Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • rjdrewett

      Registered: February 2016
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun February 7, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food Quality, Fantasmic Package
      Cons:

       
      Did the Fantasmic Lunch package on 2/2/16. Each person gets choice of appetizer, entree, and a non-alcoholic drink. Also get a dessert sampler for each person. Service was good. I felt food quality was better than expected. I was expecting "Olive Garden" esque, but this was much better. I had Caesar salad for appetizer and Chicken Parmigiana for entree. Wife had Fresh Mozzarella and Tomatoes for app, Saltimbocca for entree. Dessert was small (a couple bites) serving of Amarettini Cheesecake, Tiramisu, and Cannoli cake. Was very full afterwards and didn't need to eat the rest of the day...


      Fantasmic portion worked well. There is a specific area in the front center of the arena for the lunch/dinner package folks. We arrived 10-15 minutes prior to show, found seats, but probably should have been there a bit earlier to avoid some of the rush. Still better than lining up an hour or more early. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and the Fantasmic package, especially if you have kids that can't handle waiting very long!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      scalemaster34

      Registered: January 2016
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Mon January 18, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Was a place to eat in the PARK
      Cons: Waitstaff

       
      Made a reservation for 10, at 184 days from our ADR. We arrive and check in, no issues, had to wait about 15 mins to be seated..... at two different tables. When we questioned the hostess, another woman, who we assumed was our server tried to tell us they don't seat parties that large. But there were four parties that size in view. She told us we could go wait about 40 min for another table if we wanted.


      We took what there was. But then waited another 10 min for our server to come by for the drink order (must have been issues). She was very nice and did as good a job as she could. And I can't fault her service at all. She did hand me a Disney Pen to sign the check.... that had exploded. But that happens and she did get me a wipe and was able to clean it all off.


      But the other server (who we encountered previously) was waiting other tables in our area, and after our server had left a coffer pot on our table so we could refill.... she came by and removed it telling us that wasn't how they did things.


      The other server made it a very poor experience for us. Combined with the so - so steaks and poor attempt at real pasta, along with no manager to even show any interest. We won't be back.


      Most of the Disney's restaurant have some "gimmick" to overcome the high prices and so - so food quality. Either characters or they put on some kinda "act" 50's Prime Time, or location like Coral Reef. But none of that applied to Mama's....


      If you want Italian, go to Tutto Italia Ristorante.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      GSHROUT

      Registered: January 2016
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Thu January 7, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food/Service/Atmosphere
      Cons: None

       
      We were a party of 9 and were seated promptly as we had Advanced Resv. All of us were on the the Deluxe Plan and our server split the bills like a pro with no complaints. The food was amazing. Especially the appetizer Mussels. My wife and I are planning our next trip for 2017 and this place is on the top of our list. I can't stress enough the importance of making those Advanced Dinning Reservations 180 days out. It makes a huge difference as to how quickly your seated. Read some of the other reviews and waiting to be seated appeared to be the number 1 complaint. Seems like poor planning on their part. Ignore those negative reviews, make your resv. and be prepared for a terrific meal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KCKAS

      Registered: April 2008
      Posts: 45
      Review Date: Sun December 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): dessert
      Cons: waited too long, they blew us off

       
      We had fantasmic dining package. We checked in, received beeper, waited, checked with hostesses, they said they beeped us and called our name but we did not respond so they removed our reservation. I told them that never happened , we waited over 2 hours for a table. Only reason we waited was because of fantasmic tickets. Told our waitress what happened. She was super nice, food was quick and good. All had dessert sampler, it was excellent. Had to run across park for show right after dinner. Fantasmic was closed and people were waiting for next show, but we got in with our tickets and sat in second to last row of reserved section. We just made it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BeautyBeast2

      Registered: March 2013
      Posts: 8
      Review Date: Sun December 6, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons:

       
      We have been to Mama Melrose's several times over the past few years and for us the food has been consistently excellent.


      On this trip we had lunch on 12/1 as part of the Fantasmic! dining package. We were seated immediately at a large table towards the back of the restaurant.


      Out of our group of 7 we shared the following appetizers: mussels, calamari, tuna, and mozzarella and tomatoes. They were all good, but the standout was definitely the mussels. They were perfectly cooked and the tomato butter was delicious!


      For entrees we ordered steak, penne alla vodka with shrimp, seafood arrabbiata, and chicken campanelle. The steak was cooked correctly and tender. The pasta entrees were very good as well. The only complaint is that they kept the shrimp tails on in the penne alla vodka. It's difficult to cut tails off in a bowl full of pasta...


      The dessert trio was good, but nothing too spectacular. Our server was pretty attentive but not overly friendly.


