Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • clayalex02

      Registered: July 2007
      Location: Pittsburgh, PA
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Thu September 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, themeing
      Cons: waiter not into role

       
      This is one of my favorite restaurants. Have eaten here numerous times and have always enjoyed the fun. This time our waiter made an attempt but just did not fill the role. Also, he would disappear for long periods of time. I have the fried chicken, which is one of my favorites. Mom had the leftovers, which she said it was the best meatloaf she has ever had. DSister had the salmon, which she enjoyed. DD23 had left the park early, but we were able to take vegetable lasagna back to her at the hotel and she enjoyed it. For dessert I had the Boston Cream Parfait, it was wonderful as usual. Mom and sister had Dad's Brownie, which they enjoyed. Took smore's back to DD24 which is her favorite. All in all it was a good dinner in a normal restaurant. Missed the fun that we have experienced in the past, but will probably go back
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DeanMoriarity

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 12
      Review Date: Mon September 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Cool 50's Theme
      Cons: Restaurant showing it's age/Inadequate Staffing

       
      My dinner on 8/26/13 was my 3rd trip to the 50"s Prime Time, and it will probably be my last. I first ate here back in the early 90's when it was a new restaurant and it was an exciting and dynamic environment to dine. The wait staff all embraced their roles and the food was excellent. But now the decor is starting to show its age. It looks like a face-lift is in order otherwise guests will start to think that the fixtures really are from the 50's. I also notice that the wait staff doesn't get into the role playing that made this place special as they did in the early days.


      Being the place didn't look too busy, I checked in 30 minutes early. I was told there were no tables available and that I would be seated at my reservation time. Eventually, I was seated at 5:27 for a 5:30 reservation so I didn't complain. However, I did notice a lot of empty tables throughout the restaurant as I was seated. Were they short staffed that day? Judging by the amount of tables that continued to remain empty throughout my dinner, I suspect so. It took a while for my waitress to acknowledge my presence. Looking around, I noticed other diners were in the same predicament. After sitting for 8 minutes, my waitress finally came to my table and from then on the service was good.

      On to the food. It was good. But nothing more than that. I had the all-natural lemonade for my beverage. Now I make my own fresh squeezed natural lemonade all the time. And I question just how "natural" this lemonade is. Particularly I question what is used as a sweetener. If you add in what the ingredients for the "wildberry foam" could be then you may be forced to cease calling this an "all natural" lemonade. For an appetizer, I chose the crab cake. It's a frozen crab cake garnished with vegetables and a sauce that just doesn't work. Not terrible, but not worth the 10 bucks they charge. The pot roast dish is good and fits the bill as a comfort food that would be served in a 50's home. But I question those who get on their soap box and pontificate that the fried chicken is the best ever. My wife ordered this, and they did serve a very generous portion, a breast, wing, leg, and thigh. So I had the opportunity to sample this myself. It is good. But it's no more than that. A good dish. Hardly something I would call the best ever. It may be a decent dish for $17 but not something I would go out of my way for.

      Two drinks, one appetizer, two entrees, and one Heineken plus tip cost me $81. A bit high for a place that's a bit run down, short on staff and has declining food quality. I would recommend this to someone who's never been to WDW but this was most likely my last time here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      bellebookworm9

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: 1,194 Miles from Disney World
      Posts: 220
      Review Date: Thu August 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food
      Cons: So-so service

       
      I dined here for (I think) the fourth time on 7/29. This might be the table service restaurant I've eaten at the most! Our reservation was for 1:40pm. We arrived a few minutes early and spent some time in the "living room" but were seated by 1:45. Our party of four was given a TV table, which we were happy with!


      Three of us were on the dining plan, and my other friend who joined us used my cast member discount for his meal. We ordered the awesome fried cheese appetizer to share and it was just as great as I remember it being this past December.


      For our entrees, we had the Olive Oil Poached Salmon, Mom's Favorite Recipes (fried chicken, pot roast, and meatloaf with green beans, mashed potatoes, and collard greens), the Pot Roast, and the Fried Chicken. Everyone loved their meals and I'm fairly certain we all cleaned our plates.


