Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • minniemom

      Registered: January 2012
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Fri July 27, 2018 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Excellent food!!
      Cons:

       
      I had the Mom's special which is a sampler platter with pot roast, meatloaf and fried chicken. All three meats were so tender and flavorful - I forgot I was at Disney!! They say the fried chicken is their best seller, but I thought the pot roast was out of this world. They were served with mashed potatoes and perfectly cooked green beans - not mushy and certainly not canned! The wedge salad had way too much dressing on it. The onion rings come with a delicious horseradish ranch sauce.
      The theme of "Grandma's house was rude in the 50's" has a very specific and very sarcastic humor. It can be intense as the servers do not break character. It's not for everyone, but it was entertaining. Our server told all of us to stay off our phones and elbows off the table.
      Loved all the classic shows playing on the old TV sets throughout the restaurant. The waiting area looks like an old living room.
      Will definitely be back. It is so good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      KenHutch

      Registered: June 2018
      Posts: 18
      Review Date: Mon June 25, 2018 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The Chicken and that Peanut Butter Cake
      Cons: None

       
      Cannot recommend this place enough. I am a serious chicken critic and I think the chicken here is better than Homecomings at a lot less money. Seven of us had the chicken and my daughter being an independent type had the pot roast she works in a chicken place as a hostess and cannot eat chicken anymore LOL).
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Biggums

      Registered: June 2018
      Posts: 1
      Review Date: Tue June 12, 2018 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Service, Ambiance
      Cons: None

       
      I went here on husband on 6/9/18, and Needless to say I thought everything was amazing, The food was great portions were good for the money, And our server was amazing.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jeconk

      Registered: August 2013
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Mon January 8, 2018 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Incredible flavor of the food, excellent service, fun atmosphere, My highest reccommendation
      Cons: Some people may be turned off by the theme or "attitude"

       
      I have written good reviews for Ohana, Liberty Tree and others, but I can safely say that 50's Prime Time Café is my favorite at Disney World and the food is best tasting of all the restaurants at Disney. MY HIGHEST RECCOMMENDATION, can I give this place a 12 instead of 10???


      I made reservations at this restaurant and the rest of my family was not too excited about it but all left praising the food, the service (and my choice of restaurants....lol). After we checked in we waited in the "living room" which is next to the bar and has 50's style furniture (getting up off the lounger was an interesting experience...lol). They have several old style TV's in the waiting room and bar area that show clips from many old 1950's sitcoms (Car 54 Where are You?, I Married Joan, Topper, etc.) Classic shows that I started to get into but the clips of each show were short. (may have to find DVD's of those...). We were called and escorted to our table and since our table was in the back, we got to see much of the restaurant. Most of the seating areas are in "family kitchen" like set ups with the old fashioned tables and chairs. Each "kitchen" also had a table extending from a set of cabinets with a tv above them (got to see more sitcom clips!!). This table had four chairs at it and we were fortunate to be seated at one of them.


      Our waiter, Scott F, was there quickly and told us the 'rules" (no walkie talkies at the table....err cell phones, no elbows on the table and sit up.) He also pulled up a chair from another table and sat down and went through the menu with us telling us a little about each item and then he took our drink orders. Scott, along with the other serving staff we observed were very fun and played up the "mom's kitchen" bit with the customers. (Scott kiddingly told one teenager at an adjacent table to "stop whining like a teenager."). It is a very fun atmosphere!!


      Then the food came and as I said, it was the BEST! Between us we go the "Mom's Favorites Platter," Vegetable Lasanga, Dad's Stuffed Pork chops and the Blue Plate Special (which was Cod.)


      My wife had the pork chops and raved about how tender it was, my mother in law had the vegetable lasagna and mentioned that it had plenty of vegetables and was a good size portion. My daughter had the Blue Plate Special which was cod with a side of rice. The rice was incredible (I had a taste of it....then I took another taste and another....lol). I find rice to usually be very bland no matter how it is prepared, but this rice had a ton of flavor.


      Now for my meal, "Mom's Favorites." This plate comes with a small portion of the pot roast, two pieces of fried chicken and a small portion of the meatloaf along with mashed potatoes and green beans. Scott asked me what pieces of chicken I wanted and I chose the leg and wing. The chicken was ok, typical fried chicken, nothing to write home about. The meatloaf was extremely good! Good flavor and texture and packed well. (didn't fall apart like some meatloafs I have had.) The mashed potatoes were ok but again, there were much better items on the plate. I have found that it is hard to cook string green beans in large quantitys and those served by restaurants tend to be either mushy or not fully cooked. 50's Prime Time Café changed my opinion on this as the green beans were cooked perfectly, served hot and had very good flavor. I have saved the pot roast for last in my review for a reason....it was the BEST I have ever had....I could have eaten two meals of it. Very flavorful, very tender, very moist and just incredible. I also had the pot roast at Liberty Tree and the strip loin at Boma and this meat far surpasses those.


