Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • disneywolverine

      Registered: April 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon April 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fantasmic seating
      Cons: food quality, kids menu, desserts

       
      We recently dined here with the Fantasmic Dining Package. The service took forever! I ordered the charred strip steak and it was very fatty with lots of cartilage. My young son ordered from the kids menu, cheese pizza. It was no bigger than the palm of my hand. Since we were dining under the Fantasmic Package we weren't allowed to order individual desserts. We were brought a plate with four small samples and they were the worst desserts we have ever eaten at Disney. If you want VIP seating for fantasmic they now offer fast passes during the day, signs are posted all over the park where to obtain these. I would definitely skip dining here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      chrisfam4

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Thu April 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Smells, food, atmosphere
      Cons: Location in the park

       
      We have dined at Mama's twice and this time was better than before, and we loved our first visit! We were seated promptly and our waiter, Scooter, was great. He recommended several hits. We each tried something different and everything was superb. I had the Penne with shrimp in a Vodka cream sauce. Three people could have eaten out of the bowl and been filled. The shrimp were plump and cooked perfectly and the pasta was filled with panchetta. DH had the seafood pasta with shrimp, clams, muscles and fettuchini. MIL had the Osso Bucco which was enormous. FIL and BIL each got different flat breads. Kids each got cheese pizzas but it was a waste because they prefered to eat our adult meals. It was a fabulous meal. When dining here you absolutely feel that you've been transported to a little Italian tratoria, the decor is so enchanting. We absolutely will dine here again. I hope to get the fanasmic dining package next time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Thu April 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food and service
      Cons: none

       
      The three of us (me, wife, 13yo daughter) ate dinner here on 4/3/13. We had what we thought were 7:30 ADRs, but were actually 6:30pm reservations. So we arrived and hour late, soaked from the thunderstorm that just happened to erupt as were getting out of our car. Lucky for us, we were able to be seated after a short 10 minute wait. Momma Melrose is our favorite restaurant in all of WDW – and it didn’t disappoint us this time!! My wife and I had the NY Strip with 5 cheese mac & cheese and my daughter had the manicotti with a side of the mac & cheese. This was easily the best meal of our WDW trip!! Our steaks were buttery tender and the mac & cheese was fabulous! I highly recommend Momma Melrose to everyone at WDW. Service is always great and this year it was better than ever. Our server offered to comp my mussel appetizer if I didn’t like it, well her recommendation was spot on, they were great – very, very good. On the menu they are described and “in a spicy tomato” sauce. I don’t like spicy foods and our server assured me they were not very spicy at all, and she was right!! We’ll keep coming back!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      geneandcheryl

      Registered: April 2009
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Wed April 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fantasmic package
      Cons: slow service

       
      First time dining here. Our waitress was pleasant but seemed overwhelmed.We had Deluxe dining plan and 10yr olds did not find menu appealing. I asked for kids menu and waitress send that was not allowed which I knew was incorrect as we had been allowed to work off kids menu at other spots....they just give a larger portion.Food overall OK but not sure if we will return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pseudosquid

      Registered: April 2013
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Thu April 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantasmic seating
      Cons: Slow service, food was so-so

       
      One strike against this place was that even though we arrived 30 minutes earlier than our reservation time, others who arrived after us were seated before us. They were seating people close to their reservation time regardless of how early they arrived. I understand they may need to do this, but at least other restaurants have had the courtesy to tell us so we're not surprised when we're waiting. Also, we were accustomed at most other restaurants to being seated based on our arrival time as long as it was within 30 minutes of our reservation time. That aside, on to the review.


      **First, an important note!** If you are on the dining plan, make sure to book this as the Fantasmic package if you plan on eating here. Why? There's NO extra charge or credits needed to do this at all, and then you get a pass for special seating at Fantasmic AND free appetizers! Additionally, we weren't able to attend Fantasmic the same night we ate at Mama Melrose's, and they accepted our special seating pass on another night! Even if you're not sure if you're going to see Fantasmic, it doesn't hurt to get the pass!


      Our waitress was nice but a little absentminded, so the service was slow. Not horrible, but a little irritating since it took a while for us to get seated in the first place.


      Appetizers: Mozzarella and Tomatoes - The tomatoes tasted good with balsamic on them, but the mozzarella was sadly tasteless. The other we got was Caesar salad which was good.


      Entrees:


      Chicken Campanelle - The portion was large but the taste was only so-so. As much as I love Italian food, I didn't want to over indulge in it because the taste wasn't anything special.


