Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • jeconk

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue March 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wide selection of entrees and desserts
      Cons: Selection of sides not as varied

       
      We took the dinner meal at Hollywood & Vine to take advantage of the Fantasmic Seating advantage. While you get some of the best seats for Fantasmic (center section), you do not get a "private entrance" and have to enter with the masses.
      The dinner is a buffet, which I like because you can try different things. They had a varied selection of entrees and some specialty stations (pasta, etc.) but the side dishes were not that varied or exciting. The dessert selection was great and the small portions allowed you to take several different ones to try. (and then go back for more of the ones you like!). Since it was a buffet, the small dessert portions are not a big deal.
      The decor is not exciting, but I don't choose or really judge my dining choices by decor...but by food, service and comfort....all of which were fine at this restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hello12345

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 63
      Review Date: Mon February 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Overall good experience
      Cons: cost

       
      I went into this dining experience not expecting much and I was surprised. We only ate here for the fantasmic dinner package. In the long run the package wasn't even needed as the Fantasmic show was not full.


      Due to the weather we decided to check-in 30 minutes early and we got a table within 5 minutes. We sat down around 4:30 and it was not busy at all. By 5:30 it was full and waiting area was full outside. We never had an issue getting to the buffet even with the crowds. We probably stayed longer than we normally do because of the weather and we were never rushed.


      The service was a 10. Our waiter took our drink orders immediately after sitting down and brought refills when needed. My kids were celebrating their birthday and the server brought special cupcakes for them. This is the best service we ever had at a Disney restuarant. He was an older Asian guy and I wish I got his name to give him a shoutout!


      The food was an 8 - 8.5. When compared to places like the Crystal Palace, Tusker House, and 1900 Park Fare, Hollywood and Vine is a 10. The buffet had a good selection and everything was fresh. The top picks were the lobster and shrimp mac and cheese, pasta, chicken breast with ranch sauce, and salmon.


      Obviously you have to pay Disney prices. For 2 adults and 2 children we had to come out of pocket $140 after tip. That keeps this from being a 10. If you are on the dining plan then Hollywood and Vine is a no-brainer. Coming out of pocket you might want to think twice. This same meal would have cost me $35-40 at Golden Corral near I-4.


      Overall this rates near the top of Disney buffets. Only a few rate ahead of it in my opinion (Biergarten, Ohana, and maybe Cape May.)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kretzklan

      Registered: October 2010
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Tue January 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): wide selection of food
      Cons: lines long during the Fantasmic package window

       
      I've seen some bad reviews here and don't get it. We thought the food was wonderful - all hot and such a wide selection! The only thing we didn't enjoy were the peel and eat shrimp. We did the Fantasmic package and the lines for the buffet got VERY long...however, eating that early (3:35), it wasn't a bad thing to waste some time. Our server was delightful as well!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 180
      Review Date: Sat January 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food and service, great seats for Fantasmic
      Cons: So-so dessert bar

       
      I was skeptical about dining here because it has average reviews. However, we wanted the reserved seating for Fantasmic because my brother has autism and just can't wait a long time for the show. We chose this restaurant because it was the cheapest option and a buffet so I thought it would be easy to please everyone.


      Our "dinner" reservation was originally for 4:55pm but when our plans changed and we had to switch it to a different day, the only time available was 3:40pm. We checked right around that time and there was quite a line. There was plenty of seating on the porch and Teri came out to get us within 10 minutes.


      The table we were assigned was fairly close to the buffet. We sampled a variety of items. Standouts were the carved turkey and strip loin, and the pork. My brother had a lot of the penne pasta with meat sauce. Loved the dinner rolls, the creamed corn spoon bread, the mashed potatoes, and the fruit salad.


      Desserts looked prominsing but were just okay. I liked the ice cream and mini blueberry cheesecake. The red velvet squares and strawberry cheesecake bites were very dry. Key Lime Tarts were nothing special. Cream puffs were good. They also gave my brother a cupcake for his birthday. I ended up eating it several days later and it was great!


      It was kind of an expensive meal but we were able to walk into the ampitheater at 6:30 for the 7pm show and get great seats in the Mickey section-not too far back but not as close as I would normally sit because it was very, very cold that night and we didn't want to get wet.


      If you're looking for a solid dinner and good seats for the show, give H&V a whirl.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alfy

      Registered: July 2010
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Sun December 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food items were good and worth the price
      Cons: Service was spotty

       
      We would give the food an 8 and the service a 2, with a 6 overall. We were seated about 5 minutes after our reservation time, not bad. But then it was 15 minutes before a waitress showed up. She took our drinks order and came back with them more than 10 minutes later. The only thing that arrived in a timely manner was the check. The food items were of good variety, vegetables were very fresh and the meat items were tasty, even though we arrived toward the end of the restaurant's serving hours.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      elkhunter1

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri June 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety
      Cons:

       
      Our family ate here again on 5/10,and we enjoyed the visit. We had plenty of choices to pick from,the quality was good, lots of desserts to choose from, and our server was very nice and attentive. We will definitely eat again on our next visit to WDW.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lamystreaux

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Leesville, LA
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Thu June 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good variety
      Cons: none

       
      I am not sure why this place receives low scores. Not every item on the buffet is great, but there are enough yummy items to make this a winner. We had prime rib carved on the meat station, some great soups and salads, and we also enjoyed a great pulled pork there. Sides were not too bad, and my son really enjoyed the options for the kids. Desserts were plentiful to choose from. If you want a nice meal with plenty to eat, this is a good table service option.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jessicahs