      To be perfectly honest, this is one of the best meals I have ever had.


      Finally for dessert, we each ordered something different and passed them around. Between us we had the Peanut Butter Layer Cake (ok), Mom's Brownie Sundae (very good), the no sugar added cheesecake (there was no sugar in it? could have fooled me...very good.) and my favorite, warm apple crisp ala mode. The apple crisp had just the right amount of cinnamon flavor and plenty of apples for the portion size.


      Scott "pulled up a chair" and sat down with us several times to see how we were doing and asked us if we liked it. (even told us he would replace anything we didn't like but we didn't need to take him up on that...). He was truly one of the best servers we have had at our several trips to Disney....and we tipped him accordingly!


      Some people may avoid this restaurant because of the name or the theming, but that would be a mistake! The food and service of this restaurant is sure to over ride any qualms one may have with the theme. Give it a try!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Sandanv1

      Registered: October 2015
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Wed December 27, 2017 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere
      Cons: Mediocre food

       
      We ate lunch at Prime Time Cafe on 12/27/17. The food was nothing special. We both ate the Sampler, a slice of meatloaf, fried chicken, pot roast, green beans and mashed potatoes. The server was not very vocal and did not give the presentation that was expected. He did reprimand us for cell phones on the table, and not having our napkins on our laps. But that was it. We did hear other servers being more vocal. For me, it was an expensive, disappointing meal.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      toolmanjan

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: Toms River New Jersey
      Posts: 25
      Review Date: Mon November 20, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food & Atmosphere
      Cons: non

       
      We ate here 11/16. We have been avoiding eating here for years (A disappointing meal last time was 15 yrs ago).
      So when my daughter suggested getting reservations I had to be talked into it. The food was great. The interaction with "Mom" was entertaining. Great value for your Disney $$
      Click here to see this users profile  
      tiffynicole1984

      Registered: October 2017
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sat October 14, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great atmosphere / Great milkshakes and dessert
      Cons: Food so-so

       
      My boyfriend and I ate here in September 2017. I love the atmosphere and decor as I'm a huge fan of the 1950s era. We got a table with a TV which was nice. Great service. The food was so-so but the milkshakes -- my boyfriend got a PB&J one and I got a vanilla one -- were DELICIOUS and the desserts were very good too. Milkshakes are included as a drink choice on the dining plan which is nice. Only minor complaint -- our waiter handed me the bill and then I didn't get a chance to finish my dessert because he came back again and seemed upset I didn't add a tip yet. So I then put money down on the table as tip as we were on the dining plan.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mbelerique19

      Registered: October 2017
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Mon October 9, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun service
      Cons: Catch you off guard if you're not ready

       
      Let me start by saying that this is an interactive dining experience. People who are shy or have language barriers might not enjoy this. Sarcasm and dry humor don't really translate if you're not used to American lingo. Our server even caught us off guard and we were slightly expecting the interactions beforehand. We were sat pretty quickly considering how full the lobby was. My husband ordered the fried chicken and even the waiter was shocked that he ate it alone. it's definitely big enough for two people. I ordered the stuff pork and wasn't that impressed. I expected it to be stuffed better rather that what felt like two pieces with filling in between them. My mom ordered the sample platter and was very happy with it. I did like that you could order a milkshake as you drink on the dining plan as well as order a dessert. We had the apple crisp, peanut butter cake, and chocolate brownie all of which were great. I would suggest this place to a family looking for fun and interactive experiences.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      BabieO

      Registered: May 2012
      Posts: 21
      Review Date: Tue May 23, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 5 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun Atmosphere
      Cons: the food is Meh

       
      This is a fun place to eat, but the food is just ok, nothing to really write home about. I wish they had something like a hamburger not just " heavier" food
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Swin1989

      Registered: August 2010
      Posts: 57
      Review Date: Sun April 30, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): food, atmosphere, service
      Cons:

       
      DH and I ate here on March 8, 2017. We both got the sampling of mom's favorite recipes. All was very good as well at the service. Our waitress did just the right amount of discipline for a middle aged couple, lol. It was our second time eating there and was just as good as the last time in 2011.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jenvest

      Registered: April 2017
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Wed April 5, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): FUN
      Cons: Pricey

       
      Let me begin with this was our third time returning to Disney and we have eaten at many sit-downs in the past and this is the only one we have returned to (not that we didn't love others).


