Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • GinaDD

      Registered: September 2007
      Location: Clarksboro, NJ
      Posts: 33
      Review Date: Tue August 26, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Lots of choices
      Cons: Over priced

       
      We booked H&V for two reasons....Fantasmic dinner package and so our sons could really load up. There was no real value here though for our 14 year old daughter. If you are hearty eaters you will probably find an enjoyable meal. There was carved beef and turkey, salmon, a pasta station, lots of sides, but somewhat disappointing desserts. Some very nice breads with the salads. Also the tables are too small for the number of people they are set for. I don't think we'll be back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ROCCOFIRE

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: ROCHESTER, NY
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Fri July 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): dinner has no characters
      Cons:

       
      A good dinner buffet. I recommend a reservation for all Disney restaurants, because like this one very busy. The staff and service did an excellent job, a good variety of food, and with the dining plan you fill up easily.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KBrzyski

      Registered: June 2014
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Wed June 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was ok
      Cons: Cost

       
      The food was ok - lots of choices. However,the mashed potatoes were "soupy." The Jedi characters were fine. They came to our table and took pictures. My major disappointment was what I paid for 3 adults - $222 with tip for the buffet, no alcoholic beverages! I paid $180 for 4 adults, 3 of which had steak dinners at the Be Our Guest Restaurant, and I felt the ambience was nicer. Perhaps it's worth it if you have a meal plan, but I would not recommend it to someone paying cash.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hello12345

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Wed June 4, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): See all the Star Wars Disney characters
      Cons: Price

       
      Had an ADR for May 28. Arrived about 15 min prior to our ADR. The setup to get check-in and get in was a little confusing. We had to check-in and then get into a line immediately. The line led to pics with Chip and Dale as Ewoks. We were seated close to our ADR time. Our waitress here was far more knowledgable and friendlier than the Sci-Fi breakfast. The characters came around in a quick and orderly fashion. They were all willing to interact with the kids. We were there for about one hour and got visted by each character twice. The food was normal for Hollywood and Vine. They have the best selection for Disney buffets in my opinion. Picture taking was also a little easier than the Sci-Fi breakfast. Hollywood and Vine is well lit and there is a little more room to move around for the pics. I had to dish out this money so my kids could see these characters. In the three previous Star Wars weekend trips we have never met the Star Wars dressed Disney characters. The price was extreme, but the convenience of seeing all the characters while we ate in the A/C was close to being worth the price. I will not pay this price to do it again though. 2 adults/2 kids cost about $190 after tip.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Fri May 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We ate here for the Star Wars dinner (I could not find a place to review that). It was really neat to see all the characters dressed up and is worth it once for that alone.


      The food was very good...lot's of choices. The service was wonderful. Just really expensive (I never complain about that, so you know it's bad Smile.


      I was glad we did it. It was fun, but would not probably do the Star Wars thing again. Would definitely come back for the buffet.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mkymouse4ever

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Illinois
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sat May 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, character's
      Cons: none

       
      We attended the star war's dinner, and had a great time. Food was the typical buffet, but filled and plentiful.
      Character's where outstanding, the best we have come accross.
      The allergy to chocolate was an issue. Every pastry, cupcake was either chocholate or had a chocholate star wars written on it. > Asked the chef he came over and had to get a cheesecake out of the resturant next door and was soooooooooo nice about the whole thing.
      Our CM waitress was earning her ear's and she was wonderful and very helpful!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      WDWDad1974

      Registered: May 2014
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Tue May 13, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good dishes, good selection
      Cons: A bit crowded

       
      Went for the Disney Jr. lunch. The kids loved it. The characters took their time, and even had organized dances periodically.


      We ate at around noon and were not hungry the rest of the day. The food was tasty and varied. I was expecting a little more standard buffet line, but they had some good salads and some good hot entrees--like salmon and a really tasty Asian-inspired chicken dish (I forget the name). The desserts were really good. My son loved the make-your-own pasta station, which can feel like a nice break from the usual pre-cooked meal you have elsewhere in the park.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lb1160

      Registered: October 2009
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Thu May 8, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Service was very good, not rushed at all
      Cons: Food to generic, not great quality

       
      Dinner was a buffet and it was just okay. The best part of the buffet was the cooked to order pasta, that was excellent. Desserts were very disappointing and the Fantasmic special ticket didn't mean anything, no one checked tickets and there were hoards of people entering the area all at once. Don't think we would book it again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jeconk

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 16
      Review Date: Tue March 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Wide selection of entrees and desserts
      Cons: Selection of sides not as varied

       
      We took the dinner meal at Hollywood & Vine to take advantage of the Fantasmic Seating advantage. While you get some of the best seats for Fantasmic (center section), you do not get a "private entrance" and have to enter with the masses.
      The dinner is a buffet, which I like because you can try different things. They had a varied selection of entrees and some specialty stations (pasta, etc.) but the side dishes were not that varied or exciting. The dessert selection was great and the small portions allowed you to take several different ones to try. (and then go back for more of the ones you like!). Since it was a buffet, the small dessert portions are not a big deal.
      The decor is not exciting, but I don't choose or really judge my dining choices by decor...but by food, service and comfort....all of which were fine at this restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      hello12345

      Registered: June 2010
      Posts: 70
      Review Date: Mon February 3, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Overall good experience
      Cons: cost

       
      I went into this dining experience not expecting much and I was surprised. We only ate here for the fantasmic dinner package. In the long run the package wasn't even needed as the Fantasmic show was not full.


