Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Meyer4

      Registered: December 2011
      Location: Pensacola, FL
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Tue April 25, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great menu
      Cons: Long wait

       
      We stopped in for lunch on a hot day. The waiting area was packed. Hung out in Muppet gift shop while we waited. They txt you when your table is ready. The menu had lots of choices beside the typical Italian fare. I had the pork loin. They even have a fresh catch each day.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 89
      Review Date: Sun February 26, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fantasmic pckage
      Cons: wait

       
      We did the fantasmic package on our trip 1/30-2/10. The rolls and olive oil were great. Our waiter brought us more. My husband and I got the calamari and my son the mussel. We were all pleased. We all got the steak with mac and cheese. It was very good. We always get it and will continue to. We had the sampler for dessert. Good but not my favorite. I'd rather just have one dessert.. We used the dp. It is well worth getting a fantasmic package. One of our favorites each trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mg0914
      squirrel

      Registered: January 2009
      Posts: 55
      Review Date: Thu February 9, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food and service were good
      Cons:

       
      We did the Fantasmic dinner package here on Dec 30. We had a lunch reservation at noon and were actually the very first party seated. Despite that we didn't even get a booth! I guess that's okay but I won't say I wasn't a little disappointed.


      The bread and olive oil is such a treat. I had the calamari app which was great. My mahi mahi entrée also was very good. My wife and daughters all ordered pasta dishes and enjoyed them as well.


      We've been to Mama Melrose's several times and it's not exactly a favorite but it is usually a pretty good meal. Our experience this visit was in line with our past visits. 50's Prime Time and Sci-Fi remain our favorite HS dining options.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      msbiscuit

      Registered: May 2006
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Wed December 14, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): some of the food
      Cons: service and table location

       
      I probably should have known that a 6:15 reservation here would not work out well. Close to park closing, the servers were rushing around trying to clean things up for the night. I was seated at a table against the wall near the kitchen and it was noisy and busy. I ordered a wine flight, oak fired mussels and the steak with Tuscan mashed potatoes instead of mac & cheese. Took a while for bread and olive oil to arrive, then the mussels and wine flight quickly followed. Mussels were a bit tough, but had good flavor. Server briefly told me what each of the wines were. My main course came out not long after and was delivered by another server who did not bring a steak knife. I had to wait for my server to finally come and ask how things were before I got said knife. Steak was good, as were mashed potatoes, but I have to wonder why there wasn't any kind of vegetable. All in all a rather uncomfortable dining situation with all the rushing around me and all the noise.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ncc1701

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: new jersey
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun November 20, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Flatbread pizzas
      Cons: Another all day menu

       
      This has been our go to restaurant for lunch when at DHS. We enjoyed the casear salad and split a flatbread pizza.
      We asked the salad first but either the waiter or kitchen messed up. This was the 1st time in 7 visits that has happened so no big deal.
      Service was fine and the food was very good. Like a lot of park restaurants they have gone to a lunch/dinner menu so there are no sandwich /lunch entree options here unless you do salad or flatbreads
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clayalex02

      Registered: July 2007
      Location: Pittsburgh, PA
      Posts: 60
      Review Date: Thu October 20, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): better than I remembered/cast members
      Cons: none

       
      the restaurant was larger than I remembered and much better themed. The food was good, nothing to write home about but it did satisfy our whole party. The server, Barbara was wonderful! She knew her stuff and how to work it! Would return again when looking for decent filling food.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ddmarsh

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 14
      Review Date: Sat October 8, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food
      Cons:

       
      1:30 reservations - seated within reasonable amount of time. Cast Member was outstanding - we had dining plan. She upgraded us to the Fantasmic Dining plan on the house. 3 appetizers added - Mussels, Ministrone Soup and Tomato/Mozzarella. All outstanding - meal in itself. Spaghetti & Meatball Dinner - best meatballs ever. 2 Grouper meals - to die for. Sampler for all 3 desserts - just right. Was even able to sit in the Fantasmic Reserved Seating that night showing my receipt from meal. That was our magical moment day
      Click here to see this users profile  
      featheredbuddy

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Wed September 28, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cast members are really great
      Cons: Food is okay

       
      Our waitress made the whole experience good. If the food had been as good as her service it would have an outstanding experience. Our steak was tough but everything else was good. We probably should have an Italian meal instead.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      spikesmom

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Fri August 26, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Delicious steak!, great seating for Fantasmic
      Cons: no choice for dessert?

