Welcome to the AllEars.net Rate and Review Area. Your comments on Walt Disney World, the Disney Cruise Line, Adventures by Disney, and Disneyland are welcome! Please note that this is a moderated forum. You will need to register to post and activate the link in your confirmation email. Your reviews will not be added until they have been approved. Please allow up to 24 hours for approval.
Resort & Restaurant reviews should be no more than 3 months old.
All other reviews should be within the last 12 months.

Please read our Help and Guidelines page for posting and password information.

  • Author
    • Donald_13
      Chef Matt

      Registered: November 2009
      Location: Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Fri August 5, 2016 Would you recommend the product? No | | Rating: 3 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Good location
      Cons: Average food/Amature cooks

       
      the overall experience of this restaurant is suppose to bring you back into the 50's with tile floor, black and white television and vintage surroundings.



      I was surprised to the food bland, overdone and most of the menu items deep fried.


      More of a cheep eats restaurant as a table service. As a professional Chef, I can tell you there is not talent in this kitchen.



      Every single dish was made to impress armature cooks and anyone with no taste buds.



      I had the seasonal fish. They served me Tilapia over roasted root vegetables


      The Tilapia was suppose to be grilled, just pulling it apart, tasting and telling by texture I can tell this restaurant boils it in a bag, decorates it and sends it out.


      Dessert was suppose to be pineapple upside down cake. It was a over decorated pound cake with icing decocted like a cupcake.

      A pathetic attempt to try and please this chef.
      I will not be returning here again.

      ------------------------------
      our greatest natural resource is in the minds of our children - Walt Disney
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DePasquale

      Registered: July 2016
      Posts: 22
      Review Date: Sat July 9, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): A total Experience
      Cons: A few tables out of the action, don't accept one

       
      This is the quintessential theme restaurant, where interior design, menus, wait staff in character, all come together for an experience that's more like an attraction than a meal.
      No nonsense comfort food is delicious.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      DisneyDana

      Registered: March 2009
      Location: Myrtle Beach SC
      Posts: 26
      Review Date: Fri June 24, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 6 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): good food, best atmosphere at any theme park restaurant!
      Cons: LOUSY NON PLAYING ALONG STAFF!

       
      The first time I ever visited WDW with my family, we ate here and had the most memorable meal of any of the restaurants on property. Ever since I have tried my best to recreate that experience for many many of my friends on their first visits to no avail. With this place it all comes down to your server. No one will ever beat the guy who looked like Robert Caradine from Revenge of the Nerds. I have no idea what his name was but it was about 1996 and he told us he had also been the gangster on The Great Movie Ride and loved acting. Anyway, I digress...my hats off to you dude! lol So on this trip, I was with my best friend and my father. Deana my friend, had never been to WDW before so I tried to pick all of the really cool themed restaurants so that she would have the best experience and fun memories for the rest of her life. As things were going...the only thing memorable would be the food at Ohana because neither the server at Whispering Canyon, nor this one at 50's Prime Time were the least interested in playing along. At both places I explained I had a newbie in hopes of being seated in a good section. Nope. I had the meatloaf and it was very good, but I wish they would do away with those tasteless crunchy green beans that no one eats. Everyone really liked their food, but because of our lousy server I had to sit there and explain to my friend what USUALLY happens in that restaurant. Sadly we could sit and watch fun stuff happening to OTHER people, but our server was nothing more than friendly and attentive. No matter how much we joked around with him to give him the hint, he seemed like he had no idea WHY we were in such a playful mood. As if he got the job and no one told him what the theme of the place was about. This has happened to me at least 4 other visits to this restaurant that I can think of, but I keep on hoping for the best. The closest I come is when I get a server that is kind of a smart alek, and sassy who likes to tell your kids that they don't have to listen to their parents and encourage the kids to boss their parents around etc. Not exactly how it was in the 50's but at least their trying to play along in some form. Not sure if I will bother giving this place another shot since it's been a disappointment sooo many times.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      jkkd

      Registered: December 2009
      Location: Birmingham
      Posts: 47
      Review Date: Mon May 2, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Fun place and good food
      Cons: always crowded

       
      We have eaten here many times, and it is always good, therefore we never hesitate to make a reservation on any trip we come. It is consistently good food and a fun location. I got the sampler and it was outstanding. My husband got pork chops and he said it was also great!!!! We did not have the dining plan on this meal, so we did not get dessert.
      We did have to wait a little bit for our table even though we did have a reservation but it wasn't an excessive wait. We waited a little longer than I would have liked to -once we were seated - for things like our drinks and then also for our check. But they were busy, so I can't really be unfair and unkind. Our server was very sweet and we liked her. She didn't necessarily go nuts with the whole Mom's table gag, etc. But we have found that to be the case often because we are just a couple of adults with no kids. Sometimes the servers don't play around too much with us - even though we would invite and enjoy the fun.
      At any rate - good quality meal and an enjoyable evening.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MouseDaddy

