Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • jennschultz

      Registered: May 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Fri May 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): theming, good food
      Cons: none really

       
      I am a huge fan of 50s Prime Time. We have been many times, and we have had many wonderful experiences. That being said, your wait staff can really make this a fabulous experience, or it could be just a good one.


      This trip, it was just my husband and me. We had a later night reservation, but it was still busy. We waited for a few minutes before we were called to our table. We ended up getting a server that we had had previously who was not very into his role as a family member. He was great, just didn't really play along. We had a nice conversation with him about Disney, and it was a great experience, just not as fun as it probably could have been.


      I got the meatloaf and my husband got the chicken. The food was good, and I really like my green beans, so no problems there. Smile My favorite thing here is the smores, so I had to get a dessert.


      We'll be coming back in July with the family, and this time I'm hoping to get a server that is just a bit more in character.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      I_Heart_WDW

      Registered: May 2013
      Location: Central IL
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Thu May 9, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Nostalgic theming, fun staff
      Cons: Prices

       
      We went on a whim to 50s when we were there on April 10. Since the restaurant was just opening, we were able to be seated promptly and didn't have reservations. We enjoyed this less busy time. Loved the theme of the restaurant and had a fun server. I had meatloaf, DH had the fried chicken, and DD had the potroast. Although all were good, we thought the fried chicken was the best! We clicked through the viewfinder and knew we had to get dessert. DD had apple pie, and we also ordered the cheesecake. Disappointed with cheesecake, but our server took it back and gladly brought us the s'mores instead. Much better choice! So simple, but they tasted fantastic! It was a fun restaurant with good food. Not on our "must do" list every vacation, but we will definitely return!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nicole0992

      Registered: June 2009
      Location: Los Angeles
      Posts: 44
      Review Date: Tue May 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Adorable theme, funny servers
      Cons:

       
      We dined here recently for lunch. We enjoyed the onion rings appetizer, fried chicken meals and the brownie sundaes. We did not care for the vegetarian meatballs/spaghetti meal but that was more our fault for ordering wrong. The themeing here is so adorable. The waitstaff is great. Cousin Cooper was our server and he's the best.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ADisneyGinger

      Registered: May 2013
      Location: St. Louis, MO
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Thu May 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Portion Size, Ambience
      Cons: "Living Room" waiting area

       
      We (DH and I) ate lunch at the 50's Prime Time on April 24th. I had the fried chicken, and DH had meatloaf. We both cleaned our plates, but it took a huge effort - the fried chicken plate is especially large. Our CM wasn't particularly into his role, but that was fine with us. Just enough to make us feel like he was playing the part, but not enough to be uncomfortable or annoying. We also shared the Boston Parfait for dessert - so delicious, but a bit much after the sizeable entrees.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      sun_spirit

      Registered: March 2012
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Tue April 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, servers in character, food
      Cons: cramped, very busy

       
      After reading good and bad reviews about 50's Prime Time and reading about how the servers go into character with you -I wanted to experience it for myself. When we got there it was very busy. ~We were called for our table after 10-15 mins. All the tables feel and look like they've been crammed in to make room for more tables. Our server was fun and was in character. My partner was told off for having elbows on the table so after that and whenever we saw our Server we didn't know where to put our elbows haha. Its pretty loud in there but thats what makes it fun! I ordered the Mega Berry smoothie with omega 3 and it was delicious. For Dinner I ordered Grandma's Chicken Pot Pie and there was loads of it -which I didn't expect. The chunks of chicken in it were big and I had to cut them in half so I could eat them. In the end I left some to make room for dessert lol. For dessert you look through a toy from your childhood (I've forgotten its name) to view what they have for dessert. I had the s'mores and it was nice. By the end of our meal we were very full. The food portions at this restaurant are big and filling. I'd go back Smile
      Click here to see this users profile  
      geneandcheryl

      Registered: April 2009
      Posts: 29
      Review Date: Wed April 10, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food and atmosphere
      Cons: none

       
      First time here. Seated immediately.Our waiter was just enough into his role without being obnoxious. 2 10 year olds who are considered"adults" on dining plan but no problem getting larger portions of chicken nuggets off kids menu. PB&J shake was awesome!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      maze4

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Sat March 30, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): themeing
      Cons: waitress didn't play the part

       
      We wanted to eat at this restaurant back in 06 but didn't make ressies so this was a must this visit. We had ressies for 3/20 and didn't have to wait long before being seated.


      Our waitress wasn't into the part at all and the restaurant wasn't even filled. I observed all around me and it seemed like everyone was in a blah mood that day. It had started to drizzle and was cool but it wasn't like it was snowing.


      I read reviews about the fried chicken and meatloaf so we ordered both. It was explained that milkshakes were included with the adult meals only. Since we had our DD4 with us, we didn't order any since hers wasn't included in the meal plan. Now don't get me wrong, I could have just paid for hers but if she would have drank a milkshake she probably wouldn't eat anything.


      The chicken was fried and plentiful. It was hot which was also nice. My mom ordered the meatloaf along with my DD4 neither one of them liked it and put a lot of ketchup on it to be able to eat it. It just wasn't like ours. Sometime homemade means your homemade not someone else's.


      We knew of the "elbows off the table" routine and purposely put them on the table and nothing. My kids won't eat greens and were never told to clean your plate or not dessert so the whole idea of coming here for that purpose was a let down. The table next to us with the same waitress tried to joke with her to get a response and didn't get any either. They had to leave early to catch Fantasmic and opted to not get dessert, and she did come back and give them plain brownies to go to eat at the show. That was nice. We weren't going to the show since it was raining.


