end of Trinidad south (Furthest from the center hub of the resort), I asked if we could be closer to the pool and the restaurants. It was just my son and I, and I don't like to have to walk far in the dark by ourselves. They told me I couldn't move from the "pirate room" because it was a "premium" room and moving me to a different room would mess up my "package" (Whatever that meant). But they did move me "closer" in Trinidad South, which ended up being farther from the bus stop and actually further walking distance to the restaurant. They seemed very bothered by the fact I asked to be closer. It definitely was not worth the extra money for a pirate room!!!
      Since we were at the end of the resort, the buses were always late and full. Since it was extremely hot, people were not respectful of the people who were already waiting and butted in front of the people who were waiting. So we had to wait for a second bus to get to a few of the resorts this week.
      I want to add that we met a nice family while waiting for the bus back to CBR from MK. They were complaining about the same problems I was having.
      I wasn't given anything about the resort like I have received from other resorts like what restaurants they had, hours of operation, etc. I did receive the dining plan brochure, a list of activities at the pool and a map of the resort.
      The first night, we were hungry and in our room. There wasn't any info in our room on private dining or pizza delivery. We called the front desk. They said there were places that delivered here, but we would have to go to the front of the resort to get it! Definitely not walking distance especially at 10 pm! So they recommended in room dining. I was transferred to another person. I asked what they offered and they said it was in a brown folder on the table. There was no folder. They asked what room I was in and they said someone would get it out to me. After 40 minutes, we called back. They said they didn't offer in room dining (What??) but they offered pizza delivery. (They think I was transferred to someone who was unaware I was calling from CBR.). We got the pizza (disappointing, but something)
      The food at the food court isn't that good. The grab & go doesn't have prices on anything. We have the refillable mugs, but a waste since we are so far away that we aren't there to fill them. Or we would have to carry them with us to the parks all day.
      Our room wasn't cleaned today. Not sure why. We didn't have washcloths in our room when we checked in, but them came right away with them along with extra towels.
      I have NEVER complained about WDW ever! Not sure if its the weather, but even the bus drivers are grumpy! The hotel employees are not happy or pleasant. The DVC rep was happy & Disney like, but no one else. I am very disappointed. My 11 year old has noticed it too. We are having fun though. It is WDW! But CBR is a total disappointment. Maybe if we were closer, we wouldn't have rated it so poorly, but being so far from everything, waiting so long for a bus to go to the resorts, and the food, I can't give it a good rating. Sorry. Back to Deluxe next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 220
      Review Date: Thu August 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Refurbished rooms, relaxed feeling, friendly cast members, requests met
      Cons: new rooms seem dark, parking due to construction, loud A/C units

       
      I booked a stay in a king bed room for 8/13-8/18. During online check in, I requested a water view room in Jamaica, and I also faxed a letter with more specific room requests, down to various room numbers.


      On 8/13, I arrived at the resort around noon and proceeded to the Custom House to check in. I did not even have to enter a line as a cast member greeted me with an iPad and went to get my packet for me. She told me my room was ready, and that it would be room 4217. This was the third room number I had requested so I was very pleased.


      The room was a short walk from the parking lot, just steps away from the beach and quiet pool, a five-minute walk over the bridge to Old Port Royale, and had an amazing view of Barefoot Bay and OPR. It was a room that had recently been refurbished with darker woods and tones. Personally, I thought it was a little too dark, not light and airy like I picture the Caribbean to be. My two real complaints about the room were the very noisy A/C units and the WiFi. CBR has not switched to the motion sensor thermostats, which is nice because the room stays cool at night, but they still have the bulky, loud, under the window kind. The WiFi was very slow and I had to disconnect and reconnect about every five minutes.


      Because the construction trailers are set up in the back of the Jamaica 41-43 parking lot, the parking was very restricted in that lot. During the day it was easy to find a spot, but coming back after the fireworks I had to park over in the 44-46 lot several times.


      The Fuentes del Morro pool was a lot of fun, and I enjoyed the slides. I bought some Magic Band accessories in the gift shop and ate three breakfasts, one lunch, and one dinner at the food court. I swam in the Jamaica pool one day and thought it was too warm. Did not use transportation so I can’t comment on that.