      Registered: April 2008
      Location: Darien, Il
      Posts: 24
      Review Date: Sat April 23, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Great food, entertaining servers, kitschy atmosphere
      Cons: None

       
      What a great experience. Had 6:00pm res but was holding Fastpasses for Toy Story for that same window. I thought we could probably make it, but I didn't want to rush through dinner. We approached the front desk around 5:30. I explained the situation to cast member Jenny and asked if there were any way we could be seated earlier than our res. She advised me there was a 40 min wait but she'd see what she could do. Kids & I took a seat hoping for the best. Pixie dust was falling and not 5 minutes later Phil calls out our name. Beautiful...thank you Jenny!
      Phil was a hoot...we joked around while he walked us to our table. Great guy. Our server Carmelo was equally friendly and into character. My DS & DD are 15 and the three of us engaged in some lively banter with Carmelo. Big smiles all around. Kids dug the d├ęcor.

      Our meal was just incredible. We shared an onion ring appetizer. Great big, thick slices of onion in a sweet beer batter. Horseradish dip was tasty. DD had Grandma's Chicken Pot Pie which she raved about. I had Aunt Liz's Golden Fried Chicken...juicy & crispy...excellent. But we all agreed the Mom's Old Fashioned Pot Roast my son ordered was the best of the 3. I make a pretty mean pot roast...my kids love it. I asked my boy if Mom's was as good as mine. He sheepishly informed me it was better. I completely agreed...tender, juicy & full of flavor. I downloaded the recipe yesterday. Chocolate shakes all around. They were really good and so big we left with to-go cups and finished it while walking to Toy Story.


      One of the best moments was when another cast member pranked my son. He was standing at another table with a cat toy...long stick with a feather at the end...and stuck it through the shelving unit directly behind us. Touching the feather to my kid's ear. My boy was kind of freaked out at first, thinking it was a big bug. But once we figured it out, we all had a huge laugh. I mean milk out your nose kind of laughter. I think the cast member's name was Art...he came over and asked my son if he was feeling okay...looked kind of jumpy. My daughter was just eating all this up and everyone was laughing uncontrollably. What a great memory. I love Disney.


      We all agree this was the best meal and experience we had all week. Very highly recommended. We easily made that Fastpass, BTW.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Fitzboyzmom

      Registered: November 2010
      Posts: 170
      Review Date: Tue April 12, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros):
      Cons:

       
      This is one of my favorite restaurants to visit. Love the atmosphere, the antics of the servers and the food. Only giving it a 9 this time because of the wait. I don't have any issue waiting, but the place was absolutely mobbed and we waited 45 minutes past our reservation. That's OK if that expectation is given when you check in, but it never is and we always wait at least 30 minutes. Will still go back and you should go, just know that you will most likely wait a bit.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      kfergus

      Registered: June 2008
      Posts: 9
      Review Date: Tue March 22, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, food, service
      Cons: none

       
      This was our second visit to this amazing restaurant. Our whole family loves the atmosphere and immersive experience, and the food is fantastic. I felt as if I were in my Aunt's kitchen on a Sunday night. The attention to detail in the decor is super impressive. Nick was our server and had us laughing so hard we were crying. His sense of humor was great, and his attentive service was spot on. I ordered the dinner with the sample of pot roast, fried chicken and meatloaf - all were great. My husband had the osso buco special and said it was terrific. We were too full for dessert but my daughter had a PB&J milkshake with dinner and it was delicious. The price is high but in line with other TS meals at WDW. 50's PrimeTime is exactly what I expect a Disney restaurant experience to be. I tell everyone that I know who is making a visit to WDW that this restaurant is a must-do. Don't miss your chance to experience this nostalgic spot - you won't regret it!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      SCOTTMOP

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: WESTMISNTER,MARYLAND
      Posts: 86
      Review Date: Fri February 5, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 9 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere of the 50's
      Cons: Can be pricey

       
      We love eating here. We had cousin Ryan as our server. he was in character a little bit but not over as some others. The food was great. i had the meatloaf which was really good. Others had the salmon which was good by there reactions and one had the pot pie. All gone fast. Had a huge and i mean huge milk shake which was good to the last drop and DD had the chocalate cake which was a huge slice. Yummy stuff. Can be pricey here but the food is good. Hit or miss with your server. I saw some really into character and some not.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      girldrgn8

