Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • roneeh

      Registered: September 2010
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Tue March 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere is great
      Cons: none

       
      We really enjoyed the drive in feel and the food was pretty good. Seemed like there could be a little more selections on the menu but everyone found something to like.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 114
      Review Date: Tue March 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: NONE

       
      This was a fun place to dine, great shakes and burgers!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      angiem0217

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Wed February 19, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): drive in, food
      Cons: none

       
      This was our first time to eat here and all I can say is thet we loved it. This place is really cool. We sat in a car and it really is like you are at a drive in. The food was great! This is now one of my favorite places to eat at Disney.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nybella17girl

      Registered: December 2006
      Location: Jacksonville, FL
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Mon February 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cool atmosphere!
      Cons: Food could be better

       
      Have eaten here twice, both times for dinner. Had the pasta the first time and the burger the second time. Burger was a much better choice. Food could be better, but nothing beats eating your dinner in a drive in car! The dim lighting and "stars" make you feel relaxed. I will likely return but i'm going to try some other eateries before I go back again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      dksyooper

      Registered: February 2011
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Sun February 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great atmosphere, average food
      Cons: Pricey

       
      My family and I always enjoy the Sci Fi. I would give the restaurant a "10" for atmosphere, but only a "6" for food which is why I gave it an "8" rating. We love sitting in a classic car and watching 1950's trailers. I had a chesseburger which was fine and DS had a turkey sandwich that was okay. Our waitress was very nice and attentive. I would think families with children would love the restaurant because the atmosphere would keep the children occupied until their food arrived. Overall, we would eat here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      goofy284

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sat January 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): theming, food, and staff
      Cons: none

       
      I booked this restaurant for my grandniece and my trip. Since it was the two of us, I looked for places she had never been and that I thought was surprising, since you can not tell what is inside the building and it is so different then other food places I thought she would like it.


      When we arrived, we were seated right away. Since there was the two of us, we were the hitchhikers at the back of our cars. My niece had a balloon and the wait staff put it at the front to the side of the screen so it was not in anyone's view of the movie screen. It upset her at first but she got it back after so be warned if you have little ones.


      The server we had was wonderful. My niece wanted a milkshake and it was no problem on the dining plan so I did not have to pay extra even though I would have. The food was very good and plentiful, I could not eat it all.


      My niece said this was the best place to eat! She loved it. Since she has never been to the drive in, the whole concept was new. Even the old movie clips where new to her and she loved them. I found it a great place to unwind from the park the dark cool vibe was wonderful after the park and we had the best conversation something that is hard to do with kids in the time of iPods and cell phones. It was a nice step back in time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WarEagleAuburn

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Thu January 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: Service

       
      This is a restaurant you visit for the atmosphere and not the food. The food is just OK but sitting in the cars is neat. The service during our visit was awful. I finally raised my hand to get our waitress to come over and greet us to take our drink order. She could have turned our table over twice if she had just been more timely with order taking and bringing our check.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maddox4

      Registered: September 2009
      Location: Springfield, IL
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Mon December 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food
      Cons: service a little slow

       
      I know this place doesn't get the best reviews but we had a very pleasant experience. I had the steak and they cooked it very rare as I requested and it was really good. DH and DS had sandwich and burger and no complaints from them either. Dessert was delicious. Service was a bit slow considering we ate a later lunch but since we weren't in a hurry it wasn't a big issue. We will definitely eat here in the future.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      arparkes78

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon December 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): theming
      Cons: service and food

       
      This was our first time dining there and I don't think we will go back. The food was not very good, I could have gotten the same cheeseburger at at quick service lunch. Our server was also not very attentive and we had to ask other servers that were passing by for refills and napkins.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SammoDake

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon December 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun atmosphere, good service
      Cons: Questionable food, short reel

       
      My wife and I had eaten at the SciFi Drive-in before. We knew that we liked the lunch menu, but did not care for the dinner menu, so we went at around 4 on a Tuesday for lunch. Though we did not have reservations we were seated fairly quickly.