      While this resort is spread out, I did not think the walk to OPR was unbearable, and oftentimes I drove over anyway. I was a bit hesitant to stay here at first but I am glad I gave it a try and would recommend it to others-there’s nothing quite like coming back from a busy day at the parks and being able to relax in a hammock just steps from your door!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      patti1009

      Registered: July 2012
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sun August 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Landscaping, room renovation
      Cons: Food, Bar, Pool too clustered together

       
      We've stayed at several value, moderate, and deluxe Disney resorts and the only one we liked less than Caribbean Beach was All-Stars Sports. Our check-in July 4th was easy and we were put in an unrenovated Aruba room. It had a very noisy a/c, and when I called to complain they immediately moved us to a renovated room in Jamaica. So we got to see both the old and new rooms. We really liked the renovated room and the service was excellent throughout the resort. We could see 3 different fireworks shows on the 4th from the beach of the Jamaica area.


      The entire resort is visually lovely, especially the rooms area across the lake, everything else is clustered together - pool, bar, food court (we didn't eat there), restaurant (where we had a very good meal). It makes for an uncomfortably congested feeling, especially during the busy holiday period. We are smokers and try to be sensitive to others - unfortunately they put the smoking area right where everyone coming and going walks. If it bothered us, I can imagine how non-smokers and their children feel.


      Of the moderates, we liked Coronado Springs much more because although it is equally large and visually lovely, the food outlets and main pool are spread apart more so it feels less crowded. And we'd rather stay at Pop Century or Art of Animation again for their lower price, great theming, and food courts.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Marcie P

      Registered: July 2008
      Location: Johnstown,PA
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Fri August 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nice moderate resort
      Cons: on-going construction

       
      Stayed at Caribbean Beach July 19-26, 2014. There were 8 people in our party, with three rooms. Check-in went fairly smoothly. Rooms were not ready when we got there, so we took our carry-ons to bell services so we could head out to the parks. Also gave phone numbers to CMs at desk so they could let us know when rooms would be ready. Only one of the three rooms got a text that their room was ready. When we called to inquire about the other two rooms, they said they were ready(as if we should have known). Getting luggage and grocery order from Bell Services was a bit tricky. It took three phone calls to get all of our bags and grocery order to our rooms.
      The addition of queen beds and the pull down bed was a good thing. Disney should have thought about this years' ago.
      As far as some of the other posts concerning swimming in the lake at the resort--do your research before getting to the resort. It clearly states that swimming is not permitted in any of the resort lakes. And as far as the food at the resort, go out and explore your options.
      We were on the Counter Service Dining Plan, and found a variety of foods in the parks and resorts. One of the best options is Wolfgang Puck Express in Downtown Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mkhmn

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Gift shop
      Cons: Rooms, castmembers

       
      We scheduled our vacation at this resort to give it a try after spending the last four visits at Coronado Springs. We had combined conference time with tacked on vacation in the past and Coronado Springs did not disappoint. After retiring we decided to try the other resorts in the near or same price range. Bad idea.


      We arrived on the Magical Express from the Orlando Airport and so far, so good. We are welcomed into the lobby by the major domo at the door...again, nice touch. We get in line to register, although I'm expecting to sail on through as I have "checked in" using My Disney Experience and should only have to grab room keys and be gone. WRONG.


      We are in line and are approached by a woman castmember who is carrying on an argument with a male castmember about why is she doing what she is doing (which is apparently helping with check-in). They continue arguing and we are waved over before she concludes her argument and can talk to us.


      Our clerk takes FOREVER to get the information for our room and manages to make 3-4 mistakes that take FOREVER to correct. We want my daughter's credit card tied to her name and my card to mine, even though we are sharing a room. We don't want to share our charges. He doesn't understand, messes it up and has to do it again. The kids (8 and 11) are now running around the lobby even though they have been threatened and we have now been in the Custom House for 30 minutes. At 45 minutes we are done and my sons (who are sharing a room of their own) step forward. Two hours later - I am NOT KIDDING - their information is finally entered into the computer even though they also did the My Disney Experience check-in. In the process we have called a supervisor, who has called another supervisor who in the time he worked with the computer, called someone somewhere, managed to completely WIPE OUT all my information on the Disney Experience site, including fast passes and reservations. No sorry, no let me help you, no NOTHING for the extreme inconvenience. I have told my daughter and grandkids to go onto our room and hit the pool or something after the hour mark - I've stayed to lend moral support and maybe ramrod this thing as my sons are handicapped and not the most assertive.