      We decided as a family to not return next year when we visit again. We will try something else.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      cheermom

      Registered: March 2013
      Posts: 4
      Review Date: Sun March 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food, large portions
      Cons: not as much fun as it used to be

       
      We had lunch at 50's on 3/20. We were seated within minutes of our reservation. The meatloaf, pot roast and fried chicken were all even better than we remembered. The wedge salad was also great. Our teenagers had the Ceaser and chicken noodle soup which was excellent - very fresh and homemade tasting. Other than the high prices, which are everywhere at WDS, the meal was very good...my only complaint is the fun has almost disappeared! Our waitress was ok...she tried to crack a few jokes and tease, but it seemed forced. Instead of really interacting with guests, the staff seemed to make comments in passing - and they weren't that busy. Disney should hire CM that fit the role of the bossy "mother" or at least a cranky "uncle". The experience here is so much better if CM are in character. We spent our lunch reminicing about the days when our kids had to sing "I'm a little teapot" for putting their elbows on the table! Still one of the most consistant table service meals you can find @ WDW.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MarLL55

      Registered: March 2013
      Location: Ohio
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Wed March 20, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): This is a great restaurant to go back in time so to speak. But be warned-DO NOT put your elbows on the table. The cast members play the role wonderfully.
      Cons: We have been here twice during both stays in 2012 and just 2 weeks ago-NO negative aspects.

       
      The Chicken and the Pot Roast are to die for.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      FoodieBearz

      Registered: August 2011
      Location: U.S.
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Fri March 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, PBJ Milkshake
      Cons: Fish portion small and fishy, annoying waitress

       
      I have eaten here a few times and each time liked it less. Now the atmosphere is good and the PBJ milkshake is good but the food is pretty ordinary and nothing special for the high price (fried chicken, meatloaf, pot roast etc.). I have had the traditional food in the past fried chicken/meatloaf/pot roast which is good but nothing exceptional so this time I thought I would order the fish. I wish I hadn't as the portion was small and it was fishy. Also, the waitress was annoying, Usually the waiters/waitresses are smiling/funny/playful/teasing. She didn't have the funny/playful part but tried to tease a couple times but without the humor like she wasn't really trying so it almost came across as rude. I know how they act as I had been here before but tourists new to the place may not have appreciated this. So if you do go, stick with the fried chicken/meatloaf/pot roast and try to request a male server so you won't get the waitress we had.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MagicKat103

      Registered: March 2012
      Location: Connecticut
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Tue March 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun atmosphere, food
      Cons:

       
      Ate here end of Feb. Has been many years since last time, but decided to go again. Still the same fun as I remembered. DH had the sampler plate (he said my meatloaf is better, but the fried chicken was the best he's ever had). I had the meatloaf and agree with DH. Although it was good. Kids meals were good. Desserts good as well. We are a family that the servers could really play around with, although our waitress, while good, didn't go too overboard with the gags. Very good and will return again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tjm6515

      Registered: May 2009
      Location: Jax, FL
      Posts: 41
      Review Date: Sat March 2, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great themeing, service, and food
      Cons: noisy, small portions

       
      Awesome place for lunch! Portions were small on the sampler, yet my wife got the chicken pot pie that was massive! Service was great, server was funny and into the theme of the harsh 50's parent (no elbows on the table, sit up straight!). We were in a side room with 3 tables, half way through our meal, a family came in. The mom told the one child to sit in a certain seat and he went ballistic, parents didn't do a thing to quiet him, was very annoying considering the cramped area we were eating. But that isn't the restaurants fault!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ktkueb80

      Registered: January 2008
      Posts: 17
      Review Date: Sun February 24, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): service, atmosphere
      Cons: foods rather heavy, filling

       
      My dh and I ate dinner here on 2/22. We arrived about 15 minutes early for our reservation and were seated within a couple minutes. Our waitress was really friendly and explained the "rules" to my dh, who had never been there before. He had the pot roast and brownie sundae (on ddp) which he enjoyed. I had the chicken pot pie and smores, which were very tasty. We both noted that the meals were extemely heavy, and we felt over stuffed upon leaving. Of course, this is the style of the meals in the 50's, but I think next time we want to eat in Hollywood Studios we will stick to the Sci Fi Dine in!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      annat856

      Registered: September 2006
      Posts: 116
      Review Date: Mon February 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fun & nostalgia filled place!
      Cons: crowded and loud!

       
      Overall a very nice place to eat dinner. My family of 6 ate here 12/10/12. We've eaten here a number of times and all have our favorite dishes. Fried chicken, Pot roast & mac and cheese. I had the chocolate peanut-butter shake, WOW! Best shake ever!
      Others had Root-beer floats and my daughter had a vanilla coke which she loved! Our youngest had a sundae for dessert everyone else got the apple crumble to go. We were too stuffed to eat anymore!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SimplyGoofy

      Registered: January 2013
      Location: Pennsylvania
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Sat February 16, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food, Fun atmosphere
      Cons: None

       
      My family of 8 just ate here for the first time in January, and it was delicious! We had the Disney Dining Plan and picked this as one of our table service meals. We had advanced reservations, and despite the crowds, the restaurant did a good job getting us seated close to our reservation time.
      The atmosphere is fun and really does make you feel like you're sitting in a 1950s kitchen. The food was AMAZING, and the portions were huge. Dessert was included in the DDP, but most of us couldn't finish dessert because we were so full. Both the entrees and desserts were really large.
      The staff was friendly and efficient. Our server didn't do much of the "comedy routine" that many people enjoy at the restaurant, but it didn't bother us. He was swamped with customers, and we were happy to eat in peace without someone barking at us to eat our veggies.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 · 11 >

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.