Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • jenvest

      Registered: April 2017
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Wed April 5, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): FUN
      Cons: Pricey

       
      Let me begin with this was our third time returning to Disney and we have eaten at many sit-downs in the past and this is the only one we have returned to (not that we didn't love others).


      Here's why. The food is a bit pricey, though for a sit-down at Disney that is entertaining, it is reasonable. I will discuss the food and then entertainment.


      The kids all had fried Chicken. It is very good. The mashed potatoes are wonderful too, I kept eating my son's. The corn tasted frozen and cooked, not terribly sweet; not bad, but nothing special. My husband had the meatloaf which was also really good and I had the fish of the day which was Salmon. It was really good as well, it came with a sweet potato side dish of sorts. It was ok even though I'm not a fan of sweet potatoes. I preferred my son's mashed potatoes though. We also ordered a chocolate, strawberry and peanut butter and jelly shake. It's not what you would expect. It tastes more like peanut butter than jelly; I was hesitant, but it turned out to be my favorite. They were all good and we each favored a different one, so I don't think you can go wrong with a shake, though they were a bit on the runny side, if you are a fan of thick shakes.


      Now for the entertainment. Our waiter was Tim, who we happened to have 6 years ago when we came. Last time he convinced our son that he was really his cousin. This time he embarrassed the heck out of our 16-year-old daughter. I have not laughed that hard in a very long time. Not only did he tease her about looking at boys at other tables (making both my daughter and the boy go BEAT red) but he also fed her the vegetables that she didn't finish. I was laughing so hard I started to cry and he quickly said, "Look, you are making your mother cry because you won't eat your vegetables." I could say so much more about what funny things he did. I think the waiters are really good at finding people who are easy to tease. Not every table around us had waiters who were teasing their guests to tears, but my daughter is an easy target and he went to town on her. Anyway, I had my favorite memory from our vacation at this restaurant.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      formerprincess

      Registered: March 2017
      Posts: 7
      Review Date: Fri March 31, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun. So much food. Tasty
      Cons: not the cleanest and a bit hectic

       
      I was surprised to like this considering the reviews.
      The atmosphere was FUN. the kids didnt feel forced to sit and eat. A table close by of several teenagers were getting assigned chores over and over and my kids thought it was hilarious - the teens seemed to get a kick out of it too.
      Food - Kids meals were standard. I had the pot pie and ate every bite. Then insisted on drinking an entire milkshake because it was so good. Good thing I had time to walk it all off. Husband had crab cakes as a meal - the sides with it were really good, he said.
      I would do this again for a low key lunch with the kids again.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      volleyfrog119

      Registered: March 2017
      Posts: 3
      Review Date: Tue March 21, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pot roast and fried chicken were delicious!
      Cons: we were sat in a common area

       
      We loved 50's. The pot roast was so moist it could be cut with a fork. My husband had a sampling of Maw's favorites. The fried chicken was amazing as my 10 yr old son would say. We didn't like how we were sat in the common area instead of our own little kitchen but I didn't say anything to request a new seat. It was rather busy so I didn't want to wait any longer. Our server was Cousin Chris. He didn't pick on us but gave us a good nearby show which was fine with us. Overall a good experience.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mommom

      Registered: January 2008
      Location: Refton PA
      Posts: 55
      Review Date: Sun March 5, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): staff
      Cons: trying to fit a big party at a small table

       
      they tried to seat us at a small table but did move us to 3 tables after complaining. there was 11 in our party and they were trying to sit us at a table for 8. not everyone was happy with their meal, it took a long time for the food to come out. automatic 18% tip because of our party size. our waitress was new and wasn't used to having large parties. the big smore is gone and bought out 3 graham cracker size desserts. what a surprise that was when you are expecting that great dessert. loved the ladies at the check-in counter. what a delight they were.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      memakwed

      Registered: February 2009
      Posts: 89
      Review Date: Sun February 26, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): pricing
      Cons:

       
      We ate here on our trip 1/30-2/10. We checked in but had a bit of a wait. Our server was fun. He punished a mom and made her sit in a corner facing the wall. We paid out of pocket because it is a less expensive restaurant then others. I got the sampler. It has meatloaf, pot roast and fried chicken. I always order it. The fried chicken wasn't as good as in the past but the other was about the same as the past. My son had the pbj shake which he loved, and the chicken pot pie. He enjoys this and gets it each time. My husband has his favorites too and got the pot roast. Good as always. We tried the onion rings this trip and they were very good. We soul definitely get them again. We probably had three each. What I used to live that I wouldn't do again is dads brownie sundae. It used to be huge on a plate and now its smaller in a glass. Still large enough to share but in the glass its harder to get to the brownie and share verses on a plate. Chocolate pb cake is huge and my son loves it. We'll be back next trip and i was very happy with the onion rings $9 I believe.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      mg0914
      squirrel

      Registered: January 2009
      Posts: 55
      Review Date: Sat February 4, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): atmosphere, seated quickly, food was great
      Cons:

       
      This is one of our favorites. We try to go every trip and we've never had a bad meal here. Some of the servers enjoy their roles while others are low key. This particular visit our server really didn't play the part too much. It's a little disappointing when that happens especially when you see other servers being silly with their customers - but our server was pleasant enough. Maybe she was new, maybe she was just not in the mood.