      Overall Mama Melrose's is a good place to eat for a good meal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sandc

      Registered: October 2006
      Posts: 66
      Review Date: Fri September 18, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      Food here was good. I had the chicken campanelle which was delicious. My husband and niece had the chicken parm and both liked their food. My daughter had the steak and said it was just ok. Mama Melrose is not a favorite of our family, but we do like it there.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Polly319

      Registered: August 2015
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Sat August 22, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 1 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons: A huge disappointment

       
      Our reservations for the Mama Melrose's/Fantasmic package were made exactly 180 days prior to our visit, for 5:30 on 8/5, and that is when we arrived. Our party included 10: grandparents, our son and daughter, their spouses, and our 4 young grandchildren, all having flown down for a family reunion.
      We were absolutely shocked at the tables we were ushered to! It included a small booth against the wall, which was set for 6 (really?) and a 4 person table, which was set kitty corner, back from the booth, in the center of the floor, a considerable distance away.
      We appealed to the hostess, and our server, about the seating, both of whom seemed sympathetic, but could do nothing. Understandably, we escalated our complaint to the Manager, who did absolutely nothing to accommodate us, but offer to call another restaurant to check availability. (Really? Where is a tired, hungry family of 10 going to eat at a table service restaurant at 6 o'clock on short notice?) There were at least two long tables, with seating for 8, both empty, when we arrived. A small adjustment, a couple of added chairs, would have solved the problem. Instead my grandchildren were seated with their moms, in the booth, and conversation was impossible, because they were facing my back at the table.
      The food was OK for the most part; Except for my husband, who was served the smallest portion of Chicken Parmesan I have ever seen. (A 2" x5" thin strip of chicken) and a tiny serving of mashed potato, which looked like powdered (That, after I actually called from home to make sure mashed potatoes were available.)
      Since our dinner lasted 3 hours, there was barely enough time to walk to Fantasmic, find the priority seating, and get settled for the show.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Livigs

      Registered: August 2015
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon August 17, 2015 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service was friendly, atmosphere
      Cons: Food was so-so; service was slow

       
      I hesitate to start w/ our wait, thinking you may discount my other complaints, but I assure you that all aspects are being judged on their own. That said, we had to wait 45 minutes AFTER our reservation time to get a table. Our server was shocked at how busy it was, saying they were slammed and had no idea it was coming, which leads me to believe that they either just kept taking in walk ins when they had no room, or they overbooked. Not good.
      The service, in general, was very slow. We ended up there for about 2 hours, which is WAY too long for a 3 year old and 6 year old to sit patiently.
      The food was ok. My steak was decent, but nothing special. The fried calamari were onion ring shaped, but they were pretty tasty, nonetheless. The tuna appetizer was not horrible, but nothing special, and the sauce they served with it was not good. The desserts, again, were 'meh'.
      I wasn't miserable, but I wouldn't go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Junebug21981

      Registered: August 2009
      Location: St. Joseph, IL
      Posts: 32
      Review Date: Sun August 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, Service
      Cons:

       
      Great Meal! My DH had the Pork dish and I had the Chicken Parm. Normally when we come here we get the steak and mac n' cheese dish. Love them all. Our favorite dessert is the Amaretto cheescake, however the menu has changed and is no longer offered by itself, but in the trio sampler dessert. The waitress was wonderful and got me the trio, but I got all three amaretto cheescakes, yum! My DH had the trio as it comes and said it was great as it is as well.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 79
      Review Date: Fri June 26, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food was great, fantasmic package
      Cons: can be a wait

       
      We visited June 6. We did the fantasmic package and were on the dining plan. We(3) all had the calamari as the app. The lemon sauce is the best of the sauces. It was not overcooked and chewy at all. For dinner we got two steaks with mac and cheese and 1 chicken parm. Everyone enjoyed it. We've had it before and new we wanted it again. For dessert they brought out a sampler which was different than last time and I liked it better. It was a small tiramisu, a cheesecake and brownie all bite size. We got the tickets for fantasmic but opted not to go that not since we had earlier in the week and wanted to watch fireworks instead since it was a star wars weekend. You should definitely try it out if you haven't before.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      deb010305

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed June 24, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Suprisingly great !
      Cons: The meal took about 1 1/2 hours from the time we sat down.

       
      We were a party of 4 adults and we booked Mama Melrose's for lunch as part of the Fanstasmic! package.
      We had eaten here many years ago and at that time we were not impressed, so I was hesitant to try it again, but it was WONDERFUL !
      This was by far one of the best meals we had during our stay. The atmosphere was great and it was a nice break from the parks.
      As it was part of the Fantasmic! package we received appetizers, all of us had the Caesar salad, which we agreed was one of the best Caesar salds we had ever had. Just the right amount of dressing and the lettuce was fresh and crisp.
      Two of us had chicken parmesan, and each serving had huge chicken breasts and more than enough pasta.
      The other two had steaks, which were cooked perfectly and were very tender.
      As part of the Fantasmic! package, a individual dessert trio was included-which was just the right amount of dessert.
      We would definately eat here again, even if we didnt' have the Fantasmic! package.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MsLydiaD

      Registered: April 2015
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue April 28, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantasmic seating, Food
      Cons: 20 minute wait to be seated, worth the wait.

