Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • featheredbuddy

      Registered: September 2014
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon September 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The cast members here are soo friendly
      Cons: none

       
      I love their cobb salad. I would have given them a ten but my salad was a lot smaller than the last time I was there. The desserts were wonderful. The cast members are great here. They were busy but we never felt rushed. I simply love this place trip after trip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BabieO

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 15
      Review Date: Sun May 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): ambiance
      Cons: food, wait staff, price, limited menu

       
      The restaurant is beautiful inside. That is the only nice thing I can say, the menu is extremely limited. Our waiter was terrible it took us almost 2 1/2 to eat dinner because he kept disappearing. People that came in after us had their food & were leaving before our entrees came out. I had the cobb salad, which was ok, but I have had better at other places, I also had the pork chop the first two bites were good & then the rest was raw inside ( not medium , raw ) & inedible. When I left 3/4 of my pork chop on the plate the waiter never asked if there was an issue just took the plate & disappeared again. My son had the filet, which he said was good & my husband had the lamb chops. We all agreed it was not worth two dining points. We all said we had a better meal at Coral Reef in Epcot
      Click here to see this users profile  
      LynnM

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Thu May 15, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): nice atmosphere
      Cons: food

       
      The atmosphere at this restaurant is quite nice, BUT if you do not like expensive cold food do not go here. We used to frequent this restaurant in the past years, but after being here last week we will not go back. I felt really bad, such a dissapointment.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Ladies4Disney

      Registered: May 2012
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Wed April 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: Some Unruly Children

       
      We tried the Cobb Salad for an appetizer and thought it was good, but different due to the chopped up salad. One of us ordered a steak, which was good; and one of us ordered the duck. Both meals were enjoyable. It was nice to get three small dessert choices. There were some unruly children at the restaurant (hey! it's an amusement park), but they left early during our meal and we enjoyed the rest of our evening. We would recommend this restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wdwgrandma

      Registered: October 2009
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Tue April 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): new Lounge is awesome
      Cons: wish all chairs were low; I'm short.

       
      Had read about the lounge, so went there my first afternoon in mid March. I love it!! busy time, so great to walk in and enjoy fave foods at the Derby. took my daughter and granddaughter there, also--they really enjoyed it, too. went there my last afternoon, too; getting the entree Cobb and a regular piece of Grapefruit Cake. this restaurant has great memories for me; great to have the Lounge to renew these memories. Cast members were awesome!!!!!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mawdryn

      Registered: August 2007
      Location: Oswego, Il
      Posts: 114
      Review Date: Tue March 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, Service, Food, and Part of "Fantasmic" Package
      Cons: NONE

       
      My husband and I had dinner here on March 10th. Everything was phenomenal, from the service to the food.
      We were seated promptly at our 5:30 pm ADR.
      For starters, I had the spring rolls and my husband had the lobster bisque. Both were very good.
      For our entrees, I had the Cobb salad and my husband had the filet. I totally understand why the Cobb salad is their signature dish. It was excellent.
      For dessert, I had the 3 minis: creme brulee, cobbler and cookie puff. My husband had the 3 mini desserts as well: grapefruit cake, the banana toffee cake and the chocolate sphere. Our waiter also brought him an extra chocolate sphere with a candle and sung happy Birthday to him.
      We were also given our priority seating passes for Fantasmic (located in the dead center of the theater).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wattage

      Registered: January 2010
      Location: Richmond Virginia
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Tue February 18, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 4 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Decore, Serice
      Cons: Food, and Price for what you get

       
      My wife, 14yo daughter and I ate lunch at the Brown Derby on Thursday, February 13, 2014. We had reservations for three at 2PM. We arrived at 1:50pm and were seated after about a five minute wait in a large round booth. Our server was good and attentive throughout our meal.


      Al of us got the lobster bisque as our appetizer. The soup was very good and we all loved it. I got an Andouille crusted chicken sandwich which was very spicy – more than I’m use to eating and I did not enjoy it. The bacon served on my sandwich was flavorless and paper thin. My wife had a second appetizer as her main course – the Andouille crusted prawn over grits. She said it was just OK and did not finish her meal. My daughter had the lump crab spring rolls – which she liked and finished.


      For dessert we had a trio of mini desserts. Our trio included two crème brulees and a chocolate truffle cake. The crème brulee’ was nearly flavorless – I’ve had better from a mix from the super market. My daughter said the cake was bitter and did not finish it.


