Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • retired605

      Registered: March 2007
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Mon November 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food
      Cons: atmosphere, menu selections

       
      My husband loves this place but I have never been a fan. Food is good but I never can find something I really want to eat. This time he had chicken parm and I had chicken campanele(sp?) We both liked our dinners. Atmosphere is loud and service is so-so. Restaurant is pricey.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      HOBBES

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: UK
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Tue October 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): excellent meal
      Cons: nothing

       
      We came here several years ago as a substitue for Sci-Fi which had unexpectedly closed the day of our reservation. We always felt that as we had not chosen to come here we maybe judged it a little harshly so we arranged to come this time to give it another shot. I'm pleased we did. After a short wait (ADR was for 7.40) we sat down and our order was taken quickly and served quickly (but not too quickly!) We both had the minestrone and bread which were very tasty but not too filling. DH had the penne alla vodka and I had the chicken campanelle. Both came in enormous portions but were very tasty. Can't remember what we had for dessert but we enjoyed it. Price was very reasonable and we were out just in time to make the 9pm Fantasmic which I didn't think we would. A great experience and we wont leave it so long befopre our next visit.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyJen

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Madison, WI
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sat October 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food, fun atmosphere, Fantasmic package
      Cons: none

       
      Ate here for the first time on Sept 1, 2013 using the Fantasmic Package. We found this to be a great value b/c an appetizer for each adult was included with the package- something the dining plan does not offer at any other restaurant and because we paid out of pocket for the DDP this trip, we were looking for value. We had the calamari for appetizer- the best calamari we ever had! I had the chix parm and my husband had the pasta dish with all the seafood, they were both wonderful. One of our fav meals this trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BigDisFam

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue September 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service, fantasmic package
      Cons: long wait for table

       
      I have no idea how this place got so many negative reviews. 9 of us dined here on the dining plan, we reserved the Fantasmic package. Our waiter was knowledgeable, friendly and efficient.
      Me and my son decided to share our meals so we could try more stuff. I got the calamari and chicken parm, he got Caesar salad and the steak. The Calamari was flavorful and tender, the dipping sauces were excellent. The Salad was fresh, crisp and had a lot of flavor, but not too much dressing-perfect. I loved my chicken but the steak with mac and cheese was maybe one of the top ten foods I ever put in my mouth. Steak was chard on outside and perfect medium-rare inside, so tender it just meted without hardly a chew, mac and cheese was rich and creamy- very tasty. Everyone else loved their food also, they brought trays of desserts which were yummy and the Fantasmic seats were good. A great value on the dining pan abd our new favorite restaurant in HS.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BermudaJen

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun September 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantasmic dinner package
      Cons: Service

       
      We ate at Mamma Melrose for the first time in August 2013 as part of the Fantasmic Dinner Package. The food was ok - not the best but certainly not the worst. The restaurant was super busy and this was evident in the service. Our main courses were delivered before they had cleared away the appetizer plates creating some juggling for us and the server. However, looking around the restaurant, we saw several tables with dirty dishes. To my surprise, the servers were also bussing their own tables. So, not only were they required to attend to occupied tables, they were clearing and setting vacant tables. I don't think it takes a rocket scientist to figure that you could hire some bus people to clear dirty dishes and set tables to keep them turning over quicker and perhaps alleviating some of the wait time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mich97

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Boston, MA
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Fri August 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food a pleasant surprise
      Cons:

       
      We ate here for the first time this past July and were pleasantly surprised that the food was good. Normally I stay away from Italian food when in WDW since I find it usually isn't that good. But we were all happy with it. DD & I got the spaghetti with chicken and DN got the Pollo di Forno. Our server was also very friendly and attentive.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jdnwebster

      Registered: November 2009
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Tue August 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent meal, thoughtful staff, Fantasmic Package
      Cons: pasta was "weird"

       
      Went in to use Fantasmic package. Sooooo glad that we did. For $37 pp, you get an appetizer, entrée and a shared dessert. I had the tomato, mozzarella and basil with balsamic reduction for appetizer. Chicken parm for dinner. The chicken was fork-tender and delicious. The pasta with the chicken was not a smooth shape. Hard to explain but if you are a texture eater then this might be weird for you too (or not). For dessert, a preselected sampler was offered but, unfortunately, had some form of raspberries on everything. Of course, I'm allergic. Sad Waitress did not miss a beat and brought out something raspberry free for me (cheesecake) and it was awesome. We got our Fantasmic passes as we left. The seats were great. Middle area, halfway up...perfect view. Great experience that I would consider doing again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      JJPrice

      Registered: August 2011
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Sat August 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantasmic seating
      Cons: Slow service, Food

       
      We decided to eat here because of the Fantasmic seating, which was excellent and we didn't have to wait too long for Fantasmic to begin.