      So when we're ready to finally leave we go out to bell services. The bellman was annoyed to have to take us to our rooms which are quite a walk away. He just got back from taking my daughter and grandkids. I'm like, you just took them? and he said yes. So in spite of getting them out of there an hour ago they've had to wait for a ride. Nice.


      I tell him we have a grocery service delivery waiting as well to be taken and that annoys him further. I have never been treated like this before at Disney. A woman bell person gets the groceries from a room and we are finally heading out with the disgruntled bell person.


      We arrive at the rooms and he brings up the groceries, semi complaining the whole way ("I've had a long day, it's hot, wow it's tough coming up these steps all the time"). Gave him a tip that he didn't deserve just to take in the room without him around.


      Not good. Neither room's refrigerators are plugged, so we're starting from hot with insulin to cool. The carpet feels damp and the room smells strange. We ask for housekeeping to come look at the refrigerators and are given a lecture over the phone about plugging them in, are both down? etc. I tell them to forget it and plan to ice the stupid insulin for the remainder of the trip.


      The groceries are fine, however, and we have one thing that has gone right. Yippee.


      Head for the food court at the big pool and are shocked to see several white sand beaches leading to...nothing. No water access to the very green lake (thank goodness) but what is the point of the sand, then? I guess if you like to sunbathe on a chair over sand, fine, but don't expect to cool off. You have to walk to a quiet pool or to the big pool - and it's a major hike - to get wet. I must have been naive to think that beaches meant water access. WHAT IS THE POINT OF THE BEACHES??


      On the dining plan for the first time as well and cannot believe the disappointing choices we have for dinner. Never heard of half of the stuff we are offered and got a crazy sandwich cut in a wedge that was hard and inedible. We never ate here again.


      The gift shop attached was really pretty full of most things you could want and also had some grocery items including a large selection of beers and wines by the single serving, or larger packages.


      Checked out the "amazing pool" with the pirate theme - the water was the same temperature as a warm bath. Ugh. Never came back here, either. The quiet pool by our room had cool refreshing water albeit without a slide.


      Decide to hit Downtown Disney and the bus transportation still seems to be working great. We walk down to the stop and head out with a minimum wait. Downtown is still the same, more or less and we came back a few hours later.


      The refrigerators are still not working - off to get ice to pack the insulin in till hopefully they kick in. Our luggage has partially arrived and same bell person comes back with one last suitcase after we call to report it missing. He is again unhappy to have to come back - this guy needs a new job somewhere else. Tipped him again, reluctantly.


      Over the course of the days we were there we had housekeeping miss us entirely one time (called and asked for them to come at 8 p.m. and the man who answered said, "really?" like that was outrageous. They did not come.


      On the day we left, I called for bell services to pick up our luggage to take in for the Magical Express. We had the most surly, unpleasant person come - a man whose name I wrote down but can't remember now. He gave us nothing but grief about the fact that we all had ipads that would need to be locked up till the time for the bus. Why did we all need one, we ought to get our heads out of them and look around, etc. My daughter wanted to take him on verbally but I told her to just let it go and we'd never come back here again. Again, a reluctant tip, but I also wanted to have my stuff back when it was time. This guy looked like he could "lose" our stuff if crossed.


      I intend to keep my promise. I WILL NEVER GO BACK HERE AGAIN. I have never been treated so shabbily at a Disney resort. Oh, by the way, no soap dispenser in the laundry worked for the entire time of our stay. We had to ORDER soap to be delivered to the room from the grocery company again - no one we asked about it at the Custom House gave a care. I know others complained, but NO ONE CARED.


      I would avoid this huge property with its insane beaches that go nowhere and its unfriendly clerks, bell persons and staff. Go to Coronado Springs - we will.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      CaptainQuick

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sun July 27, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): New Room Renovations, Pool, Atmosphere
      Cons: Busing

       
      *2nd time staying at CBR, first time was a Pirate-themed room which is totally not worth it*


      This time much better.


