Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • rebelbuddhist

      Registered: December 2009
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun January 5, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Much improved food
      Cons: Unbelievable waits even with ADR

      Every time we go the waiting area is swamped and even with ADRs the wait time here is greater than any other place. We had to check at the podium several times and waited almost 30 minutes past our ADR. That said the offerings seem to be getting better and better each time we go. The calamari appetizer was very tasty and the dipping sauces were excellent. My wife enjoys the chicken entrees and the pork I had was excellent. The steak is very good but not the best in WDW. Desserts are varied and a nice ending to a solid meal. Service can be spotty largely due to the crowded space and seeming desire to turn tables quickly.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 79
      Review Date: Sat December 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fantasmic package

      We visited on our trip 12/3-12/14 and did the fantasmic package. The were 4 adults and 1 child and we had the DP. As an App we got two Calami that came with a spicy marinara, pesto, and a honey mustard vinaigrette. 1 mussel which was good a couple empty shells but nothing to complain about. 1 huge ceasar salad and for DS9 the minestrone soup which was flavorful but had chic peas which my child doesn't care for so we switched apps I took his soupd and he took my calamari. Everyone enjoyed their apps. The serve rolls with butter and olive oil with herbs which we enjoyed. For meals DS9 tried something new and got chicken parm. the chicken was on the small side but it was fine since he doesn't eat a lot of meat. he said he would get again which means it was good since chicken isn't his fave. the adults all ordered the steak and mac and cheese. the mac and cheese was so yummy but I would have preffered the steak not lay on it. They brought out a hat and icecream for my son to celebrate his bday. For us adults there was a sampler of dessert, a cheesecake of sorts, two pannacote,3 mini cream puffs, a chocolate thing and the spaghetti and meatball cupcake. All was good but I don't enjoy the dessert sampler, I would prefer they go back to the old way of letting each person order what they would like. Definitely will go next trip. We sat in the mickey section for fantasmic, never sat there before always the right said of the ampitheatre. Lots of people in before us even though we arrived promptly when it said to arrive. Went to the 630 show and there were two shows that night. We ate at lunch time at noon. Minimal wait for a table.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 58
      Review Date: Mon November 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: None

      We ate here on 11/11/13. This has been our pick for dining in DHS for some time. The food is consistently good (and sometimes better than good) and our service has always been good as well. This time was no exception. I had the magical star cocktail, caprese appetizer, the strip steak with mac and cheese and cheesecake for dessert. My DH had soup, osso buco (I think off menu) and gelato for dessert. All of mine food was really good. The drink, however, had so much ice that I feel like I paid #12. for less than an ounce of liquid total. I think I drank it all in one sip. My husband said his soup was ok, the osso buco was fantastic and what can you say about a bowl of ice cream. The kids had soup, pizza and a sundae. They said it was all good. I tried the soup and it was fine.

      We usually eat here in DHS and will eat here again, but we will be adding The Hollywood Brown Derby as well. Yummy!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 89
      Review Date: Wed November 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Chef visit
      Cons: Service and Main Course

      We ate at Mamma Melrose’s on Saturday, November 2, 2013. We had ADR’s for 1:30 and we were seated with in ten minutes of checking in with the hostess. Our server was from Birmingham, UK and had a 5 year service pin on his name tag.

      Chef Bea from the Brox came to our table to discuss my tree nut allergy. While she was there, I asked if the Clams Oreganatta was back on the menu, she said it was not but that they had a spicy mussel dish as an appetizer that she thought was very good. When I told her I could not stand spicy food, she offered to make me a mussel dish from scratch. What she made was a fabulous dish with white wine and garlic broth with mussels that is one of the best dishes I’ve ever had in any restaurant. It was so good I used my straw to suck up the broth after I ate all the mussels.

      Unfortunately, the rest of our meal was not so spectacular. My wife and I ordered the Charred Strip Steak with Mac & Cheese. The Mac & Cheese was very good, but had a few pieces of pasta in it that were burnt. The steaks were tough, much tougher than we’ve had before. My steak had so much fat and gristle that over half the steak was inedible!!

      We’ve eaten at MM several times in the past and this is our favorite restaurant in all of WDW. We’ve had the Strip Steak several times in the past and it was excellent, but this time is was terrible!! Because of our past experiences with MM, we’ll be back, but it might be a while.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: March 2007
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Mon November 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food
      Cons: atmosphere, menu selections

      My husband loves this place but I have never been a fan. Food is good but I never can find something I really want to eat. This time he had chicken parm and I had chicken campanele(sp?) We both liked our dinners. Atmosphere is loud and service is so-so. Restaurant is pricey.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: December 2007
      Location: UK
      Posts: 59
      Review Date: Tue October 29, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): excellent meal
      Cons: nothing