      Registered: October 2008
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Tue January 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent selection, yummy desserts, plenty of seating
      Cons: Slower server

       
      I cannot understand how this restaurant gets such low reviews. We had eaten here before several years ago and liked it. We were hungry and didn't feel like waiting half an hour at Prime Time so we ate here. Waitress was somewhat slow but friendly. Food was really excellent. Desserts are the best we had our whole trip. Chef made me a "create your own" pasta that was one of the best pasta dishes I have ever had - and my family owned an Italian restaurant for 63 years. Highly recommend and we will return.
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      jlundeen

      Registered: January 2013
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Sat January 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): A nice surprise
      Cons: none

       
      We had never eaten here before, so this trip (Dec, 2012), we wanted to try it as a Fantasmic! reserved seating meal.


      Got in pretty quickly, and were seated all together (6 adults - no kids). Buffet had lots of variety, and some items were good enough to go back for seconds! Staff was friendly food was good.


      We'll go there again!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      earthmom7

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Thu January 3, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): no wait, food selection (variety), waitstaff
      Cons:

       
      Had dinner here on 12/27 before enjoying the Osborne Spectacle of Lights. I had tried to get reservation here the day before (fully knowing I wouldn't be able to) so we decided to walk up and try our luck. Around 5:30pm we walked up to the check-in desk and were told it would be a 25 minute wait which we didn't think was too bad. Turned out it was a 5 minute wait. The staff was talkative and very friendly. Our waitress was attentive. The food selection was our favorite out of the three total buffets we had during the week (including Boma). Maybe we just got lucky but I would definitely go here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      wdwsparkles

      Registered: December 2012
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed December 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Staff, pasta station, certain foods, Fantasmic
      Cons: Lines, no Christmas Buffet

       
      We made reservations here for Christmas Day under Fantasmic! Dining.


      We arrived about 20 minutes prior to our 3:35 ADR. They were still accepting walk-ins, which made the line-up ridiculously huge. We made it to check-in just before our reservation time, just to have someone complain that they weren't seated yet. The hostess explained he did not have a reservation, and they seat reservations first and walk-ins second. He thought checking in meant he had a reservation, so we had to stand there for five minutes waiting for them to sort things out.


      We checked in and waited about 10 minutes to be seated.


      We were a bit disappointed with the food selection. We had been told that they had a Christmas buffet. The only evidence of this it seemed was the stuffing.


      I'm a picky eater, so the selections for me were quite limited. I tried the udon noodle salad, just because I remembered liking udon noodles before at Teppan Edo. It was just okay.


      I had finally hit the mother load when I discovered the pasta station, where a chef would custom-make a plate of pasta for you. I ended up with just pasta in pesto sauce, but I threw my marinated mozzarella balls in with it. I liked it so much I got back in the ridiculously long line just to get a second plate.


      This brings me to my next subject: The lines. There was a long line-up for everything. Check-In, the buffet itself, the dessert table, the washrooms, you name it!


      Overall, the best part of eating here was that we got to see Fantasmic on Christmas Day. Next time, we're trying off-peak season and Brown Derby.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Motherhen

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Canada
      Posts: 73
      Review Date: Thu December 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): None whatsoever
      Cons: Horrible food & service

       
      By far the worst meal of our stay. Our waitress was slow and never available. Our dirty dishes stacked up on the table. Our beverages went unreplenished. The food was either too salty or too sweet (even the creamed corn spoonbread!). The cuts of meat were fatty and grisly and poorly seasoned. The only positive aspect is the great location. There are far better buffets elsewhere.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      grumpy829

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Thu October 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was great, service was very helpful
      Cons: None

       
      I have seen come complaints on this place about the food, so I was very nervous, but we ate here on the Fantasmic Dinner Plan. We were very pleasantly surprised. If you eat here you have got to try the pasta bar where they make you personalized pasta with ingredients that you choose. It was the best pasta that I think I have ever had! The food choices were good and we did not eat anything that we did not like. I thought the desert choices were a bit slim though.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      beans0418

      Registered: September 2012
      Location: United States
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Sat September 1, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 2 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Short wait and on Fantasmic Dining Plan
      Cons: Food was terrible!!!!

       
      We have used the Fantasmic Dining Plan multiple times. Last year we noticed it was not as good as previously. This year, much much worse! Most of the dishes that were not fish (don't eat fish) were almost empty and tasted old. Felt the choices were so limited. Doubt this will be a pick for us in the future.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mschu2112

      Registered: December 2007
      Posts: 27
      Review Date: Tue August 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great Server, Fantasmic Entry with No Wait
      Cons: Typical Buffet Food

       
      We at here on August 13th as a way to avoid the Fantasmic line using the Fantasmic Dining Package. The food was typical buffet style. Nothing outstanding and nothing really poor. There was a decent selection; however, for our teens who can be pickey we did not get our moneys worth on the food end of it. The real advantage of H&V is the Fantasmic Package. This allows you to skip the huge wait to get into the theater and enter by a side entrance. We used our pass to get in and then once in switched over sections closer to the middle with no problems. We did this about 30 minutes before the show and avoided the long line and stampeed to the seats, plus had extra time not having to worry about seats. This alone made up for an over priced buffet. $38.95 is steep for the food choices that were there but the savings waiting were worth it on a hot day.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.