Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • anicolausk

      Registered: November 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Tue November 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service
      Cons: None

       
      Great food, generous portions and the customer service was fantastic.


      Our server's name was Eric. He was very studious towards our group's needs, had us constantly laughing and checked on us often so we were never left waiting for anything.


      We cannot wait to go back in October next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyJunkie

      Registered: August 2010
      Location: Salisbury, NC
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Thu October 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Interesting concept.
      Cons: Not all waiters/waitresses get in character. Mediocre food.

       
      The food here is subpar to mediocre at best. The menu offerings are weak, and the experience often hinges on whether or not the wait staff gets in character with the restaurant theme. Ours did not, so between that and the not-that-great food, we wouldn't eat here again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tashie112183

      Registered: October 2013
      Posts: 2
      Review Date: Sun October 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming, food, waiter
      Cons: None!

       
      We ate here, as a party of 5, 3 adults, and 2 children on 14/10/13 for dinner.


      Our waiter was Uncle Tim, and he played into the role really well. Giving my dad trouble for wearing his hat on in the house and my mom and I multiple times for having our elbows on the table and playing with our cell phones. No one got put in the corner though. lol.


      We made it very easy for the wait staff, the 3 adults had the pork roast, and the little ones had the fish. Everyone enjoyed their meals thoroughy. I also had the PB&J milk shake, which was delicious and different! For dessert, my parents had the brownie sundae, and I had the Bostom Cream Parfait. I'm not really one for chocolate or sweets, so it was a little rich for me. I did end up giving half of it to the girls. Both my parents seemed to enjoy their dessert as well.


      I can't wait to go back and try something else on the menu!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      allec999

      Registered: October 2007
      Posts: 28
      Review Date: Fri October 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service/schtick
      Cons: Crowded

       
      Loved this place. Food was loved all around our table of 9, and the waiter was into the role, even shushing my daughter on her birthday. Only complaint was how close together tables were. Overall,great experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Grumppy

      Registered: October 2009
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Wed September 25, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Theming
      Cons:

       
      This another "must-do" for us on every trip, but this time it just didn't seem as though our server was as much "in character" as in previous visits. He was pleasant enough, and there were some of the expected shenanigans, but nowhere near as much fun as on previous trips. I was getting more of a chuckle from one of the waitresses in the adjoining dining room, especially when one patron was reluctant to eat his vegetables! As for the food, my wife and I both had the chicken pot pie and it was very good with lots of large pieces of chicken and a very flavorful gravy. I don't recall what she had for dessert, but I had the Boston Cream parfait (recommended by our waiter over the Apple Crisp) and it was fantastic. We will definitely be back, but I hope our next server is more "into" the whole theme next time.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Dldennis01

      Registered: September 2013
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Mon September 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Best food in HS, super fun atmosphere, good value
      Cons: None

       
      I've found the food here to be far better than other restaurants in HS, especially for the price. If you have kids it is a must do- the servers treat you like family, including putting you in a corner for bad manners. It's a hoot!! And they have a fantastic lounge with "day's liquor cabinet" to get into while you wait and while you dine. Fun experience, yummy food!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      chlobug26

      Registered: September 2006
      Location: St. Louis, MO
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sat September 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was yum! Server was great.
      Cons: Wait to be seated

       
      We arrived in time for our reservation. The amount of strollers parked outside and screaming babies in the waiting area was scary, but never ended up being a problem. Heard the hostess tell the couple before us they were taking walk jn's. Nevertheless, we waited about about 30 minutes to be seated. Walk in's got to eat before us. The restaurant was cute, filled with lots of nostalgia that reminds me of my grandmas house when I was little, so waiting wasn't bad.


      We were seated at a table with its own tv and faux kitchen. So cute! Our waitress was very sarcastic and funny. We loved her. Hubby and I had the leftovers, while DD had the fried chicken. While the pot roast and meatloaf were good, the chicken was amazing. Cooked to perfection. The brownie a la mode was just okay, but I was so full I didn't really care. I will definitely come back.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clayalex02

      Registered: July 2007
      Location: Pittsburgh, PA
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Thu September 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, themeing
      Cons: waiter not into role

       
      This is one of my favorite restaurants. Have eaten here numerous times and have always enjoyed the fun. This time our waiter made an attempt but just did not fill the role. Also, he would disappear for long periods of time. I have the fried chicken, which is one of my favorites. Mom had the leftovers, which she said it was the best meatloaf she has ever had. DSister had the salmon, which she enjoyed. DD23 had left the park early, but we were able to take vegetable lasagna back to her at the hotel and she enjoyed it. For dessert I had the Boston Cream Parfait, it was wonderful as usual. Mom and sister had Dad's Brownie, which they enjoyed. Took smore's back to DD24 which is her favorite. All in all it was a good dinner in a normal restaurant. Missed the fun that we have experienced in the past, but will probably go back
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DeanMoriarity

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon September 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cool 50's Theme
      Cons: Restaurant showing it's age/Inadequate Staffing

       
      My dinner on 8/26/13 was my 3rd trip to the 50"s Prime Time, and it will probably be my last. I first ate here back in the early 90's when it was a new restaurant and it was an exciting and dynamic environment to dine. The wait staff all embraced their roles and the food was excellent. But now the decor is starting to show its age. It looks like a face-lift is in order otherwise guests will start to think that the fixtures really are from the 50's. I also notice that the wait staff doesn't get into the role playing that made this place special as they did in the early days.