      We stayed in Jamaica section of CBR for nine days in the middle of July, 2014.


      Check-in was incredibly smooth with no wait time and free pirate swords for the kids. Room was ready well before the required time, as we checked in early in the morning.


      Upon entering our room we noticed a brand new smell as the entire room had been renovated. Gone were the small beds with new Queen sized beds. Gone was the putrid green looking furniture, replaced with beautiful looking new furniture in its place. New paint, decor, furnishings, etc. Our favorite part was the nightstand and Dressers each had outlets/USB ports in them for charging phones etc. making it extra easy to charge our electronics each night. The bathroom doors were replaced with Caribbean styled sliding doors which were great (needs a lock... kids loved these...). All in all the renovations were terrific and a much needed change to the rooms. It looked like they were moving quickly in renovating the other sections of CBR, compared to our arrival and upon departure they had completed the rest of Jamaica and had started on Aruba, in just the small time we were there.


      As far as the rest of CBR goes, the kids loved the pirate themed pool and activities CBR offered throughout the afternoon, and the Camp Fire and Movie Night were great as well. Caribbean Cay is beautiful and we loved walking along the various paths and trails.


      A few negatives, busing system is dreadful. Incredibly long wait times, and it seemed like they would change their routes or skip Jamaica entirely. Not sure if it was because not a whole lot of people were staying in Jamaica or not due to renovations but it was terrible. We ended up just walking to Old Port Royale most of the time. In addition to the long waits it takes 12 minutes for the buses to get fully around, so definitely plan on extra time.


      We did notice the service from employees left a little bit more to be desired. It just seemed like a lot of them were going through the motions and not making that extra effort to make something magical. This was one step backwards we noticed from our previous trip. One terrific story from our previous trip 3 years ago was my son fell and bloodied his lip just outside of OPR near the pool area. the staff went above and beyond to make sure he was okay and even gave him a free stuffed Mickey and a special conch shell. It really turned a bad situation into something magical. I just hope they are still trying to make magical moments and not purely looking at the clock.


      Also, food court is nothing to write home about, with incredibly high prices. Someone please explain to me why the Grab N' Go has no prices listed, was incredibly annoying.


      All in all, some much needed improvements to CBR. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back to CBR in the future.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      EpcotMom

      Registered: July 2006
      Location: Taunton, Massachusetts
      Posts: 42
      Review Date: Tue July 22, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful resort
      Cons: Drapes do not shut

       
      We stayed in the Martinique section on July 17 and 18. We have stayed here a few times before and love the theming. Did not use the main pool this time, but used the quiet pool in our section. We had a nice stay, room was clean, but since we were adjacent to the pool there was a lot of light and there is no way to really darken the room. I also understand that they are upgrading to queen size beds. This would definitely be an improvement, beds are too small. One other slight annoyance, housekeeping knocked on the door at 9:00 am on the day we were leaving. Kids were still in bed. She asked "when were we leaving"! My husband told her we would be an hour or so. She parked her cart outside our room and there it stayed until we left!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      beachpup

      Registered: July 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed July 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Quiet area in Trinidad South
      Cons: Quite boring compared to the other moderates