      Overall, our bill for lunch, with tip, was $101 – we had sodas and water, no alcohol. This was way over priced for what we got and the quality of the food. We will never return.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Mimi1

      Registered: January 2014
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Sat January 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cobb Salad!
      Cons: None

       
      The Brown Derby and the Cobb Salad is the only reason I go to MGM Studios. The ambiance in the restaurant is great and so is the service. No complaints, though there is a limited selection of food choices for children.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      rebelbuddhist

      Registered: December 2009
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sat January 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: Menu is getting pretty old

       
      While the service continues to be impeccable, we are finding the menu to be limited and getting old. We have always eaten here but our dinner in December may be our last until the menu is updated. Our entrees (steak and pork chop) were rather dry and the accompaniments were rather bland. We kept looking for salt and pepper to season our food. The strawberry champagne cheesecake was the highlight of the meal. We actually canceled a second return dinner ADR and went elsewhere since the food was so predictable and not signature dining quality
      Click here to see this users profile  
      John

      Registered: December 2010
      Location: Louisiana
      Posts: 63
      Review Date: Thu December 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food and Service
      Cons: Waiting area very small

       
      We had lunch at the Hollywood Brown Derby and it was excellent, even though the wait was long and they were very busy.
      My daughter-in-law and I had the Cobb salad and it was excellent. My wife had the Lobster Bisque and hse said it was very good.
      I had the Filet of beef and it was superb. My son had the duck two ways and it said it was excellent. All in all it was a Great Experience.
      The Grapefruit cake was also excellent.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Imjustababyduck

      Registered: May 2007
      Posts: 50
      Review Date: Mon November 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was very good
      Cons: None

       
      We ate here on 11/8/13 and both our service and food was excellent. I had the blue lump crab spring rolls, the filet, and the grapefruit cake. My DH had the lobster bisque, the duck two ways, and the cheesecake. The kids had soup, salad, pasta, grilled cheese, and both had the hidden treasure dessert. My spring rolls were great as was my filet. The dessert I ordered was not good. That, however, is personal taste and no knock on the dessert itself. The cake was moist, light and flavorful (just not a flavor I happened to like). I got the dessert because everyone raves about it (even though I don't care for grapefruit). Not my cup of tea, and now I know. My DH's soup was okay, but his duck was out of this world. The entire table was eating it. Both the boys said that the duck here was their favorite meal of the entire trip. If you like duck, I highly recommend this dish. His cheesecake was good, but different. The kids' liked their food (the salad was wonderful, as was the soup). They also enjoyed their fun little desserts.


      Our server was so attentive without being suffocating. She was just lovely with the boys. It was my nephew's birthday, and she went out of her way to make it special for him. A gesture that was greatly appreciated.


      This was our first time eating here, but will not be our last. We will be adding it to our "must" list (and, sadly, removing a few as well).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SharW

      Registered: November 2007
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Thu November 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food/service.
      Cons: Can wait a long time for your reservation

       
      We always dine here once or twice on each trip that we make every October. Food is always great and have never had bad service. Only negative is the small waiting area while you are waiting for your assigned table. Always seems to be a big backup for reservations.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      melody

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Wed November 13, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food
      Cons: slow service for lunch

       
      We ate here for lunch on November 2nd. My husband and I decided to pay for this meal so we could save our table service credits. We decided to share the cobb salad & grapefruit cake. I ordered it without bacon & eggs and unfortunately the waiter took it down correct but the chef/cooks prepared it incorrectly. So we had to wait even longer for a new salad while my entire family ate their lunch. By the time we got the new salad, our family was done eating. Other than the slow service, the food is always good here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      adkmel

      Registered: November 2008
      Location: Adirondacks NY
      Posts: 38
      Review Date: Fri November 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fantasmic Package-relaxing
      Cons: usually busy so expect to wait to be seated

       
      I like the Brown Derby I've always had a good meal and I like the 'slow' service.. is a nice place to relax! Hubby had the steak was great, I had the seafood mix all was good, had super service. Love the grapefruit cake!!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Mon September 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): FOOD
      Cons: slow service

       
      ADR for 6pm on 9/13 (LTM Utnleash the Villains). They were completely booked so our table wasn't ready right away. By the time we got our table, and food (which seemed to take a very long time), our 2 year old was in meltdown. So although the food was fantastic! we really didn't enjoy it because my husband and I were taking turns taking a 2 year old out of the restaurant.


      That being said, we had a great server. In many trips to WDW, had never tried Brown Derby because I imagined it was overpriced and stuffy. We ordered the steak and it was wonderful. Not that much more expensive than meals elsewhere on property, if not using dining plan. We had 4 kids (ages 9 and under) and no one ever made us feel like they shouldn't be there. Will definitely try it again. Grapefruite cake was yummy - although I was the only one that appreciated it.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.