      Registered: April 2011
      Posts: 34
      Review Date: Thu December 31, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, atmosphere
      Cons: Nothing unless large portions are considered bad

       
      We ate here for dinner on Dec. 12. Everyone of us loved our dinners. I had the fried chicken with mashed potatoes and instead of corn I got broccoli. My plate was loaded with food. My DH had pot roast and my oldest DS had meatloaf. All three of us cleaned our plates. My youngest DS had chicken nuggets with fries and corn. He actually made a good attempt to eat it all considering the amount he got and he's not a great eater. We all ordered a different dessert ( I honestly don't remember what we all had except my chocolate cake) and wished we hadn't because splitting would have been better, they were huge!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      fireman

      Registered: July 2013
      Location: KY
      Posts: 11
      Review Date: Mon November 23, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food
      Cons: lots of people everywhere

       
      Our server Mark was in character and the best waiter ever!!The food was yummy! The roast was tender and very yummy! The chicken was awesome! I finally got a milkshake, oh my what I had been missing all these years by not getting one! YUM!!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Jchuges7

      Registered: February 2015
      Location: Cincinnati
      Posts: 13
      Review Date: Mon November 9, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Atmosphere, service, overall fun factor
      Cons: Reservations ran a little behind

       
      One of my past favorites did not disappoint this time around! The theme and fun of this restaurant can't be beat and the servers really get into character!


      I had the special which was a braised pork shank with mashed potatoes. Outstanding choice and our waitress said it was relatively new. Would highly recommend that and the chocolate peanut butter cake was insanely good!
      Click here to see this users profileVisit the user's homepage  
      OTEYS

      Registered: January 2006
      Location: Vinton, VA
      Posts: 20
      Review Date: Tue October 27, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Food, Atmosphere
      Cons:

       
      This is a must do for our family on every trip to Disney. We visited there on 10/23 for our last Disney meal. Everyone's food selections in our party of 6 were delicious. My daughter loves the light up ice cubes that are offered with the souvenir cup. Our server was Zi and although she wasn't as in character as some past servers we have had; she was very sweet and took care of us with no problems. We will definitely return!
      Click here to see this users profile  
      Quiltinlady

      Registered: January 2013
      Location: Massachusetts
      Posts: 5
      Review Date: Fri October 23, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): Consistently Great Food, fun place
      Cons: a little crowded

       
      We make it a point to eat here every year and we have never been disappointed. The food is wonderful and the service fantastic. This year we had Byron N. who was attentive and fun. They always give us more than we can finish, especially if you want to have desert - make sure you save a little room! The Cherry and Vanilla cokes are tasty. It is a little crowded, but depending on who your neighbors are, it can be fun.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      MemphisMickey

      Registered: October 2012
      Posts: 10
      Review Date: Wed October 21, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 10 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): The atmpshere / The food
      Cons: A server might not be in character

       
      Every trip we have a dinner at the 50's. There have been times that the server was not in character, but not this time. We had our sweet cousin who was helpful along with reminding us of our manners. All ten of us had a great time. The food is the closest thing to being at home. Between the 10 of us we had all the major dishes. The portions left no one hungry. Always one of the best food to money values of the non buffet locations.
      Click here to see this users profile  
      clayalex02

      Registered: July 2007
      Location: Pittsburgh, PA
      Posts: 52
      Review Date: Tue September 8, 2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | | Rating: 8 

       
      Positive aspects of the product (pros): fried chicken
      Cons: waiting area

       
      Ate here for dinner on Sept 2. The check in person was not nice and I hoped it would not be an indication of things to come, it wasn't. The waiting room is always really crowded and loud, it is hard to understand the host when he/she calls your name. We were seated in a reasonable amount of time considering the amount of people in the waiting area. Our "cousin" was nice but did not play the role at all, basically it was just like any other waiter at any other restaurant. My sister and I both had the fried chicken and while I was glad they replaced the greens, too bad it was with mushy corn on the cob. It was not good. The fried chicken is one of my favorite fried chickens and it did not disappoint this time either. For desert sister had Dad's Brownie Sundae - which we both agree was better when it came on a plate. I had the chocolate peanut butter cake, it was very rich and very sweet. Ended up taking most of it back the to resort to sit in the fridge. Was sorry that they had changed some of their desserts, miss the Boston Cream Pie!
      Click here to see this users profile  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7

Powered by: Reviewpost
Copyright 2013 All Enthusiast, Inc.