       
      Having stayed at all of the moderates over the years, we decided to try a pirate room at the Caribbean, having not stayed there since around 2000 or so. Well, it hasn't changed. I have to say it is my least favorite moderate resort, with Coronado Springs being my absolute favorite due to the theming and feel of the resort, with both Port Orleans coming in second and third. Caribbean Beach is bland, especially considering its themed after somewhere so robust and alive as the Caribbean. The grounds are not as beautiful as the other moderates, and the whole look and feel lacks a special something, unlike the others. If you didn't tell me the resort was themed after the Caribbean, I would never had known. Our pirate room in Trinidad South was extremely quiet the first three or so days we were there, which was a blessing since the main pool was always noisy, especially with the staff doing some kind of kid's sing along thing which seemed constant. Our quiet pool was exactly that except for one afternoon which had a group of obnoxious unsupervised kids being loud. Pluses at the main pool are a pretty long slide compared to the others, and a second 'hidden' hot tub behind the main pool slide building, which I delighted in camping out one afternoon with no one else to bother me. Other nice touches are small beaches sprinkled here and there, more than the Coronado, so there are plenty of options to find a quiet one to yourself. The food court was nothing to brag about. I had a cuban sandwich which seemed to take forever to get, but it was pretty good, if not worth the steep price. If you try anything from the quick service, get a 'monkey cupcake', chocolate cupcake with peanut butter frosting with banana filling, it was so delicious, even though it fell apart when I ate it lol. The pirate room was very cool, however the mattresses on the beds were HARD. The theming was awesome though and it was nice to come home from a day at the parks to a Disney themed room, I loved it. We always request a certain type of room when we stay at Disney, and I must say this is the first time in awhile we were granted our request right off the bat (probably because Trinidad South was so deserted). A pleasant stay but there are other better choices in the moderate category.
      Checking out was a problem, with our luggage. We took it to the main house to check in to our flight and so they could take the luggage, and they couldn't find our reservation. Very frustrating. So we took our luggage to the Polynesian, and they found our reservation right away no problem and allowed us to check our luggage with them . A negative ending to an otherwise pleasant stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kiwitess

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Mon June 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful grounds
      Cons: scratchy towels

       
      For a moderate resort, this was excellent. Caribbean Beach had beautiful grounds and I completely enjoyed walking the 1.2 mile path around the resort. The pool and jacuzzi area was wonderful. The restaurant area was not the greatest. It was more of a Sizzler's atmosphere then what I expected from Disney. The rooms were small but nice for a moderate resort. The towels were scratchy and coming apart. They were worse than Motel 6. No lotion and the shampoo and conditioner bottles fell apart as soon as we opened them - quite a waste if you ask me. The service was very good. All the people were excellent except for one woman at the luggage service area. She must have been having a bad day and was pretty unkind on the phone. We would stay again at the Caribbean Beach but will probably opt for a deluxe resort or the log cabins for our next stay.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcjones

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Fri May 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful grounds, Front desk staff very nice and helpful
      Cons: Food Court, Hotel complex massive

       
      This was my first time staying at one of the moderate Disney resorts. I have stayed several times in the deluxe resorts. I thought the hotel was very nice and room was a pretty good size. I was traveling with three teenage girls who were performing with their class in Downtown Disney. The Hotel is very large and we were in Martinique section which was pretty close to food court and busing.


      My only real complain is the food court. I thought it was over priced and the food was only ok. I hated how everything was a la carte. You think you are buying a couple of muffins and a couple bottles of water and you wouldn't be spending that much. Breakfast always seemed to be about $25.00 for two people with very little food bought. I would love to see it set up as a buffet and pay one price. I also don't like the set up of the food court. It doesn't have a good logistical design. People are trying to buy pastries on 1 line and the cashier line converges with it. They will not give you to go containers when you get the food. You have to go to a separate station and it just makes it confusing. Unfortunately, trying to manage food (without box) and water bottles I dropped it all over me. Food Court staff less than friendly.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcmouse

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Mon April 28, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): beautiful, clean and friendly
      Cons: none

       
      Husband and I stayed here in a preferred room in Martinique from 3/18 - 3/27. This isn't our first stay here, actually probably our 7th or 8th. There are many reasons we keep returning. We have Never had any problems with room cleanliness. Mousekeeping always is super. During this latest stay we came back to our room early in the afternoon one day and found a staff member cleaning out the air conditioner vents with Clorox. That's how clean it was. Grounds are gorgeous, cast members are terrific, and we always feel home away from home. The walks to the food court aren't that bad, even from the far reaches of the pirate rooms. Yes, they take some time, but not more than 5 or 6 min. We regularly walk around the lake for exercise so we have traveled to all areas of the resort. We will always return here and feel this resort is sometimes unfairly judged because of it's large size. The only thing we would change is installing queen beds in all the rooms, and during this last visit we learned that that may indeed happen in the near future. Give it a try, you'll love it as we do.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      allears2014

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Sat April 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lake and grounds were nicely landscaped
      Cons: Everything else

       
      My son really wanted to stay in a pirate themed room, which are available at the Caribbean Beach Resort. In the past we have stayed in Disney's Deluxe and Value Resorts, but have never stayed in a moderate. I was very pleased with the Value Resort, so since the Caribbean is supposed to be a step up from that, I expected a step better than the Value Resorts. We were very disappointed.