      After we checked in we found a seat in the waiting area (which is often difficult) and were surprised when we were called right at our reservation time! We had checked in about 15 minutes early. In our experience going to 50's we often wait 10, 15 minutes after our reservation time. Sometimes even longer.


      The food never disappoints. My favorite is the sampler - fried chicken, pot roast and meatloaf. It is so good! I have decided the fried chicken is my favorite of the three. My family ordered the chicken Caesar salads and the chicken pot pie. Every one of us was extremely happy with our food.


      I have to mention the dessert as well - chocolate peanut butter cake. Holy cow was it incredible!


      Great meal, great fun as always at 50s!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 186
      Review Date: Tue January 17, 2017 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Our server Eric
      Cons:

       
      My family loves this restaurant for the food and the interaction with the servers. We have had several really good servers in the past, and some who missed the part where they were supposed to interact with their customers. This trip we had Eric. He was just the greatest. My face hurt from laughing so much. It was a really memorable experience for our family. It is what makes Disney special for us. Food was yummy too!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Lanmon

      Registered: January 2007
      Posts: 39
      Review Date: Thu December 8, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Being able to increase reservation headcount
      Cons: Limited vegetarian menu

       
      Reservations were made 6 months ago for party of 2. However our party increased and it was not a problem...only a 10 minute wait. One member in our party is vegetarian and that menu was very limited. The sampler and onion rings were served warm, mashed potatoes were bland. We did not participate in antics (asking permission to go to bathroom, being fed by Mom" etc} which was good.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      ncc1701

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: new jersey
      Posts: 6
      Review Date: Sun November 20, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 7 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fried chicken and meatloaf
      Cons: Not a lot of lighter / smaller options

       
      We ate here last month. Hubby had the meatloaf and I did the fried chicken. Both were really good. Unlike last year our server was not over the top when it came to the antics but she was prompt and attentive which is all we cared. Most of the entrees are on the heavy side. Would be nice if they had a sandwich or 2 , the only light entree is the caesar salad with salmon or chicken.
      Next time we will do what we did 2 years ago and share the Mom's Favorites & the salad.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      nrymut

      Registered: July 2006
      Posts: 120
      Review Date: Thu September 22, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, service
      Cons: None

       
      Food very good. Our server kept our group of 8 adults laughing. Porkchops were excellent. Ordered the Dad's Brownie Sunday for dessert and could not finish it. Entree and dessert were very large portions. Always have a good time and a great meal here.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Donald_13
      Chef Matt

      Registered: November 2009
      Location: Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Fri August 5, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good location
      Cons: Average food/Amature cooks

       
      the overall experience of this restaurant is suppose to bring you back into the 50's with tile floor, black and white television and vintage surroundings.



      I was surprised to the food bland, overdone and most of the menu items deep fried.


      More of a cheep eats restaurant as a table service. As a professional Chef, I can tell you there is not talent in this kitchen.



      Every single dish was made to impress armature cooks and anyone with no taste buds.



      I had the seasonal fish. They served me Tilapia over roasted root vegetables


      The Tilapia was suppose to be grilled, just pulling it apart, tasting and telling by texture I can tell this restaurant boils it in a bag, decorates it and sends it out.


      Dessert was suppose to be pineapple upside down cake. It was a over decorated pound cake with icing decocted like a cupcake.

      A pathetic attempt to try and please this chef.
      I will not be returning here again.

      ------------------------------
      our greatest natural resource is in the minds of our children - Walt Disney
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DePasquale

      Registered: July 2016
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Sat July 9, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): A total Experience
      Cons: A few tables out of the action, don't accept one

       
      This is the quintessential theme restaurant, where interior design, menus, wait staff in character, all come together for an experience that's more like an attraction than a meal.
      No nonsense comfort food is delicious.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyDana

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Myrtle Beach SC
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Fri June 24, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food, best atmosphere at any theme park restaurant!
      Cons: LOUSY NON PLAYING ALONG STAFF!