      Oven-baked Chicken alla Parmigiana - On the other hand, this dish had great taste but I feel like the portion was medium, but could be considered small for my husband who has a big appetite. Thankfully we were getting appetizers and desserts with this meal


      Desserts:


      We were celebrating our anniversary so we got two mini-deserts on a plate, and I don't know what they were called. But I will say they were excellent!! The best of the three courses in this meal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mcmouse

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 75
      Review Date: Tue April 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Hubby and I ate here for the first time on 3/4/13, the first night of our trip. We were seated almost immediately after our arrival. I had the chicken parm, and Hubby had the tuna steak. The food was good, nothing spectacular, but fine for our standards. Service was slow. It took a long time for our food to arrive. Another table next to us who arrived after us with more people got their food before we did. Our server did come by several times to see if we needed anything including drinks. When we were done it took a while for our check to come too. I would probably give this place another try. Just don't go if you're in a hurry or have to be some place else in a short period of time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Figee17

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Worcester, MA
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue March 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food
      Cons: Nothing

       
      Had a wonderful late lunch here on Saturday March 24. We made reservations when we entered the park around 11AM and had a reservation for 1:20. It was not crowded in the restaurant and we were seated promptly. We had a great server. I ordered the spaghetti and meatballs and it did not dissapoint. Four meatballs were too much for me but they gave a nice amount of pasta and the sauce was delicious. I tried some of my dining companions' chicken parm and it was also very good. I had the California wine flight and that was delightful! 2oz pours of a Zinfandel, Merlot, and Chard. if I remember correctly. Very nice meal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Arden

      Registered: March 2011
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Tue March 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food and Service
      Cons: None

       
      Dined here Mar 2013. Large party, were seated promptly. Service was very good, Food was tasty and the serving size was generous. Will definitely come back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      gavinsmomm

      Registered: March 2006
      Location: Belle Chasse, Louisiana
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon March 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food & service
      Cons: Plate of Meat & Cheese for 2

       
      We dined at Mama Melrose's on Feb. 14th as part of the Fantasmic VIP Package. Our waiter was extremely attentive and very helpful answering all of our questions. We enjoyed all of our food with one exception. My mom order the meat & cheese appetizer for two and we did not enjoy it at all. Will definitely stay away from that in the future but other than that everything was wonderful. The calamari, salad, steak, pasta, chicken....all excellent! Only downfall was that it rained almost all day and that night our showing of Fantasmic was cancelled. But we will definitely be back again next time!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jnscook

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 31
      Review Date: Mon March 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food is decent
      Cons: service attitude

       
      All members of my family got spaghetti with meatballs. It was good enough. We had the gellato, chocolate cheesecake, and the chocolate cake for desert. They were all good enough. I know by reading the description of this restaurant that part of the "fun" is supposed to be nagging mothers as your servers. Didn't see any of those. Did have a waiter who was good at his job but I really don't like having waiters who act as though they are doing me a favor to be there. Not sure whether it was arrogance or boredom or the theme or the restaurant, but a friendly waiter goes a long way. Having said that...on a 6 day trip, will this be one of the places we eat...yes. It is crowd pleasing, decent food with good unfriendly service! LOL!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sandc

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 55
      Review Date: Sat March 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We ate here last year and loved our meal. Everyone seemed to enjoy their meal this trip. The kids loved the bread w/ oil for dipping. The kids and adults also enjoyed the huge spaghetti and meatball cupcake!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Thu March 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This was our first time dining here. It was a very positive experience. Our food was delicious and the service was very good. We were celebrating my son's birthday and they brought him the spaghetti and meatball cupcake with a candle. That was really nice and the cupcake was adorable and tasty too! We will be back with the whole family this summer.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      pkf4bucs

      Registered: March 2008
      Location: Alabama
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Wed March 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Prompt service
      Cons: Portion vs price

       
      My wife and I ate here for Marathon weekend. I chose this place for the pasta as I was running the half the next day. Overall the food was good but portion size does not equal price. We did not use DDP since it was a short trip. The waiter seemed put off that I ordered water. The wife order a soda so maybe it was me. I would eat here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rose

      Registered: February 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Wed February 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): location
      Cons: food and service

       
      This was my fifth or sixth time booking a reservation at Mama Melrose's. Very disappointing.


      The service was slow and our server seemed bored to have our table. One entree was totally forgotten!


      In the past the food was marvelous -- not so this time. One of our party ordered the vodka shrimp penne - all of FOUR SHRIMP! The menu did not say the dish was garnished with shrimp!


      I ordered the charred steak, and it was tough. Actually had steak at two other locations and it melted in my mouth, so it must have been the chef.


      Anyhow, I won't be eating here again...so sad to say goodbye to what had been my favorite.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      HPdoo

      Registered: March 2009
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Mon February 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was great!
      Cons: Just a restaurant...no entertainment

       
      We ate here on 1/18/13...the food was great! I had the penne vodka, my kids had the strip steak and my husband had the chicken parm. It was all very good...no complaints!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.