      Due to the weather we decided to check-in 30 minutes early and we got a table within 5 minutes. We sat down around 4:30 and it was not busy at all. By 5:30 it was full and waiting area was full outside. We never had an issue getting to the buffet even with the crowds. We probably stayed longer than we normally do because of the weather and we were never rushed.


      The service was a 10. Our waiter took our drink orders immediately after sitting down and brought refills when needed. My kids were celebrating their birthday and the server brought special cupcakes for them. This is the best service we ever had at a Disney restuarant. He was an older Asian guy and I wish I got his name to give him a shoutout!


      The food was an 8 - 8.5. When compared to places like the Crystal Palace, Tusker House, and 1900 Park Fare, Hollywood and Vine is a 10. The buffet had a good selection and everything was fresh. The top picks were the lobster and shrimp mac and cheese, pasta, chicken breast with ranch sauce, and salmon.


      Obviously you have to pay Disney prices. For 2 adults and 2 children we had to come out of pocket $140 after tip. That keeps this from being a 10. If you are on the dining plan then Hollywood and Vine is a no-brainer. Coming out of pocket you might want to think twice. This same meal would have cost me $35-40 at Golden Corral near I-4.


      Overall this rates near the top of Disney buffets. Only a few rate ahead of it in my opinion (Biergarten, Ohana, and maybe Cape May.)
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kretzklan

      Registered: October 2010
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Tue January 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): wide selection of food
      Cons: lines long during the Fantasmic package window

       
      I've seen some bad reviews here and don't get it. We thought the food was wonderful - all hot and such a wide selection! The only thing we didn't enjoy were the peel and eat shrimp. We did the Fantasmic package and the lines for the buffet got VERY long...however, eating that early (3:35), it wasn't a bad thing to waste some time. Our server was delightful as well!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 215
      Review Date: Sat January 11, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good food and service, great seats for Fantasmic
      Cons: So-so dessert bar

       
      I was skeptical about dining here because it has average reviews. However, we wanted the reserved seating for Fantasmic because my brother has autism and just can't wait a long time for the show. We chose this restaurant because it was the cheapest option and a buffet so I thought it would be easy to please everyone.


      Our "dinner" reservation was originally for 4:55pm but when our plans changed and we had to switch it to a different day, the only time available was 3:40pm. We checked right around that time and there was quite a line. There was plenty of seating on the porch and Teri came out to get us within 10 minutes.


      The table we were assigned was fairly close to the buffet. We sampled a variety of items. Standouts were the carved turkey and strip loin, and the pork. My brother had a lot of the penne pasta with meat sauce. Loved the dinner rolls, the creamed corn spoon bread, the mashed potatoes, and the fruit salad.


      Desserts looked prominsing but were just okay. I liked the ice cream and mini blueberry cheesecake. The red velvet squares and strawberry cheesecake bites were very dry. Key Lime Tarts were nothing special. Cream puffs were good. They also gave my brother a cupcake for his birthday. I ended up eating it several days later and it was great!


      It was kind of an expensive meal but we were able to walk into the ampitheater at 6:30 for the 7pm show and get great seats in the Mickey section-not too far back but not as close as I would normally sit because it was very, very cold that night and we didn't want to get wet.


      If you're looking for a solid dinner and good seats for the show, give H&V a whirl.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      alfy

      Registered: July 2010
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Sun December 8, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The food items were good and worth the price
      Cons: Service was spotty

       
      We would give the food an 8 and the service a 2, with a 6 overall. We were seated about 5 minutes after our reservation time, not bad. But then it was 15 minutes before a waitress showed up. She took our drinks order and came back with them more than 10 minutes later. The only thing that arrived in a timely manner was the check. The food items were of good variety, vegetables were very fresh and the meat items were tasty, even though we arrived toward the end of the restaurant's serving hours.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      elkhunter1

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Fri June 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Variety
      Cons:

       
      Our family ate here again on 5/10,and we enjoyed the visit. We had plenty of choices to pick from,the quality was good, lots of desserts to choose from, and our server was very nice and attentive. We will definitely eat again on our next visit to WDW.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lamystreaux

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Leesville, LA
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Thu June 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good variety
      Cons: none

       
      I am not sure why this place receives low scores. Not every item on the buffet is great, but there are enough yummy items to make this a winner. We had prime rib carved on the meat station, some great soups and salads, and we also enjoyed a great pulled pork there. Sides were not too bad, and my son really enjoyed the options for the kids. Desserts were plentiful to choose from. If you want a nice meal with plenty to eat, this is a good table service option.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.