      Between desserts and beverages we had two PB&J shakes, a vanilla shake, Dad's Brownie Sundae (minus the whipped cream), and the Smores. I really don't get the smores hoopla. I didn't think they were all that great.


      Our server was a bit brusque bordering on rude, and not in the fun spirit of the restaurant. When she seated us, she literally gave us the menu rundown and DDP inclusions twice in a row without starting over, like she totally forgot she had already said all of it. I experienced a bit of deja vu! She told us we couldn't have clean plate stickers even when we asked AND cleaned our plates, and didn't do any fun interaction with us. At the end of the meal she was kind of snarky about my discount and how I "should have told her sooner" that I would be using it.


      While the food and environment were great, the poor service kind of ruined the experience. I will return but hope I don't get the same server again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 142
      Review Date: Sun July 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      We ate here 3 times on our last visit. Our waiter and waitresses were all in character, but our last was probably the best. The food was all really good at each visit. The fried chicken and the fried cheese were favorites.


      I do have one minor issue..when we were there we were celebrating mine and my son's birthday (on different visits). We wore a birthday button when we were there, but neither waitress even acknowledged it....at all. The last one was forced to because we ordered a cake, but if we had not, she would not have even said happy birthday. I think it's a neat part of being at Disney World, so not sure why these folks don't participate...could be part of the "act", but think it's weird.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cj1996x2

      Registered: July 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Tue July 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food was good, our server was awesome
      Cons: price was a little steep for what we got

       
      I gave this a 9 because of our waiter. His name is Gary and if you get the chance to go ask for him. He made the experience wonderful for all of us.Everyone that was in his section couldn't say enough about how wonderful he was. Even my children had a great time and that is kinda hard with a 13 year old boy who would rather eat on the go and spend more time riding the fast rides! We didn't wait long for our table and the food came fast.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      momof3inMadisonAL

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Niceville, FL
      Posts: 80
      Review Date: Fri July 5, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fun atmosphere, good food
      Cons: experience depends on server

       
      We ate here without kids many years ago and loved it! Then tried it again about 5 years (and 8 visits) ago with kids and it just wasn't as much fun. The food was fine, but the waiter didn't really get into character with us and the experience wasn't the same. Thought maybe it was just the server and decided to try it again over SWW Memorial Day. WE were in HS 3 full days and ate at 3 different restaurants.


      Had a 1:30 ADR and had to wait about 20 mins. Was super crowded and could barely find a place to sit in living room. Walkups were being turned away.


      Kids were hungry so waiter was focused on getting us food. I can't complain about that, but we just didn't seem to get the same interaction that the adult only tables got. Table next to us got green beans served to them for dessert with whipped cream.


      Food was good. DH and I both got the plate with the chicken, meatloaf and roast. Very filling.


      Maybe we will try it again in another 5 years when our kids are older.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      lamystreaux

      Registered: April 2012
      Location: Leesville, LA
      Posts: 23
      Review Date: Thu June 6, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fun atmosphere, great food
      Cons: none

       
      Had a great lunch here yesterday. I had the fried chicken. . .some of the best I have ever had, and my wife had the veg lasagna and she really enjoyed it. Ordered onion rings as an app and they were yummy. Great shakes as a dessert at the end. Fun atmosphere and great food!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Lighthouse

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Fri May 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Brought Back Memories
      Cons:

       
      Our group of 4 Senior Citizen adults enjoyed the good, old fashion type meal. Every detail in Prime Time Cafe brought back memories. The younger generation and grandchildren would not be impressed.
      We are planining to eat here again next year.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      PrBrandy

      Registered: April 2009
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sat May 11, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Decent Food and good wait staff
      Cons: None

       
      Our group or 4 adults dining here for Lunch on 05/05. Three of us had the Fried Chicken and one had the Meat Loaf. We asked for different vegetables and in one case a side order of Mac Cheese. We all got just what we asked for with no problems.
      Our server did tell us we would doing dishes for having our elbows on the table which was a hoot.
      Prices are a little high but you are in Theme Park and what you get is a big portion and entertainment for you money so its well worth the cost.
      Thanks AllEars for having the Meat Loaf recipe on the site as well.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jennschultz

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Fri May 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): theming, good food
      Cons: none really

       
      I am a huge fan of 50s Prime Time. We have been many times, and we have had many wonderful experiences. That being said, your wait staff can really make this a fabulous experience, or it could be just a good one.