       
      We selected Mama Melrose's for the Fantasmic package. We are not a family that normally gets appetizers, dinner and dessert so this was a treat. We arrived early for our reservations and were told they were running about 20 minutes behind. There was a thunderstorm rolling in and I think people were not leaving to wait it out. We were seated within the 20 minutes. Our server, Lisa, was very nice and explained how the package worked. The food was delicious and it was a most pleasant dinner, really a nice break from the park. The seating for Fantasmic was great.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      robinmy

      Registered: February 2012
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Fri February 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantasmic Dinner Package
      Cons: None

       
      My family and I ate at this restaurant the last day of our vacation. We specifically picked it to get the Fantasmic passes for the evening's performance. Our reservations were for noon. We arrived early and only had to wait a few minutes before being seated. Our server was friendly. He explained that even though we were using the dining plan, the Fantasmic package included both an appetizer and dessert along with the entree and drink. We each ordered a different appetizer (Caeser Salad, Mixed Green Salad, and Mozzarella/tomato salad). All were fresh and the servings were huge. For the entree, two of us ordered the charred Strip Steak which was the best steak I had all week at a Disney restaurant. The other member of our party had the Spaghetti and Meatballs. She said the meatballs were very flavorful and the sauce was good. Our meal ended with a platter of small desserts. All were very good.


      I'm glad we got the passes for Fantasmic. There was a large crowd for the show and we had great seats. I highly recommend this restaurant and the Fantasmic package.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sreynolds5

      Registered: April 2010
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Fri February 20, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Very Pleasant Dining Experience
      Cons: Pricey

       
      As park dining goes, this was a very pleasant experience. We (family of 4) were seated 5 minutes ahead of our reservation time and our server was friendly and efficient. The food was good. We ordered fried calamari and ceasar salad appetizers, chicken parm and strip steak entrees, and were served the mini-dessert tray. We all enjoyed the meal.
      Our 17 yr. old daughter wanted a "fancy" non-alcoholic drink. The drink menu had plenty of alcoholic mixed drinks and only 1 specialty non-alcoholic drink: lemonade in a Cars or Ariel plastic cup. Nothing quite right for our daughter, so we asked our server to bring her a Shirley Temple with a glow-cube in it. We were very pleased to have this request happily fulfilled. The drink looked beautiful and tickled our daughter. The cube was $3.99 extra and is re-usable. We brought it home :-)
      We were on the Fanstasmic package. 4 people, 1 glow cube, 20% tip for excellent service = just under $190... and Fantasmic was rained out :-(
      Giving this experience a 10 for what it is - a park dining experience. The same meal outside of Disney would have been good, but nothing to write home about, and the price would have been about half what we paid. However, ...having a table in a themed restaurant on an extremely crowded day in Hollywood Studios... eating some satisfying food... getting off our feet for an hour while it poured rain outside = priceless in the park :-)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mharder

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri February 6, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): How they handled my wife's wheat sensitivity
      Cons:

       
      My wife and I had dinner at Mama Melrose on January 28. We'll definitely consider going there again.


      I had penne with chicken and a marsala sauce. I thought it was very good. Very generous portion.


      My wife has a wheat sensitivity and we tend to avoid Italian restaurants as a result. After reading that WDW was accommodating of individuals with allergies, I booked a reservation at Mama Melrose's and noted on the reservation that she had a wheat sensitivity.


      The chef came out and met with us to review the menu. My wife asked about a couple of dishes and the chef said he could do them with a gluten free pasta. After considering the alternatives, she ordered a chicken alfredo dish and enjoyed it. I sampled it and agreed it was as good as "real" pasta. They also gave her some gluten free rolls, which I also sampled and agreed with her that they were very good.


      Near the end of our meal, the chef returned to the table to ask how my wife's meal was. When she said how much she enjoyed it (and how rarely she had enjoyed a pasta dinner), he asked if she wanted to know what they did. Of course, she and I each wanted to know how they prepared it. He then patiently spent several minutes explaining the process (partially cook the gluten free pasta for 8 minutes, shock with cold water to stop the cooking, toss with olive oil, refrigerate until ready to use, and then finish the cooking by tossing with the sauce for a couple of minutes to bring to serving temperature). We very much appreciated his interest in whether we enjoyed our meals and willingness to share their secrets.


      The only thing i can say that approached a negative, is that we spent so much time enjoying dinner and talking to the chef that we arrived at Phantasmic and just missed getting in before they ran out of room for more guests.


      We'll definitely go back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.