      Before I address our issues, I will say the exterior of this Resort is nicely landscaped and well maintained. The bus stop for our section was always clean.


      At check in, I was notified that all of the pirate rooms are located at the far end of this "resort". There is only one food court for the entire property (this property is HUGE). I asked how we would get from the room to the food court and was told it is "an easy 5 minute walk from your room". This was just not true. My son and I walked a steady pace and it took nearly 20 minutes. There is also an internal resort shuttle, which I did try; however, the wait at the bus stop was 20 minutes and then it circles and makes all the other stops in between- - I believe there are like 8 internal bus stops. Walking is faster, but still an unreasonable distance for a cup of coffee or soda (oh, and if like us you have your shopping sent to the hotel, well you'll need to make the LONG trek to the gift shop, also located next to the food court.).


      The other thing you should know, which I didn't until we got there was the large, zero entry cool looking pool advertised as "the pool" on their webpage is at the food court. So, if you're in a pirate room and want a quick dip in the pool- - - forget about it. It's too far away from the pirate section-- if you have a car you could drive to it- - otherwise, it's walking approx 40 mins round trip with your pool accessories or waiting at a bus stop. Our "pirate section" did have it's own pool, but it was more akin to what you'd find in a friend's backyard- - a good pool, but nothing special.


      When we entered the room in Building 36, the odor was overpowering. We could not catch our breath; it smelled of mold, mildew and soured gym socks. Called the front desk and they said they'd send someone down to freshen it up. We were leaving as the man from housekeeping came in to "freshen" it. When we returned late that evening, it smelled of air freshener, mold, mildew and soured gym socks.


      The room was too hot as well and when we tried to turn down the air, it would not go lower than 68 degrees on the thermostat. It felt like 78 degrees in the room. We asked about this, too, but were told 68 degrees is as low as it will go. Also, the windows do not open and there was no balcony to allow for fresh air.


      Then we noticed there was hair everywhere, my son dropped one of his toys on the floor and when he picked it up it was covered in hair, the bathroom floor had hair everywhere. The light switch was black (although originally white). The pirate ship bed had a large piece broken off of it. The entire room felt filthy, old and worn out.


      This time I traveled the long distance back to the front desk to speak with someone in person, explained we have stayed at Disney many times and never experienced anything like this. . . I told the man at the front desk "our room is really filthy". He offered to do a thorough cleaning the next day, but did not offer a different room. For the first two days, there was a large bag of dirty linens that just sat outside our door.


      Being too far away from the food court for a quick drink, I left to buy a soda from the machine at the bus stop one evening. It was not working. I then found the laundry room, but that machine was out of order also.


      Overall, we were extremely disappointed with the room. It was a shame since my son was so looking forward to a "cool pirate room". The fact that I paid extra (pirate rooms cost more) for a dirty room too far away from the food court to enjoy the "unlimited refills" was disappointing. I would not recommend this resort and will not stay here again. It is in major need of updating.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wdt08Ias

      Registered: April 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue April 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Beautiful Caribbean atmosphere and surroundings
      Cons: none

       
      My DW and I stayed 03/31/14 to 04/05/14. We've stayed at this resort at least 6 or 8 times (kinda lost track) and we've never been disappointed, it's one of our favorites. We requested Martinique as we haven't stayed there before but we got Jamaica which was fine. We did get upgraded to a king room though. People complain about the size however we enjoy the short walks through Caribbean Cay to Port Royale for coffee in the morning. The walking is good for burning off the extra calories from the dining plan too! The bus service was reasonable as always, 10 or 15 minutes, with one exception. We were meeting friends at Downtown Disney for lunch one day and had to wait 45 minutes for a bus. Maybe they run less buses to DD during the daytime. We also had a minor incident in our room. Upon our return one afternoon we found a lizard in the room but a call to maintenance and a CM came and quickly removed it. I didn't mind but my wife wasn't happy about our extra guest. All in all we had another wonderful stay at Caribbean Beach.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.