      This trip, it was just my husband and me. We had a later night reservation, but it was still busy. We waited for a few minutes before we were called to our table. We ended up getting a server that we had had previously who was not very into his role as a family member. He was great, just didn't really play along. We had a nice conversation with him about Disney, and it was a great experience, just not as fun as it probably could have been.


      I got the meatloaf and my husband got the chicken. The food was good, and I really like my green beans, so no problems there. Smile My favorite thing here is the smores, so I had to get a dessert.


      We'll be coming back in July with the family, and this time I'm hoping to get a server that is just a bit more in character.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      I_Heart_WDW

      Registered: May 2013
      Location: Central IL
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu May 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nostalgic theming, fun staff
      Cons: Prices

       
      We went on a whim to 50s when we were there on April 10. Since the restaurant was just opening, we were able to be seated promptly and didn't have reservations. We enjoyed this less busy time. Loved the theme of the restaurant and had a fun server. I had meatloaf, DH had the fried chicken, and DD had the potroast. Although all were good, we thought the fried chicken was the best! We clicked through the viewfinder and knew we had to get dessert. DD had apple pie, and we also ordered the cheesecake. Disappointed with cheesecake, but our server took it back and gladly brought us the s'mores instead. Much better choice! So simple, but they tasted fantastic! It was a fun restaurant with good food. Not on our "must do" list every vacation, but we will definitely return!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nicole0992

      Registered: June 2009
      Location: Los Angeles
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Tue May 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Adorable theme, funny servers
      Cons:

       
      We dined here recently for lunch. We enjoyed the onion rings appetizer, fried chicken meals and the brownie sundaes. We did not care for the vegetarian meatballs/spaghetti meal but that was more our fault for ordering wrong. The themeing here is so adorable. The waitstaff is great. Cousin Cooper was our server and he's the best.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ADisneyGinger

      Registered: May 2013
      Location: St. Louis, MO
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Thu May 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Portion Size, Ambience
      Cons: "Living Room" waiting area

       
      We (DH and I) ate lunch at the 50's Prime Time on April 24th. I had the fried chicken, and DH had meatloaf. We both cleaned our plates, but it took a huge effort - the fried chicken plate is especially large. Our CM wasn't particularly into his role, but that was fine with us. Just enough to make us feel like he was playing the part, but not enough to be uncomfortable or annoying. We also shared the Boston Parfait for dessert - so delicious, but a bit much after the sizeable entrees.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sun_spirit

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Tue April 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, servers in character, food
      Cons: cramped, very busy

       
      After reading good and bad reviews about 50's Prime Time and reading about how the servers go into character with you -I wanted to experience it for myself. When we got there it was very busy. ~We were called for our table after 10-15 mins. All the tables feel and look like they've been crammed in to make room for more tables. Our server was fun and was in character. My partner was told off for having elbows on the table so after that and whenever we saw our Server we didn't know where to put our elbows haha. Its pretty loud in there but thats what makes it fun! I ordered the Mega Berry smoothie with omega 3 and it was delicious. For Dinner I ordered Grandma's Chicken Pot Pie and there was loads of it -which I didn't expect. The chunks of chicken in it were big and I had to cut them in half so I could eat them. In the end I left some to make room for dessert lol. For dessert you look through a toy from your childhood (I've forgotten its name) to view what they have for dessert. I had the s'mores and it was nice. By the end of our meal we were very full. The food portions at this restaurant are big and filling. I'd go back Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      geneandcheryl

      Registered: April 2009
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Wed April 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food and atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      First time here. Seated immediately.Our waiter was just enough into his role without being obnoxious. 2 10 year olds who are considered"adults" on dining plan but no problem getting larger portions of chicken nuggets off kids menu. PB&J shake was awesome!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.