       
      The first time I ever visited WDW with my family, we ate here and had the most memorable meal of any of the restaurants on property. Ever since I have tried my best to recreate that experience for many many of my friends on their first visits to no avail. With this place it all comes down to your server. No one will ever beat the guy who looked like Robert Caradine from Revenge of the Nerds. I have no idea what his name was but it was about 1996 and he told us he had also been the gangster on The Great Movie Ride and loved acting. Anyway, I digress...my hats off to you dude! lol So on this trip, I was with my best friend and my father. Deana my friend, had never been to WDW before so I tried to pick all of the really cool themed restaurants so that she would have the best experience and fun memories for the rest of her life. As things were going...the only thing memorable would be the food at Ohana because neither the server at Whispering Canyon, nor this one at 50's Prime Time were the least interested in playing along. At both places I explained I had a newbie in hopes of being seated in a good section. Nope. I had the meatloaf and it was very good, but I wish they would do away with those tasteless crunchy green beans that no one eats. Everyone really liked their food, but because of our lousy server I had to sit there and explain to my friend what USUALLY happens in that restaurant. Sadly we could sit and watch fun stuff happening to OTHER people, but our server was nothing more than friendly and attentive. No matter how much we joked around with him to give him the hint, he seemed like he had no idea WHY we were in such a playful mood. As if he got the job and no one told him what the theme of the place was about. This has happened to me at least 4 other visits to this restaurant that I can think of, but I keep on hoping for the best. The closest I come is when I get a server that is kind of a smart alek, and sassy who likes to tell your kids that they don't have to listen to their parents and encourage the kids to boss their parents around etc. Not exactly how it was in the 50's but at least their trying to play along in some form. Not sure if I will bother giving this place another shot since it's been a disappointment sooo many times.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jkkd

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Birmingham
      Posts: 47
      Review Date: Mon May 2, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun place and good food
      Cons: always crowded

       
      We have eaten here many times, and it is always good, therefore we never hesitate to make a reservation on any trip we come. It is consistently good food and a fun location. I got the sampler and it was outstanding. My husband got pork chops and he said it was also great!!!! We did not have the dining plan on this meal, so we did not get dessert.
      We did have to wait a little bit for our table even though we did have a reservation but it wasn't an excessive wait. We waited a little longer than I would have liked to -once we were seated - for things like our drinks and then also for our check. But they were busy, so I can't really be unfair and unkind. Our server was very sweet and we liked her. She didn't necessarily go nuts with the whole Mom's table gag, etc. But we have found that to be the case often because we are just a couple of adults with no kids. Sometimes the servers don't play around too much with us - even though we would invite and enjoy the fun.
      At any rate - good quality meal and an enjoyable evening.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MouseDaddy

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: Darien, Il
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sat April 23, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food, entertaining servers, kitschy atmosphere
      Cons: None

       
      What a great experience. Had 6:00pm res but was holding Fastpasses for Toy Story for that same window. I thought we could probably make it, but I didn't want to rush through dinner. We approached the front desk around 5:30. I explained the situation to cast member Jenny and asked if there were any way we could be seated earlier than our res. She advised me there was a 40 min wait but she'd see what she could do. Kids & I took a seat hoping for the best. Pixie dust was falling and not 5 minutes later Phil calls out our name. Beautiful...thank you Jenny!
      Phil was a hoot...we joked around while he walked us to our table. Great guy. Our server Carmelo was equally friendly and into character. My DS & DD are 15 and the three of us engaged in some lively banter with Carmelo. Big smiles all around. Kids dug the d├ęcor.

      Our meal was just incredible. We shared an onion ring appetizer. Great big, thick slices of onion in a sweet beer batter. Horseradish dip was tasty. DD had Grandma's Chicken Pot Pie which she raved about. I had Aunt Liz's Golden Fried Chicken...juicy & crispy...excellent. But we all agreed the Mom's Old Fashioned Pot Roast my son ordered was the best of the 3. I make a pretty mean pot roast...my kids love it. I asked my boy if Mom's was as good as mine. He sheepishly informed me it was better. I completely agreed...tender, juicy & full of flavor. I downloaded the recipe yesterday. Chocolate shakes all around. They were really good and so big we left with to-go cups and finished it while walking to Toy Story.


      One of the best moments was when another cast member pranked my son. He was standing at another table with a cat toy...long stick with a feather at the end...and stuck it through the shelving unit directly behind us. Touching the feather to my kid's ear. My boy was kind of freaked out at first, thinking it was a big bug. But once we figured it out, we all had a huge laugh. I mean milk out your nose kind of laughter. I think the cast member's name was Art...he came over and asked my son if he was feeling okay...looked kind of jumpy. My daughter was just eating all this up and everyone was laughing uncontrollably. What a great memory. I love Disney.


      We all agree this was the best meal and experience we had all week. Very highly recommended. We easily made that Fastpass, BTW.
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.