      Here's why. The food is a bit pricey, though for a sit-down at Disney that is entertaining, it is reasonable. I will discuss the food and then entertainment.


      The kids all had fried Chicken. It is very good. The mashed potatoes are wonderful too, I kept eating my son's. The corn tasted frozen and cooked, not terribly sweet; not bad, but nothing special. My husband had the meatloaf which was also really good and I had the fish of the day which was Salmon. It was really good as well, it came with a sweet potato side dish of sorts. It was ok even though I'm not a fan of sweet potatoes. I preferred my son's mashed potatoes though. We also ordered a chocolate, strawberry and peanut butter and jelly shake. It's not what you would expect. It tastes more like peanut butter than jelly; I was hesitant, but it turned out to be my favorite. They were all good and we each favored a different one, so I don't think you can go wrong with a shake, though they were a bit on the runny side, if you are a fan of thick shakes.


      Now for the entertainment. Our waiter was Tim, who we happened to have 6 years ago when we came. Last time he convinced our son that he was really his cousin. This time he embarrassed the heck out of our 16-year-old daughter. I have not laughed that hard in a very long time. Not only did he tease her about looking at boys at other tables (making both my daughter and the boy go BEAT red) but he also fed her the vegetables that she didn't finish. I was laughing so hard I started to cry and he quickly said, "Look, you are making your mother cry because you won't eat your vegetables." I could say so much more about what funny things he did. I think the waiters are really good at finding people who are easy to tease. Not every table around us had waiters who were teasing their guests to tears, but my daughter is an easy target and he went to town on her. Anyway, I had my favorite memory from our vacation at this restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      formerprincess

      Registered: March 2017
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri March 31, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun. So much food. Tasty
      Cons: not the cleanest and a bit hectic

       
      I was surprised to like this considering the reviews.
      The atmosphere was FUN. the kids didnt feel forced to sit and eat. A table close by of several teenagers were getting assigned chores over and over and my kids thought it was hilarious - the teens seemed to get a kick out of it too.
      Food - Kids meals were standard. I had the pot pie and ate every bite. Then insisted on drinking an entire milkshake because it was so good. Good thing I had time to walk it all off. Husband had crab cakes as a meal - the sides with it were really good, he said.
      I would do this again for a low key lunch with the kids again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      volleyfrog119

      Registered: March 2017
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue March 21, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pot roast and fried chicken were delicious!
      Cons: we were sat in a common area

       
      We loved 50's. The pot roast was so moist it could be cut with a fork. My husband had a sampling of Maw's favorites. The fried chicken was amazing as my 10 yr old son would say. We didn't like how we were sat in the common area instead of our own little kitchen but I didn't say anything to request a new seat. It was rather busy so I didn't want to wait any longer. Our server was Cousin Chris. He didn't pick on us but gave us a good nearby show which was fine with us. Overall a good experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mommom

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Refton PA
      Posts: 55
      Review Date: Sun March 5, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): staff
      Cons: trying to fit a big party at a small table

       
      they tried to seat us at a small table but did move us to 3 tables after complaining. there was 11 in our party and they were trying to sit us at a table for 8. not everyone was happy with their meal, it took a long time for the food to come out. automatic 18% tip because of our party size. our waitress was new and wasn't used to having large parties. the big smore is gone and bought out 3 graham cracker size desserts. what a surprise that was when you are expecting that great dessert. loved the ladies at the check-in counter. what a delight they were.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 93
      Review Date: Sun February 26, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pricing
      Cons:

       
      We ate here on our trip 1/30-2/10. We checked in but had a bit of a wait. Our server was fun. He punished a mom and made her sit in a corner facing the wall. We paid out of pocket because it is a less expensive restaurant then others. I got the sampler. It has meatloaf, pot roast and fried chicken. I always order it. The fried chicken wasn't as good as in the past but the other was about the same as the past. My son had the pbj shake which he loved, and the chicken pot pie. He enjoys this and gets it each time. My husband has his favorites too and got the pot roast. Good as always. We tried the onion rings this trip and they were very good. We soul definitely get them again. We probably had three each. What I used to live that I wouldn't do again is dads brownie sundae. It used to be huge on a plate and now its smaller in a glass. Still large enough to share but in the glass its harder to get to the brownie and share verses on a plate. Chocolate pb cake is huge and my son loves it. We'll be back next trip and i was very happy with the onion rings $9 I believe.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.