      You know what the atmosphere is like, so there's no need to go into details. Needless to say that if you can get a car, it really is as cool and fun as it seems. The only real downside is that the reel they show is only about 30 or so minutes long, so if you linger you will eventually see The Amazing Colossal Man more than once. Also, they've severely abridged the classic Cat Who Hated People cartoon. The reel hasn't changed in years, so there are no surprises. It would be nice if Disney could add a lot of new stuff to it, adding variety and increasing its length. Even better, ditch the reels and make each segment its own contained unit, then randomize the order in which they're shown.


      The food was okay. We both really liked our Oreo shakes, but the buffalo popcorn chicken was a little chewy and was served in a paper cone, so the chicken at the bottom was drenched in sauce while the chicken at the top barely had any on it, making for an uneven eating experience.


      The All American Picnic Burger was not terrible, but the hot dogs were distracting. They were cheap franks, and as such overpowered the taste of the beef with their nitrate-packed flavor. Otherwise the burger was fine, but as with so much food at Disney, it was all far more expensive than it deserved to be.


      The Sci-Fi Drive-in is fun, especially if you get a seat in a car, but I wouldn't go there again for anything more than shakes. Especially since a shake will get you in and out before the reel loops.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jme2

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Sat December 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fun atmosphere, cheesey movies playing while you eat
      Cons: menu limited, not very handicap friendly

       
      We were able to get away for a date night for dinner. Our daughter has special needs and was using a stroller as a wheelchair during our visit. This place would not have been a handicap friendly place to dine due to the "car" tables. I did see that they had some regular tables but that is not as fun. I also noticed that for larger parties they had a variation of the car that may have worked. We arrived for our 7:15 reservation and waited about 15 minutes to be seated. Our waitress was excellent. We had the Spinach and Artichoke Dip and it was delicious. My husband had The Reuben and I had the ribs. Both dishes were great. Loved the cucumber salad that came with them. The cheesey movies and comericals are hysterical and add to the overall experience. I think dining with infants, children with special needs, handicapped family members or people who are larger in size may present a challenge here do to the design of the cars. This is a fun spot to go if you can and food is pretty good and prices are typical for the theme parks.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tinyallison

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Wed December 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cute and fun, light and healthy menu
      Cons:

       
      I love the menu choices here. Its light and healthy, just what I would bring on a picnic. it was refreshing to eat after all the heavy meals I had during the week. The seats are a little small but the ambiance is very cool.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      asmanibe

      Registered: December 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Thu December 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): theme, service
      Cons: price$$$$$$$

       
      The wife had never been, and I LOVE this place, so it was on the itinerary....


      She loved the trailers and ads, she loved the car/drivein idea (we shared a 6 seater that had kids "driving") and our server was attentive and fast -


      The ratio of food cost to food received was a little underwhelming: Turkey Sandwich + Steak w/veggies, sodas and desserts (DDP) = $70 + tip


      Summary: She loved it but does not have to go back for dinner (shakes/dessert maybe) - she would rather spend that cash at a restaurant (Boatwrights or Tony's) both places that we ate during our trip that were in the same price range using DDP.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jessicahs

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Mon November 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, atmosphere, theming, serving,
      Cons: none

       
      This is my husband's favorite restaurant on property. We have skipped it the last few trips but are so glad we went back on 11/4! Our server was awesome - totally into the whole "role" of the car hop, really played up the jokes and puns. The spinach and artichoke dip was the best I have ever had anywhere. Yes it's burgers and sandwiches and yes it's expensive - it's Disney! But it is so great. My 7 year old daughter wrote down the titles of the movies so we can watch them in their entirety when we get home. Love it and will return.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      HOBBES

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: UK
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Thu October 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Brilliant theming and atmosphere
      Cons: alcoholic milkshakes gone from menu

       
      We come here every time and love it. The burgers are amongst the best on property and we just love sitting in the car and watching the clips (about time they were changed though-same clips for as long as I've been going!) Only gripe was the alcoholic milkshakes (Space Monkey and Marshas martian)have gone from the menu so we had to have a boring cocktail-then when we mentioned it to the waitress at the end she said "Oh they can still make them if you ask for them" But how would we know that if they aren't on the menu? That spoiled what would have otherwise been a 10!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.