      We came here several years ago as a substitue for Sci-Fi which had unexpectedly closed the day of our reservation. We always felt that as we had not chosen to come here we maybe judged it a little harshly so we arranged to come this time to give it another shot. I'm pleased we did. After a short wait (ADR was for 7.40) we sat down and our order was taken quickly and served quickly (but not too quickly!) We both had the minestrone and bread which were very tasty but not too filling. DH had the penne alla vodka and I had the chicken campanelle. Both came in enormous portions but were very tasty. Can't remember what we had for dessert but we enjoyed it. Price was very reasonable and we were out just in time to make the 9pm Fantasmic which I didn't think we would. A great experience and we wont leave it so long befopre our next visit.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Madison, WI
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sat October 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food, fun atmosphere, Fantasmic package
      Cons: none

      Ate here for the first time on Sept 1, 2013 using the Fantasmic Package. We found this to be a great value b/c an appetizer for each adult was included with the package- something the dining plan does not offer at any other restaurant and because we paid out of pocket for the DDP this trip, we were looking for value. We had the calamari for appetizer- the best calamari we ever had! I had the chix parm and my husband had the pasta dish with all the seafood, they were both wonderful. One of our fav meals this trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Tue September 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, service, fantasmic package
      Cons: long wait for table

      I have no idea how this place got so many negative reviews. 9 of us dined here on the dining plan, we reserved the Fantasmic package. Our waiter was knowledgeable, friendly and efficient.
      Me and my son decided to share our meals so we could try more stuff. I got the calamari and chicken parm, he got Caesar salad and the steak. The Calamari was flavorful and tender, the dipping sauces were excellent. The Salad was fresh, crisp and had a lot of flavor, but not too much dressing-perfect. I loved my chicken but the steak with mac and cheese was maybe one of the top ten foods I ever put in my mouth. Steak was chard on outside and perfect medium-rare inside, so tender it just meted without hardly a chew, mac and cheese was rich and creamy- very tasty. Everyone else loved their food also, they brought trays of desserts which were yummy and the Fantasmic seats were good. A great value on the dining pan abd our new favorite restaurant in HS.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun September 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantasmic dinner package
      Cons: Service

      We ate at Mamma Melrose for the first time in August 2013 as part of the Fantasmic Dinner Package. The food was ok - not the best but certainly not the worst. The restaurant was super busy and this was evident in the service. Our main courses were delivered before they had cleared away the appetizer plates creating some juggling for us and the server. However, looking around the restaurant, we saw several tables with dirty dishes. To my surprise, the servers were also bussing their own tables. So, not only were they required to attend to occupied tables, they were clearing and setting vacant tables. I don't think it takes a rocket scientist to figure that you could hire some bus people to clear dirty dishes and set tables to keep them turning over quicker and perhaps alleviating some of the wait time.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: January 2011
      Location: Boston, MA
      Posts: 54
      Review Date: Fri August 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food a pleasant surprise

      We ate here for the first time this past July and were pleasantly surprised that the food was good. Normally I stay away from Italian food when in WDW since I find it usually isn't that good. But we were all happy with it. DD & I got the spaghetti with chicken and DN got the Pollo di Forno. Our server was also very friendly and attentive.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2009
      Posts: 46
      Review Date: Tue August 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent meal, thoughtful staff, Fantasmic Package
      Cons: pasta was "weird"

      Went in to use Fantasmic package. Sooooo glad that we did. For $37 pp, you get an appetizer, entrée and a shared dessert. I had the tomato, mozzarella and basil with balsamic reduction for appetizer. Chicken parm for dinner. The chicken was fork-tender and delicious. The pasta with the chicken was not a smooth shape. Hard to explain but if you are a texture eater then this might be weird for you too (or not). For dessert, a preselected sampler was offered but, unfortunately, had some form of raspberries on everything. Of course, I'm allergic. Sad Waitress did not miss a beat and brought out something raspberry free for me (cheesecake) and it was awesome. We got our Fantasmic passes as we left. The seats were great. Middle area, halfway up...perfect view. Great experience that I would consider doing again.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: August 2011
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Sat August 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantasmic seating
      Cons: Slow service, Food

      We decided to eat here because of the Fantasmic seating, which was excellent and we didn't have to wait too long for Fantasmic to begin.

      The service was painfully slow. The food was pretty bad too. It looked like it should taste good, but it was pretty disappointing. I don't know if we'd go back, even though the Fantasmic seating was very convenient, which is the only reason I didn't give Mama Melrose a failing grade. Without the Fantasmic package, it would have been more like a 2/10.

      My daughters spaghetti was plain, no sauce at all. The chicken was dry and inedible. The pizza was poor and lacked flavour. The penne a la vodka didn't taste very good either. Really disappointing dinner.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 162
      Review Date: Sun July 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros):

      The food and service was really good...service slightly better. We will be back!
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Fri July 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros): service

      Food was okay, but nothing to write home about. Service was great as our waiter kept the drinks filled. Not sure it was worth us doing the Fantasmic package as it was rainy, and there were plenty of seats to chose from at the show that night.
      Click here to see this users profile  

      Registered: April 2010
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Mon June 17, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

      Positive aspects of the product (pros):

      Been here on several occasions, food is just ok. Wanted to attend Fantasmic, so my party of 10 did ADR dinner package for the show. Service was great, but the food took a bit long to get to our table considering the restaurant was not full. Going to try SCI-Fi in the fall. Again, not terrible but not great.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.