      Being the place didn't look too busy, I checked in 30 minutes early. I was told there were no tables available and that I would be seated at my reservation time. Eventually, I was seated at 5:27 for a 5:30 reservation so I didn't complain. However, I did notice a lot of empty tables throughout the restaurant as I was seated. Were they short staffed that day? Judging by the amount of tables that continued to remain empty throughout my dinner, I suspect so. It took a while for my waitress to acknowledge my presence. Looking around, I noticed other diners were in the same predicament. After sitting for 8 minutes, my waitress finally came to my table and from then on the service was good.

      On to the food. It was good. But nothing more than that. I had the all-natural lemonade for my beverage. Now I make my own fresh squeezed natural lemonade all the time. And I question just how "natural" this lemonade is. Particularly I question what is used as a sweetener. If you add in what the ingredients for the "wildberry foam" could be then you may be forced to cease calling this an "all natural" lemonade. For an appetizer, I chose the crab cake. It's a frozen crab cake garnished with vegetables and a sauce that just doesn't work. Not terrible, but not worth the 10 bucks they charge. The pot roast dish is good and fits the bill as a comfort food that would be served in a 50's home. But I question those who get on their soap box and pontificate that the fried chicken is the best ever. My wife ordered this, and they did serve a very generous portion, a breast, wing, leg, and thigh. So I had the opportunity to sample this myself. It is good. But it's no more than that. A good dish. Hardly something I would call the best ever. It may be a decent dish for $17 but not something I would go out of my way for.

      Two drinks, one appetizer, two entrees, and one Heineken plus tip cost me $81. A bit high for a place that's a bit run down, short on staff and has declining food quality. I would recommend this to someone who's never been to WDW but this was most likely my last time here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 250
      Review Date: Thu August 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
      Cons: So-so service

       
      I dined here for (I think) the fourth time on 7/29. This might be the table service restaurant I've eaten at the most! Our reservation was for 1:40pm. We arrived a few minutes early and spent some time in the "living room" but were seated by 1:45. Our party of four was given a TV table, which we were happy with!


      Three of us were on the dining plan, and my other friend who joined us used my cast member discount for his meal. We ordered the awesome fried cheese appetizer to share and it was just as great as I remember it being this past December.


      For our entrees, we had the Olive Oil Poached Salmon, Mom's Favorite Recipes (fried chicken, pot roast, and meatloaf with green beans, mashed potatoes, and collard greens), the Pot Roast, and the Fried Chicken. Everyone loved their meals and I'm fairly certain we all cleaned our plates.


      Between desserts and beverages we had two PB&J shakes, a vanilla shake, Dad's Brownie Sundae (minus the whipped cream), and the Smores. I really don't get the smores hoopla. I didn't think they were all that great.


      Our server was a bit brusque bordering on rude, and not in the fun spirit of the restaurant. When she seated us, she literally gave us the menu rundown and DDP inclusions twice in a row without starting over, like she totally forgot she had already said all of it. I experienced a bit of deja vu! She told us we couldn't have clean plate stickers even when we asked AND cleaned our plates, and didn't do any fun interaction with us. At the end of the meal she was kind of snarky about my discount and how I "should have told her sooner" that I would be using it.


      While the food and environment were great, the poor service kind of ruined the experience. I will return but hope I don't get the same server again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 153
      Review Date: Sun July 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We ate here 3 times on our last visit. Our waiter and waitresses were all in character, but our last was probably the best. The food was all really good at each visit. The fried chicken and the fried cheese were favorites.


      I do have one minor issue..when we were there we were celebrating mine and my son's birthday (on different visits). We wore a birthday button when we were there, but neither waitress even acknowledged it....at all. The last one was forced to because we ordered a cake, but if we had not, she would not have even said happy birthday. I think it's a neat part of being at Disney World, so not sure why these folks don't participate...could be part of the "act", but think it's weird.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cj1996x2

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Tue July 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was good, our server was awesome
      Cons: price was a little steep for what we got

       
      I gave this a 9 because of our waiter. His name is Gary and if you get the chance to go ask for him. He made the experience wonderful for all of us.Everyone that was in his section couldn't say enough about how wonderful he was. Even my children had a great time and that is kinda hard with a 13 year old boy who would rather eat on the go and spend more time riding the fast rides! We didn't wait long for our table and the food came fast.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Fri July 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fun atmosphere, good food
      Cons: experience depends on server

       
      We ate here without kids many years ago and loved it! Then tried it again about 5 years (and 8 visits) ago with kids and it just wasn't as much fun. The food was fine, but the waiter didn't really get into character with us and the experience wasn't the same. Thought maybe it was just the server and decided to try it again over SWW Memorial Day. WE were in HS 3 full days and ate at 3 different restaurants.


      Had a 1:30 ADR and had to wait about 20 mins. Was super crowded and could barely find a place to sit in living room. Walkups were being turned away.


      Kids were hungry so waiter was focused on getting us food. I can't complain about that, but we just didn't seem to get the same interaction that the adult only tables got. Table next to us got green beans served to them for dessert with whipped cream.


      Food was good. DH and I both got the plate with the chicken, meatloaf and roast. Very filling.


      Maybe we will try it again in another 5 years when our kids are older.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lamystreaux

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Leesville, LA
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Thu June 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fun atmosphere, great food
      Cons: none

       
      Had a great lunch here yesterday. I had the fried chicken. . .some of the best I have ever had, and my wife had the veg lasagna and she really enjoyed it. Ordered onion rings as an app and they were yummy. Great shakes as a dessert at the end. Fun atmosphere and great food!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Lighthouse

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Fri May 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Brought Back Memories
      Cons:

       
      Our group of 4 Senior Citizen adults enjoyed the good, old fashion type meal. Every detail in Prime Time Cafe brought back memories. The younger generation and grandchildren would not be impressed.
      We are planining to eat here again next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.