      The service was painfully slow. The food was pretty bad too. It looked like it should taste good, but it was pretty disappointing. I don't know if we'd go back, even though the Fantasmic seating was very convenient, which is the only reason I didn't give Mama Melrose a failing grade. Without the Fantasmic package, it would have been more like a 2/10.


      My daughters spaghetti was plain, no sauce at all. The chicken was dry and inedible. The pizza was poor and lacked flavour. The penne a la vodka didn't taste very good either. Really disappointing dinner.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 158
      Review Date: Sun July 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      The food and service was really good...service slightly better. We will be back!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      brittos

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Fri July 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): service
      Cons:

       
      Food was okay, but nothing to write home about. Service was great as our waiter kept the drinks filled. Not sure it was worth us doing the Fantasmic package as it was rainy, and there were plenty of seats to chose from at the show that night.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ajrob

      Registered: April 2010
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Mon June 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Been here on several occasions, food is just ok. Wanted to attend Fantasmic, so my party of 10 did ADR dinner package for the show. Service was great, but the food took a bit long to get to our table considering the restaurant was not full. Going to try SCI-Fi in the fall. Again, not terrible but not great.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      forufromu

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Fri May 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fantasmic package, pizza
      Cons: so so italian

       
      First the good (its short). Really good pizza and it is part of the fantasmic package, which gave us awesome seats! Service was slow and shoty. Restaurant not even half way full. Marinara tasted like someone put a flavor extractor in it. (rather of them put pizza sauce on the chicken parm than that.) Gelato tasted like regular ice cream. Other than that it was just Peachy! Would not recommend to any one.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ldk72

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sat May 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food
      Cons: poor service

       
      I ordered the Fresh Mozzarella and Chicken Parmigiana while my daughter ordered the Spaghetti. Instead of marinara on my Parmigiana I ordered the four cheese sauce. Very good. For dessert I ordered the Cheesecake and my daughter had Vanilla Gelato. No complaints about this restaurant except we never saw our waiter. Service was very very slow and it seemed we were there forever.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      disneywolverine

      Registered: April 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Mon April 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fantasmic seating
      Cons: food quality, kids menu, desserts

       
      We recently dined here with the Fantasmic Dining Package. The service took forever! I ordered the charred strip steak and it was very fatty with lots of cartilage. My young son ordered from the kids menu, cheese pizza. It was no bigger than the palm of my hand. Since we were dining under the Fantasmic Package we weren't allowed to order individual desserts. We were brought a plate with four small samples and they were the worst desserts we have ever eaten at Disney. If you want VIP seating for fantasmic they now offer fast passes during the day, signs are posted all over the park where to obtain these. I would definitely skip dining here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      chrisfam4

      Registered: June 2011
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Thu April 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Smells, food, atmosphere
      Cons: Location in the park

       
      We have dined at Mama's twice and this time was better than before, and we loved our first visit! We were seated promptly and our waiter, Scooter, was great. He recommended several hits. We each tried something different and everything was superb. I had the Penne with shrimp in a Vodka cream sauce. Three people could have eaten out of the bowl and been filled. The shrimp were plump and cooked perfectly and the pasta was filled with panchetta. DH had the seafood pasta with shrimp, clams, muscles and fettuchini. MIL had the Osso Bucco which was enormous. FIL and BIL each got different flat breads. Kids each got cheese pizzas but it was a waste because they prefered to eat our adult meals. It was a fabulous meal. When dining here you absolutely feel that you've been transported to a little Italian tratoria, the decor is so enchanting. We absolutely will dine here again. I hope to get the fanasmic dining package next time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.