       
      My daughter and I dined at Mama's on 8/21 for lunch and got the Fantasmic package. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the package included an appetizer as well as a dessert, even on the dining plan! I had the steak, and it was amazing! I will dream of it for a long time ... just delicious! The four cheese macaroni on the side was also very good. My daughter had the kids' pasta and meatballs ... she loved the pasta and sauce, but did not like the meatballs ... but kids can be fussy. The only thing I found odd was that the other folks sitting around us and using the dining plan were given their choice of dessert, while our server told us that the Fantasmic package included the dessert sampler for adults and an ice cream sundae for the kids ... my daughter would really have loved the spaghetti and meatball cupcake. Not sure if our server chose not to offer us a choice, or if it was a misunderstanding. I didn't bring it up, and we enjoyed what we had and left happy. Nice decor, good service and delicious food. One other note, the last time I did the Fantasmic package the reserved seating was way off to one side ... This time I was pleasantly surprised to find that we had the center section and had a perfect view of Fantasmic ... my little daughter loved every second!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      vickie1016

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Yonkers, New York
      Posts: 37
      Review Date: Tue August 9, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Server was great, food was tasty
      Cons: Waiting area too small

       
      Family & I had lunch here in July. Food was great, server was very friendly. We did not reserve the Fantasmic lunch package, but the server offered it to us, which we accepted. The server was very accommodating, as DD 10 wanted a change to her app. and she didn't care for the plated dessert so he brought her the kids spaghetti & meatball cupcake (which she loved!)


      Overall it was a great meal & we look forward to eating here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DePasquale

      Registered: July 2016
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Sat July 9, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Feels like a familiar neighborhood Italian Restauranrt
      Cons: Hard to find any

       
      Mama Melrose is the Italian Restaurant that we all have in our neighborhood where you are very comfortable, familiar and can count on a good ol dish of macaroni.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Snemma

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Wed June 29, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food quality
      Cons: Miss Fantasmic Dinner

       
      Had the Fantasmic Package for lunch. All of us had the charred steak. I have had this meal the last three times, and it remains one of my favorite meals at WDW. Though my kids got this entree because I informed them that the price was the same regardless of what they ordered, we all agreed that the char on the beef with the sauce was wonderful. My only concern was eating this meal at noon seemed a bit heavy.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rsfan

      Registered: August 2007
      Posts: 38
      Review Date: Sun June 19, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food; fair value
      Cons: Needs bigger waiting area

       
      We usually go to Mama Melrose's on the first night of our visit. After checking in a bit early, and surviving the typical chaos of the waiting area, we were lead to our table about on time. Our waitress was a bit older and less peppy, but she did a great job attending to our needs--a real veteran. We had 3 different flatbreads and the lasagna and all were excellent. My carne d'italia was a real star; enormous hunks of pancetta with the crust crisped just right. The mixed green salad was also good and big enough to share. My DDs had tiramisu and enjoyed it. Meal with tip came to about $25/pp (no alcohol) which I thought was reasonable. We will continue our tradition in the future.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      shell65

      Registered: May 2011
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 19
      Review Date: Mon May 2, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): yummy food
      Cons: the service, not concerned about allergy

       
      My husband and I both liked our meals. I had the calamari appetizer and the mushroom pizza. My husband had pasta and meatballs. The bread was good and the wine very nice. Our waiter was very distracted. We learned more about what the restaurant offered by the waiter next to us. Our waiter was hardly around. When I told him I had a chocolate allergy he gave me the dessert trio and walked away. I did not eat it and later he came back and said yes it had chocolate. When we left the greeters were throwing papers at each other. I felt bad for the cooks because the food is good but the staff not so much.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tdischer

      Registered: April 2016
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun April 10, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, atmosphere, time we chose to eat
      Cons: service a little slow

       
      We ate here on the Monday after Easter. The park was packed and we got in for our 11:30 reservation right away. We were on the dining plan and the food was really good. My 10 year old loved getting the steak. Service was a little slow and couldn't completely keep up with my hungry group with drinks and bread, but not too bad. I asked the waiter to substitute a salad for me instead of a dessert (as we had figured out to share salads and desserts between our party) and he tried to talk me out of it saying the salad was really small. Glad I stuck to it as it was a very normal sized dinner salad that was very good and my son and I shared it and then shared the dessert that he ordered. By the time we left at about 12:30-12:45 the restaurant was filled and the lobby was packed. Glad we chose to skimp on breakfast and do an early lunch. Good overall. My son loved looking up the Hidden Mickeys wherever we were and he found 3 of them in the lobby of the restaurant. He pointed them out to others who got a kick out of seeing them.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.